Footballer Rio Ferdinand loses 34 year old wife to cancer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 May 2015

Footballer Rio Ferdinand loses 34 year old wife to cancer

Former England defender Rio Ferdinand announced this morning that his wife of six years and mother of his three children, Rebecca Ferdinand died in a hospital in London following a short battle with cancer. Ferdinand announced the sad news on the club's website this morning. He said: 
'My soul mate slipped away last night. Rebecca, my wonderful wife, passed away peacefully after a short battle with cancer at the Royal Marsden Hospital in London. She was a fantastic loving mother to our three beautiful children. She will be missed as a wife, sister, aunt, daughter and granddaughter. She will live on in our memory, as a guide and inspiration.
'Myself, my parents Janice and Julian, along with Rebecca's parents Lesley and Stephen, would like to thank our families, friends and my club colleagues who have rallied around in these desperate days, weeks and months. I would also like to express my gratitude for the dedication and expertise of the staff led by Professors Johnstone and Clarke at the Royal Marsden. Their valiant efforts to prolong Rebecca's all-too-short life will not be forgotten.
'Our grief, as a family, is total. We would appreciate being allowed to mourn privately.'

87 comments:

That's so sad.

May God give him and the family the Grace to live on.....Such a sad way to go

sorry 4 his loss......rip Pweety lady

No proper treatment for the malaria before it turned to cancer! RIP to the death!

OLOWOLAGBA said...

That's so sad.. Rest in peace!
Signed
DeoGratias

No proper treatment for the malaria before it turned to cancer! RIP to the death!

OLOWOLAGBA said...

That's so sad.. Rest in peace!
Signed
DeoGratias

Awwww...RIP ma'am

Awww really sad, may her soul rest in peace

Eyaaahhhhhhh..my condolences

G-girl said...

RIP Rebecca

Eya

CHERRY said...

RIP!

What a great loss, may her soul rest in peace.

RIP Rebecca. So sad. Funmilayo say so.

So sad! RIP to her.

Chai! Sad news oo. Beautiful chick!
Cancer no dey look face oooO.
We man u fans sympathise.

Peace said...

RIP ma'am....

OMG! I pray God grant his family d fortitudes to bear their loss.

Eeya Rip Rebecca

www.glowyshoes.com said...

May he soul rest in peace..uts a sad period for him

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Pidgin Mistress said...

Eyaa

What a loss. RIP

* SO SAD - MAY HER SOUL R I P *

So sad!!

Oh dear. .RIP.

So sad :(

May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

eka said...

cancer; d silent expensive killer with low survival
may her soul rest in peace..

RIP, Rebecca, your earthly suffering has now ended in your transition to the after life.

This has being all over the news and on twitter, though I haven't seen it on Man United's twitter page.

Ehya may her soul rest in perfect peace.....

That's sad!!
RIP to her.

Quiny said...

May she rest in peace

May her soul rest in peace!

And we at Man United are with you in these trying times. May she rest in perfect peace.

Oskirin said...

RIP 2 ur wife dear.man u ambasador.fi wa gboye of lagos.

rip rio

6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast

rip rio

6 Exercise Mistake Click Here To Avoid these common Mistake and burn fat twice as fast

Too bad...it is well..

eka said...

May she rest in da lord!!

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace... God kindly help us in finding a way to curing cancer

E ya, so sad. RIP 2 r, may God console r families n loved 1s n may he grant dem d fortitude 2 bear d loss

R. I. P ... Now ure in a better place... @methusah

Eyaah, I feel for him, may her soul rest in peace. Amen

GOD please we need a permanent cure for this cancer biko. Death is so painful and on top of that it's inevitable. R.I.P Rebecca and may GOD console your family.

Chai!!! Rest on Rebecca......

Eyaaa bro take heart

Rip to d dead.

May her soul R.I.P

May her soul RIP....

Painful

Ohh Rip

How to Overcome The Fear Of Approaching That Beautiful Lady You're Interested in

Awwww that's so sad RIP

musty said...

Awwww! So sad! May her soul Rest in Peace.

Oh, so sad. May her soul rest in peace.

O my!

Lily of Nigeria said...

May her soul rest in peace...

www.iblogwithgrace.blogspot.com

Not again. RIP to the dead, may God give the family the fortitude to bear the loss.

Chai. What a loss? And she was still young. I keep asking what are the causes of cancer? It's becoming alarming...RIP dear

Sorry sir!

So sad!RIP

May her soul rest in peace,Amen.

May her soul rest in peace. God please take control.

So sad, RIP to her

Joy C said...

It's a pity, may she rest in peace.

Karlsson said...

Sorry for ur loss bro. RIP
Ubanagum

jay_cinx said...

Damn! this will be so painful for my most rated defender. Take heart bro. R.I.P to her.

Rio! Rio! Rio!! Poor family with 3 kids all under 10. May she rest in peace. Amen.

Eeyah so sad! Rip beautiful soul!!!

Accept my sympathy.

GOD comfort you and your family. May she rest in peace......... what a loss.

Rip. May God console u

May he n d family find comfort in Christ...RIP Rebecca Ferdinad

cancer again!!! RIP

so sad.....RIP

RIp