Okonjo-Iweala replies Oshiomhole - says his criticism is baseless | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 May 2015

Okonjo-Iweala replies Oshiomhole - says his criticism is baseless

Press statement from Finance Minister, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala in response to Gov. Oshiomhole who attacked her (read here) over the lingering fuel scarcity. Read below...
It is no surprise that a few days after the Federal Ministry of Finance published the details of what the Federal and State governments received from the Excess Crude Account over the past four years, Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State has launched an attack against the Coordinating Minister for the Economy and Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala. His article “Economy: Okonjo-Iweala’s hidden figures” is full of gaping holes, both in facts and logic.

Obviously, for daring to publish how the ECA was shared and showing that governors who cannot pay salaries have no excuses, Okonjo-Iweala is being targeted. It is noteworthy that several of their colleagues have been able to manage their finances reasonably well under these same difficult circumstances.

The release of the ECA details has also demonstrated very clearly that there is no substance in the wild allegations that any money is missing from the account or that finances of the country under Okonjo-Iweala watch have not been well managed.

Like previous baseless allegations by some Governors, the motive behind Oshiomhole’s attack is clear: to deflect public attention away from the manner in which they have run the finances of their states and make Okonjo-Iweala the scapegoat. If it was meant to intimidate the Minister, it has failed abysmally.

How can Governor Oshiomhole claim that state governors were not properly briefed on the status of the ECA when his commissioner of finance attends all the FAAC meetings where decisions are taken and communicated to the nation?

This diversionary tactic will not succeed because Nigerians are too smart to buy into this fiction. Secondly, the Finance Ministry under Okonjo-Iweala, the Minister who started the practice of publishing details of allocations from the Federation Account to all the three tiers of government, has regularly furnished Nigerians with information on the country’s finances.

Governor Oshiomhole’s statement that Okonjo-Iweala “must disclose to the nation the full details of subsidy payments made to oil marketers in the last four years” is therefore astonishing given the fact that EVERY payment made to the marketers has been published in the media and widely disseminated through all news channels.

Oshiomhole’s allegation that Okonjo-Iweala has not been transparent is ridiculous and totally lacking in merit. Apart from the monthly publication of allocations to the federal, state and local governments, the Federal Ministry of Finance under Okonjo-Iweala also publishes SURE-P receipts and distribution to different tiers, details of payments to oil marketers and other information.

Has Governor Oshiomhole demonstrated the same level of openness in his management of the affairs of Edo State? Can Oshiomhole also go public with ALL the information showing what he has received from various sources and the uses to which he has deployed them?

Equally incomprehensible – for a supposedly smart Governor - is Oshiomhole’s claim that the CME has “just woken up from her slumber to realize that oil marketers have been all along falsifying subsidy claims and defrauding the nation of billions of Naira”. This statement underscores the extent to which he is willing to go in his desperation to tar Okonjo-Iweala. When she returned as Finance Minister in 2011, the outstanding fuel subsidy bill was about N1.3 trillion. It was the work done on subsidy fraud by the Aig-Imoukhuede Committee which the Minister set up, later elevated into a presidential panel that determined that over N300 billion of the amount was fraudulent. This eventually led to the prosecution of some persons for subsidy fraud and reduction of the annual subsidy budget to N791 billion, saving the country over a trillion naira in the process. Maybe it is His Excellency who was snoring while this was going on. Such baseless posturing only serves to diminish the credibility of Oshiomhole in the minds of objective Nigerians.

For the record, Dr. Okonjo-Iweala has no apologies for insisting that a claim of N159 billion for forex differentials by the marketers out of a total bill of N200 billion should go through an additional verification process. When 80% of a subsidy claim is made up of forex differentials and not the value of the amount of fuel supplied, the right and proper thing to do is to take extra steps to ensure that the country is not being cheated. That is what Okonjo-Iweala did.

Oshiomhole’s allegation that the Minister is involved in “an unholy alliance” with government agencies and the marketers is therefore manifestly untrue and totally irresponsible. How can a minister against whom the oil marketers have conducted a very public campaign of calumny be in league with them? A decent public official should not make such scurrilous and unsubstantiated statements. 

The most laughable part of Oshiomhole’s article is the claim that Okonjo-Iweala has been speaking out lately because of the “fear of Buhari”. Nigerians know this is ridiculous. If there is any minister whose voice has been strong on the right issues over the past four years it is Okonjo-Iweala. Okonjo-Iweala combines a stalwart integrity, a mastery of her mandate and the courage of her convictions. She therefore has no reason to fear. Those who cannot adequately explain what they did with the resources of their states and are begging for bailout are those who should to be scared.

Paul C Nwabuikwu
Special Adviser to the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance

80 comments:

Intelligent

This woman is just a thief

NMaa said...

Long biko.

Their matter...Juliet iwuno ur issue has been tabled to the board of trustees of LIB..we'd delibrate on it and decide ur fate on this blog..we need some changes here

I concur.

Ngozi; ITT just shut up already. Linda take note!

This guys just dey open their nyanch any hw....

HEARD!!!!

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Abeg this epistle is long...someone should come and summarize for us

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

Her special adviser fired the shot back
not the madam herself.....

Mrs TC said...

"Things fall apart"

stanloo! said...

Na dem sabi...mouth sealed

All the crazy governors have gone quiet since that publication. Buhari should start by probing all APC governors owning civil servants salaries. The clean up should start in-house.

Nkem4ever said...

Oshiomole should please go and rest. He took on the wrong opponent. Aunty Ngozi has always being against this fuel subsidy scam and took time to explain her reasons during the occupy Nigeria campaign. Oshiomole should explain why he can't pay workers salaries if he is guilty of this grave sin period!

Good one madam may God continue to bless and enlarged ur coats.

This woman should go and sleep

BEWARE!! Girl Got killed while using power Bank to charge (View Story with Graphic pic)

Ok seen

Slim Down Your Tummy, Discover shocking nigerian meals that help you trim fat. click here to find out

Bismark Rewane also criticized you.Truth is Madame you turned a blind eye.I'm too tired to list reasons.

Its been a long day.

Paul c,I hope you have practiced how to sign using just your names.or will you say :

"Paul C Nwabuikwu
EX Special Adviser to the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance"

Go and sleep Nngozi iweala, u hv failed Nigeria woefully

Linda,how come you haven't carried tiwas totally nude pregnant Photo.My people,nude o as in totally.

Na dem sabi

Davidd said...

Baba, she have finish you o.. No reply?

Governor Oshiomhole is running scared because he knows that very soon, he and his other corrupt governor-colleagues will have to account for what they ACTUALLY did with funds allocated to their various states. If he is trying to deflect public attention by promulgating wild theories against Dr Okonjo-Iweala, I am sorry, he has failed. He should be ready to account for the allocations he got. Marrying a foreigner and trying to use her to stash away our money in banks in his new wife's home country will not wash.

Adams onye ochi, face your albino wife. We've got serious men's talk here not with boys that are newly married.

I'm not surprised, Paul C Nwabuikwu is only doing his job of defending the minister. We hear you.... buh, there are some salient questions begging for answers..."Why is it now and for the first time in 4 years that the Finance Minister is coming out to say Marketers are falsifying subsidy claims?, "Did she just realize this?", obviously, she knew all along and she continued paying... Haba!!!

SYNDILOVE said...

Odiegwu!

SYNDILOVE said...

Odiegwu!

Nigerians are not smart and intelligent so if I were NOI I wouldn't bother with this mischief makers. Nigerians are easily given to propaganda and lies so mam, they won't understand the depth of analytical truism in your words neither will they understand how an economy works in a globalized world! They are all gullible particularly the readers of LIB! Na iron fist and intimidation they understand fa! No worry them go hear am Shebi our messiah Don come!

NOI killed it. oshiomole should hide his apelike ugly face in shame.

Naija must be better IJN said...

This is getting interesting...Oshiomole, tell us(publish) the total amount(including IGR) you have gotten so far, their sources and as well publish what you did with the money...Am not shielding Okonjo Iweala but am saying these governors that claim to be saint are worse.....Someone having a log of wood in his/her eyes calling someone that has sand in his/her eyes to come for help...Hahahaha...Please we are waiting for the second version/stage of this as it exposes and enlighten us(the messes) the more...

Naija must be better IJN said...

This is getting interesting...Oshiomole, tell us(publish) the total amount(including IGR) you have gotten so far, their sources and as well publish what you did with the money...Am not shielding Okonjo Iweala but am saying these governors that claim to be saint are worse.....Someone having a log of wood in his/her eyes calling someone that has sand in his/her eyes to come for help...Hahahaha...Please we are waiting for the second version/stage of this as it exposes and enlighten us(the masses) the more...

The word baseless killed it for me, wont waste my time reading, with all the facts stated she still say baseless!! Just go

This frog eyed governor should Park well. I hope you are prepared to beg ur daughter /wife for a peep into her veejay. Ugliness exemplified. Leave okonjo alone

It all ends tomorrow........

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Don't mind the stupid governor. By the time that Cape Verde babe finishes with him Edo will hear wii

Abeg is dis woman not on twitter?just 140 characters are okay haba!

ogeee said...

Nobody holy pass

Business Barbie said...

You are the definition of our stupid youths. We don't like to read that's why all these old Abbas would be playing with our head. Read the article otondo and you will see proper facts not stupid oshiomole propaganda

AliBaba DeKingMaker said...

This will set things are right for the time being. Adams should know that Okonjo is no toy...,

this woman is shameless i tell you!

you are just blinded by hatred.

this kind of talk only happens when you cannot dispute the facts.

seems you have been in coma for the past four years.

You are just a fool.

andre kelvin said...

Shut da fuck up bitch

I know u were paid to reply every post against Okonjo Omoale Iweala, just like her adviser. We will fish people like you out soonest and you shall serve jail term with thee thieves that crumbled this economy... Omoale jatijati

Helen Onovo said...

thank u madam,don't mind Osho,he shld tell his states what he did with funds allocated to Edo pple. Pple here are just blind sited cos of their political party

Idiotic fellow, u re so redundant, no b ur fault na linda wey dey post ur comment

Prison Yard is Your Abode After May 29....
Linda's 1st Love.....

Omo said...

Oshio shul just face his wife and leave madam ngozi alone abeg

Omo said...

Oshio shul just face his wife and leave madam ngozi alone abeg

Is she not a thief? Why are u defending her or are you Igbo?

Dey shld get a room biko

Facts and figures. That's the way to go, not lousy political generalisation. Ngozi did well and no amount of propaganda will diminish her very good record.

Cutemanuel said...

So glad they are leaving, we can now have peace.

»»»Be the change you desire!

Which Bismark? D dredlock ganja man or sm1 else? U re very funny sha

D Woman should jez shut d fuck off abeg... we're tired of all their filthy lies abeg... tnk God change is here..cant wait for dz governance to start abeg

Foolish driver,just say u don't possess the IQ to read and understand wt ws written, any sensible person dat reads through this article will have questions rather than insults in mind.

This Juliet is not intelligent at all. She just talks for the sake of talking.

How can you say she turned a blind eye? I remember during the fuel subsidy wahala how did woman came out to give us reasons why it should be removed but Nigerians said no and were matching up and down against the removal now are we not going back to it? Penny wise pound foolish.

Anon thank you for this comment. Don't mind the Stupid irabor. Someone is giving you facts and figures and you keep dwelling on hear say. Why don't u just shut up instead of talking rubbish and fooling yourself.

Don't mind him. Guess he has not been in Nigeria. Abeg where were u during the fuel subsidy saga? Or u were too young to know what was going on? I must talk group of people.

Lol. This comment is spot on. I just wonder the kind of future leaders we will have each time I read comments on LIB. They find it hard to read even when they do they barely understand what they have read but they are so fast to write Stupid comments, criticize and abuse.

Brian said...

Wrong choice of words.. A good English was used for the write up..

Thank u for this comment. Nigerians are a lot wiser. Let each governor publish how much they got both from the federal government and IGR and tell us how the money was spent. We have to start holding our leaders accountable.

I said it earlier Nigerian youths don't read. This is really a problem for our nation o. Subomi why comment when u have not read it. If you don't want to read then don't comment and mislead people with your comment. You cannot talk about what you don't know.

What makes her shameless? Cuz she is standing up to the useless governors and making those of us who want to know the truth know the truth? You should be ashamed of the useless comment you posted here.

Kelvin I don't think anyone in your generation can achieve what this woman has achieved. You better mind the way you talk. Useless child.

Both Parties are claiming right. So who wasted our money? The masses?

Clearance Sales: 100% Human hairs, 24 inches =18k,
20 inches =16k,
16 inches =14k,
10 inches =10k.
Grade A brazilian hair. Other types are also available.
Pin: 33578C1D

olatunolas blog said...

The way people dey take vex untop LIB dey scary ooo.

Ode like you. A common driver who is proud to be identified as a driver. Illiterate.hope you don't die a driver because you seem really comfortable as a driver. Not even chauffeur. Very soon you would be there driving davidos child, and shortly after, if she's a girl, you drive her child too. That's three generations. Mumu

I hate it when people ascribe much importance to themselves. Can okonjo iweala come out to talk about labour matters. Your field is labour and you come to run your mouth and embarrass yourself. Now that you have been put in your place and your ignorance has been exposed, go and sit down please.

Obyno C said...

Nigerians and their Myopic Minds and No Sense of History. GEJ and Okonjo-Iweala told Nigerians that Subsidy was A Fraud and that We should do away with it, but those Who Keep Deceiving the Masses Used the Media again and gave them Falsehood. Today We have seen the Result and Now the have Power Back and Want to Remove the Subsidy and again using the Media and Nigerians are Falling for it. They Ruled Nigeria for Years and Never exposed Subsidy. Time Will Tell and Nigerians will come to Know who was being Selfless and Selfish and has the Masses of Nigerians in His Plan.

Pls Okonjo Iweala your tenor in office has ended today. Let this matter rest biko

Madam Okonjo your tenor in office ends today. Can we let this matter rest abeg