The 8day SPAN Festival comes to an end; see pics from the colorful event | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 November 2013

The 8day SPAN Festival comes to an end; see pics from the colorful event

It was a colorful week for SPAN Festival which kicked off last week with the theme ‘A Journey of wonders’  at Oceanview, Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. The festival had an impressive opening on Friday, November 8, with ‘Battery Dance Company’, a prestigious international dance group from New York, putting up a spectacular show ‘Autobiographica’. Continue...

The event also showcased a presentation from the Nigerian students who had been trained by the dance company during the week. It was a captivating and inspiring evening with a mixed audience of the corporate community, art lovers, celebrities, and the expatriate community.

Following the grand opening, there were numerous events all week including ‘Gospel & Comedy Night’ on Sunday, The African Jazz Night, Taruwa Night, I.D,O Dance Battle, and 2 amazing dance theatre productions ‘Love is…’ show, and ‘Wishes & Horses’. Infact, there was something for everyone; lovers of art, theatre, fashion, dance, spoken word, comedy and music. There were free drinks available to attendees all through the festival, courtesy 7up Bottling Company and Nigerian breweries.

On Friday, November 15, 2013, the festival came to a grand close with the SPAN Awards, a glamorous night of fine dining and exquisite entertainment, honoring individuals and Organisations that have made an impact in the arts. 
Audu Maikori of Chocolate City says “It was indeed a great honor to be asked to be one of the judges at this year's Span Awards. The panel of judges consisted of very distinguished and erudite professionals in the creative arts sector, so you can imagine how robust and lively the deliberations over nominees and categories were!  Even though we didn't all agree, one thing we were agreed on, was to make our most honest input and ensure that true diligence, creativity and excellence in the performing arts is duly recognized and rewarded”  If you missed the festival, you really missed o, which means you have to wait till next year to experience it. See pictures below.

SPAN Awards Recipients
Music for Performance Award:
Individual:  Mr. Ben Ogbeiwi
Corporate:  Nigerian Breweries

Fine Arts Award
Individual: Nike Okundaye
Corporate: Arthouse Contemporary

Fashion Award
Individual: Ituen Bassey
Corporate: Lagos Fashion & Design Week

Film Award
Individual:  Femi Odugbemi
Corporate: Ultima

Dance Award
Individual:  Segun Adefila [Crowne Troupe]
Corporate:  Maltina Dance All

Dramatic Arts Award:
Individual: Teju Karim [Z-Mirage]
Corporate: Terra Kulture

Lifetime Achievement Award in the Arts: Prof. Bruce Onobrakpeya

28 comments:

Mrs E said...

J.lo

Mich said...

Top notch!
Elitist!
And I see Bez:)

As always, nice work linda!

You really need to check this out

Very wonderful event pics...

We Need Yahoo Boys to Generate Foreign Exchange - Finance Minister.

Nyc one,beautiful pple,gdnite fells.

Nikapetrelli said...

Making sense

APPLELIPX said...

DAT 4th PIC SHA

TOOK SO MUCH TYM SEARCHIN 4 D PERSON'S HEAD

INITIALLY TOT DAT WAS A STATURE WT DAT LONG GOWN
WOMEN FASHION TOO

wow, Florence Ita Giwa still standing...everly sexy mama

This ahaw0 mrs ita giwa, this woman almost stared the life out of my bf some two yrs back in a hotel we were lodging during the carnival in calabar, i felt like biting her.

Terrific

what does SPAN stand for?

This is serious business for matured minds, no Toke Makinwa or Uti feeling funky with all d hypes.

Na wa o! This iya Bakaasi breast naa real orange o.it looks like she didn't wear bra. No hating or disrespecting oooo just admiring ni o. Mama kee!! U re too gbaskin

SPAN Stands for 'Society for the Performing Arts in Nigeria'

Clear indication that she had her breasts done.

Lindabooo! ¶ drmt of u o! Abeg wen re u coming to owerri, §☺ @ least ¶ cn see dis person ¶ drmt of! Abeg come home dis christmas nau! Soo ¶ cn see u pleeeeaaase!

Hahahah u are so right.

good one, etibaba

see what happend to this women

Where is Toke???

U read ma mind! I found d person d 12th pix frm d end upwards!! Whew....
EsterDean

Mrs E said...

Me again? First to comment! Haba! **dancing azonto

Span said...

Great blog! Thank you Linda!

Event for matured people,like as i no see Uti,alex and co .

Florence Ita-giwa is not wearing a Bra. Her nipples are all over the Place..***covers-face***

Your mother must be thoroughly ashamed of u.
Like seriously, u re happy u are first to comment? In this age where life changing discoveries are being made by your juniors???

Shame on u girl

mranggendemak said...

nice shoot camera, thank's for share

Blackberry said...

Lol, staring is allowed. Biting is not allowed.