Buhari reportedly orders the disposal of 9 Presidential aircrafts to cut cost | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 19 June 2015

Buhari reportedly orders the disposal of 9 Presidential aircrafts to cut cost

There are reports that President Buhari has directed that nine of the VIP transport aircraft under the presidential fleet should be sold as part of the federal government’s cost measures.

Industry sources said that the presidential fleet, which are registered as Nigerian Air Force aircraft, is one of the largest in Africa and the third largest in Nigeria after Arik Air and Aerocontractors.

According to a report by ThisDay, an aviation source, who is aware of the directive to sell the aircraft, said the presidency has a number of serviceable and unserviceable aircraft that need to be disposed of in order to reduce the amount spent by the federal government for aircraft maintenance annually.
“Nine, which still have market value, are to be sold immediately to reduce maintenance costs,” he said. 
For years, the federal government has spent over N12 billion annually for the maintenance of the presidential fleet.

Although information on the exact size of the fleet is treated as classified information, the fleet, according to aviation sources, is believed to comprise about 16 aircraft, chief of which is the Boeing 738 BBJ, NAF 001 or Eagle One, used by the president for his travels.
With its luxury configuration comprising a master bedroom, washrooms and showers, a conference and dinning area, and a living area, the plane seats 25 to 50 passengers and would cost at least $100 million to replace today.
Eagle One can spend 12 hours in the air, covering 11,489 kilomtres or 6,200 nautical miles.
In addition to the Boeing 733 reserved for the president, the fleet boasts two Gulfstream 550 jets. The Gulfstream 550 can seat eight to 18 passengers, depending on the configuration, and has a cruiser range of 12,501 kilometres or 6,750 nautical miles. A new luxury Gulfstream 550 would cost an estimated $53.5 million.

According to Wikipedia, other planes in the Nigerian Air Force VIP transport fleet include two Dassault Falcon 7X jets, one Hawker Siddeley 125-800 and one Cessna 550 Citation II.

Information from a Nigerian web portal and Nigerian Air Force sources further revealed that the fleet also boasts two Dassault Falcon 900 jets, a Gulfstream IVSP, a Gulfstream V, a Dornier Do 228, which can carry 19 passengers, one Beechcraft King Air B200, and three AugustaWestland AW139 helicopters.

Sources said each of the two Dassault Falcon 7X jets were purchased for $51.1 million in 2010 while the Gulfstream 550 cost $53.3 million.
Aviation experts also put the average price of the Falcon 900 at $35 million; Gulfstream IVSP at $40 million; Gulfstream V at $45 million; Cessna Citation at $7 million; and the Hawker Siddeley at $15 million.

It was also discovered that though all the aircraft are under the presidential fleet, about eight of the planes are reserved strictly for the president.

These are the Boeing 737, the two Gulfstream 550 jets, the Gulfstream V jet, two Falcon 7X planes, the Hawker Siddeley aircraft and one AugustaWestland chopper.

Others are reserved for executive airlift. Aircraft used for this function include the two Falcon 900 planes, the Dornier, the Cessna Citation, the Beechracft King Air, and two AugustaWestland choppers.

Aircraft reserved for executive airlift are used by the Vice-President, Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and could be used to convey African heads of states visiting or departing Nigeria.
Source: ThisDay

125 comments:

Chang is super loading........ sai baba, Ma'assadah ku kawche!

Ms.Nicey said...

GREAT MOVE!!!! I LOVE THIS..

Lol.. I really love ds our President's way of doing tins... Oya chop KISS...
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *

Pidgin Mistress said...

Mtcheew

GUD ONE....TOMJERRYSWIT

This is the president I voted for, I'm so proud of you Baba,
I'm optimistic Nigeria is safe and will be great under your watch.
Keep proving critics wrong, don't give them,chance to gloat over us.
I love you so much my president.

Dat means dere r even more dan nine. Na wa o

Sai baba

Good way to reduce expense.

Way to go Mr president.I'm liking you more and more with each passing day.May Allah guide you.

Better

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Hmmmmmmmm are u serious na wa oh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! See money when FG they waist. Thank u PMB, May God continue to strengthen u and Osinbajo, to lead Nigeria.

10 presidential jets yet Nigeria has no recognized national carrier.

Now That's change.

But jona waste money sha. Dave

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Dats d pples president...

ITS A GOOD IDEA, BUT, I WOULD HAVE SUGGESTED THAT THEY SHOULD RATHER BE CONVERTED IN TO A LOCAL TRANSPORT SYSTEM IN NIGERIA,THAT'S ANOTHER MEANS OF CREATING JOB RATHER THAN SELLING THEM OFF AND SHARING THE MONEY WITHIN THEMSELVES

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

O ga o... Hmmmmmm.. Just speechless on top d million million dolls

Ikuku AmStrong said...

Hmmm. And yet we seem to be in so much poverty! Nice one Baba! 👍

God will give. U strength wisdom knowledge and. Understanding to rule us

This news should better be real not reported abeg coz we don't need 10 jets to fly one man

But nigeria and waste shaaa

@amOwen said...

Chineke mo !!!!! All those planeses chai!!!!....I must be nigerian president someday....well sha...Thank God a president with common sense has entered to cut all dis excesses cost....after they wee be saying Nigeria is broke....why wee nigeria not be broke wen there are so many liabilities like these?

Yet some of us wanted the immediate past government to continue for another four years!!!The waste was just too much.

As I have always said,I'm not expecting PMB to eradicate the woes in four years.lets be sensible,only GOD can do that!

But we must start to take the steps.Fmr minister of finance Mrs Iweala said government had to cut costs.they didn't and look at us.The US government and the Chinese government don't have the fleet of planes that Nigeria has.$12b annually for running costs!!!!yet education,health,housing don't have this amount to use.

I'm Nigerian.not APC,PDP,APGA, or whatever.I suggest you always start bearing your countrys name and champion a leadership that won't rob us to death instead of arguing along party lines for party members that have only their interests at heart.

The former president ,Dr Jonathan,you are culpable sir.Not because he personally dipped his hands into the kitty but he turned a blind eye.as CinC at the time,the resources and citizens of the federal republic of Nigeria was under his care.But its ok.he's gone.

I wish this new man,PMB the very best.Lets remove the excesses,try and legitimately stamp out corruption as much as we can,reduce expenses and eliminate waste,only a person of integrity and honor can champion this.if that person is a million years old,I'll take my chances with him or her over a thirty five years old,agile but thieving SOB!!!.

We need some discipline.

Amycool cyril said...

the disposal of the aircrafts is supported

If this is true then i say bravo to the president.

I just love leaving

SPACE

Very nice of him. But we still want steady power supply.

sweetie said...

Better! Jonathan almost destroy dis country wit corruption.

Mr. Man, oga President Buhari, please settle down to address serious issues. Disposal of airplanes is not the difficulty plaguing the country right now. It is amazing that the president is yet to even GIVE A SPEECH on the spate of boko haram bombings going on. very insensitive of him. We are still queuing up for fuel, 3 weeks after inauguration. Please face the real issues and dont distract us

Yea, that's a good start if its true.

gee said...

who are they waiting for or do they need our opinion b4 they sell it?abegi workers never get salary

Hand wotk of jonah o.... Sai buhari...

How does this contribute to the things disturbing the country? eg boko haram. this Buhari man is not serious at all

Mr. Man, oga President Buhari, please settle down to address serious issues. Disposal of airplanes is not the difficulty plaguing the country right now. It is amazing that the president is yet to even GIVE A SPEECH on the spate of boko haram bombings going on. very insensitive of him. We are still queuing up for fuel, 3 weeks after inauguration. Please face the real issues and dont distract us

Kponskii said...

Nice move our Presido.

na wa oooo...
where was jonathan flying 9 jets to???
madnessssssssssssss

I just want o applaud and hug Buhari right now. Can someone copy Jonathan, Doyin Okupe, Reuben Abati and Reno Omokri on this ?

U see na so some bastard jonotanians go tell u nonsense

I don't regret voting you!

'According to Wikipedia, other planes...' really, Linda??? You are citing wikipedia???

Sai baba.

Kim is pregnant. Blame it on davido driver

Leadership by example. Saraki should be taking notes!

Now that's what am talking about. The change has begun

Make sense.

David Iyke said...

They should sell one for me please!

GOOD IDEA BY MR PRESIDENT

GOOD IDEA MR PRESIDENT

D change is here! God bless my president Ameen

Ladun Liadi said...

GEJ didn't buy them all

It is only right. How much has Katsina contributed to federal account? How many of those planes did their IGR buy? In anycase Kudos for the directive.

nice one.
sai Buhari

Buhari is PIOUS Man.
All ya hatin on my Homie urgently need to objectively troll the History of this Noble Man who has been an Elite but is not with the Elites.
I can stake my life with the Bet that Buhari is the last hope of the Masses as far as this Corrupt Planet call Nigeria is concern.

If ds news is anyfin to go by,ds s a good development

Wow

Dis good development, and I hope dis is for real. I wish them well, and all d best thereof.

Adafi 97 said...

Nigerian Li kwan Yu is at work.

Hmmn no time for mismanagement

Angelhil said...

Thats our presdo

Angelhil said...

Like the idea

May God deliver this country, 12billion for maintenance of air craft. God of mercy, when people are hungry, civil servants can't pay their bills without doing other jobs of businesses. It well with us in Jesus name. Thank God for his mercies upon us.

Amaka said...

When the Nigerian Airways had been murdered. Nigeria I hail thee. So the rulers had decided to enjoy our wealth alone. Nine presidential air crafts????????

Angelhil said...

What Has Goodluck been doing with those air crafts

Funky Alhaji said...

Way to go Presido, I'm proud to a Nigerian once again

Funky Alhaji said...

Way to go Presido, I'm proud to a Nigerian once again

That's commendable. I hope its true though. By the way, its almost one month after inauguration and no ministerial list yet...is this change going to occur with such snail speed?

Na waoh.....9ja money dey waste since. Haba

Joy C said...

Ho Ha!!

Better president....SAI BABA

Perhaps GEJ and our other past Presidents have explanations for us why we spend as much as N12 billion annually on maintenance. May God continuously bless the ground you walk on President Buhari since others before you didn't it wise to act during their tenure

That's nice

Great!

Dats ma president

Cont hatin

Money that will end up in their pockets. abegi, not impressed.

SHUT UP YOUR SMELLING MOUTH! YOU MUST BE LIVING UNDER A ROCK YOU JONATHAN SUPPORTER PEOPLE OF LOW SELF WORTH

Linda davidos driver is making a nuisance on your blog. Stop enabling his spaces or watch people stop coming to your blog. Theres stella Dimoko where people comment with sense and no space

Can you imagine the amount spent annually when people are hungry. Crazy leaders. His help Nigeria

Haters gon hate!

Nobody can convince me otherwise about Mr. President. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

GEJ appointed hiss cabinet 6 weeks after inauguration! You wan chop the list?!

GEJ was demented! Many people don't know.

Oh shut it!

Madam Linda, you're funny though. People post sensible comments that you won't post, yet you post some useless senseless comments from people that are turning your blog to a joke. Unemployment and 'awoof' money wahala. Trying hard to be noticed. Hustle is real!!!

My dear, learn to appreciate things as they come. I know it is difficult to please man but just learn to be grateful for the little things done for u and those around u and then u'd see d bigger doors open. If the past government cld not tackle boko haram in 6 years why wld u be inconsiderate and expect them to be destroyed by this govt in 3 weeks. Again dear, for every little thing be grateful...The fuel issue was there even before PMB came into office, hopefully it wld be a thing of d past soon as it is one of the new government 's desires to see our refinaries work again. Things are going to be better in Nigeria...Nigeria was not destroyed in one night hence it cannot be repaired in one night. ..All we need is someone with a desire to do what is right and we need Nigerians to do their part as well by letting the change start from them not just d government alone. Have a blessed day dear.

Dats gr8, 1 of d gud news so far

Funky Alhaji said...

If u have being following Nigerian politics you would know that no President has nominated ministers within one month of inauguration. Stop the unnecessary criticism

It's nt hard to spot a dumb person!

Segun said...

Attention seeker...and you gorrit! Mtchewwww

Are you living under a rock? There have been daily updates and briefings with the joint task force. Cutting costs is a good move by him. Don't be ignorant!

andre kelvin said...

Change

If only you know the Planes are mostly VIP and can't be used for commercial (public) purpose. Welcome

Na wa oh you dey give 72 year old man kiss.hmmn me I will try and be president oh so I can be receiving kisses from damsels at 72

Buhari does not share money like ur father. He is not corrupt u hear me?

Things are getting better finally.

Is it not money he will use

Ma Fla said...

i need this in caps "VERY GOOD"

True good to b true, and I wil believe dis story if I see it taking place not all dis story tales they r feeding us.

@G Sarki (He is an ardent LIB reader base in Kaduna), my appreciation goes 2u for liking my comments on LIB. God abundantly bless u, and everytin dat concerns u. Thumbs up to u, and more power to ur elbows.

I pray all ur heart desires come to pass during dis period of Ramadhan. Thanks once again, and stay blessed alwaz.

@G Sarki (He is an ardent LIB reader base in Kaduna), my appreciation goes 2u for liking my comments on LIB. God abundantly bless u, and everytin dat concerns u. Thumbs up to u, and more power to ur elbows.

I pray all ur heart desires come to pass during dis period of Ramadhan. Thanks once again, and stay blessed alwaz.

People like u will have a hard time making it in life

It's actually a BBJ 737(President) G550(VP), 2 Falcon 7x and 1 G500, 1 HS4000xp and the Beechcraft belongs to the Air Force but used in PAF. In addiction they have 4 Heicopters. This fleet has been like this since the time of Obasango.

If they wanted to sell off and share the money..the story wont be in the news..especially the fact that every critic's eyes are on him to mess up

NEWS
PMB SET TO DISPOSE OF 9 PRESIDENTIAL FLEET AIRCRAFT TO CUT COSTS. DO YOU AGREE?

ME, I say yes. But watch out for controversy. Who will buy? What is the book value? How could it be so low? Because the purchase was at an overbloated price. RECOVERY I say. RECOVERY also.

Mr. Lapzi......

Dende said...

If the 'L' in ur 1st name was 'Y',ur ass might need sewing

God bless you brother for your insightful comment. You will never LACK!!!. Nigeria will be great again. Sai Baba!!!.

You be mumu!!!. Listen to yourself.

Stfu...who u help?

oscar said...

I agree with you because only a retarded idiot would say what you just said.RETARD !!!

NOW THAT'S WHAT YOU CALL EQUITABILITY IN GOVERNANCE

2.17pm,amen.what makes you think I'm a brother though?gender discrimination?assuming a woman can't think?I forgive you your error.go and discriminate no more!!!(just kidding)

La said...

We spent these on aircraft and people are hungry. Wickedness in high places. Sai Buhari.

$100M to maintain the 737 VIP interior? Who wrote this nonsense? Very funny! But great initiative from buhari. Maintenance cost can be costly but $100 million is an exaggeration.

I actually read his comment out loud.best part "I'll take my chances with him". All these people talking about age also fail to see that experience is the best teacher.this is about Nigeria not about any political party.its bad when you hear people insult the president and pass negative comments about the new administration.i believe we should be optimistic about the future,and positive in our utterances.

Nne Make I help PMB chop the kiss na..

CHANGE IS FINALLY HERE

Abeg put your name and email/number next time. The stuff done dunderheads post here is heartbreaking

UP PRESIDOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

claris Davids said...

My tot exactly.

Gaddiel said...

Did you leave your brain somewhere?? You can place an order on Konga or Jumia for an efficient one. Numbskull!!

Gaddiel said...

Like seriously, why are you this dumb. Do yoy have your brain under your foot??