Bridesmaid hangs herself in her dress hours after attending sister's wedding | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Bridesmaid hangs herself in her dress hours after attending sister's wedding

30 year old Rebecca Darnell attended her older sister's wedding and looked really happy to be there. In fact, friends said she was the 'life and soul of the wedding party' as head bridesmaid. She'd helped organize people and dragged many people onto the dance floor, so imagine their shock when they heard she'd hanged herself just hours after the wedding, still wearing her bridesmaid's dress.
"She was the life and soul. She got everybody up and dancing, which is no mean feat. She was getting everyone involved." her father David told a coroner yesterday.
However, just hours after the wedding reception Rebecca's partner of four years, Carlo Salamone, found her body hanging at their townhouse in Addlestone, Surrey.

The couple had argued about the taxi fare on their way back from the wedding, the inquest heard, and Mr Salamone had slept on the sofa when they had got home.

When he woke up and went upstairs to find his girlfriend, he saw that their bed was still made and had not been slept in. Walking up the second flight of stairs to the third floor, Mr Salamone found his path blocked by a hanging figure.

Mr Salamone raced to get a phone and dialled 999 and was directed through CPR lifesaving techniques, which he carried out.

Police constable Stephen Ashley, who attended the scene after 7am, said he found a body lying on the floor, still wearing a "formal evening dress."

A post-mortem examination showed Rebecca had died as a result of suspension, with a cause of death of hanging. Toxicology tests showed she was double the drink driving limit, with 162mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood.

Mr Salamone said his partner had been "very happy" on the day of the wedding, on November 8, 2013, and had drunk vodka and coke but not seemed excessively drunk.

Taxi driver Khalik Meah said the couple had been arguing when he gave them a lift back from the party some time after midnight.

Asked whether the couple rowed a lot, Mr Salamone said they would argue when they were drunk, but this was only around once a month and this had been no worse than normal.

"She was my life partner," the garage owner said. "That evening at the wedding I had spoken to Jo's husband and arranged the following summer in Dubai (where the newlyweds lived) to ask Rebecca to marry me. "I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her."

The counsellor had been diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes when she was aged 25 years, the coroner heard, leaving her reliant on insulin to regulate her blood sugar levels.
Her medication had made her put on weight, which Mr Salamone said she worried about, weighing herself every morning and evening.
Once, during a severe hypoglycaemic attack, she fell into a coma which lasted four days and left her with minor memory problems.

Her devastated father David said his daughter, who grew up in Hertford before the family moved to Guildford, Surrey, had been a perfectionist.

Rebecca's cousin Samantha Nash, 24, said she had seen her in a state at about 10pm on the night of the wedding.
Miss Nash said: "She came to me and completely broke down. Alarm bells went off.
"She was extremely upset. It was about how Carlo wasn't there for her at home.
"She kept saying, 'Don't tell anyone Carlo's on drugs, cocaine, don't tell anyone."

Coroner Richard Travers said: "The cause of Boo's death was hanging. There was nothing at the scene to suggest any third party involvement."

He ruled out a verdict of suicide, as he could not find any clear intention, such as leaving a suicide note and Rebecca had made plans to see friends and family for the coming days.
"Consequently I conclude Rebecca died from self-inflicted injuries but her intention was unclear," he said.

Source: UK Mirror

49 comments:

Tragic! Rip...lindaobserv

Madness tins

Sad

Do you need creative and affordable:

LOGO DESIGN,
BRAND CREATION or
WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT?

Get it with Vecturn Media.

Email: info@vecturnmedia.com.
www.vecturnmedia.com.

Take charge!

So sad
Maybe she was just showing off, but wasn't really happy inside.

Oriegwu! Uwa nkea na ato ka mmanu anu.....nways rip to her

My goodness, Phewww!

Nawa o

Phew! What could have prompted her taking her own life, quite unfortunate.

Odikwa egwu seriously. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

Oyibo n sucide. I tire4 there matter

Depression on the highest level

Juliebabe said...

What a tragedy, awful.

Sad...death everywhere

Self inflicted injury probably from temporary depression.This is just sad.

Fearless! said...

Very sad! men need to realize that most women are very sensitive and we need you to be there for us just like we are for you!

What a waste of beauty!!!..RIP

Can that argument make her summit suicide. RIP

There is more to dis than we just read. D more u look d less u see.

Pple hide der sadness wit a lot of smile probably tru out d ceremony she wsnt hapi bt was jt hiding it, so sad RIP.

Very painfull something.... May her soul RIP...

So sad, sorrow for happiness

udezeobumneme@gmail.com said...

And that was a tragedy

SKELETONS IN HER CUPBOARD....TOMJERRYSWIT

Wasted your life for no reason! What a pity. Just speechless on this! John 10:10-11. @Bishop_Dammy

Uwa di imirimious...oyi uwa natum

looks vibrant. sad. may she RIP

Ish got me thinking, why will Bae Hang herself to death without the motive of actually killing herself taking into consideration statement credited 2 the coroner who ruled out the verdict of suicide but stated that "she died from self inflicted injuries but her intentions were unclear"
It is pertinent to note that the coroner gave Hanging as her cause of death while ruling out any third party involvement.
I think either the coroner or myself is confused with the definition of suicide cos i can see the motive/intent which is 'She felt fucked up with the world n decided to take her own life by Hanging herself with her own hands and that 2 me qualified as Suicide (whether a note is left behind or not).
RIP Miss Becky.

@Osirmah said...

Eyaaah, no mata wat u one is going tru, as long as dere is life. Dere is hope! Just keep believing!

FF on IG n Twitter @Osirmah

Wasted and gone..

So sad RIP

It will be unwise to throw away your cooking pot with a soured soup, it will be unwise to set your kitchen ablaze because you saw a rat in it. Goodluck may not have been our best president, or your dream president, but he may be our only available source  to frustrate the islamized APC's agenda against Nigeria. Note that Vice President has little or no influence on the decision of a President; in that case Osibanjo may not have much to influence if these Islamists, peradventure hijack the highest position in our Nation, and thereafter  roll out any agenda that undermines Christianity. This might serve as a pointer to what I am saying; please read on: 1. Party Leader – North: Gen Muhammadu Buhari (Muslim). 2. Party Leader – South: Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Muslim). 3. National Chairman: Abdulkareem Bisi Akande (Muslim). 4. Deputy National Chairman: Aminu Bello Masari (Muslim). 5. National Secretary: Tijjani Musa Tumsah (Muslim). 6. Deputy National Secretary: Nasir El-Rufai (Muslim). 7. National Publicity Secretary: Lai Muhammad (Muslim). 8. National Treasurer: Sadiya Umar Faruq (Muslim) 9. National Financial Secretary: Alhaji Shaibu Musa (Muslim). 10. National Youth Leader: Abubakar Lado (Muslim). 11. National Legal Adviser: Muiz Banie (Muslim). 12. National Deputy Auditor: Bala Jibrin (Muslim). 13. National Women Leader: Sharia Ikeazor (Muslim convert). 14. EX-officio Member: Muniru Muse (Muslim). 15. EX-officio Member: Alhaji Yemi Sanusi (Muslim). Yet, these people want us to believe they are PROGRESSIVES and that APC is a national party. I think APC has a hidden religious agenda..Be guided people!
Share to all Christian you know to vote wisely. I will not want my children to live in a Nigeria where they cannot worship their GOD!

'self-inflicted injuries but her intention was unclear'. Why was that not rulled as suicide? Law and layers can be funny.

Eyahhhhhh, life can be so tough atimes but you just have to fight back.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Hmmmmmm

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

Either she is highly depressed or d boyfriend killed her and made it look like she murdered her self. Or dem do am from her village..lolzz

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

I wonder ooo...I can't come and kill myself for anything..if its possible not to die before getting to heaven,walahi I no go die ooo

She was depressed all the while but it wasnt noticed probably because she tried to shield it from all. RIP to her.

Hian! May her soul RiP. Abi d alcohol level contributed ni? I'm speechless!

So the cab fare led her to hang herself, seriously?! Madness!!!!

prettiyz said...

Chai,what a beautiful lady

Oga o! Dunno why people think taking their lives will provide solution to whatever that is bothering them. Really sad....RIP

Things happening around the world we get to read on daily basis though.....RIP.

Let's hope he didn't kill her.

She wil tell God y she took her own life.

Sad...

Dobzi fingers said...

Really sad

http://dobzifingers.blogspot.com/?m=1

I cried.............