Woman gives birth to stone in Yola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 February 2014

Woman gives birth to stone in Yola

Amina Bello, 25-year old woman in Yolde  Pate in Yola South LGA of Adamawa State, on Tuesday, delivered a sizable stone. Bello narrated her story at the opening ceremony of  Vesico vaginal fistula (VVF) free medical treatment in Yola Specialists Hospital. Bello, who is also a VVF patient, told the gathering that after four years pregnancy, she finally delivered a sizable stone last year.

Telegraphng.com reports
"I was holding a pregnancy for the duration of four years, which I bitterly suffered because of the heavy weight of what is contained in the stomach,” she said. “It was last year around June, I started feeling labour and I was in that condition for three days and finally I delivered a stone.”
She said that it was after the delivery she now discovered that she was affected with VVF. Responding, Dr Sunday Lengmang, Director VVF Centre, Jos, confirmed that giving birth to a stone or any object was possible.
Lengmang was in Yola to attain to the VVF patients for the duration of one week .
“Stones and other solid objects can form in a human body in different cases,” he said. “Stones can form in a gall bladder, urinary  bladder and other several  parts of urinary tracks.”

The medical expert explained that why VVF  patients were prone to giving birth to stones or any solid object was because they drink less water to reduce urine leakage.

He said as a result of taking less water their urine become concentrated.

“Inside urine, there is salt, sodium and chlorine, and when the urine becomes concentrated, the salt becomes crystallised and finally forms itself and later ends up as stone,” he said.
Lengmang confirmed that three VVF patients had stones in their placentas and they would undergo surgery.
He said the size of the stones uncovered from the three women was six by seven and three by four centimetres.

Lengmang advised VVF patients to drink more water instead of taking less to prevent them from risk of having stones.

181 comments:

Ont know why I find it very difficult to believe stories like this, its too untrue to be true

Don't know why I find it very difficult to believe stories like this, its too untrue to be true

jude iyke said...

Strange buh true

Classgist said...

hmmm. so, so weird

Cindy said...

Hmmm, o dikwa egwu. Wetin pesin no go see? God, protect your own. After 4 good yrs cha? Wht were they thinking? Why didnt they perform operation on her?

omg scary

Thank God for the medical expert that threw more like on it,before they give it a religious or spiritual interpretation

Amaka u l said...

Na wa oo

What???? *Cagey*

Thnk God 4 medicine or pipo woulda shouted juju..mtcheeew----C21

NA ONLY FOR NAIJA WE DEY HEAR THIS ONE. OH, STORY STORY!

I saw this news in other site don't even know what to believe so for 9 months she was carrying stone #bright bravo#

Oooo jezzzzzzzz! Cld dis b real? Nawa oh! God 4bid badt tin

Induration - hardening of rock by heat or pressure.

omenah said...

Jesus christ!

MARKET MONITOR said...

patients had stones in their placentas and they would undergo surgery.?? For what??
omg!!you must see what this guy&girl are doing publicly on dance floor! [pics]

I really sympathise wit d victim, wish her quick recovery

kryssten kryss said...

God 4bid *Tufia* Wonders shall nt end

Stone cha! Cuz of nt drinking water hahaha no b small tin...galz b drinkin water Ooo b4 u giv birth to Wood this time..lol

GREAT love said...

God of mercy. Thank God she didn't die

I'm sure they must have started worshipping the stone,superstitious nigerians.

Zenki brown said...

God have mercy!!!

Lord hv mercy! We need more VVF foundations to help these women.

'That's most likely a lithopaedion or 'stone baby'. You are not likely to find a urine stone in the womb because the urinary tract and reproductive tract, though close to each other are not the same. Medical and non - medical literature are replete with stories of lithopaedio and that's most likely what happened here!

Anne said...

Omg..

na wah for sickness oh

Obinna James said...

Thank God for her life.

Igor said...

Wonders shall never end.

Wait for inlaws to come and say its juju sent from the village...The human body is so complicated.

Aru! Abomination.......I feel for this woman, I wonder how this big stone will pass out through her vegina.......kele

God is wonderful!!!

Godforbid bad thin..
hope she is faring well o.
Father take control.
moofasabyomah.blogspot.com

ALL THIS LONG TALK , Na naija we dey besides that Adamawa side they are very diabolic and fetish na juju worry the woman person jazz am

MayPas said...

Lord Pls ve Mercy on Ur peopleOoo!!d Sin is Much&Too Many strange tins're taking place.••••÷»¤»•

May GOD help us*surprised*

win said...

These stories are frightening. After 4 years of pregnancy..... One will give birth to stone. Does it mean these women don't go for antenatal? The doctors should have detected that there was no baby in the womb rather a stone. A pregnant woman who has been pregnant for over a year should be able to get help because the life of the child and likewise the mother is at risk. God please help us women in this journey . its well

Scientists always look for a way to explain mysterious things! Tahhhhh!!!! Excuse me, gall stones can't make you give birth to a stone. Darling lady, please go for delivrance and don't let these doctors decieve you. Its a pity that these doctors believe so much in the gibberish called science! May God have mercy. We're surely in the last days. O

God help us all.

U go fear na lindodo stone tins on board

Willadebo said...

Ok, I'm speechless. And the Doctor's explanation confuses me even more. Sperm meets egg & fertilizes into a zygote, develops into a foetus & baby is formed. How does this have to do with the crystal nature of salt forming in a body that can survive on as little water as possible up to the point that it solidified into a baby-sized-stone???
I hope there's a more logical explanation for this. My heart goes out to the woman who endured the pain for 4years.

Sodium+Chlorine= Salt! And even if it wants to form a block of salt, it'd form a whitish Crystalline solid. Awon aje lo se eleyi, this doctor though, lol! I can't deal. These doctors sha always look for explanation to everything.

Chai!
So strange!!!

~ALATISHE say so~

Wow, this is crazy, o ma ga ke

God have mercy and grant them perfect healing IJN.

AnnMarie said...

what a strange story

God have mercy oo,na wah.

Bike Packing Blog said...

Incredible!!! Who did she see before concieving?

vivian obey said...

Na wa o,is de work of devil sha

This is serious

eeee god help women i told a woman same tin but she doubtin me power of science...madam linda y r nt postin ma comment wetin i do..abi don become boko haram

GOD!ntin person no go hear and see for dis world!Four yrs pregance?delivered a stone?God have mercy!

OLLYRAY said...

Ise aye ni yen o...

So linda even you believes tht A̶̲̥̅ human being can be pregnant for years?? Shameful. That's A̶̲̥̅ massive fibroid n not A̶̲̥̅ stone. They usualy hv very aggressive shapes n texture. Hv seen lots of ths

--N.II.C.E

GOD!ntin person no go hear or see for this world.four yrs pregnancy?delivered a stone?God have mercy!

GOD!ntin person no go hear and see for dis world!Four yrs pregance?delivered a stone?God have mercy!

Blood of God,sealed lips

dhobiz said...

This is unbelievable...stone kwa,Lord help us.after four years one stupid disease left her with nothing but stone but y didn't she opt for surgery anyway God is in control

Tollie said...

Lord have Mercy.

OmoAkin said...

God have mercy!

Eeeeewww. Dear Lord

Iyke Igboaka said...

Aunty lin lin u sure abt dis ????

Ejòr elo ní nokia charger..

God hv mercy

Chai my fellow woman oooooo what evil people can do

Na wa o....hmmm village people @ work

Chai my fellow woman oooooo what evil people can do

Yea sure! It's possible. Water intake really foster d human system to work properly.

Jesu Wetin dis world dey turn to

Is dis real

tahtah said...

Na wa oooo, 4years I can imagine the pains. C the stone sef.

T-Blaque said...

Thanks 4 enlightenin us, some wld hav thot that its juju tinz

It is well in Jesus Name

I dnt think stones that big will have been formed frm nt drinking enough water or VVF related... I think there is more to this. This world is very mysterious

Hmm, so serious issue

The baby obviously died in her stomach and fossilized

Tamunotonye said...

Hmmmm, things are really happening o! First 2 comment. Linda post my comment o!

AUNTY LINDA PLS STOP DS DISGUISTING POSTS.END IS NEAR,MYSTERIOUS TINS R RAMPANT DS DAYS.

WTF, stone? lord av mercy

Wonders shall never end!

Giving birth to any object is possible? For instance, a pencil? Na lie, abeg!!! I have heard of stone baby as a result of death of the foetus, and then , calcification.

Wonders shall never end!! God help us

lord have mercy.

Dear Linda, u need a medical editor.....The piece will confuse many.

That was very timely and educating.
And research also shows that majority of VVF patients in Nigeria stem frn d nothern region.
They shd thoroughly be sensitised.It might just have been blamed on one evil person.
*Education is power*

The magic of the human body! Bet you that some people would say it is some sort of juju! I know I did. VVF another problem of early marriage.

Is This Really REAL?? OKUTA?? wow...

..[EMI O TUSH OH]
.JUST
[Mischevious And Naughty]
>>My Comment Moderation Disabled<<

this is very serious! it is the work of the enemies, it not our position in Jesue name.first to comment

Bone vvf oooo...it is dos mama or papa u refused to greet or u didnt buy bread for dem while coming frm lagos re d one at work awon ayeeee akamara onirun leyin oni genge lorun ...lol

Harnikky said...

God pls take control º°˚˚°ºoo.......

This one when labour and normal delivery come enter the matter, nor be stone baby/ lithopedion o. Na as the doctor talk am.

otevee said...

ooo ma gosh...this wat happens when teenage girls are given up for marriage at a very tender age..for most atyms selfish reason.

Speechless!

This aint ordinary *spiritual*

God!!!!

Awww chineke God! Help women in search of children o.

Wonder shall never end...endtime things

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

So after d 4yrs of trouble, twas a stone.......I rebuke dis in my lyf! Newe ooo

Lithopedion

Blitz Crush said...

Wonders shall neva end, may God help our pregnant women O°˚˚˚

Oh God help us. Abi which one is VVF again na.

Erhire Egbegbedia said...

Wat? I can imagine the pain the woman must have felt in the past 4 years carrying a stone. Na wa o.... Everyday new sickness. May God help us.

Nawa o

shugarririi said...

This one pass me oo

Linda o. You know some people would rather call this witchcraft thereby making a mockery of the doctor's explanations....right
#justsaying#

miss rollas said...

Hmmm dis isn't funny o, well tank God she didn't die in d process of giving birth to her cute little stone, four years preg? Wah dah f**k!

kayman said...

lols...ntn we no go hear

driela1on1 said...

that is a mummified baby

iey tell them not to marry early,they'll bring religion to it.I pity her,didn't have the liver to go see the new artifact

Annie Diamond said...

Hausas wudnt stop this act of marrying their daughters at d age of 11 or 12 to men whose sexual organs have worked for 15yrs, why won't they have fistula.. But as d stone, she's lucky she survived it..she shuld heal up soonest.

Hw can someone be pregant for 4year! Hmmm! God have mercy on us, this is end time o!

After 4yrs? I feel for the young woman

Nwa Aba said...

How did it get in there?

Please what is VVF?

linda waiting person go talk for dis kind wired ish anywayz tnk God for ur life #THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

Jesus Christ of Nazareth!!!
Esther Orhoro - Festac Town

Batureblaq said...

seriously? linda its come to dis?

Wonders they say shall neva cease to end.

*feonie*

After four yrs of pregnancy, ended up giving birth to stone? This is more than d physical, it is spiritual.

Ah nko n be

Na wah oo oh

Kai women d suffer no b smal

NO TIME

Linda... I no dey believe diz one oooo

GISTMEE said...

such a pity, wicked world we live in

Man kills friend bcos of chicken Leg

oluwafolakemi portable said...

Allah is d greatest!!!

lekan said...

I taught giving birth to stone is a spiritual attack.Doctors are giving me reasons to think otherwise

SUNSHINE said...

Bona, I saw your pictures somewhere and I must say..... Never mind.
LOL
God dey sha

Ʊ blind ni? She said 4 yrs, not 9 months. Blind bartimeus. Read well!

Afrodiṣiac said...

Such ignorance viewing the comments on here. If you are curious, read this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lithopedion . Although rare, these things happen.

dora A said...

I don't beliv she carried d pregnancy 4 4yrz.....don't kn y som piple luv seekin 4 notice..mtchwwwww#runs#

Dorathy Akpoga said...

I totally disagree,dis woman's seekin 4 attention

You most likely right..

U elucidate dat word lithopaedio and dnt just drop one facking grammer here.

Linda stillbirth or stone?

Believe it or not, its possible! Mumu

Confuse

Please let's stop being ignorant... She had a fibroid that calcified... Nobody can be pregnant for four years... Not everything that grows in the uterus (womb) is a pregnancy... Th internet should be used to source for knowledge not just to access Facebook... Twitter ... And lindaikeji's blog...

What a story!!God have mercy.

More like or light! Hmmmm bona u dey drop dis days ooooh #dazzlingAk#

Lithopaedion- A rare condition in which a baby dies in d womb n the body encases it by calcification as a protective mechanism. A.k.a stone baby. No be winsh o...............doc lumzy

Nawa ohh... Open this link and earn lot of money...http://EarnActivity.com/index.php?share=9624

TBELLZ said...

Its not so unbelievable since there. Is a medical explanaton for it

This doctor is an illiterate, stones are not formed from sodium and chloride molecules, u have calcium oxalate, struvite, cystein, anmonium and urate stones, and water has nothing to do with stone formation. Its all about the PH of the urine. That "stone" that was delivered was most likely a mummified fetus that became calcified over time.

May b u tot it is d same stone ur grand parents used in grinding!

Haven't U̶̲̥̅̊ heard of vvf before? The problem is dt these hausa gals re married off too early, intercourse α̲̅πϑ child birth follow suit. They don't go for prenatal care, whole lot of medical conditions crop up so own α̲̅πϑ so forth.

Wonders will neva cease to happen

Jenom madaki said...

My God! is dis real? Wat a story. Lord God help your children. Amen.

First time of commenting, and I have to say that i am quite disappointed with the Dr's explanation on the delivery of a stone. His explanation is what makes the western world make fun of our medical training in Nigeria.
In medical world its called LITHOPEDION (you can Google it), layman's word for calcified foetus. The woman's history is a classical example of how it happens.
It has nothing to do with taking too little water.

First time of commenting, and I have to say that i am quite disappointed with the Dr's explanation on the delivery of a stone. His explanation is what makes the western world make fun of our medical training in Nigeria.
In medical world its called LITHOPEDION (you can Google it), layman's word for calcified foetus. The woman's history is a classical example of how it happens.
It has nothing to do with taking too little water.

that is not a stone. that is a foetus that died in her womb before it had a chance to fully develop and so it became calcified(i.e mineral encapsulated it to form that hard covering that makes it resemble a stone). if u notice it is kind of shaped like the developing embryos we see in pregnancy charts. i have watched a documentary about this exact situation before.

I don't understand. How do you carry a pregnancy for four years and not seek help? Or had she never heard of something called CS? I don't know why Nigerians would rather die than go under the knife. If you'll die, you'll die. If the operation doesn't kill you, your ailment will so what's the deal? Education really is key

ASHIYA said...

Na u get sense pass

ozyy said...

@anon 5:10, thank you for the new word I learnt today. may GOD continually help us all. Amen.

NONY said...

lithopedion baby
A lithopedion – also spelled lithopaedion or lithopædion – (Ancient Greek: λίθος = stone; Ancient Greek: παιδίον = small child, infant), or stone baby, is a rare phenomenon which occurs most commonly when a fetus dies during an abdominal pregnancy, is too large to be reabsorbed by the body, and calcifies on the outside, shielding the mother's body from the dead tissue of the fetus and preventing infection.

Lithopedia may occur from 14 weeks gestation to full term. It is not unusual for a stone baby to remain undiagnosed for decades, and it is often not until a patient is examined for other conditions or a proper examination is conducted that includes an X-ray, that a stone baby is found.

The condition was first described in a treatise by the physician Albucasis in the 10th century, but fewer than 300 cases have been noted in 400 years of medical literature. The earliest lithopedion is one found in an archaeological excavation at Bering Sinkhole, on the Edwards Plateau in Kerr County, Texas dated to 1100 BC. Another early example was found in a Gallo-Roman archaeological site in Costebelle, southern France, dating to the 4th century.

In 1880, German physician Friedrich Küchenmeister reviewed 47 cases of lithopedia from the medical literature and identified three subgroups: Lithokelyphos ("Stone Sheath"), where calcification occurs on the placental membrane and not the fetus; Lithotecnon ("Stone Son") or "true" lithopedion, where the fetus itself is calcified after entering the abdominal cavity, following the rupture of the placental and ovarian membranes; and Lithokelyphopedion ("Stone Sheath [and] Child"), where both fetus and sac are calcified. Lithopedia can originate both as tubal or ovarian pregnancies.

OMG!!!!!End tym tinz

FDJ

If the photo you provided up there is that of the woman's "stone" the story has no foundation. That looks like a freaking calcified fetus!! And yes, the possibility of carrying the stoned fetus in the womb for years is very possible.

My goodness!!! Who are you? What bush did you crawl out from??

That doctor that narrated that whole 'urine' theory is a moron.

How can someone give birth to a kidney stone?

I am not a medical student, yet I know that's a LITHOPEDION.

A lithopedion is essentially a 'STONE BABY'

A baby that dies in the womb and has calcified. When the mothers body doesn't absorb it, a hard exterior develops and this gives the stone-like appearance.

That theory just shows us how many unprofessional professionals we have in charge of our health in Nigeria.

Oge Azuka said...

Sometimes, this is what happens when a foetus dies. As a way of protecting the woman from the deadly decaying body, the body starts to make calcium deposits and encases the baby in it. This protects the woman from the deadly consequence of carrying a dead foetus inside of her. The body is a wonderful thing!

Thank U my medical pple. U hv indeed educated me.I hv learnt smtn new today. God bless u all . DEWDROPS!!!!!!!

What a pity/....Hausa people and their lifestyle

Pastor Caught in Adultery with his Friend’s Wife
Here

A Lady caught her Man “In the Act” with another girl and Turned the world upside Down.
Here

Ashawo caught servicing her Customer in Public
Here

OMG! Girl opens beer with her breast
Here

Femoratty said...

OMG!!! This cant be true

The doctor must be really dumb!!!! gosh...what concern urine and stone found in the womb...the baby was simply calcified because it became foreign to the body..at least she was pregnant so the baby just disappear???..God help us with all the untrained doctors.

God have mercy. Signs of end time

MENDOUS said...

DR SUNDAY THANKS YOU FOR YOUR GOOD EXPLANATION ON VVF. ANY NAME DR GIVE IT IS NOT OUR PROBLEM.

Omg!!!

Stone baby is medically known as a 'LITHOPEDION'

it's not a real stone. This is what happens to a dead child in the womb. The body's defenses hardens it up to protect the mother from infection of the foreign body. There was another case of a woman in India (I think) who was so scared of labour and hospitals that she carried her dead baby for over 20 years.

Ona Twins said...

Lithopedion is what they call it, when a foetus dies during pregnancey. Choi these doctors of now adays,gush, that is how they will be killing people with fake reports. God help us.

Dr on board said...

Differential diagnosis are lithopedion, calcified fibroid or a uterine teratoma.

Gracee Love said...

Lord have mercy wonders shall never end

It depends on where they found the stone. If it was lodged in the urinary bladder, then it is a renal stone. If it was delivered through the uterus, then it is a classic case of molar pregnancy (also called hydatidiform mole). This is an abnormal form of pregnancy in which a non-viable fertilized egg implants in the uterus and converts a normal pregnancy into an abnormal one (which will fail to come to term). It is most commonly seen in women below the age of 20 and above the age of 40. The OB-Gyn in charge should perform a complete D&C to evacuate the uterus in order to prevent uterine cancer (choriocarcinoma). For further info, search for "hydatidiform moles" in google and be sure to look at the image section as well to see a clear correlation with the so called "miraculous stone"

Tea said...

It really pains when I see that Nigerians really do not read, even you Linda, google is your friend.
The story is possible, when a lady is pregnant and does not go into give birth due to what ever complication, God created the womb of the woman to contain the dead feotus and with time the exterio of feotus calcifies and this process of calcification is what hardens the feotus to protect the woman from further infections.

Not everything is whichcraft, and for you guys thinking I am a doctor, sorry to burst your bubble, I am not, I work with the notable insurance company (orange).

Tea said...

Linda naaaaa.
Not you too.
it pains when I confirm that a most people in Nigeria really do not read.
The story is 100% possible. When a pragnant lady for what ever complication does not deliver, the baby dies in the womb. Logically we would expect it start rotting,but God created the womb in such a way that when that happens, the feotus clacifies in the womb and this process of calcification is what hardens the feotus (as such the stone like nature) so as to prevent the body of the woman from getting further infection.
No be every thing be witchcraft and sorry to burst your bubble, I am not a doctor i work with an insurance company (orange). I know this because I read.

Thank you Dr on board

I don't belief this ,and it can b true hahahaha because someone did not take enough water,u will get pregnant for 4year and give birth to stone .....hmmmmmmmm I don't know what to think of

ignorant fools here who cant read.......stop displaying your ignorance and read to comprehend.....olodos, empty heads...the doctor has explained how it happens and some of you fools are still here saying u cant believe

that medical expert is a mumu. And you Linda, I have no french word to describe you. That looks like a calcified fetus to me. How does that bear any correlation with the UT? And a calcified fetus is not juju, if anything it is God's handiwork, his natural antibiotic.

that looks like a calcified baby.the doctor should go and update himself ...duh..the woman said she was pregnant but never gave birth .mumu doctor is calling it a stone because of vvf. abeg jo
its a lithopaedion