Black Japanese Miss Universe Japan fights for acceptance in her home country | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 May 2015

Black Japanese Miss Universe Japan fights for acceptance in her home country

After winning Miss Universe Japan and facing criticism for not being “Japanese enough,” Ariana Miyamoto is still fighting to change the conception of mixed-race people Japan.

Race is based off what heritage you link back to, while ethnicity is the learned cultural behaviors of a certain region. This means because Miyamoto is half African American and half Japanese, her race is African-American and Japanese, while her ethnicity is Japanese because she was born and raised in Japan.

According to NY Times:
Ms. Miyamoto is one of only a tiny handful of “hafu,” or Japanese of mixed race, to win a major beauty pageant in proudly homogeneous Japan. And she is the first half-black woman ever to do so.
Ms. Miyamoto’s victory wins her the right to represent Japan on the global stage at the international Miss Universe pageant expected in January. She said she hoped that her appearance — and better yet, a victory — would push more Japanese to accept hafu. However, she said, Japan may have a long way to go.
Even after her victory in the national competition, local journalists have had a hard time accepting her as Japanese.
“The reporters always ask me, ‘What part of you is most like a Japanese?’ ” said Ms. Miyamoto, who has the long legs of a foreign supermodel, but shares the same shy self-reserve of many other young Japanese women. “I always answer, ‘But I am a Japanese.’
“I had hoped winning Miss Universe Japan would make them notice that,” she added.

With her parents
 Ariana the child of a short-lived marriage between an African-American sailor in the United States Navy and a local Japanese woman, Ms. Miyamoto grew up in Japan, where she says other children often shunned her because of her darker skin and tightly curled hair.

That experience has driven her to use her pageant victory as a soapbox for raising awareness about the difficulties faced by mixed-race citizens in a country that still regards itself as mono-ethnic.
“Even today, I am usually seen not as a Japanese but as a foreigner. At restaurants, people give me an English menu and praise me for being able to eat with chopsticks,” said Ms. Miyamoto, who spoke in her native Japanese and is an accomplished calligrapher of Japanese-Chinese characters. “I want to challenge the definition of being Japanese.”
With her younger brother BJ
Ariana is still facing some of the same criticism and being seen as a foreigner in her own homeland.

46 comments:

Hmmmmmmm
But shes pwetty sha

Aw the also face this racist shit?? Hummm * I siddon dey look*

Aw they also face this racist shit?? Hummm * I siddon dey look*

*SMH - Na real wa!!*

She's so cute.

Get latest news said...

She has right to compete since she is a Japanese whether Black or White.... Get latest news

Aren't they stupid? They shud be happy that a beauty like her is representing them. Ugly ass mofos😬

Ethel said...

She doesn't look like them tho! But if she says she is Jap why not accept her for who she wants to be!.......Pple jst like drama!

She's beautiful #onelovefromsnow#

Even success could not change their racist behaviour. What a people!

Pepe said...

Lovely young lady. Nice one, she should continue to raise awareness.

Joy C said...

Wow those legs tho. They should chill, their reasons r baseless. She's Japanese!

lepa shandy said...

They better accapt and move on

Haba now they look like Japanese tho

She doesn't even look mixed race to me

She's such a beautiful girl and f**k all japanese
and their racist short d**k.

Pretty geh looks sorta like Beyonce's coz

Racism is really bad.

WizzyEsq said...

Do she have to struggle?...she already a citizen by birth...Bj lol

ANYA IKENGA said...

Black is a superior gene. According to Kunta Kinte. "Wether you are high yellow. A drop of black blood makes you black"

Her mom is so beautiful

Have u seen a Japanese d**k before? There are some big ones out there. Get in touch I can help you out.

I tell you

Tell them

WOW! Amber Rose Goes Topless in Sexy New Pool Snap(SEE HERE)

Chii said...

Fine girl.This African gene is just too good when it is mixed.Whatever race it is being mixed with comes out great.

Lol@peoples comment...especially short dick and another who wants to enlighten people about happened enigma dicks...

Her brother looks more Japanese than her...mayb if she dates a white Japanese that will help her....

Nawa ooooooo, even success can not convince them....... she is really pretty thou.

Nicole said...

Lmfao! This is serious !

De girl beautiful nah

True talk joo

She is beautiful

she looks good

Dis is coll, and great. I wish them well.

andre kelvin said...

Anybody dat is against Black ppl. Am Against dem too. Japanese girls that r Skinny like 1 stick of broom... Mordafuckers

Fine girl, I hope gets what she seeks. Linda take note!

What you've written here about race is confusing. There are only three races: black, white and Asian. You're on point about heritage and ethnicity though. I've seen a lot of blasians, and she's one of the few who's physical appearance doesn't capture a more balanced mixture of the two. She looks more black and white to me. Good luck to her and her commendable mission. No more suffering in silence for blasians in Japan.

She is so cute

Why does her dad look like Forest Whitaker..? Her mom is so beautiful, doesn't even look like a pure Japanese as well

She does not look Japanese, like AT ALL.

She's beautiful

Cutie don't mind them

This girl be tripping.. No offence but if Your father black then You Black! Be proud of your black heritage, talking bout "am japanese", at best she's 'blackanese'

She's pretty

Pls accept her

GAIJIN DRAMA

THE JAPANESE ARE AS RACISTS AS IT GETS