Anglican Church members now take anti-homosexuality oath | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 3 March 2014

Anglican Church members now take anti-homosexuality oath

Members of the Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion) are now to carry out an oath exercise denouncing any trace or affiliation for homosexuality before they can take up any leadership position in the church. The church which has over the years held strong opposition against homosexuality included this oath taking into its constitution recently.

Yesterday, the first oath-taking against homosexuality was conducted at the St. Matthews, Maitama, Abuja branch when new members of the Parish Church Council were sworn in by the Vicar of the Parish, Ven. Ben Idume. Continue...
The oath taken text reads
"I declare before God and his Church that I have never been a homosexual/bisexual or (have repented from being homosexual/bisexual) and I vow that I will not indulge in the practice of homosexuality/bisexuality. “If after this oath I am involved, found to be, or profess to be a homosexual/bisexual against the teachings of the Holy Scriptures as contained in the Bible, I bring upon myself the full wrath of God and subject myself willingly to canonical discipline as enshrined in the constitution of the Church of Nigeria, so help me God".
While administering the oath, Vicar Idume stressed that henceforth no one who has any trace of homosexuality or bisexuality will be allowed to take up any leadership role in the church.

147 comments:

They are stupid...ow bout the other sins like adultery, fornication, murder etc. I guess those don't incur the wrath of God....Retarded hypocrites.

Immaculate said...

Good to go

God made me so beautiful...beautiful.issorit

Politics af entered d church too... issokay

Lyndy said...

Yoohoo! I'm dancing. Let all gays go to hades and roast there. I bless the name of d Lord for giving the Anglican Church of Nigeria the courage to pull out frm d Church of England. It shows dt God is still wt this country. Gays should repent nd pray to God or face d full wrath of God

Lmao! I'm a partial Anglican, love d calmness of d church, wateva rocks deir boat

Better

Nice 1.... Tho some ot them will like to try God & take the oath even when they are homosexuals cos of shame... Smh!!

Very commendable.this is a true church abeg

Good, precaution method

Don't judge. 'Sergio Frankie'

Next....

~Beautiful Lopez~

Nice one. I love my anglican church. Always following the scriptures.

Topebrass said...

Good.....buh will dis rili solve d problem , what abt d parishionersssss

MARKET MONITOR said...

henceforth no one who has any trace of homosexuality or bisexuality will be allowed to take.
Wtf??see nigerian lesbian girls records their own sex'tape in the hostel!

Good for them.
They should denounce affiliation with England and its evil

pallychuma said...

That's wat it shud be standing for wat Æ”☺ΰ‎​ believe in.

Na were the thing don reach nw..... OATH.... Gud for them....

I've always known passing into law of this anti gay law was beginning of craziness in Nigeria...they would av atleast made d oath complete nah...u won't have anything with any other person aside ur wife. #mtchew# let's see down, relax n watch more unfold.

Very good.

Marc Francis of Chelsea said...

Stupid men. Have you taken oath against abortion? Fornication? Corruption? Because the people that brought the Anglican church to you don't know what they are on about anymore. Even the Pope said who is he to judge, but Nigeria, being the "moral centre of the world" must go against that and judge, castigate, and excommunicate. Soon Nigeria will have its own Pope and it's own bible. Mark my words.

Good1

The funny thing nw is that some churches will start carrying out the action...... Na them sabi....

Awesome! I'm penthecoastal but I L♥√ع d Anglican church, d r just catholic without idol worshiping

Sochima said...

Westerners should emulate this

Opelicious Morgann said...

Hmmm. I love me some undiluted Christianity.

Sochima said...

Westerners should emulate this

Dis is serious. May God help them

Sochima said...

Good one to preach against it

Good old Nigerian ignorance. Why don't they get people to swear not to embezzle Church funds? Why don't they resolve not to give honours to dishonest, rich people.? Why don't they insist that their married members should practise fidelity, and excommunicate those who have affairs and children by other women than their wives? Even the Archbishop of Canterbury and the Pope do not have this attitude. Have they studied Church history to know the role the sexual minority has played in the development of Christianity? All those famously single missionaries were straight and celibate? Maybe! With respect, this oath is so silly, so ignorant, so provincial.

Hmmmm. I love me some undiluted Christianity.

meg2 said...

This is lovely and best news for me today, if this continues i may come back fully to my beloved Anglican Church which is almost being taken over by the White man's sickness and evil practices. Homosexuality is same as bestiality and should be condemned in all manners, no preaching or shadowing can make it look otherwise.

God bless the Maitama Church for this and God bless the Nigerian Anglican Communion, let the canterbury Lords learn the real gospel and stop deceptions.

IBK said...

Ok.

Kzee said...

Linda I'm 100% Anglican, the homosexuality denounciation has being existing for over 4 yrs or so. Since we removed ourselves from church of England n became Church of Nigeria, after England started ordaining gay priest n marrying gays in church.

Hmmmmmm... Okay na!!

Talk about misplaced priorities. The churches in Nigeria need to worry less about homosexuals and worry more about the fact that 63% of the population of Nigeria which they serve (wait... prey on) are living on less than $1 daily. Funny thing is if Jesus were alive today, many of this so called Christians will probably look at his lifestyle (over 30, unmarried and kept a regular close company of 12 men) and assume he is gay. If your bible says do not judge, then are why are you passing judgement? Bloody hypocrites!

Yes! That's Good.. + #i posted a comment first 2day!!!

NK said...

Absolute!

What'z wrong with that Linda? Are you homosexual?

Very funny... Smh!

Very correct. Capital NO to homosexuality.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Lol correct I like it

Praise God

Tildah said...

Ǧd 1 from d church buh A̶̲̥̅м̤̣̲̣̥̈̇ very sure most Øӻ d pple who made this oath did it cos they r scared Øӻ wat pple will say if they dnt do it.

I agree. Good decision

Just Chii said...

This Homo ppl sha.All you Homos reading my coment here this,sticking ur tin inside anoda man's shit hole says a lot about you.Change your ways.

The discrimination has started. And its being done in the name of God #sad

Diz is madnx.....let pple live dia lives fr christ sake. They shuld tak an oath dat dey dnt feel deep down,d nigerian churches r takin gay fin too far jare

Dear Linda, you really need not to over hype this post of yours because Anglicans started taking the oath even before the bill was passed. so pls don't make the anglicans look bad. thanks.

Way to go Anglican church unlike the catholic church that has sold its soul to the devil

Milez said...

This one is strong....

That was a very good step.thumbs up

Amarachukwu said...

That's ok

How do you detect trace of homosexuality biko

Mts heeeeew. Once they have taken an oath to serve. God everything should apply, why single out homosexuality. What about the catholic paedophiles pries....dem take oath too and yet.

I bet they never took any anti-corruption or anti-adultery oaths. Why single out homo? Misplaced priorities,I say.

please is this also in the bible? i was in support of the anti-gay law ...but i think we pushing it too far in this country haba

LINDA said...

Good stuff!

Linda....we fit dey swear oath of anti homosexuality b4 we comment 4 here? Dammytemmydre S A Ys S O

I saw a guy walkign girly 2day, and I was like where re d police

Thought the Anglican church had a gay bishop?

Gbmm

Lolz!!!!! ☑ one

Hot Cool Gist said...

A good tree can't produce bad fruits, neither will he produce bitter fruits.........'So a good person will continue doing good. & a bad person will continually doing bad unless he repents.!

Na wa o what about oath for anti corruption

Raylah said...

I'm an anglican and I know this oath has been on snce I can remember. So there's no way whatever oath swearing ceremony that was held in abuja was the 1st.

Hummmm...u c how silly Nigerians r....u c how siLly dey r...haba!!!u now become God who will judge...and of all d issues Nigeria has...na dis one we go hear...well goodluck to dis country....

CrystalB said...

Nice one @ vicar. Enough of this rubbish called homosextuality looming around waiting for who to destroy. Good job vicar

world famous said...

That's a better ideal

That is serious!

Very good oath. I only hope their tendencies to love on young children is also made a threatening oath. Death to all homos. If you are straight, that should not concern you. It's people who support homos that are boko haram supporters too, anything antisocial and you see them raining abuses and looking for means to propagate their sorry selves.

In fact, I have to draw a parallel between homos and muhammedans.
1)Both love to announce their orientation. They want to force it down your throat, they MUST make you one of them. If you don't fancy them, they abuse or blast you.
2) both are attention seekers. They can't keep what they do to themselves. They are always blowing their trumpet with silly statements such as:" islamist and proud of it", "homo and proud of it", "infidel and proud of it".
3) they are self obsessed. So full of their pathetic little selves. The world revolves around their cause. Like, honestly, it DOESN'T. Who cares about homos and muslims? NO ONE EXCEPT THEMSELVES!!!

Why did I bring up the rant? Because of the terror preacher arriving to a red carpet, and because the idiocy of homosexuality is wrecking news and blogs. What stake does nigeria have in butty boys and fucked by finger girls and head-hitting fanatics? None.

Mwaha.

www.promonigeria.com said...

Lol. This is funny

lady joan said...

This is heavy! Aaaah! Anyone who falls In..wrath go jam ooo! So help us God, i love this! Its gonna help

Proudly Anglican!!

Hmmm!!!no be small matter

Queen Eliza. said...

Beautiful.

sweet pop said...

Linda in dis. Abj??

Linda! Linda! I greet u,i'm just passing by.. I'm juz here 2 read d hillarious comments.. ₹*vic3*₹ via china phone!

Bigtymerbitz said...

Good news

Dats good to hear...lol

whitefalcon said...

Linda, u better leave Anglican Church out this your love for homosexuality, as everything na news for you!

The church will always feel like they are helping God...Ever worn a size 38 when ur real shoe size is 40? You can manage, but for how long till your feet hurt and burn...Gay people exist not out of their making, the attraction doesn't die, but most be people would rather die than be who they are...

Luv dat. There is even dress codes advertised @ entrances of some Anglican churches.
It would not make a complete sense if such leaders still affiliate theirselves 2 occult. It is common within d fold, thuo it can't b proved! I am an Anglican.

Better,love it dat way.Let the church of England go do dia own n make we do our own abegi..................................ALIWAHAB is here.

I no blame them! The world is changing way to fast for our own good

God bless you Tobi. Please include thieving. I bet then none of them would have a place.

Especially that adultery and fornicatio

Linda u hate posting ma comments abi..ïts very annoying....

Foolish people. Deutronomy 22:28-29 says if a woman gets raped,her rapist should pay her father 50 sheckles and she should marry the rapist, why don't we practice that one, hypocrites.they take what they like from the bible and live the rest.hypocrites

Sharrrappp there rubbish anglican church where they celebrate and encourage divorce. Mumus

Ure a bloody fool for saying DAT...its u DAT is an idol worshipper..fool...u didn't have to coMment!!!bloody idiot...so pissed....u stupid idiot

My broda...u took d words from ma mouth!!bunch of hypocrites....playing God!!we dey watch....we go see am

Eesah 26E90A24 said...

It pleases me 2 see pple standing up against dz demonic act called homosexuality. Thumbs up 2 the Anglican church of Nigeria 4 standing dr grounds on dz one. @ least they are better than churches that worships idols and wed homosexual couples live in d church!!

Igor said...

Alleiluyah.

Dj Gentle said...

Listen up her ok. There is no way ever can you compare gay with all those stuffs you mentioned there. Maybe you should go back to your bible if you have any and read why God destoried sodom in the bible

Did u just say dis with ur normal IQ or u were on somtin?...O! Homo rite....pele...

Who is the pope??? So pope's word is final to you abi?? Not what GOD said but what pope said? Pope's saying is now regarded by pple like you than what the bible says about gays abi?? Smh

You must be a foolish goat, ppl make laws for themselves as their guiding principle, and u stay in your backyard to criticize them for such, was d law meant for you, or are you coerced to take the oat? Filthy Gay like you. Nonsense! Abeg park far joor.

You're such a filthy gay

Yeah, the undiluted Christianity that has you painting your face like jezebel? She goat.

DOBY DOBY said...

This sounds smhw. So dey ar nw judgin homosexuals wat of oda sins.. dis ppl ar jus makin me laugh

peperina said...

No matter hw u cry....ur tears is a WASTE! No be by force to be in Nija. Useless man pack nd liv us alone. Ur type is fucking ur brother. ANIMaL.

kkkk. said...

U are even more stupid 4 calin a church stupid

Shut up

U done mumu finish

Crazy foolish ewu like u!

U are useless n deranged like ur comment!!! Mumu

Shut up dere! Deluded idiot

Retard shut up

Continue shakin it so it will fall completely,u almost dere! Idiot

Why wunt dey make u laff? Huh? Gay dat's wat u are! Ewu gambia

Continue shakin it so it will fall completely,u almost dere! Idiot

Retard shut up

Shut up dere! Deluded idiot

U are useless n deranged like ur comment!!! Mumu

AnnMarie said...

Nice move but some homosexuals will still take the oath

proudly an Anglican....if u no lyk go kill urslf we no dey take nonesense

You are just a frustrated lunatic. Go hug transformer just because I gave my own view, senseless idiot. Your mother is like d shit from my black ass. Fucking retard.

@Anonymous 11:25pm...U have a brain, pls utilize dat shit.

Lol...all these gays on LIB will never stop making me laugh. Oga oooo

Smh

Undiluted christianity indeed...#Iranu.

"If u no lyk go kill urself"....Anglican indeed. I bet this is how they teach you to respond to "unbelievers".

Some of us na awa bad mouth go send us go hell. Chei.. Smtimes sm of u sound lik dimented lousy scorn. Hw cn u wit ur rite senses bcm gay in d 1st plc? Dats no1, how cn u encourage smtin dat is physically, mentally, spiritually, psychologically, morally generally wrong? Dts no2, how can u open ur mouth 2 discredit d law n oaths of a church who has choose 2 desist 4rm such mad and animalistic behaviour? All sins are. Equal b4 God no doubt but d punishment differs, hw cn u compare homosexuality wit fonication n adultery? I cn bet any body practicing homosexuality is mentally inbalance. Hw cn I see a soft sweet pretty plumpy fresh from d oven sexy creamy damsel and reject her only 2start developin urge 4 my fellow hard strong black ass modaf**kers ewwww tufiakwa God4bid, very irritating damn! Mehn dis folks nid mental check up. U beta desist 4rm it b4 its 2late oh. Ur doin smtin wrong and Ur tryn 2 justify it, if d wrath of law dnt fall upon. U trust me d wrath of GOD most surely fall upon u!

SIMPLYCOCK said...

BRILLIANT!!!!!!!

Yes it is Good for us cos I am an Anglican and our church of Nigeria denounced it even scripture too! So for dat little broda bonario or whatever ur name is pls Anglican church of Nigeria quit church of england long time ago bcos of their gayish thing so we pulled out from them, Linda if u are obsessed of gay ppl I feel sorry 4 u oh cos its an abomination unto God dnt tryna paint it cos God's word have standard

England and America wants to finish this world with immorality, there's an endless winter storm now in America when we're supposed to Igbo spring now.Nobody knows if it's the wrath of God.

Alleluia, we praise the Almighty God.

All of u insulting the Church of God are ndi iberibe!@ Tobi,u are so senseless and more stupid for starting this up.do not let the wrath of God fall upon u and ur families.ndi Aboki na amaro ife.if u don't know what to post shut the hell up!afterall you weren't there when they took the oath plus they are not encouraged to commit other sins.they just included those homo and lesbo thin because of the issues going on in the Church of God in the western world.lay ur facts rite before you all will open mouth and talk crap!half dead mutherfuckers!idiats!Linda pls post my comment cuz u didn't post the last one.I no wan vex....thank u.

Inasmuch as u say u can't compare homosexuality to fornication,stealing ,adultery n u mention d sodom n gomorah matter...I agree but lemme remind u that SIN is SIN n all punishable. .... Haven't heard of a big sin n a small sin ... .size of sin is quantified in our minds with what we accept,do not accept or can live with or have bn living with ...walks away#choco jay

Sharap dia!abokis...u don't have what to say!ndi iberibe na enwero common sense.Iinda abeg post my comment.I no wan vex

This is very good. I'm impressed. But Linda you're beginning to ride the horse of homosexuality too much. Are you a lesbian or per chance bi-sexual? Won't be surprised though.

Educated illiterate...Hediot bcos a guy walks like a girl make him Gay?? Guess ur brain iz Leakin or Stupidity Dwells in u @ its Peak n follows u evrywhr u go!!! Stop hatin u Jobless fool,Guess u were admirin him u Faggot for u 2 Notice d Guy walkin like a girl. #Closetedhomosexual

NMaa said...

Funny bt NICE.

Somebody shout halleluya. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Linda nwa Ikeji *3!how many times did I call ur name?post my comment before I vex.

Let them have oaths against adultery and fornication, then I'll know they are serious. Are our people daft? The Pope doesn't condemn, the Archbishop of Canterbury has not condemned. Have Nigerian Anglicans not used the Church to serve their vanity, creating titles, Knights and ladies and all sorts, which is not done in the home Anglican church in England? Just creating status elements in the Church. How is the Anglican Church urging the Government to fight Boko Haram? If this new anti-gay bill had been passed in the time of Jesus, he would have been convicted. He was over thirty, kept close company with men, and was said to have a favourite, John, 'the disciple that Jesus loved', who stayed close to Christ. Our people just load their half-baked christianity with ignorance. I would pray to be delivered from gayness if I could pray to be delivered from being born black, or being born male. The creator made straight and LGBT as part of the variety and richness of creation and our people refuse to recognise that.

Jesus is coming soon,hw prepared r u?

If u can change urself to be straight wit all this bashing and hating wldnt u? Unfortunately, sexuality isn't wat u change, d more u try, d more difficult it becomes. Getting married and having kids won't even solve it, u wld only add more pple to ur issue. People will not understand but trust me God will understand, his ways are not our ways and his tots far from our tots. U grow up seeing urself having sexual affection to ur fellow gender, its weird, d only way out for gays is either being celibate or meeting deir kind. Pls allow this pple meet deir kind. U re not in their shoes, u do not know, stop thinking it. Anti-gay rubbish law yet all this politicians are chasing guys up and down. Grow ur family and bizness, leave gay pple alone, it didn't start today and won't end with all these laws here and der. Mind ur bizness is d word cos wat u don't understand is above u, leave it!!!

@Tobi you very stupid to call us names if your church does not forbid it your problem. If you can't abide by the rules of an organisation or group live the group! Did they tell that we Anglicans are complaining? Tobi face your work O and stop drinking panadol for another person headache.

Anon 10:55am march 4, 2014 just go n read about Marilyn monroe n how she died pls do not insult our dear lord jesus n match him with ur senseless gay issue or else u will die a miserable death n rot in hell fire just ask jesus to forgive u for this nonsense crap u wrote here

all has spoken according to thier own understanding, d bible said is not by might nor by power, but by d holy spirit..... Fornication, embezzlement, and others are already in the church constitution, dis was recently included abt 4yrs ago... So d fact is dat if ure not spirit filled u cant understand wat is going on.. May d Good God forgive u all who have spoken sencelessly.. Tnks God bless u all

Bonario, they av pulled out frm The church of England... That's y they are referred to as church of Nigeria(Anglican communion)..

I have been an Anglican all my life and this oath has been on before the law was passed! And please we don't have a gay priest it's the oyibos that have that. So God created straight and the whatever for variety sake? God is looking at all of on HD O! Fear God fear God o! So having dress code too will soon been seen as wrong too? Please live us ALONE we love our church the way it is. Nobody is forcing us to be there its our free will! Am proudly ANGLICAN! I belong to the CHURCH of NIGERIA, ANGLICAN COMMUNION! If you don't like our ways just close your eyes and walk on by

Did I just hear u say we don't have a gay priest? U actually have bisexual priests all over d place, I could just mention 5 names jst in the neighbourhood. Dat tells u how deep homosexuality has gone. People are so myopic, the fact someone gets married doesn't rule them off from being gay or bi. The truth is dat many marriages have crashed, many would still crash cos pple who have a different sexuality are being forced to d norm in the society. If being gay or bi was a thing of choice, do u think anyone would choose it? This pple are different, when they look at deir fellow kind they get erection, they can't help it, many have killed demselves, many have gone exile, many are living a sorrowful life and this stupid Anti-gay law isn't helping at all. You can't force a girl down d throat of a gay man. If you are straight, thank ur God, many are not as fortunate as u. Love thy neighbour as thyselves, all these kill dem, burn dem, drive dem away will not benefit anyone. Let d sleeping dog lie!

Please Linda, stop posting rubbish. Anywhere u hear homo, u just copy and post. The oath is not a new thing. And it has all other things like adultery corruption.

Uninformed and wrong posts like this and others are capable of instigating unneccesary hatred in a community.

Why didn't u post it yrs ago when it started? Suddenly leadership oath swearing has become news. Why not post presidents oath swearing and allow ur followers to tell them what they added or leftout. God is watching u Linda.