Enish Nigerian Restaurant and Grill berths in South East London | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 November 2013

Enish Nigerian Restaurant and Grill berths in South East London

With a proliferation of swanky European and Asian offerings across south east London, there has been an absence of high-end African options before now. 

EnishNigerian Restaurant and Grill in Lewisham High Street has filled that void with an up-scale, trendy place to get a different kind of bite. It has enjoyed rave review in the British press in its short time in existence.

Joint owners Eniola and Olushola Medupin have 20 years experience in restaurants and finance, with Olushola having run one of Lagos’ top restaurants for a decade. The appeal of Nigerian food, the couple say, is its freshness and variety of ingredients. Continue...

The unrefined, natural foods are full of flavour and rich in fibre and low GI carbs, with a wide range of ingredients sourced from Nigeria.

Joint owner Shola Medupin said: “Patrons are guaranteed a taste of Nigeria with every bite. Every Nigerian meal is an event which we are out to share with the people of London.” She added: “My experiences coming from a third world country where stable electricity is scarce as gold, we weren’t into making large batches of food, some to be consumed on the day of production and the rest frozen until it’s needed.

“I come from a place where each individual meal or plate of food is made freshly from scratch and uniquely to each customer’s need.”

Shola said: “The recommended meal for a first timer would be Jollof rice£8.99(N2, 265), which is slowly cooked rice in tomatoes, peppers, herbs and spices with fried plantain and bee.
“If you are not a first timer or would like to try something more adventurous, the recommendation is Pounded Yam with EfoEgusi and Fresh fish £14.99 (N3,780).”

78 comments:

Chris said...

Good luck to them and hope it lasts. Not easy owing business concerns in the UK..So many tax things.

Oh woooow definitely going to try the place out, looks relly upclass

Awesome :)

Nice setting. Hopefully, the food will be tasty too.

Make i come dey dance?????

Rough Diamond said...

Dis is nice!
I know some restaurants in lagos dat their jollof rice n dodo is way expensive!

1 word......CLASS

Wow! can't wait to visit this place, when next I'm in Lewisham. Up Naija!!!

Ds is a biutifu and serene environment but that price,mehnnnnnn......???????????
*ajokeade*

I like it. Prize is perfect

Thank God ooo I can finally chop my mama land food

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Linda do dey sell 404 and tombo there?

We need this in Canada

XshadiMatt said...

Great,when next I'm in London,I'ma drop by 4 som hot Akpu and Egusi..........

Just dia

IkwerreBoy said...

Nigerian foods are too expensive eba here starts from 10 pounds u can imagine that...

Will check it out, but no buffet option?

Nt too far frm mee.... legooooo

untop wetin na, d 1 where i live to egusi soup is 10pounds, d shop don close down now...buahahaha

Nice. Should try it. Faaji at West Hampstead is very good too

IkwerreBoy said...

Linda honestly I'll go shall but I go check price before I order. Nigerian food for this country na luxury. I now prefer asian vegetables I eat for as cheap as 2 pounds and very healthy.

wemimo said...

Please dy shud come n open somtin like ds in Maryland USA..we will really appreciate...

Sam Oracle said...

Omo the food take style cost ooh.

Precious said...

wooooow!!! I'm soooo heading there tomorrow. This is good *excited*

Prince Of Boobaraba said...

Gaint of africa tins

poker said...

I like the bartender

Rice, plaintain and BEE??
Ok!
Billie jean

A taste of Nigeria in London

pwitie B said...

Makes sence oya lib readers in london an opportunity 2 taste ur local delicacies away frm home...hehehehehe

Great competition because for a very long tIme now 805 had monopolised the Afric/Nig food industry in london. So its nice to see a competition open up in Lewisham which is also a black/ african/ nigerian dominated area. Overall smart move. Just remember to be true to the recipe, and source for natural ingredients and that way Enish, you will compete better. Cos 805 is soo good at what they do.

9 quid for a plate of jelloff rice.. No thanks but I'll pass..it's a tad bit expensive so I'd rather cook mine at home..seriously I would use that amount of money to cook a standard pot party jelloff rice!!!

Sharrap there who dash you Lewishsam... Ode

Great idea..

Mz_NenyeH said...

Yo!..ow pıpu ova dere unt aff 2 mıss home (nıgerıan) mealz..But 4 dah fakt dat ıts quıte xpensıve 2 afford!

ive been passing it everday. wanted to try it but wasnt sure of the costs. naijs restaurants are expensive in london but will go here. it sounds reasonable.

Dear Ceapskate,don't forget they are importing a lot of ingredients and also paying tax! And if they want to attract other Nationalities it has to be World class standard! Congratulations guys! Ensure you maintain high stand,be creative& modernize some of our menus,Along the line of Yellow Chilli in VI,Lagos Proudly Nigerian~Naija Fine Gurl

This is exciting, I will definitely go there whenever am in London

The place is stunning but dat price won't cut it. The reason d asian places succeed is becos of d low price, n9jns will never pay such price. Mayb 1s 2 try it but hardly any repeat customers

You can say dt again, a whole bag of tollboy is £18 !!

Vyvyka said...

I've been there and I was blown away. If they maintain their service and great food, the sky is just their starting point!

When can I eat amala gbegiri n ewedu again...? :( Why I marry oyibo sef ??? :(

oyakhilome eromosele said...

This is eggzactly why I've decided not to relocate abroad. Ordinary concoction rice for 2,200 naira. Even sacrifice to the gods no cost reach like that. Haba. Biko nyem abacha 100naira with one nice fried fish osiso.

You're right. In addition to tax, rents, health and safety issues, certificates of recognition. Chai! Oyibo ehhhhh

NEED PLACES LIKE THIS IN SO FLO....

Shola Meduupin... I see you. Kudos. Leke

Amen. Nice prayer. Linda, i guess you are a christian. If you are, why did you carefully avoid the use of the name-JESUS. This is not the case when a Muslim is offering a prayer.

Gd investment..

Owning* thank me later. Winks*

The problem with Nigerians is that we always want to make fast profit. Try benchmarking other restaurants like the Italian, Thai, Chinese, and Indian. They don't charge as much in UK. A Nigerian restaurant opened in portsmouth but could not continue. I don't know the reason, but it's possible after a while, there was less patronage due to the price. Eniola and Olusola, try benchmarking, it is a really powerful tool.

Taste what? Most of these people can't cook to save their lives, wishing them well

We don't miss Nigerian food, everything is readily available, everything.

True talk, that's amount go buy 5kg of tollyboy rice and fresh chicken in Peckham. Their price for the plate of pound yam go cook one pot of nice vegetable soup that will last a family of two for 3days

When an d minimum wage is £6.25 and average Nigerian in london earns an average of £8.10 an hour without tax ooo. The price is damn unreasonable.

This looks like a high end restaurant and people have to realise that there are overhead cost and this should be reflected in the cost of the meal. I am prepared to pay premium price for good food.

Congrats Shola and Eniola...nice one coming from u two.

Nice one Shola. For those converting the prices to naira, you cannot make a direct comparison like that. Remember that high end places have higher overheads, plus some foodstuff is imported. I have gone to some "buffet" restaurants in naija and paid heavily for food I would otherwise get for a few pounds here.

please we need one in Manchester too i wan eat snail( ijaw girl) pa se sei!!!

+ someone is asking for buffet haha naija heavy meals which one go be the starter?

Shola and Eni I'm really proud of u guys.This is just the starting point.Bimbo

For those of u complaining about the price, thats just perfect price. Its like going toa chinese restaurant in Nigeria. Wish them the best neways. Management is always the problem not startin the business

buda atum said...

I've been there 4 times already to support Sola and Eniola and their impressive restaurant. They have been welcoming, and the food is authe, though my pounded yam was spicy and there was alcohol in my Gulder. As high end on the high street the price is about right at 15 for the combo and the waitresses are pleasantly friendly, being rare in many Nigerian establishments. I'm going back tonight to try the ewuro.

Famzing!!!!

May God set your soul free from the spirit of "poverticity" IJN! Its called PRICE not prize....ok?

This is way too reasonable, 805 is kinda high but I love d food and services...but am sure gonna try dis out soon...thanks Linda for d advert, even if u no give me my share of d advert payment...LOL

Staff Salary (Depends on how many they have)
Business rate
Electricity Bill
Gas Bill
Food stuff(to cook a pot of rice includes,pepper,oil maggi,salt ,labour,gas ,electricity ,etc)
Service Charge
TV License
Building Insurance
Staff Insurance
Premises License
Maintenance
Refuse maintenance
Security
ETC!!!

I can give endless list cos i'm into Business as well. My own personal opinion is that the prices are reasonable compare to other UK restaurant. I have to try it out

9jagirl007 said...

Bee for honey or bee for beyonce? Looks classy, we will try it when we are in the neighbourhood. Its not for everyone though incase its too expensive for you. Abi linda I lie???

Annabelle said...

This is fabulous, we need to learn to be possitive and support our own, I like it and pray it becomes a success like any other high end restaurant

Just admit your didn't get a visa and stop lying, biko

All the Chinese buffet restaurant have to add to the menu is moimoi and dodo and all them 805 and Nigerian restaurant for London go shut down... Anytime I go to Cosmo I feel I have spent my money wisely.

Guys you have to be there, what a luvly food they've got there at reasonable prices, specially the aya mase with rice n dodo....hmmm, yummy!

The price is not, if compared to that of that 805, that will make u die of hunger before they serve. Besides u don't ve to visit them everyday

Lizmo said...

We planned to go 2 a naijA restaurant that serves buffet after church in deptford on a sunday but they were closed so we ended up at Enish.
Overall good service, clean, presentatble and tasty food.
But the food took forever after we ordered, no kids menu and no customer carpark.
For those that complained that its expensive na wa 4 una o. U seem stingy to urself that u can't even treat urself to a decent meal out once in awhile. I work hard 4 my money so a £10 plate of food to treat myself is nothing.

Lizmo said...

Visit alhaja at lolak buka in peckham. They specialise in amala and trust me you won't regret it.

Shola Medupin! Niceone cuz! Sharon.

Lynn said...

O boy u harsh o! Why evuls? Buhahahah

Nice concept..I saw the facade and was impressed

Every about this place is nice..May the good Lord crown their efforts with success.

Chinny M said...

Try Roots Restaurant in Manchester. M18 7AA. It's a good place & affordable too

Lovely place you have there Shola Medupin. Am so proud of you & your wife. This is a waoh moment for me. Cant wait to see you guys. Shayo.