Femi Kuti loses out again at the Grammys | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 27 January 2014

Femi Kuti loses out again at the Grammys

Femi Kuti has lost out at the Grammy Awards for the fourth time. He was nominated in the ‘World Music' category for his album 'No Place For My Dream' but lost out to French group Gipsy Kings and South African choral group Ladysmith Black Mambazo in a tie.

The winner for the category and some others were announced at a pre-telecast yesterday evening Jan. 26th.

The Afrobeat king also lost out at the Grammys in 2003, 2010 and 2011. Which means nothing really because being nominated is a great achievement! Femi didn't attend the awards.

85 comments:

Awwwww !

I know I'll win it !! *haters/doubting Thomases shud tke several bench*

I already knew he will lose, customer care, he is always nominated, but never wins, that was why he told his sister to represent him at the grammy

They knew they inspired the album tittle with his last3 nomination. Lol

Linda nt wining means nothing?????? Damn!! U can encourage sha, was he thinking he will win anytin???? Wonder y he even gets nominated!!!! Linda gud morning boo... Swagaholic

While winning it is greater Achievements. #kelywester#

Josh said...

He won't win... Not when GEJ had the anti gay law signed,so we shouldn't expect anything from there anytime soon.. Enuf said.

MrsBankyW said...

At least he got a nomination.... The recognition alone makes him a winner

Djaguar said...

Awwwww wished he WON.I luv your music bro.Ara ra ra ra ra,Oro ro ro ro ro.keepup the gud work.

Galore said...

it is well with you Sir

Keep pressing ON

Surely...u will smile again

Keep the fire Burning!!!

Still an achievement for him...

jerome said...

He dint attend cos he knew he was not gona win,sorry bro..#sniffscoke#

What's great about been nominated for a 4th time n not winning? Seriously linda, stop thinking like an halfbaked girl

Just saw dencia on tv on cbsla. He shouldn't feel bad, you won't some you loose some the fact he is being recognized is a great thing. X love from LA

very me said...

Luving the grammy's first performance by queen Bee and hubby, drunk in love.

I really dnt enjoy his music like d late Fela. He too dey discuss without making d rythm flow

Daddy's Gal said...

Aya so sad

Promise said...

Femi kuti should have won this year atleast

Adanna said...

Now that must be heart breaking!! Its a pity though, buh congratulations all the same!!!

No award for him in Grammy, just like the title on his song, no place for my dream!. I think im not being sarcastic?. I value FK more than many so called Grammy winners anyway.

Eeeyah! #Milez

he knew...

Fuck your opinion said...

No wonder he did notattend. He knew he was going to loose.

Nigerians can have unnecessary high hopes sha oo.. Just as they expected Mikel to win African Footballer of the year when Yaya is the best midfielder in EPL..

MISSPERFECT said...

Wow didn't attend d award?may be he has his reasons or he new he can't meet up.

OMG!!!!dats pretty awkward,nt sure Femi ll ever win d grammys.Hez nt done sumh BIG of late tho...Gazy

Tank God he didn't go sef, foolish pipu

Nawa...its jes lik dey r doin it on purpose, y nominate him over n over gain if ur nt givin him d award*angry*if dey born una well nomimate him next tym n dnt give him the award if I wunt swear 4 u in ijebu lang* awon tym wasters otshi ako oshi bero

Hopefully there'll be a Place For Him Sometime!!

>>Comment Moderation Has Been Disabled<<

I like his decision to be absent...its better

sunday otuns said...

If i was femi kuti i would stop attending the grammys or send reps there.They used it to spite him.His late father,fela,was a critics of white supremacy over africans.That is also a factor he was often denied winner.Even some talented rappers and rnb stars are often deny winners or nomination because of their lyrics of police brutality against blacks in u.s.

Dem 4 consider our legend @ least 4 once.after being nominated 4times.but hapi dat he represent us,one luv.

They should stop nominating him jo if they know they are not going to give him
#Mankind

Zenki brown said...

Better days ahead for Him.

Everyone can't be a winner. Better luck next time.

Classgist said...

being nominated was good. winning it would ve been better.

Amarachukwu said...

Tank God he didn't those people have something else in mind.

BLAZER said...

The category he was nominated though....really slim chance...all d best nxt tym.

Always thought its only our Nigerian Awards that has fowl play. This is the first time I'm watching Grammys live on TV.. There were too many things one couldn't explain. Like my pal said, if the measures used in giving The award is borrowed by Fifa, Fellani would win the Ballon D'OR #Mr Lucky

Eyaaa kip tryin my broda jst lyk d spider..1day u wil win

Keep trying Mr. Kuti; never quit! Buh there's a voice in me saying 'get rich or die trying' and I can't seem to marry these words with this post. Can someone give me a hand here?

Chris Brizzy said...

Whether he wins the award or not, this dude, to me is a winner already mhen.

God knws d best sha

Thats awkward. Like his brother said. His father's name is doing them more harm than good

Realkeni said...

ehya...

Linda am so down cos I got no money to buy my textbooks ova hiaa.....
Ibuo ada v
Pls if any1 wnts to help me out hias my pin
28E7C9A9

Then if "its nothing really" ,you shouldn't have bothered to write about it or caption your headline as loses again.

I'm sure the US people did this solely because of our anti gay law.

Tem said...

His already aware of the lost dats y he didn't attendm

They should give him this thing na.

Ne lele, life must continue. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Really no place for his dream of ever receiving the award#power of spoken words need I say

Money makes you fuck lots of women without stress said...

Well, Gipsy kings are insanely goooooood. But nevertheless, I would have preferred my own Femi Kuti, probably out of emotions though.

Being nominated, I must confess, is a big plus.

We are proud

Stephen Ikiyei said...

Femi u r a winner in my heart... Kudos

Baba K said...

He alweady knew he wouldn't win so...Next plz

Mrs E said...

I'm nigerian and I haven't even heard of his album(excerpt in sold outside the shores of Nija). Other artist nominated in his category I know of but not him. He knows he didn't really deserve to win. Wish him the best tho

He already knew he wasn't winning why do you think his sister went in his place?

Debbie chelsea said...

He will win it some day!!!!

Femi we are proud of u biko

Femi, u are d boss jare

Olabode G said...

Big up brew...Gods tym s d best

just passing by....

Mavin said...

Yes o,,, being nominated is enough *

Admin said...

sorry sir, good luck next time. Be patient

read interesting gist and entertainment

Í like his spirit. Been nominated alone shows that his works is bn recogniced.

Eeyahh... Well being nominated is a great achievement indeed.. Kudos to him!

Take heart bros.

Eh ya so sorry am feeling bad now #bright bravo#

Igor said...

Like you wrote in the last 'being nominated is an achievement on it's own.All the same Femi still remains Nigeria's biggest music export.

EHYA!!! THERE WAS NO PLACE FOR HIS SONG AT D GRAMMMYS.....NEWAY,ATALL ATALL NAIM BE WINSH O,ATLEAST HIS SONG WAS RECOGNIZED.

Ges he's fed up of d nomination nd no win stuff,all d same congrats.I jst luv dis man

Daddy, still on still congrat...... U don do wetin many nigerian artiste dey pray and fast to do.... E no easy.....

But lindi.. This pic wey u display no make sense abeg, person go think say baba dey vex say he no collect the award.... 'no place for my dreamz' seriously e no tap at all

you peole should not commen bad words, one thing you most understand here is, befor you can win that grammy you must belong to there illuminati word first before you can win, so femi as not join yet that why they cant give him that award like that, grammy no be small tin ooo, it a very big tin to win grammy... thats why so him no won join na y they no fit give am the award like that he has to join first....

God bless u Mr femi Kuti for not going all d way to come back empty! God punish their nominations and we as nigerians know when to put a stop to rubbish!.

That's depressing. Really wished he won o. Anyways, Abraham Lincoln also tried many times...keep on aspiring and I'm sure its gonna be a matter of time.

Awwwww.....lyk d saying goes, life always. goes on. He shud'nt give up, thr r better days ahead

Mumu! How many AMVCA nominations have u received?
Mtcheeew!

Well said,everything has political undertones

Getting nominated for even one Grammy is a big achievement and none of the noise makers in our music industry has gotten that honor so he should be very proud.

Baby face said...

Go and beg ur bro(Seun) and that will be d end of ur failure.

patience sunday said...

Don't worry next time you will win GOD know the best for you

thunder fire you

He's a winner all day everyday despite not taking the grammy home. To be nominated 4 times is not beans.... Ride on baba!! We love you...

OSHAUN_AFRIKA said...

he was always on a long thing there.....no be oyinbo people?

ZeeZee said...

Good spirit, you are a winner to me. Congrats Ladysmith black-mambazo - these events are highly political though so worry not