Nigerians can get fined for fixing federal/state roads for their benefit? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 25 March 2015

Nigerians can get fined for fixing federal/state roads for their benefit?

According to this man, he runs a little factory which employs quite a few people. The Road leading to the said factory was bad so he decided to fix it. Turns out the local government had a problem with his unwarranted generosity and fined him N200k for fixing the road. When the government refuses to do something and you take it upon yourself to do, it is an offense now?

142 comments:

Incredible.. Lindaobserve

Linda's Intern said...

The things we hear on a steady under GEJ'S administration.
CHANGE IS COMING!!

Dat is an hungry local govt. officials@wrk. He should sue them if he knows his rights but if he doesn't then he should gladly pay them d 200k.

Na wa! Dere is nting I will nt hear

Similar shit happen in one local government in warri,d local government dealt wit d man for making d road from his pocket,thats 9ja 4 j,they feel u ar blocking their way,cus dey know they will benefit frm d government wen d contract get to their table.smh

Na wa for this country o!
What nonsense!

Similar shit happen in one local government in warri,d local government dealt wit d man for making d road from his pocket,thats 9ja 4 u,they feel u ar blocking their way,cus dey know they will benefit frm d government wen d contract get to their table.smh

It has bn an offence since ooo! My boss had similar P in 2004 around itamaga ikorodu, he was dragged to court when he refused to pay the fine!!!! Sum Nonsense sumtin!

Yes its wrong,,he shud av collected permission from the govt....no one shud make/mar the road..all this rubbish in nigeria ehn, u cnt try that in my country America hehehe #badbelle is allowed

I am a living witness to that, in naija you don't just take it upon yourself to fix road for the government. If he had told them before commencing on the repairs, they would have billed him a certain amount to pay before working on the road. That's how bad our country has become. Linda take note!

This is absolute rubbish, they should even reward you for fixing the road

I am a living witness to that, in naija you don't just take it upon yourself to fix road for the government. If he had told them before commencing on the repairs, they would have billed him a certain amount to pay before working on the road. That's how bad our country has become. Linda take note!

Its a crazy country yet it is an offence to fix the road (Fed or State) without following due process/tender bidding formalties which would lead to approval and publications where applicable.

Yes ooooo dts soooo true in my area too Julius Berger offered 2 fix d Road leading 4rm,Mile 2- otto-wharf 2 Oregie,Boundary nd d Local Government told dem 2 pay b4 dy cld Fix it, JB of course refused 2 pay cos it senseless dy are using der equipments nd resources y shld dy pay d LG again. Nigeria kia.

nawaoooo anyway they collect bribe from drivers i understand the tricks

Yes Linda, it's an offense.
He ought to obtain an approval before carrying out that exercise. Roads are properties of the state.
Shekina

Yes, heard this before, they say you do not have right unless you are given permission... OBSEQUIOUS

Stupid country. People don't know their rights anymore. ----C21

lol. Nawaoooo. My dear country.

Letter to Nigerian celebrities up on the blog
www.udokajane.blogspot.com

Zamani said...

Smh for Naija

Rellanaija.blogspot.com

NigerianStyles said...

SIMPLY CRAZY IN THAT COUNTRY.

BAD ROADS
NO ELECTRICITY
CORRUPT GOVERNMENT
NO HOSPITALS FOR THE POOR
UNEMPLOYMENT
AND SO ON

CHECK US OUT ON applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk

Slimy said...

Yes its true, n i guess its Aba d man is talking abt

Witches full FGN

If only that corruption hasnt taken the best of us i could have said he should sue them but that is not possible.....

oga neglect them biko

That's a rubbish claim. Hasn't he heard of CORPORATE SOCUAL RESPONSIBILITY?

D-PinPointer Says: It is an offense because that road could have made an assigned contractor a billionaire.

They fined him because they don't av reasons to keep collecting money for the development of that road useless people

BigChamps said...

I have heard something like this before in an area from osogbon osun- state though I don't know how far. It's true but I heard a man was fine because he wanted to fix a road lead to his hotel from the main express road.....many things happens here in naija. Sukusuku bambam eni ba lo mo

No na , it is not, he should sue them.

LIVING REAL. said...

Nigeria we hail thee!

Dats how cursed our politicians are. How can the LG *extort* 200k from him? Most of dem will rot in hell tho. 'El'

Goodluck Till2019 said...

This is very funny.

Fashehun of OPC fame built a bridge linking Ago-Okota to Jakande Estate, Isolo foe persinal gain- he is collecting toll on the road, yet no issues from government. Now an employer wants to make his life easier and it's a problem for the government. Truly juju pass juju:)

Jenny said...

Na wah o

Yes ooo!

my street is bad, i recommended landlords contribute so we can fix it.
i was discouraged for the same reason.

these people force us to depend on them even when we do not want to.

I learnt this recently too. the road leading to my estate is gruesome, we can't do anything about it less the government task us.

Yes na,dats true

sue them abeg

DEji is an idiot

He will still go and cast vote for Buhari upon it all

Yes ooo! Linda. I found out like 2 yrs ago. In a movie sef. And I was like "say what?!"

So yeah... it's true. how would Local govt embezzle funds if "good samaritans" fix the roads? Lool. That's the situation we find ourselves in naija. Sooo sad!

Oskirin said...

linda,ds can happen.na naija we dey...it's a total failure of leadership.

John Collins said...

Shuuuuuuu #9jaGov Kilode ?

Yes oo na so e be for the country, dey made d law to benefit themselves, cos with bad roads they would always award contract dey would neva complete and dat is for them to loot, so that law was made. Naija which way?

I have heard this a long time ago and even now I'm still finding it very difficult to believe

its not an offence, the law requires the local govt to tax u even when u r fixing a bad govt road. that's why some people neglect bad roads and find alternative

Imagine....

Bullsh*t.

Read ur constitution. It was stated there

Its fed\govt road and I don't
Think ordinary individual should interfere
Without their consultation.
Its wrong but dude was supposed
To consult them b4 going ahead.

Sowee man.. Dats Naija 4 u

Riches said...

This same shit happened in Benin City where Gov Oshiomhole stop winners chapel from repairing St Saviour Road, a bad and abandoned road by its government. The church had repaired the road to half extent the governor summoned them and bring another tractor to scrape off the newly tared road by winner on account that it was not well done and till now he has not fix the road. what a country we live.

It is a serious offense in Cameroon you could get heavily fined.

jennifer said...

Na wao

Itss true, datss y d rich around ma area don't repair roads

same thing in Ago Palace Way Okota,,,all our streets ar bad,,and d local govt warned Landlords not to fix d roads,,else dey wld fine us millions

Which local Government? It is only a place like Delta state such a thing could happen. You most settle for anything you want to do and those Bros demanding takpe don't send you.Tim28

It is very true. A customer of mine inside the Otta Industrial Estate decided to fix the road in front of his factory because it was very bad. The local government fined the Company.

Local government don chop am mugu

yes oh. i have head thats before. even fashola cannot go and repair a federal government road oh.

bosslady said...

Yes it's true. My church owns a major plot beside national theater. We tried to fix one tiny portion of road so that church goers can attend without damaging their cars and we were fined

Dat Naija 4 u oooo sorry man

Well going by your conclusion Ms. Ikeji, it would also be alright to own a gun and live like the wild wide west since much hasn't been done on security. Before you interfere on roads you must get permission from the relevant authorities or you get punished

Goats!!!they don't want to fix it because each year they will keep getting allocation for that same road,which of course enters their pockets. God will punish all of u

Gimplex logistics said...

Ah ah! Yu ddint knw? Dats wat apns naija o. Heard abt stuff lyk ds since

I said it was a scam but fools here won't believe

9ja Parrot said...

No, you don't fix the road until you get permit from the government. It is like major fixing part of your apartment without getting the consent of your landlord.

I tire Ooo

I tire Ooo

Jojo said...

How appalling. Just too bad

I tire Ooo

I tire Ooo

I tire o

ROADS AND HOSING said...

CAPTIAL YES!!!! IT IS A VERY BIG OFFENSE TO REPAIR A FEDERAL ROAD. HOW DARE YOU!!!...

spicychik said...

Won't blame them much..maybe their juju told them not to fix the road..

Plateaupedia said...

Yes you must suffer it like that

Complete Madness!!! Ungrateful lunatics running a local govt.

That is naija for you. Same thing happened to an uncle of mine, but he was lucky, he knew someone that knew the chairman. God help us on Naija.

it is an offense because e dae stop all this greedy contractors from benefiting. You know say na contracts den dae take chop money :)

Same thing happens in Aba, Abia State.

ogeee said...

Is it bad to do gud tin? Nigerian govt needs to put things in order

Hmmm that is to tell u how the level of corruption has increase in Nigeria. #Ihavedecided to vote for #change

Its called encroaching on Government land...lol. What a country! sigh

What are we not going to hear in this naija..that niaja for you..

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Hmmmmmmm! Na wa o! Those L.G officials are a disgrace to that community!

Hmmmmmmm! Na wa o! Those L.G officials are a disgrace to that community! HUNGRY INGRATES!

DEM DON DE MAD ABI !

Meje Apanmiran said...

That road is a Lagos road, my friend fixed the road to their filling station in Ipaja and the government made them pay millions. Salvation ministries fixed the bad roads in PH as CSR. This lagos is just too capitalist that is why we really need change from APC to PDP in Lagos. JK is OK, GEJ is just fine.

It is especially in lagos
You have to settle then before u repair any road

Might be an offense! He should get a lawyer to help him check!

Yeah. Happens mostly in the industrial areas of Ogun state. Visited a company in Sango Ota a while back and the roads leading their factory was so bad. When i asked why they don't want to fix it, they told me that they proposed to but the LGA didn't agree. Even after contributing 3million to the cause. The local govt still haven't fixed the road up till now. It's a sad state we're in. Most of these LGA use these bad roads as an avenue to collect money frm Federal govt.

Linda pls find out. If this is real, then Dats ridiculous, when will Nigeria develop if such is happening.

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

Just negodu! What rubbish!

Linda this man is not lying,in my neighborhood the road leading to a popular church was very bad,area boys were using it to their advantage estorting money from motorist,when the church fixed the road,it was war from the Local govt

Tf!!!!!! Nig govt self them don chop the money now person do them still fine am o ma ga ooo

That's crazy..wat constitution say so..

Nawa o, wat is nigeria turning to? Wen govt is blind 2 c d road n he helped dem 2 do it, otu ti jebi abi? Too bad

Cynthia Iyede said...

What a country!

I THINK WE NIGERIANS ARE NOT SERIOUS YET TO FIGHT FOR OUR SELF. WE NEED REVOLUTION DOES THAT WILL DIE WILL DIE AND DOES THAT WILL REMAIN GO REMAIN ABEG ENOUGH OF THIS WEREY JOOOR LINDA YOU NEVER REPLY ME I WON MARRY YOU KE

Shit this can't be serious 😂😂🔫🔫

Linda you ain't seen nothing. Development purges some people. A company was supposed to work on the road leading to where I stay, but the community people asked for compensation first. That's how the company packed up and left. Imagine! Compensation for development again??? Daft people abound

Funny Country where everything goes.

Yes they do... Even at national level... they do. it is travesty of governance

iyke cindy said...

Only in 9ja.....

Wow! Reminds me of a Yoruba movie.

My people !!! This is exactly why we need CHANGE !!!

APC local Government. Stupid tinubu people

Unbelievable

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

It's an offence to fix govt. Roads without permission. He should ve followed due process. You don't just do things. U ask. If it were that easy, everybody would fix roads as they deemed it fit.

Dnt mind our senseless politicians. They are all enemies of progress.

Is warri not a local government area...or is it now a state?

Statutory obligation. Was there a permission from the local authority? the contractor used is certified to construct road in Nigeria? etc

What business has any citizen to fix a bad road if the government has not abandoned their duties? Soon all of us will begin to pay fine for using generators when there's power failure. UP NEPA.

#smh - this is real. AGOFURE poured concrete on a large pot hole on East West Road near Patani and the Federal government fined the transport company.

#smh - it is obvious PDP will lose so they are doing everything at all cost to stay in power.

#smh - the south were slow to pick up pvc, but election was shifted and they will be slow to go out and vote so I see the Northerners voting more. This is because people aren't enthusiastic to vote GEJ again after every one, North and South voted him the last time and he failed woefully.

YES ITS WRONG. An individual is not suppose to fix state or federal road. Studied Estate Mag in school. Thought us that.

Evrything is possible here

Yes o ,its tru !An example is the road beside julius berger office along apapa oshodi expressway,the road is so bad that they rob alot there,wen i was a youth corp member we went to appeal to julius berger to assist us in fixing the road as a special project but they disagreed ,reason been that they tried fixing sometime back and the local government gave them hell n threatened them,then i undastood why that road had not been fixed by them,being a construction company and all.

Gmiimy said...

We need change oooo

Guy abeg use igbo dey type! I dey beg u

Unmasking the real Buhari

Unmasking Buhari

peggylicious said...

We just live in a corrupt country were corruption is legal. If eventually govt of fed govt aproves and release the money to local govt, they will eat the whoooooole money witout reminant and the road will never be done....

Mumu so u tink buhari is the solution a bi? Ode

It happened to my church. There was this really bad road in the area (Adelabu road to be precise) and for a period of years, the Surulere local government didn't bother with the road. It got so bad that it caused heavy traffic, especially in the evenings. A baptist church in the area decided to do something about it. Na so Surulere local govt sue them to court o! It wasn't a small matter o. I think the church used its members that were lawyers to sort the matter out.

Eagle Eyes Media said...

"One Local Govt in warri". So Warri is now a State or Province?

And that is the kind of wealth I have been asking God to bless me with so that I can fix all the Nigerian roads and other things (basic amenities) the NNigerian Government hasome refused to give her masses and they tell me I would be fined?
#Goddey

Oluwayemisi

Etymology said...

CAPITAL NONESENSE!

yes its a offence

But then will they accept? No.they have to fulfil their egoistic aaim.who knows,the man might have tried reaching them but to no avail. Now ,I understand all the questions that always come up in my mind about the situation in Nigeria. .God you are in Heaven, let your will be done,bring up a common stone and disgrace all those troubling Nigeria and don't want her progress. #thingslikethismakesmybloodboil

I am planning to fix Benin - Ore road by God's grace, if I follow the normal p (asking permission ),will I be granted the rights?Not only that I have the intention to be very rIch by God's special grace,sOle aim ,to help the federal government, state and local governments achieve their duties because they seem to have lots of things on their agenda,may God help me.

It's been a law since Buhari's time and even before his time. You cannot fix any road without undergoing due process and permissions. You cannot! Not only in Nigeria! So stop talking shit about GEJ.

Gmiimy is it from Accra you want to experience the change?

Charles Okeke said...

I hate it when somebody see something that is wrong he channels it to Goodluck Regime, though those who said that do not have the courage to write their names. It has been in existence since over 30 years. A catholic church in Alaba, contributed money to repair the road that lead to the Church, people from Ojo LGA stopped it, as far back as 20 years ago.

Charles Okeke said...

I hate it when somebody see something that is wrong he channels it to GEJRegime, though those who said that do not have the courage to write their names. It has been in existence since over 30 years. A catholic church in Alaba, contributed money to repair the road that lead to the Church, people from Ojo LGA stopped it, as far back as 20 years ago.

Austine said...

You do not have the right to construct or repair a road without permission. Govt has to be sure that the construction/repair meets certain prescribed quality standards.

Austine said...

Government duty still remains govt duty!! You dont go building roads because the govt refuses to. You can either get permission to do it or sue them for neglecting it

i dont understand why the Govt is behaving that way, there was one occasion like that where a very big company could help but they where against it i mean the FERMA guys and they later did a shitty job

Trish Baby said...

Linda it's very true. However this is not in any way Jonathan's doing o. People are quick to put the blame on him. Why can't we ever have the fear of God in our hearts and speak the truth irrespective of our political affiliations or choices? This law has been in existence as far back as 1994 (it was in this year I knew about it, so it's obviously been on b4 then). As at September 1994, 21road extention in festac had a very bad road, it was really bad. So the people who happen to lived at this part of festac decided to fix the road themselves. They were over capable to handle it, as per na big men area. But the local government chairman gave them a stern warning not to do this, that they would be fined if this was done, as it was a state road and as such should not be fixed by individuals. I know this because I lived there with my aunt for years. That road was finally fixed in december 2013. Pls tell me, was Jonathan responsible for the law?
Fast forward 10 years. 322road in festac was bad for a very long time and the residents, tired of begging for their road to be fixed decided to do this themself. Ayo, the local government chairman warned them sternly against doing this and immediately started making plans for the road to be fixed. Same story applied to 3rd avenue extension, 4th avenue, 6th avenue, 41road etc. The end of 402road in festac is the worst story. Last time I saw that road in good condition was in 1994 when i and my siblings moved out of that area to live with my aunt. Dunno when the road went bad but it's been so long that the bad road seems like a tattoo there now.
Even after my parents got back into the country in 1995, they complained about that road.
People should stop speaking without adequate information and facts to back their opinions up. In as much as I'm not satisfied with what Jonathan has done, tbh I'm quite impressed with all he has done.
Linda before it used to take 7 hrs plus to get to my village, off issele-uku in delta state but now 4hrs we don reach. Ore road is better, the robbery has greatly reduced. Since he came in the price of rice dropped from 11k back to 8k. Even market women at 23rd market in festac where screaming it in the market last Christmas, that tomato and other foodstuffs didn't go up in price. That mile 12 and oyingbo market where stocked full. They sold till 8pm. I was at the market on the 24th 7pm buying things. All I've stated are not "dem say, dem say". They are first hand info from what I've seen with my eyes. Is it fuel scarcity? That one na jump and pass. It's so good that when there is fuel scarcity, I relax and tell my hubby to hold on, that in 2 days it will be stable again. Late last year and just a few weeks back, I drove till my fuel tank was begging for fuel. In confidence, I drove out of my office the 2nd day knowing that the queues would have reduced because fuel is available and I bought fuel. There are so many things I can list out. Just like JIMI AGBAJE said in my parish last Sunday, about the festac roads and other bad roads within lagos, "it is not about federal road or state road argument, it is about we all treating Lagos as ONE. Stop complaining and vote right.

Its not new joor, same with our community when we wanted to fix our road cos it was very bad, the local council asked us not to but we should write in to the local govt chairman and so on & forth. When the process was becoming longer, we had to leave the road & source for an alternative to our house. As i write, the road is the worst road you can think of, its located behind MFM headquaretrs church

he should not pay dine