Pics: National Carrier Nigerian Eagle plane sighted ahead of launch | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 November 2013

Pics: National Carrier Nigerian Eagle plane sighted ahead of launch

Nigeria's oldest airline, Aero Contractors has reportedly changed its name to Nigerian Eagle and will be the national carrier. A Boeing 737-500 wearing the national colours is currently parked in a private hangar at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos. The new national carrier will be unveiled in the coming days. Photos courtesy - Auto Focus Blog

61 comments:

SUE JORDAN said...

Nice...my only reservation is the 60% government ownership....that's where it all goes downhill from...

Till den..

Nice one, God bless Nigeria

Madd Customer said...

Did you hear that the National Assembly kicked against this plan? Nothing has been signed, I wonder how stuff like this can get to stages like this.

Mich said...

Were new Boeings bought or they just changed the colors of the old ones?
Looks good though.

Thought the Nigerian senate rejected the plan of making Aero contractors our National carrier.

It is another thing to change name, another and most important thing here is the condition of those aircrafts, are they fit to patronize Nigerian airway because there is nothing so impressive about this if it is all old engines with newly painted bodies....

dr. ada said...

Na new plane or painting tinz? Luks fyn sha

Leeely Clinton said...

OK o, May God protect us from more crashes. Now that its to be managed by these same greedy & selfish people, Nigerians should please SCREAM for new aircrafts ooo, because these set of people do not care o. They all have private jets oo.

THis definitely will never be the last name,we only can boast of the most confused nation in history,god help me do the necessary change in nigeria,amin ni oruko jesu

Ewwwwww

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

K.

There is absolutely nothing wrong about a country having a national carrier but I must say this,at last the Federal govt. Have decided to run aero contractors down.
Hmmmm! I wish .... I reserve my comment.
Icon 07

jiristic said...

Wow...d plane is cool...check out www.jeezbrands.dx.am for ur biz insights

seany said...

Hope it'll be cheaper 4 me.... Am I first?

Wauh! that's cool. but its not all about designing aircrafts. they should look into our airports and terminals. most of the local airports in other countries are far more better than our so called international airport. I could remember coming into this country via an international airline and once you land at Murtala Muhammed Int'l airport its just like coming into an oven house. A lot has to improved first (not smiling though)

Wauh! that's cool. but its not all about designing aircrafts. our airports should be looked into. most of the local airports in other countries are far more better than our so called international airport. I could remember coming into this country via an international airline and once you land at Murtala Muhammed Int'l airport its just like coming into an oven house. A lot has to be improved first (not smiling though)

Business strategy i would call this. www.gistngossip.com

Wauh! that's cool. but its not all about designing aircrafts. our airports should be looked into. most of the local airports in other countries are far more better than our so called international airport. I could remember coming into this country via an international airline and once you land at Murtala Muhammed Int'l airport its just like coming into an oven house. A lot has to be improved first (not smiling though)

BEN said...

It's not by the beauty, it's by how functional the engine is.

hummmmmmmmmm! Business Strategy i would call this.
www.gistngossip.com

Pretoria said...

Who profits from aero contractors becoming the national carrier? The Nigerian people or the Ibrus?
The Ibrus own 40% of aero after the airline was saved from going under by the financial intervention of the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON), an arm of the Federal Government of Nigeria who hold 60%.

SOJ said...

Make u ppl kill Dog b4 he go start work, make e no get accident, E bo Ogun.

linda wait...we dey fight...y u no dey post my comment...i go treat ur fuck up o

Giant of africa for mouth. Even Niger Republic has airline.

Nigerians can we see anything good about our country? Every country has its short comings but they still put their country image on a more positive side than running it down the way we do..most of bad things we have now was done in one way or the other by our relations when they were there and GEJ can not fix it in just 3 years..it is decades of rot and needs time..God bless Nigeria.

I hear Stella Oduah owns 10% of the airline!As long as the Ibrus are still in management it is a scam.Odua wanted Arik to get the national carrier status but Ararume was not willing to give Stella Oduah 5% equity and told her to go jump in the lagoon!what a pity this is a week when 3 Emirates carriers Quatar, Emirates and Etihad are odering $150 billion worth of airplanes Nigeria is preparing to lunch it's carrier with a 26 year old B 737 500. Haba na wa for this Vagabonds in power

Mtcheew! What stop us buying new planes rather than refurbishing old ones? Am not intersted.

Its obvious this BBJ is not directly from the OEM and the painting looks tacky. This Stella lady is making great strides. She wants to set a legacy, which is great and commendable. I understand her strategy. Better to start with something and build on it or complain and talk all day and nothing gets done. Nice strategy, she should just check her greed, learn to communicate effectively her objective and try to get as much support as she can garner.

I hope it's not their usual way of killing another airline in Nigeria? All becos madam bullet proof car want to mmake a name in d aviation industry and kill it like Nigeria airways. ....

If it wil bring down d prices od tickets then its gud to go

New name same old rickety planes

It is nice, but how are we sure it is not a scrap bought from one foreign hanger, at the price of new one. And how many do we. Have in the fleet, hope it is not just this one in the picture.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Wamisauce said...

Ehn! Aero now Nigerian Eagle? :'-( it was nice doing business with aero... #OkBye

It's not about changing the name and colouring the plane o. I hope the engine is in good shape as well.

They look dirty, and unfit.

I TOT I CUD STL TRUST AERO BT NW DT THE VE DECIDED TO DINE WITH D ENEMY CALLED NAIJA GOVT WHO DONT VALUE LIVES,COS D OWN PRIVATE JETS. I WONDER WAT WILL BECOME OF D CITIZENS. A TIMES I JS WONDER OW MCH IT COST TO BUY NEW AIRPLANES WITH ALL D MONEY IN DS NATION. DS 1 WEY DEY LOOK LIKE PAINTING THINGS,BABA GOD ABEG OOOO NA ABEG I DEY BEG OOO.

Cool story, but I'm not getting on it no matter what you call it.

PAINTING THINGS! TRUST NAIJA GOVT,IF NA NEW AIRPLANE THEM BUY,D OL WORLD 4 HEAR SAY WE DON BUY NEW PLANE. EVN 2 D LEAST PERSON & NATION FOR BUSH FOR HEAR. UNSERIOUS GREEDY GOVT

these are no aircrafts, this is just a plane. what a shame to the FG?? Or I'm the one that don't know how to read wella again???

funny nigerians

Fammie said...

What are the conditions of the planes? Is it just painting and we have a national carrier?

Wow

You are either a govt apologist or an assistant in d corridor of p4 otherwise you would hv known granting of amnesty to former gov of Bayelsa is not also good 4 image of d country, neither is using over a million $ to buy cars for a minister constute bad image

I dont need it. PJ is there for me any time

Fati said...

.....kashimawo!!!!

Hmm me I dont feel safe flying anything thts got 'nigeria' on it...kinda some sort of bad luck or jus my paranoia. I felt safe when its name was aero contractor. Dunno how ppl make a good name off of something then change it. Jus throws me off...

Stacey said...

Well, there goes a good airline :(

Dis plane na old aero contractors plane dat just came back from itz normal annual maintenance oversea C-check n itz over 20 yearz old n dey painted it claiming itz new...Dz Fg are just trying to run this company down and we will never let them try such bullshit until we are all paid off just like PHCN...Greedy n heartless vampirez

All na scope...nepa wz privatized n ds 1 z partly commercialized o,all i c z money changn hands...aw does ds new name mk it affordable 2 d masses or decongest their hangar of d ones in bad shape d@ will tk innocent lives in d near future?

These will never suceed IJN. Evwrything that stella does is for her selfiah interest.

Mrs. Sede said...

HONESTLY, Aero has been my best airline but i have an uneasy feeling about this Nigerian Eagle thing,.

Vivipedia said...

Aero had served us well, hope they will serve us better after this rebranding....

This is what I want to know: Did Aero Contractors get newer planes or did they just repaint the old ones? Note that I didn't say "new planes". That would be wishful thinking.

The end of aero. How are we going to get to Port Harcourt and Warri? Aero has been our reliable carrier since the 1970s. Gosh. this is terrible. Victor Odili, what happened? Did your bros dip his hand into your purse or are you disbursing your wealth as per preparation for what happens after old age? I miss aero!!

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

who will fly aero contractors as a national carrier, this must be a joke.... avaiation ministry playing with our lives again

I just hope dis change would be a great one. Dese people should just consider d citizenry & ensure proper management.
Na beg I dey Beg dem....

seriously outdated design! looks like nigeria airways!

Lmao ...100% correct cos I fear awa so called government ...good intentions with wrong execution mscheew ....evuls....nice one joor

hahahahahahah!!!! joke of the millenium! lets watch and see!

jonathan and his cohorts are just miserable. why didnt they cook a new pot of soup and manage by themselves? same fed govt that couldnt handle NEPA,NITEL and all want to fly a national carrier? abeg they are not ready yet.