Speakership: Group ask court to disqualify Femi Gbajabiamila over US indictment | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 June 2015

Speakership: Group ask court to disqualify Femi Gbajabiamila over US indictment

The Registered Trustees of Social Justice and Civil Rights Awareness Initiative has dragged the APC candidate for the House of Representative seat, Femi Gbajabiamila before an Abuja High Court, asking the court to disqualify him from vying for speakership over his alleged indictment by a court in Georgia state, US, for unethical practices while he was practicing law in the states.

According to the documents filed by the group, Mr Gbajabiamila was convicted and disbarred for 36 months. The group say they carried out a detailed background check on him after he was nominated to head Nigeria in such a huge capacity as House of Representative Speaker.

Vanguard reports that the case which is currently being heard at the Abuja High Court and presided over by Justice Abdul Kafarati, was filed by Human Rights lawyer, Chief ‎Mike Ozehkome, SAN on behalf of the group headed by Mr Alojie Nmerengira.

Excerpts from the court document filed by the group below
“That I am the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the plaintiff organization by virtue of which I am very conversant with the facts deposed herein. That the 1st defendant is a member of the House of Representatives who nurses the ambition of becoming the Speaker of the House in the next Assembly.
That the 2nd defendant is the constitution body created to carry ‎out legislative functions for the good governance and advancement of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. That the 3rd defendant is the Chief Law Officer of the Federation that ensures the sue enforcement of our Laws so that the nation does not fall into the pit of lawlessness. That as a sensible and responsible organisation, my board deemed it proper that to achieve the objective of the organisation, that we ‎should intervene in public interest litigation in deserving situations. That few days ago it came to the public domain that the 1st defendant was a leading candidate to the position of the office of Speaker of the House of Representatives.
That my organisation, following the ‎wind of change that has pervaded the political environment in Nigeria, deemed it proper to carry out a background check on the leading candidates for the position of Speaker of the House of Representatives. That I discovered that the 1st defendant ‎was a lawyer and practiced in the United States of America, particularly in the state of Georgia. That upon further enquiry, I discovered that the 1st defendant was convicted in the state of Georgia for unethical practices and was debarred for ‎36 months. A copy of the order of the Supreme Court of Georgia to that effect is hereby attached and marked ‘Exhibit A'”.

44 comments:

Oooo

Serious allegation. Lindaobserve

~download davido ft meek mill #fansmi~~

* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

Kemele said...

Good for him

What is it wof dis people.

Davido's driver my mentor

Busy body people.... e ma run down ni... mtscheeeeeeeeeew

No this issue is getting very dirty, because some people have become so desperate.
The Dogora group should take it easy, and avoid putting self interest over that of the party.
Gbajabiamila has shown character while acting as the House minority leader, and deserves the speakership more than anyone I can't think of.
I pray he emerges the winner tomorrow.
This campaign of calumny is not a quality of our great party, we never used such method to get what we want.

Political enemies hav started again. Aha! God help, and save us frm enemies of progress dat don't want our good.

Politics matter no dey sweet at all....

Why was the issue not brought up when he was the minority leader of the house, Gbajabiamila, is still the favourite candidate no matter the level of propaganda been brought.

Why is it that Enemies of progress is just everywhere in Nigeria? The group should go and die! In Oshomohle Voice!!!!

Even presidents in this country are ex convicts so is nothing new.

If Buruji can become a senator who says otherwise for Gbajabiamila??? Linda take note!

D hawk ve finally come to roast

ghen1 ghen! another drama after senator kashumu abi what is his name again sef.this is good for our democracy. atleast anyone having in mind to contest for a public post in Nigeria have to be very careful and maintain a clean record. get a life @ self proclaimed davido's driver.

I definitely know that his shady past gonna caught up with him.
Looks like we r never safe even after going through some penitence.The World is a trick box.
I pray to survive my own Dark Storm too when the time comes. Amen.

Their probs not mine

molebaba said...

Am so surprise many LIB readers have not being making comments on sensitive matters of lately! Abi is there something fishing about the whole thing? As for Mr Femi Gbajabiamila , if true pls honorably step down!!!tt

Moustee said...

This litigation really lacks merit. He admitted to the charge and corrected his wrongs immediately with the client. Since 2007, I'm certain he has fully served the judgement banning him for a period of 36months which I believe must have elapsed between 2010/2011. So what are they now talking about? I think, lawyers need to take our legal system seriously by ensuring only serious cases go before the judges, so that the judges can focus on other serious matters and not the politically motivated claims.

and they are turning a blind eye to kuruji

I am not surprised. Shey the man na Fani Kayode friend. Birds of thesame feather flock together

Naija! When he contested to be a member of the house,you didn't do your search? Now he wants to be the speaker,you decided to conduct one! Hmm! Politics! Abeg free the man

I won't be surprised that it is his friend, Fani Kayode that set him up. All those campaign for him on twitter for just fake so that his friend will not suspect him.

I won't be surprised that it is his friend, Fani Kayode that set him up. All those campaign for him on twitter was just fake so that his friend will not suspect him.

Most of our politicians have soiled their hands in the past n it's hunting them now

I won't be surprised that it is his friend, Fani Kayode that set him up. All those campaign for him on twitter was just fake so that his friend will not suspect him.

Roman! said...

Nigerians sha...they dint disqualify him when he was the minority leader*

Yes. Please go after these criminals who think they can commit crimes abroad then flee back to Nigeria to wipe mouth as if nothing happened. Nigeria should not be a haven for criminals who further compound the insult by seeking high public office in 9ja. I'm so disgusted. The list never ends, lately it was Kashamu, whose ass needs to be hauled back to Chicago to answer to the Lord for ruining lives through drug trafficking, now it's this Ode.

APCriminals, get ready.. we're watching u guys like UCL final, any false move will be blown open...

CHUKS said...

All this US indictments, connections for our lawmakers dem sef

Now na morning,more revelations are coming,,I luv naija,no dull moment..

ANYA IKENGA said...

Gbese dey o. !

Nwachichi said...

Choi! This is serious!

The higher the monkey goes, the more the bald "yansh"go dey exposed.We need people without such blemish in such a revered position of the Speaker of the Federal Republic. No.4 man! He should just resign quietly.

I wont be surprised if na Fani Kayode set am up. He was just campaigning for him on twitter so that he'll not be suspected. I dont trust all these PDP people