Saraki receives agency responsible for allowances of Assembly members, releases statement | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 June 2015

Saraki receives agency responsible for allowances of Assembly members, releases statement

The Senate president this afternoon met with the management of the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation & Fiscal Commission RMAFC, to clarify issues bothering on the alleged N8.64 billion wardrobe allowance the newly inaugurated Assembly members are entitled to.

At the meeting, the Chairman of RMAFC, Engr. Elias Mbam denied the media reports, stating that each lawmaker is entitled to N506, 600 wardrobe allowance per annum. A press statement from Senator Saraki on the matter after the cut ...

President of the Senate, Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki today warned government agencies adamant of not remitting Federal Government revenue to the Federation account saying government will no longer condone such mismanagement act. Senator Saraki said this when he received the Chairman of Revenue Mobilization Allocation and Fiscal Commission, Engr. Elias Mbam and his team in Abuja that non-compliance by agencies of government has brought major setback in the processes of governance.

He reiterated the support of the Senate in bringing back justice to any erring agency that indulges in diverting government revenue to illegal channel adding, “Monetary revenue and allocation is a serious challenge to our economy. Though, diversification of economy is very important but is not an overnight issue. We must block every leakage in government revenue.

“We made campaign promises to Nigerians and we must fulfill all our pledges. It cannot be business as usual. We will do everything within our capacity to elevate the living standard of Nigerians.”

Senator Saraki also cleared air on the N8.64billion bogus wardrobe allowance to lawmakers as reported in the media, saying the Commission is charged with fixing of remunerations to public office holders and advise the media to be more accurate in their reporting.

Earlier, the RMAFC Boss, Mbam said the agency have always enjoyed cordial relationship with the National Assembly while calling for continued working partnership with the view to enhance their effectiveness.

Mbam condemned the recent media report that exaggerated the wardrobe allowances of Senators and members of the House of Representatives saying, that wardrobe allowance is 25 percent of the basic salary which when broken down amounts to N506, 600 per legislator, per annum. He advised that the agency operates a functional website where information concerning the day-to-day activities of the agency is published.

Bamikole Omishore
Media Office of the President of the Senate

42 comments:

Kk

Story for the gods biko. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

lami said...

The issue is they are truely out for our interests they should forfiet this allowance cos of the financial challenges faced by the common man.

Dumb Fucks.
We cannot be deceived.
This ish ain't jst about the wardrobe allowance, it is about the BOGUS pay that they will be collecting.
Retards.

lami said...

*forfeit*

Mbam is a party to these looters, cover up, one day na one day the masses will say enough is enough. This may not be too long.

I Hope this report and that allowance per annum is true.

Ashi ashi
Just telling us what we wanna hear, d truth has been said, all this one na for public to be pleased

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

See Hw they are taking money when salaries have nt been paid

The deception must stop. The agency should give us the breakdown NOW since the National Assembly Salaries and Allowances are at the national front burner. Let's know their entire monthly and annual pay package. No more business as usual.

We made campaign promises to Nigerians and we must fulfill all our pledges. IT CANT BE BUSINESS AS USUAL. We will do everything within our capacity to elevate the living standard of Nigerians.”

Pdp knows nothing about leadership! They only know how to loot.

It's funny that they are attempting to defend "wardrobe allowance". What are their salaries for? Do all workers in the Public Service earn such? They should stop fooling us. The visit by the committee has not changed the price of fish as we would say. Work for the populace, that's the purpose of your election not fashion parade or making the economy impoverished.

The internet is sooo good! Anything that goes viral online now is been taking serious and look into by the government,People are now expressing their feelings directly to politicians on twitter etc..That's DOPE! & Thank God for big platforms like linda ikeji,this blog is not even about you anymore,You're NECESSARY for nigeria!

I hope people know that social media HEAVILY influenced the last election?

Okay.

Dear senators there is poverty in the land. Please u can afford to forfeit this money so that people who are displaced and hungry can have just enough to eat. Biko nu thank you for listening to us for once please consider this. Four years is a short time from now o.

Linda, the word is "bordering" on not "bothering"on.

Ok noted

Damikoko said...

Hmmmm ...The rich are getting richer while the poor are getting poorer.. Money not in circulation anyways when u guys deceive the citizen finish let know..never the less still hoping for the CHANGE.

Tee said...

Fair enough

My dear there is no smoke without fire. Why has it taken them so long to come out and clarify this things, this issue has been around for some time now and they are just doing the clarification.

Dey wan re- arrange wella... Bugas...

Prostrate Care said...

I want to bliev dis is true faa!!

@amOwen said...

Even dis amount is still too much....nah fashion runway una dey do for NA...#NoTO9Billion

For window blinds and curtains pls call 08160856785

Ok ooooo

WARNINGS AREN'T ENOUGH.WHEN PEOPLE ARE SUED,FINED AND JAILED FOR NEGLIGENCE IN THE CASE OF HOSPITALS,DEFAMATION OF CHARACTER IN THE CASE OF THE MEDIA,WRONGFUL IMPRISONMENT AND DETENTION IN THE CASE OF THE NIGERIAN FORCES ETC ETC,THEN PEOPLE WILL TAKE EXTRA CAUTION IN THE HANDLING OF LIFE AND PROPERTY.I HAVE SAID IT SEVERAL TIMES,I DONT THINK WE ARE RESPONSIBLE ENOUGH FOR THIS SOCIAL MEDIA REVOLUTION.I CONCUR WITH WHAT CERTAIN COUNTRIES' ARE DOING TO PROTECT THEIR PEOPLE AND THEIR COUNTRIES.DON'T GET ME WRONG,ITS A VERY USEFUL TOOL,I JUST THINK WE SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR WHAT WE PUT OUT THERE.

Them done dey lie to negrians again

Desmond 2 d G said...

Who and what are we to believe.........?

Wow! N506, 600 wardrobe allowance per annum is not bad afterall they need to look good since they r representing us.

Royal Priesthood, does your office pay you a wardrobe allowance to look good? and you are stupidly saying "Wow! N506, 600 wardrobe allowance per annum is not bad afterall they need to look good since they r representing us."
Bottom line, their allowances should be no different from that of federal civil servants.

Adetunji Saka said...

Well said nd cleared

Wow! N506, 600 wardrobe allowance per annum is not bad afterall they need to look good since they r representing us.

See him talking like the PRESIDENT. Dese pple already have hundreds of clothes n shoes dey haven't touched. Dey've embezzled cos most of dem r nt 1st timers in NASS, some ex governors some moved from house of reps to house of assembly blah blah blah...dey r all already rich etc Wat's all dese 4 God's sake?

Wat is dis 1 saying??? "Long hiss"

This is not fair! Then all civil servants should be entitle to a yearly wardrobe allowance too.

My fellow vibrant nigeria youth.. It's high time for a REVOLUTION!!! that's the only way out of this mess from our politicians .

But were they Voted Naked?

Who are they deceiving? We know how this things work. First the cabals deliberately releases an outrageous figure and later in a purported response to the outcry of the masses they are meant to serve, they come back and reduce it to the figure they have always agreed on. Trying to play saints. Your days of deception are over. Do the honourable, reduce your salaries by 50% and remove all those outrageous allowances. Save Nigeria! Sacrifice for Nigeria!! Make Nigeria great again!!!

Wardrobe allowance should be totally removed. The allowance should be limited to the basic for all civil servants, which they are. They are to pay from their salaries for their wardrobe. If there really going to be change, the senators and reps must cut off all unneccessary expenditure until our economy is ok. The civil servants and workers are paid and their standard of living is improved. You cannot be having parties and flying around on tax payers money when salaries of the workers (the engine and wheels of the economy) are not paid or not living well. I CALL FOR TOTAL REMOVAL OF WARDROBE ALLOWANCE OR ANY OTHER UNWARRANTED ALLOWANCES NOW AND FOREVER.