Our economy is ill and is rapidly getting worse- Etcetera | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 3 October 2015

Our economy is ill and is rapidly getting worse- Etcetera

Etcetera write below..
Is Nigeria getting worse? That is a very provocative question. I have found that most people that hate Nigeria are very eager to agree that Nigeria is getting worse, while a lot of those that love Nigeria are very hesitant to admit that Nigeria is in decline. Well, I am proud to be a Nigerian, but I cannot lie to myself or tell you that Nigeria is doing just fine. The evidence is undeniable.

Our economy is ill and is rapidly getting worse. God handed us the resources to be one of the greatest economic machines in the world and we have wrecked it. But until we are willing to look in the mirror and admit how bad things have got, we won’t be ready for the solutions that are necessary. The truth is that there are things that we can do to reverse the decline. It does not have to be permanent. We have got away from the things that made Nigeria great, and we need to admit that we are on the wrong path and start fixing this country.

But if we choose to continue down the road that we are currently on, it will lead us into the darkest chapters in Nigerian history.
If someone had written a story about what is happening now in Nigeria 20 years ago, people would have laughed and said “Wow that is a good story, but it would never happen here, not in our Nigeria.” But now, the joke is on all of us. Nigeria has turned into one big comedy club where the audience is wearing a frown as they listen to the president cracking his “Change” joke. The president speaks of change from the same mouth that he nominates those purported to be ministerial nominees. He should tell us what change he expects from the list. How do you achieve this change doing the same old things with the same old people? Some governors on the list are still entangled in corruption allegations levelled against them by their successors. What happened to your zero tolerance to corruption mantra? This whole change thing is becoming a gargantuan joke that is not funny at all.
A devastating economic collapse has left the country in a stagnant decline, where Nigerians are still sleeping under bridges, ghettos like Ajegunle are overfilled, while almost all houses in Victoria Island and ikoyi lie vacant with ‘for sale’ banners hanging on almost every gate, the kleptocratic politicians openly steal billions of dollars, and remain free, while people charged with petty thefts go to jail and have no bonds, protests break out and are quickly stifled by an authoritarian police force, media houses are getting shut down and becoming government controlled and relay repeating news stories that have little to do with real events, and are more focused on propaganda and nonsense, a politician takes several multimillion dollar vacations at taxpayer expense, while ordinary Nigerian families cannot afford the skyrocketing food costs, the senate is hopelessly unable to pass any kind of legislation that can benefit average Nigerians, but easily pass legislation benefitting themselves and usurping the constitution, prisons are built and manned waiting for those who dare to speak the truth against to power, the roads in estates built by politicians and their rich cronies are tarred over and over while the areas occupied by the poor masses are left in ruins, terrorists are granted amnesty and pacified with fat monthly allowances while law abiding citizens are gnashing their teeth.
Whew! Did I miss anything? What about a hero? Maybe a small glimmer of hope. Maybe Buhari? hopefully. I would like the next paragraph of this article to read, “At Nigeria’s darkest hour, the people defied the odds, and ignored the experts and elected a man of character and convictions to the office of the Presidency, and the said man restored the constitution, defeated boko haram, brought back the missing Chibok girls, brought justice to the people by arresting the evil men and women responsible for years of death and debt upon this nation.” Now I like that ending. Will it happen? I hope to God it can be so.
If I told a story 30 years ago that Nigeria will be worse off at 55, would you have believed me?

121 comments:

It is well

Shuh! Wa wa! Dan banza. Get a life ETC! Failed artiste,failed writter, ambassador of haters. Is ECT are u even happy with yourself??? Balderdash!

Shuh! Wa wa! Dan banza. Get a life ETC! Failed artiste,failed writter, ambassador of haters. ECT are u even happy with yourself??? Balderdash!

i dey tell u broo

Aunty linda.....

And what have u as Etcetera done to better the lot of the country? We all know the country is invalid,proffer solution & not just castigate

Nice write up. More powers to ur elbow

And what have you done to help nigeria?

When did this one become an economic analyst Leaked Video: Inside an Agege night club where young ladies dance completely naked and practice live sex on stage (18+)

U wouldn't have said it any better Etc, he gave out the truth 100 per cent. Nigerians have been clamouring for change, that was why they ignored some things αи∂ voted this man into power, in as much as we aint expecting miracle within just few months, there ought to be atleast a little bit conviction that Nigerians didn't actually make any mistake by voting PMB, he said he isn't corrupt but then surrounded himself with corrupt officials, who is actually deceiving who??? Its high time something is done to eradicate all these rubbish so we'd know the way forward. Been expecting to hear our refineries are now working αи∂ have actually recruited a huge number of unemployed youths, but that's never †ђξ case, they keep posting when those refineries would start working. This is so not fair on this Economy, its not sincerely speaking. We all are here chanting "change is here" while things deteriorate †ђξ more.

Its well

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

Real talk

We get ur point but what are doing as a person to help ur country instead you sit down complaining about Nigeria's situation without any action to back it up. People like you only say but don't do. I feel that is our problem in this country

JKAY said...

In Buhari I trust. 16 years misrule under PDP has no doubt put Nigeria on the brink together with the wanton corruption that went on during the tenure of Jonathan. Falling price of crude oil doesn't help matters at the same time. Mr Etsetera,The problem ain't buhari but Jonathan and I believe he is doing everything he can to take this country once again on the path of greatness. God bless Nigeria and disappoint those who wishes her failure

Yes our economy is getting worse and things are falling apart but we're still hoping for the best.

Well said.

Da-LadyBossChick said...

Biko someone should summarize for me...I didn't read it

For your MTN data: WhatsApp: 0703 488 6533: BBM pin: 560F513B

Definitely I wouldn't believe u bcos@55 Nigeria is not worse off for we r doing far better as a united country and d necessary changes has b voted in via PMB in power.

I agree wit dis part of article "The kleptocratic politicians openly steal billions of dollars, and remain free, while people charged with petty thefts go to jail and have no bonds".

We wil definitely get there just lik d developed nations in d world for Rome was not built in a day. God bless Nigerians and long live Nigeria.

My problem with this Comment is that, he is neither an economist nor has he conducted a survey anywhere...no facts no figures nothing just opinion which to me doesn't hold water.

Deep sigh. It's past time we stood up Nigeria. God bless Nigeria

Energy said...

I thought this guy is supposed to be singing or making music of some sort. He so full of bitter shit. These are the kind of mind that instigates wickedness in the society especially when they have nothing to offer.

Energy said...

I thought this guy is supposed to be singing or making music of some sort. He so full of bitter shit. These are the kind of mind that instigates wickedness in the society especially when they have nothing to offer.

LINDA THIS YOUR BOY FRIEND SEF!

Waooooooooooooo am i mad or what.My brother keep on saying the truth like me.many idiots and clowns refuse to say the truth because of what the get even if nigeria economy want to die let it die they don't care as far as there money is comming for supporting evil.
Any time i hear giant of africa what comes into my mind is,is't giant in sycophancy,killing,stealing,looting,terrorism or corruption.
What do you expect when a president nominate past governos with corruption allegation an some fools and clowns here will be praising him.
I have say it that the change buhari and his scam party are saying is different from the one i know,it might be change of ownership or change of power not the real change in dictionary.
It was the same terrorist buhari that speaks against jonathan's appointment and how he mismanage nigeria economy and didn't boko to eradicate boko haram now what is happening now.
I thought that he will appoint the young ones as he promise what are we seeing*scam and sham* nigeria a place were the leaders of yesterday are still in power and leaders of today are wallowing in poverty.
May God save nigeria under imbecilic incompetent buhari cause very soon nigeria will apologise to jonathan and will see his as the best.

Who d F is dis dude? Always opening his mouth. *long hiss*

Apple Berry said...

WOW...That's all I can say. #whenbittertruthleavesyouspeechless

here we go agin dis jobless etcetera with silly discusion

yur mate are out there collect reward fr there job as actor yu are posting rubish on linder blog

I would read later. Linda take note!

marvelous said...

This guy self so he still exist..

leaked video of D'banj doing shocking thing with female fan> D'banj doing it hard on stage with female fan

Oga talk talk, ur right sha. Not to talk about the Boko Haram situation, Linda must u be t last to report the bombing incident that happened in karu/Nyanya this morning

I support ya on this one.....using thesame old thief 2 run the new government......som name on dt list duh!!

E-berry said...

Who's this guy sef? He talks too much #myopinion

Yea I know right. I feel buhari is doing stuffs with the same corrupt old men . I just wish he has some sense to overhaul everything Nd start afresh. Amaechi as minister? Smh.

Dis brother again?

Someone should tell this idiot to get a job

much educative to learn from,,,
i now say bravo to the guy

#rant! The title of the article has no bearing whatsoever on the write-up. Our economy is bad, yes but his arguments for why the economy is bad weren't clear.

It will happen if we all in our own little way change our attitude and stop celebrating the corrupt politicians

Are u so sure that u're serious?
Had it been you're true citizen of this country that love this nation to the bottom of your heart, you could've given "The PDP - JONATHAN" led government this type of advice.
You could've helped them rescue this nation from their 16 years of Man-made destruction to Nigerians.
Man, use your No.4 well well.
Abi, there's NO awuf money nah? GRAFIX.

Who is this ant?

Are u so sure that u're serious?
Had it been you're true citizen of this country that love this nation to the bottom of your heart, you could've given "The PDP - JONATHAN" led government this type of advice.
You could've helped them rescue this nation from their 16 years of Man-made destruction to Nigerians.
Man, use your No.4 well well.
Abi, there's NO awuf money nah? GRAFIX.

This is a very dumb article lacking in evidence and statistical back ups...
If you say its getting worst, you have to al least tell us at what rate and if there are any incremental social ills
You refer to no KPI, no indices just beer parlour opinioning...

Yeah, we know you were expecting to be on #thelist as information minister. It was your stupid brother who handed down a broken economy to Buhari. Everyone with sense knows that the process involved in renovating a dilapidated building gets rough at some point, but the building comes out better in the end.

This guy talks too much

I read everything, and I liked every part of it. Nigeria as a nation have got major potentials which is yet to be made useful by the corrupt politicians & corporations that exploit us cos of their own greed. I want our Nation to flourish for the sake of our children & their future, I don't care who or what party does it, so long it's done. Good write up ETC.

Mr aboki when u see d truth pls try and agree with it don't be sentimental his saying the truth

Naija Inspirational Zone said...

Are you nuts? So what part of his article spews hate...is it not obvious Nigeria is sinking, and you try to spin it on him like he lied...please wake up...Nigeria is far behind proper civilization.

Shut up trap hungry fool, animalistic imbecile....are your mates not making money too...y r u here commenting on a blog....geezuz so many hypocrites in Nigeria...U need to be flogged.

Sexy Mama said...

Chineke kpo gi oku

Sexy Mama said...

Your father never talked...he died unknown, you too will die unknown...bet me

Sexy Mama said...

It's the father who has the semen that made you that's an idiot...gaybrat

Kingsley said...

Someone your mum can never bed even if she tried....son of a bi*ch

Sweet Ama said...

At least he is a musician..he sends message across through his music....so what exactly can u boast of?

If u are not seeing the change already that means u are on a long thing, cement price has drop from 1900 to 1400 per bag in the market and more cheaper from the company, light is constant, that means our expenses has reduce cos we don't buy fuel everyday anymore, the price of kerosene and diesel has drop, and many more which I can't start listing, pls and pls stop blaming Buhari @etcetera and start looking at Nigeria in a positive way....... for those looking for grammatical error in my comment pls pardon me am from France. Smile

Sweet Ama said...

U can imagine what you're saying.buhari was once a PDP man,Remember? So don't give me that holier than though attitude...remember that adage that says a thief can never stop stealing rather he changes his tactics...so I can never be deceived. .one more thing leave Jonathan alone for crying out loud. ..

TashTarau said...

Exactly @mackie. Smh.

Bonita, if u read d post & just didn't glance through it you'd see he proffered his good intentions for the country and also hopes Buhari does the job. Read & understand.

What has your dumb ass done to improve your street?

Shut up

We need to integrate IT into our government .

Big up ETC. This is the reality we call Naija. Some dumbass ignoramous be talking trash without reading beyond d first few lines. *Mtsweeeeeee* attention seekers

You think if the opportunities were there & not being controlled by corrupt politicians & corporations, he wouldn't do more than enlighten the public? Common, be sensible, if u don't concede u've got a problem, there'll be no solution.

Under Jona, the economy was the best in Africa,so whats your point

Long story but no sense!

I admire this guy for one thing; he speaks up! And he is not afraid of anyone. I love his boldness.

That et cetera is right. That's the situation the PDP has taken Nigeria in 16 years. This article would have been well suited if handed over to Jonathan before the last Presidential election but et cetera was busy rooting for PDP and Jonathan to remain in power

Mackie, which musician? When last did he release a track?

Go to bed. He is right

Good words my man!

what I make in one week none of yur family hv nt make. it yu seat there defending dis fool call etc am sure yu are one of his family idiot

am sure yu are still working under the old politice ode

see idiot yu talk like a fool did yu knw what the government is now when yu dont read and watch news hw did yu wnt to knw

is that what his mate is doing disturbing people with bad word instead of him to face is music work or is it that there no song fr him to sing again so his look fr a way to be well known again stop rubish word suport the nation in yur own way nt by adding to the problem

What have you done? someone speaks the truth and people like you castigate. That's why we are here today.

Have never see such fool like dis guy, is Baile not a young Nigeria as former speaker what end him? Go to ur history book of politician in Nigeria and bring out one good person among them that is not corrupt. Will he has pick d minister frm second planet

dharmmy Ajishako said...

He raised points that although maybe denied, they are strong nevertheless. For those for might have a counterpoint well..
For me Nigeris is a WORK IN PROGRESS

You have said it all, they should be ashamed of them selves leading this country to a place where we r now. these are fathers and mothers who are to set a good example for the youth and their generation to follow. But they choose to do the wrong thing with this opportunity given to them by God and man. No man will leave forever but what you do on planet earth will. Think leaders of Nigeria and Africa. Time has come for you to improve your country and people. Stand for what is right no matter what. You owe your people that.

@kingsley u r a son of a drunk n a hoe... Where r u coming from???

Weither u like it or Not this is the truth without veil.. We have been milked...and we are very dizzy that we can't even recognize the truth anymore.. to futher verify what he said...Go to abuja..most of the new houses in some key areas are vacant and has been for a long time because of the rent and people sleep in their shops... you are humble and working hard and the people in the Govt are signing are awarding hilarious sums to themselves in contracts over and over again...They pay you 10k for your right during election and collect it from you in several ways.. the thing is we don't learn from the past... all they do is look for what you want then let u percieve the steam from the pot without tasting the food...please can we stop arguing for politicians here...because to me Nigerian politicians are all the same....don't cover your face infront of the truth because of affiliations that has never helped you...thanks

Aboki Na idiot Na. Wetin en know

Wayray

Stupid ETC......u ar delusional and mentally retarded Stop misleading gud citizens of diz country and hold ur stupid opinion to ur self .......wayray

He is one of dose funking son of a bitch who has jst been discharge from metal asylum.......he is jstj trying to showcase his madness

Ask yourself the same question igwe adaobi

Aboki or Makiyyi, whatever u may call urself, all u need is prayer for ur eyes and senses to open to the truth. God help u. Sakare ka man ka. Bingin da

Who is this failed musician. what does he know about economics. All his mates in entertainment industry are busy making new music and making money. he is here making noise talking baout nigeria is declining. is nigeria better when he came out to limilight.

Jonathan is still the PROBLEM?? You need mental check-up.

I am telling you.., he annoys me to my bones

Chee wat is d truth is saying wen d ppl eating d moni r dere wat is his contribution abt el ping d nation rather Dan to sit down & castigated ppl e should go get live

Mackie shut ur mouth

Aboki, borrow sense, if you can't afford it.

Yes my dear you are not normal

Sexy mama and anonymous you are the ones that are not alright nd need to be flogged

Who allows this sexy mamas comments on this blog. Do comments really get screened first. Very insulting. See your name sexy mama. Follow sex nd leave politics alone.

God bless you. This Etcetera I wish he could be arrested and put in a mental home. Brewing hate across the country. He has gotten so irrelevant he's trying to come back as a senseless talkative

Kingsley , just like sexy mama you're an idiot

God bless you

God bless all the true people on this blog. I even see that quite a number of them are ibos and I tell people this is not a tribe thing, it's a personal thing. If they were in another tribe they wouldn't be different. I am from delta ibo and my family have never supported lies but truth. Etcetera or whatever your name is . I couldn't be bothered reading your write up, please get busy. If you have a degree try masters. Just get busy. You're too jobless, you're a confusionist. My dear you need a life cause this is no life. You have failed in everything, singing , life and even writing. Try and help yourself please . Pdp Idiots like sexy mama nd Kingsley or whoever might write cap under my post but I've spoken

U r blind, deaf and crippled at the same time.... Mtcheeeew

Annie said...

GOD pls help Nigeria..we are loosing it. I fear for my country.The rich are richer while the poor are poorer. It is well IJN. Amen.

This is a blog and I believe everyone can say their mind constructively without insulting. if you can't be civil, then you should go somewhere to deal with the uncivilized. Mind you, wise people don't just open their mouth to blab like you. Pls don't pass your foolishness to your kids, that's if your stupidity will make you have kids. Idiot!!!

Linda stop makin dis guy pupolar abeg

At least he writes to remind us where we are at. In Nigeria, we are so forgetful. In case, u don't know we are in decline like he said.

Better to die unknown than your father who is alive and known for molesting young girls including you. Retard!

omotara said...

So is he trying to say Buhari made the economy worse? I don't get it

I honestly don't know why people hate Etcetera. He always speaks the truth. What the hell is the matter with all of you.

Dis guy shld go and sit down hes jst looking for cheap fame

He is right jor.....that why we hv freedom writer....he is already doin somfin by writin watelse do yo want

Its very simple. Just say that your ambition for 2019 election you are preparing for, but unfortunately, people are on queue. Wait till 2039.

norah said...

U are shallow minded......sorry for u

Tolulope said...

It is well..

Tolulope said...

It is well..

Tolulope said...

It is well..