The story of Ike Ibeabuchi: The dream that never was | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 11 August 2013

The story of Ike Ibeabuchi: The dream that never was

Ike was on his way to becoming one of the best heavy weights of all time when he was imprisoned in the US following charges that he tried to rape a woman in Las Vegas in July 1999. The former professional heavyweight boxer, who won the Dallas and Texas Golden Gloves tournaments in 1994, has been locked up for the past 13years. Below is a plea from his mother who posted the message on his website
Mother's request for intervension
My name is Patricia Ibeabuchi a registered nurse. I am the mother of a young man by the name Ike Ibeabuchi Both Ike and my self are originally from Nigeria in Africa- I have been in United States since 1990 and my son joined me here in 1993. I am writing this letter, in hopes that I might receive your assistance in some way regarding the situation with my son Ike that I am about to reveal to you in this letter.
Please continue...

Ike and mum

My son Ike is ranked #2-3 as a heavyweight boxer. Ike started boxing in Nigeria at the approximate age of 18 and has continued this profession since coming to the United States. While over here he has been trained by Cutis Coke in this field to the point that he won City and State Golden Glove matches in Dallas Texas and has successfully won all 20 of his professional heavyweight fights. He is on record for having 16 knockouts and 4 unanimous winning decisions. Because of his obvious talent and performance, many managers and promoters were very interested in getting 11cc to sign contracts with them, but at this time Ike had a 3 year contract that has expired with Cedric Cushna Promotions. ike is trained to fight in the ring and has not never been involved in any street fights or used his talent and ability in any negative way. Ike is also a born again believer and has been raised in the fear of God. As his mother, and a preacher of God’s Word, I raised Ike and my other children to know what God’s word says and that we are to live our lives according to the Word of God.
When Ike began to show impressive undefeated in his boxing career and one of the world’s most promising heavyweights, a brother, Jack Web in our church, felt compelled to suggest that, because Ike’s father is still in Nigeria, that I quit my nursing job to stay by Ike’s side. He said because boxing has a reputation for being corrupt, manipulative and very shady in it’s dealings such as bribery, drugs and false accusations. It’s a pretty well known fact that a lot of the managers and promoters have been involved in these behaviors and have sometimes resorted to use some of these tactics in obtaining what they want.
In June 1999 their was Nigerian annual festival in New Jersey whereby the President of the Association invited Ike and the mayor of the city and alter the festival, Ike learnt there was a fight in Las Vegas, Nevada. Upon learning of this, Ike decided to fly to Las Vegas to watch the fight and speak with the representatives from HBO concerning his own boxing career.
At this time Cedric was hounding Ike to renew his contract with him, Ike informed Cedric that he needed to shop around to have better understanding what his worth is and if he matches it, that he will continue with him. Cedric was not happy about this because he knew that he had been under-paying Ike while other promoters and managers are highly interested in Ike due to his promising boxing career. Managers and promoters don’t want boxers to negotiate deals, they want to be the one to do all the negotiations so that their underhanded deals will not be known by any other than themselves. Because of these dealers and their methods, we had to leave Dallas Texas and moved to Arizona to seek refuge from them. Unfortunately, they followed us to this State and the nightmare continued. They tapped our phones, forced themselves inside our Gilbert home, they put chemicals in all of our food and drinks, and they will disengage our house alarm and enter our home at anytime of the day of night. The (Gilbert police have several records of our calls and reports concerning this matter. These promoters went so far as to fly and bring false charges against Ike in Gilbert and Scottsdale while he lives with me in the same house, by paying a couple of women to accuse him of attempted kidnapping and sexual assault. The police investigated these charges and threw them out because there was no basis for these charges against him. Since they did not achieve their aim here they followed him to Las Vegas and repeated the same charges which has kept Ike in jail for six and half years. This time in Las Vegas the charges are sexual assault, kidnapping and attempted to kill to intensify the charges against him this time.
At this time of false imprisonment, Ike has been forced medications, accused of mentally insane. and has not been given good attorney representation. Therefore, Ike has never really been tried or convicted of these false accusations or charges, but nevertheless, he has lost six and half years of his young life. The Las Vegas coat sent Ike to Reno mental hospital for evaluation, but before his arrival the staffs have been informed that Ike was dangerous, crazy and many other suggestions that made the staffs apprehensive to his arrival. Upon Ike’s arrival at the hospital, the staffs found that these statements were not even close to being truth rather they found Ike to be peaceable, respectful, loving and cooperative. When the Las Vegas court ordered to medicate Ike by Dr. Bittker who supposed to monitor the effect of the medication, he traveled out of the county and Dr. Henson started forcing medications on Ike, as a registered nurse I called Dr. Henson why he is medicating Ike, and if Ike was his son, as a license physician will he medicate him? since he is not mentally insane, he said that Las Vegas court asked him to, I asked him if court ask him to kill will he kill as a license physician? so I reported this to the Medical board in Nevada.
Finally Ike was intimidated, drugged out and with the effect of the drug dragged into the court to plead guilty by the Las Vegas public defender for alleged criminal offence he did not commit.
The judge knew about the drug Ike was given before court hearing because Ike told the judge that he was forced medication and he can’t reason properly but the judge ignored him. Today Ike, my son sits mercilessly in prison at the prime of his life, wasting! What did he do?
There was recent involvement of Honorable senator John McCain into the corruptions in the boxing business which supports what I am saying. In December 1999 Ike was kept in house arrest then Top Rank visited him to sign a promotional contract with Ike, Ike agreed but the terms both agreed upon was changed, well, he refused to signed Top Rank even promised to get him out and had already included his name in Delahoya’s fighting cart that year, if he had signed that cheating contract, but when It didn’t happen he was throne back to jail the next day. Since then different promoters and managers have promised to get him out if he agrees to sign contract with them. All these means that evil is behind this whole thing.
I am appealing to the public, Ike’s fans, relatives, friends and fellow country men and women, sisters and brothers in the Lord, qualified lawyers and human rights movement to please assist me in anyway possible to get my son released to live his life here in Arizona as a free young man. Feel free to check out any and all of my statements regarding this situation. I have many more actual details to share with you concerning all of this and would like an opportunity to do so. I feel as if we are abandoned, neglected and ignored abused and violated since our names and business (Missionary Home Health and Staffing Inc.) are known to every charity organization in United State for donations and supports. such as Veterans Of Foreign Wars Of The United States, Paralyzed Veterans Of America, Americans For Immigration Control, Inc.. National Police & Trooper Association, Metro Ministries In New York (kids that lost their parents during 9-11) Marilyn Hickey Ministries, Trinity Broadcasting Network, Operation Smile by Cindy McCain, American Red Cross in Washington, DC for Hurricane Katrina, Covenant House in NY.. Active supporter of Arizona State Fraternal Order Of Police and many more But Ike my son financed this business for the family and to help those in need, is going through this punishment, and no body is doing anything to stop this evil.
I have lived in United States since 1990 working as RN and filed my taxes, never received food stamps or disability finds, rather I have used my two hands God gave me to make my living, even have managed Missionary Home Health and Staffing Inc. from 2001 till date and have filed all the taxes as required. But I have filed for my Green card to become a resident here since it is due unto me, rather my papers keep on missing and one of the immigration lawyers said that, quote “This is internal, I can not deal with this” then he sent me to Senator McCain’s office for help. The immigration managed to call me for an interview never found anything illegal, or fault, still they are threatening to send me back to Africa. Who is behind this? those that thinks that I am on their way to my son Ike, kept on hiding my immigration file so that it could not be processed accordingly.
Furthermore, discrimination, hate, abuse and violation of human right that my son and I are facing in this country is wrong because we do not know what caused it how it started in this country we came to seek American dream and in our country, we treat every body with love and help when necessary.
In my country people go to jail when they committed serious crimes not accusations with no proof of evidence, or because of race, appearance, color or country of origin and career as in Ike’s case.
Muhammad Ali was out for 3 years for avoiding drafting. Mike Tyson was convicted for rape and was out in 3 years
Ike Ibeabuchi has served 7 years for mere accusations, WHY?
You can contact inc at 480-452-8175, or my mailing address is P.O. Box 7857 Chandler,
Arizona 85246
I appreciate your consideration in this matter
Sincerely yours
Patricia N. Ibeabuchi.

Now here's a different version of what happened from his Wikipedia page
In July 1999, Ibeabuchi was staying at The Mirage Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas when he phoned a local escort service and had a woman sent to his room.

The 21-year-old woman said she was there to strip and nothing else. She claimed he attacked her in the walk-in closet after she demanded to be paid up front.
"He invites her up to his room and begins to get physical with her," said Christopher Lalli, a Clark County chief deputy district attorney. It got loud enough that people in the adjoining room notified hotel security.
"When they enter the room," Lalli said, "a woman, naked from the waist down, is running toward them."
Ibeabuchi barricaded himself in the bathroom, and police discharged pepper spray under the door to coax his surrender. Ike's defense faced the further difficulty of the Clark County DA's reopening of a similar sexual assault allegation from eight months earlier that took place next door to The Mirage, at sister-property Treasure Island Hotel and Casino.

He was released on bail and placed on house arrest—able to train and fight again until his trial—but he was remanded after two more sexual-assault allegations surfaced in Arizona.
"The troubling thing for us was this was not an isolated incident," Lalli says.
Lalli says the case against Ike's crimes at The Mirage was solid. There was physical evidence, eyewitness testimony, a pattern of unacceptable behavior.

"It was evidence you don't have nine times out of 10 in these cases when you go to trial," Lalli said.
Ibeabuchi was deemed incompetent to stand trial and was sent to a state facility for the mentally ill. Medical experts concluded he exhibited bipolar disorder, and a judge granted permission to force-medicate him. Eight months later, 2½ years after his arrest, he was ruled cogent enough to plea.

He entered an Alford plea, conceding the prosecution had enough evidence to convict him while not admitting guilt. Had he gone to trial and been found guilty of rape, he could have received 10 years to life in prison, but instead he got two to 10 years for battery with intent to commit a crime and three to 20 years for attempted sexual assault, to be served consecutively.

Ibeabuchi was paroled on the first charge in 2001 and has been denied parole on the second charge three times. He was denied parole in August 2004, in August 2007, in February 2009 and on May 1, 2012. He is not eligible for another hearing until May 2013, at which time he will be 39. Ike also faces likely deportation.
"We felt confident he was going to spend a good chunk of time in prison and then get kicked out of the country," Lalli said.

Since his incarceration, Ike has earned two college degrees from Western Nevada Community College: an Associate of General Studies and an Associate of Applied Science in General Business

Read Ike's biography HERE

150 comments:

oh mehnn am I d first to comment???? Choi, so happy wat more can I say

Yes. Behind every successful black male athlete is a white woman screaming rape.

This is too rampant yet these men won't learn & behave.

Fikky.

charming forward cove kinky

Mehn.....smh

John Jacob said...

This is a lesson to all youths out there aspiring to be one thing or the other that no matter how talented you are,you've got to keep ur feet on the ground: be humble & very disciplined

Toscan... said...

And she is just talking after 13 years,not good enough,she also. Should officially. Write to the Nigerian ministryof justice and ministry of sports,they might help her.

This is so sad tho!

Werey nu baby Linda yi o! See Wetin u type make i read, thank God say I scroll down as i dey read see the long torey...abi make the gist parkwell

Lol...Gilbert police?rape?attempted murder?...sounds like vampire diaries to me,well,a mothers cry...not wanting to even think 4 a minute that her heavy weight son wiv arms like Yam tubers could possibly have raped the lady...

SAD!

shennel said...

Dats a set up....d high n mighty wil do anytin 2 crush u wen u get in their way#God save him#

Dis is serious oo,make una come home.on a serious note who is behind it all.

BEN said...

All I see is 'Ike'...Linda pls spare me..

@anonymous Lwkmd @ arms like yam tubers....pls don't make me deliver prematurely here...as for this epistle, with the rambling sentences and paranoid leanings, I don't know ooooooo......something stinks here.....

2long to read,pls summarize d whole story,not a fan of long story

@anonymous Lwkmd @ arms like yam tubers....pls don't make me deliver prematurely here...as for this epistle, with the rambling sentences and paranoid leanings, I don't know ooooooo......something stinks here.....

SKYPE said...

is a pity.. i pray Gods intervention ,, i so believed d mother is being truthful,, whites r racist and can do anytin to get u out of the way.. i so hate dem.. white fools

I remember when this story first broke. It felt shady then, it feels shady now. Ike was/is clean. That's the dirty life of american cut throat boxing.

Preeeeety mum sha, ike looks more handsome in prison dan in his boxing dayz...@model_zcyn

Ooooo shut up already ,Yhu are sooo stupid...fool

So u don't hav anything important to say mr/mrs first to comment.I wonder y pple get excited for nonsense things.smh

Dis white don't have conscience at all.

ᶥᵗˢ didi said...

Mhen its a long story o! I av tried buh can't finish reading it up. I hope everything works out well for ike & his mum...#All for seeking American dream*RME*

Damn, what sad story 4 this potential star boxer that would have lifted the naija flag once again in d boxing arena.

Yes, I believe there's real corruption in d boxing world, especially when more money is involved n even Tyson was a victim if this corruption.
I'm guessing the promoter/s that set this guy up for his downfall will say " this fcking Nigger deserves 2 rot in hell since he doesn't want 2 agree with us." it's really d grim reality 4 most Africans here in US, they just want u 2 kiss their asses b4 things can go smoothly 4 u.

Rough Diamond said...

A white man can make u n d same time break u!

are u a learner? Ike y didnt u toast some white babes na? U fall ur hand abeg. Now u have 2 box ur way outter prison.. Well i hope u've watched prison break? Better start go getting ur own tattoos.. U must be a learner.. Lol

Shady world of boxing.

ѕσмє φƒ una mumu, ℓ̊ know say most una go believe wetin dey white lady talk Ŧ☺ wetin una fellow nigerian talk, mtchwwwww... Nde apari!!!

Me think their problem is more spiritual. From her not been giving green card to her son who is incacerated for no good reason. As a spiritual conscious person, I hv no doubt that their problem is very spiritual. Some1 doesn't want to see the family happy. She needs serious prayers. Feel so bad to watch a young talent wested for no just cause. God will see u thru

Exactly my thoughts... I feel for him sha, may God help him

Candor said...

Madam, please carry your son and come back to his motherland. His future would have been brighter here. You are nurse, he is a fighter with a very good record of no losses. Please, do him good and request for his deportation since no other angle you go through seems to work out. Job isnt that hard to find here. Instead of having this nightmare in a foreign land, have it at home. May God be with your family, Amen!

SENATORDONFIZZY said...

too bad, this is racism.

Linda..God bless you for bringing up this story. I will tell you this..if there was ever a boxer who could have defeated Mike Tyson in his prime..that would be Ike Ibeabuchi. Apparently he cannot box anymore..that time is past..he has been in prison for way too long. But there is still time for him to make something decent of his life as every precious second counts. I pray he find favor in the eye of God and man so he can get a second chance.

Ike, is yet another victim after Tyson just because his not American citizen. If Nigeria is a country that value the well being of her citizens, this case would have been a forgotten issue.

Rly touching

esther said...

Thank u Fikky,very well said, I only pray that the truth b found out and God vindicates them,dahz all.

Dis is a dis heartning story.wht a waste of a wonderful nd colourful destiny.time indeed waits for no one

Rosie Said......... If it smells like fish,its probably fish. I wonder how somebody who is mentally ill, bipolar can get two college degrees? Madam you really need shout at the top of your lungs,until somebody takes action.

ok

Musediq said...

So touching! This is just the life of sport in the United States, it's an early rise to stardom and doom! God knows what transpired, but the system is corrupt anywhere, nobody holy pass.

What a shame,like I always say aside from d serial killing and corruption dere is Ŋo oda place lγ̲̣̣̥k home. God is hearing you ma and he is working in ways we cant see.

princess dee said...

May God intervene!I feel for Ike n his mum.America is good but its not heaven.Abeg,mama,carry ur son n Come back home.It is well.

This is very wrong,why is it that behind every successful black athletel,there is alwayz a white woman screming rape! This is unjust! Every human right figther must fight for this! This is simply unaceptable.

*Linda. This woman is either in denial or has so much bad luck. If her enemies can convince the Judge, the psychiatrist, the jury, the hotel security, the assault victim to lie against her son, and immigration officer denied her greencard, then she's the most unlucky woman in the world. Tell her to pack her bag and head back to Nigeria after her son has served his time.

Yetinde said...

America,dey keep ruining people's life & dey want peace,ko possible nw,dis is wickedness,I bet dey've never heard the word nemesis,it'll haunt dem & dier unborn generations,dey can never knw peace wiv atitudes like dis,is it by force,mummy request his deportation pls,house still dey here,all yee america dreamers,sha una dey see,dey dnt want anybody for good except demselves,awon ika eniyan.God dey...

This story is very clear! 1st of all the guy may or may not have done it.(Only God knows) but then again I fink "African magic" is @ work and d mum needs to take this into consideration and pray hard on it too....

I swear this is the least to what this stupid ppl do to nigerians in malaysia.... I really blame igbo guyz for the narotics and the yoruba guys for the flashy and loud lifestyle that very little citizens can afford

The mother is delusional.... This is not as an insult... SNPs- single nucleotide polymorphisms have shown similar variations with psychotic ilnesses and manic disorders. I wish she gets help... I wish he is granted parole... He probably was using steroids which either made him more aggressive or worsened his underlying illness.... There are clear signs of genetic loading and family history from the little I have read of her story-N.Y Psychiatrist

Poka Classic said...

Linda i am very sorry to say this but most of the people who visit your blog just come here to hear gossip about celebrities and talk crap.They have nothing to contribute. I noticed that when ever you post Real Life stories and Articles about the state of the country all they do is complain " too long" "boring" " not my concern" "Pls sumarize,am not a fan of long reading" Really? You can't finish reading an article and you claim to be an Undergrad? "yay first to comment" seriously? first to comment? it's a shame though and i would n't be surprise if u also fail to post my comment. Pls guys don't break the silence if you have nothing tangible to say.

I read this story a couple of years ago, why did his mother take this long to make this plea. Whatever the case I believe their is an element of truth in what she said. Black men suffer a lot in America, especially in sports and music. Look at all the scandals related to black men, you'd find white women in the background: tiger woods, oj simpson, kobi bryant, michael jackson, usher, lemar odom they too much to mention. America is corrupt and it does its black populace no favors. And these black celebrities do not even take all these into account when they act at all.

I smell d evil ones behind dis family. Madam my advice 1st is dat u should look 4 a deliverance ministry cos ur family needs serious liberation. This americans re lookin 4 who 2 worship their manmade gods *devil/lucifer* via illuminati but becos he has ignorantly refused to sign those deals now they wonna render his life n carEer useless. D GOD of pastor E.A adeboye,Wole Oladiyun,Femi Emmanuel,Dele Johnson. etc will arise dis minute and fight 4 ur family IJN

Dan

Madam my advice 1st is dat u should look 4 a deliverance ministry cos ur family needs serious liberation. This americans re lookin 4 who 2 worship their manmade gods *devil/lucifer* via illuminati but becos he has ignorantly refused to sign those deals now they wonna render his life n carEer useless. D GOD of pastor E.A adeboye,Wole Oladiyun,Femi Emmanuel,Dele Johnson. etc will arise dis minute and fight 4 ur family IJN

Dan

I hope his mother who tendered this story will read the post and watch out for positive comments. There is wickedness everywhere and as my pastor will say,there is no white or black devil. Every cabal or cartel against the life of your son will utterly fail. The wickedness of every wicked ones involved in this will come to an end,if only you are ready to take spiritual responsibility..."calling forth those things which be not as though they were". Please worship with us online @ www.salvationministrieshs.org and find a way on the site to get in touch with any of our pastors for instructions and support;however we are encouraged to' do-it -ourselves'. I see the Lord changing your story

orela said...

i feel so sorry for Ike...
unfortunately nigerian govt doesnt care for her citizens...
30yrs???????

i fink its high time you realise that RACISM is fucking real....when these whites knw yu are a talented black person they look for ways to use u to stupor claimin dia system made u hu r are.
((in a way yes because if IKE was in nigeria he wont box a fly he would rewrite jamb a coule of times get in to d university likely read PHYSICAL HEALTH EDUCATION graduate look for a job for 3yrs then finally teach in a private school for a paltry sum of 1500 naira))

the bitter truth is by d time a black man deem it fit to request for his actual rights dey go ballistic on him...YES dey even give yu drugs that twist ya brain to d extent dat wen u r finally deported yu r useless to ya self..
the whites hate anytin black..n needless to say they will deport IKE when he is done with serving time on d ground dat he is unstable and a threat....
now if he comes back what nxt....????
nigerians back home barely eat 3squares meals...
like i say i can go to america. ..uk. .spend my dough but to stay dia???hell no
i can school dia bag some degrees but to practice dia...??? hell no
the bottom truth is this guy will serve his full time cos he was a young aspiring blackman hu supposedly sexually assaulted a white call girl(a stripper/prostitute)

Terrible what black men face in the hand of white, but still we treat them like a king in our country when Our brother and sister are out facing difficulties. I pray God should intervene.

I pray for God's intervention for this young man. Smthing I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ me believes Ike's mum Ȋ̝̊̅§ telling the truth. Ma'am, pls use Ʊя̲̅ knee to pray Ʊя̲̅ son out as fast as u can. Ministry of justice should be handling this kind of case but No they won't! Hiss! I'l have Ʊя̲̅ son I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ prayer as ma own lil sisterly contribution. May God vindicate Ʊя̲̅ son if Ħ̀ε̅ Ȋ̝̊̅§ innocent or pardon him if Ħ̀ε̅ really did commit d crime.

I 4 ask am same thing 2...connection is really important anywhere in d world

soladunn said...

lol @ first comment

see amazing cuts to match your oval faces here on my style blog www.soladunn.blogspot.com

oh mehnn am I d first to comment???? Choi, so happy wat more can I say

Guineacar said...

Stories that touch. Pathetic tales.

Racism things!! Pls who r d dream spoiler? May god av mercy

If there's any justice in this world, Ike should be given a fair re-trial. As for his mother, she's not making enough noise about it. This is the 1st tym I'm hearing about this. I pray things smoothen out for them in Jesus name.

patricia or whatever SHUT UP your sons lyf is in total dilemma fr over 13 years nd ur just sayin it nw 2 d public....where hv u been all dis while?if anitin happen 2 dat young man,u will be hold responsible.......and a simple advise if ur nt welcom in d usa....just cum bck 2 naija nd we will accept u.

Ur a stupid moron, did u even read the shii????

Kevin's said...

Just pray God intervene.

Y wld some1 go through all that stress just to punish him......maybe he really did! These guys sometimes think they cn dominate women bcos of their physical strength! if he is innocent God will help him get out

It's very unfortunate with what happened...All these racism stories make me scared of relocating abroad.My brother abroad told me of how a white guy was running after him calling him a monkey and he wanted to slap the guy and I warned him never to raise a finger against them,before they twist the story against him and either throw him in jail or kill him.

This madness about being the first †̥ comment should stop abeg;we r reading abt important issue d only tin dat idiot could think about is first †̥ comment...linda na †̥ pray for naijas that are in diaspora may the lord help us.

Nawah oooh racism everywere
Dear God,may ur will be done in his life, fight his batlle for him...amin

I need the "like" button for this. You said it all. Good talk!!!!

American dream has turned to American nigthmare.
Linda, from your write up, there is only one version of the last assault b4 his jail term(wikipedia). The woman and Ike did not give their own version.
A lesson for all those rushing to US/UK/Europe and Asia... There is no place like home.
Wonder if the guy's father ever assisted to sort out his problems.

orela said...

@candor yu say job isnt dat hard to find????? are u refering to armed robbery??
please quit peddling lies a good job is very hard to get in naija....

yes we should use our talents....but has d country not killed ya talent just as d american system finished ike???

please drop ya address so dat wen he is deported you will feed him n give him a job..

Its also posssible that he's guilty of these things or at least some but as a mother u won't believe it
Also claiming justice reigns in Nigeria is a big laugh......cuz u know it wudnt even be a case here cuz d blame will be on d women
If white man is so unfair to u why don't u ask for deportation and come down with ur son,is america by force

Yemmie Oscar said...

This is definitely a set-up. I hope you get what you seeking for ma'am.

Mama go talk to America who put am for jail.una think that all those nonsense wey una dey do for Nigeria could be imported into America?Money is not every thing here.

Woow, dey hav wasted dis guys life.... wat a pity.. it's a long write up but am happy to have read it all.. pls ppl take ur time to read, it's educating. if diz oyimbo ppl Don stick rape on black athletes dey stick adultery or cheating spouse on dem... Na WA oh!

Sad tale. God will vindicate u

conscience said...

Hm, sad news

Sad tale. Let God's will b done.

Racism still alive.. Akon done told ya'll, return back to your home land as we living a better life here just the goody stuff you'll miss when you're here but we got 100 percent freedom.

ejikebiggerdick said...

Too long to read joor, kilode! This guy's dick must ave been clothed with cob web..oh sorry

Pls Linda Wikipedia is not an authority pls do not post anything 4rm there its can never be authentic. To the Mother and Son sad story I pray that the relevant pple that can help this situation shows up for u in Jesus Name Amen.

ejikebiggerdick said...

Fooool! Wat is dis one writing? Tell dat to d birds!

ejikebiggerdick said...

@Mama ifu I learnt dat u get pregnant yearly, is dat true? Sugar dey ur toto?

This is so sad ..... America can set you up or bring you down. if Nigeria had their acts together, this promising guy would never have left the shores of this country to go and be a slave to a white man. Mama, Come Home with your Son because he will always be accused of one crime or another since they've gotten to him

This first to comment thing is disgusting.
Just a bunch of empty heads with nothing to say.

Useless first to comment idiot! Someone is languishing in jail and u can say is first to comment. Heartless motherfucker.

I dnt knw wat to blv! Bt if he tried to rape d young lady, I fink he has served enof time. So dey shld jst dePort dem

Linda,u did not post my comment abi?I don't like u anymore...if u like,don't post this 1 too#angryface#LatinoPINKY

I share your pain Ma, but i have one question to ask you. Why did you still allow him to remain there after the may hand writings on the wall? you should have asked him to go back to Nigeria, is Nigeria so bad that he should now morgaged his life? When i heard about this case i knew it was a set up, but please no matter what no place is like home.

onyinye said...

God is not asleep. He will definitely do the right thing at the right time concerning this case.

The Nigerian Movie Industry could make a movie out of this as an appeal. Now, I think Nigeria should begin to look inwardly at the talents lying to waste. We could make Nigeria a better place. We could change our face. Sad one there.

why is she still trying to stay back in dat country? put things in place and come back home. with her experience and hardwork she can do better in naija. Must you remain there????

ah ah ah! Anonymous 12:46 u ar surpose 2 b a standup comedeian. So al u hav 2 do is make a comic comment out of dis serious issue.

Lotam said...

I read a story about a white woman tht was raped in an Arab country and was sent 2 jail...i really dnt feel pity for her @ all...this is wht those useless whites do to Blacks in their country..let them have a taste of what they do 2 Blacks

Most cases of rape in america is setup.the(lady) victims accepts her accuser's sexual advances.she later claim she was rape so as to get a financial reward from him.

You are a big full. Dt guy is my cousin's step broda n d r all big in their house. Shes nt delusional is d truth. He was sent to jail for no just course.The broda is a boxer too.

some people here did not read the woman's note very well or they dont know what goes around the boxing world. i believe the woman, cos i know how this works, if u dont allow them rip u off they will do everything to make sure they kill ur dreams....they is call witch crafting with out even flying....

@timotiks said...

MEHN tragedy:: buh whose side of d story do we believe?? Linda plz help investigate more.

Woolwich Boy said...

All i can say is MAY WE NEVER SEE ALAKOBA! Na so my friend parle travel come 9ja....we come drive ehn G-Wagon go club. Me and stripper arrange, na so the girl begin form dance only after 100pounds...she say shebi i pack G-Wagon for outside...make i add money!
I tell her say i dey come....zoom off!!!! Na so man pikin for enter rape issue if i talk say i no dey pay!

Methinks this champs dad placed a curse that worked.Why would the woman leave her nursing job to become a boxing promo?Thats not her job.The champs dad should have been invited to America at all cost to part take in the financial wind fall.You chop alone,die alone..She respected all laws of foolishness to keep silent up till now before letting the world know.

Ike Ibeabuchi's mother is my niece, I know every bite of this frame-up. This intimidation to Ike ( aka De President ) is not only to him but to every black person and to us Nigerians in particular. ( www.ikeibeabuchi.com) Ike's father died of heart attack and hasn't been buried yet .What ever any person can do to vindicate him, Please do. To Linda nwaofo (udo diri gi )God bless you

Thanks Linda for the post. It is so sad what we face outside our country. This is pure injustice. I will advice Ike's mum to send a copy of her plea to Hon Abike Dabiri, Am sure she will help. To all LIBers please not that your comments are treated seriously and as such always think before you post. Go easy with the harsh words please. God bless us all.

black magic is working.dis d cousin to miss gombe mbgn dat silver birds threw out of there compition last month.

chika nledo said...

This young man is my first cousin he's mum is my dad's elder sister anty patty I never met my cuz when growing up I heard of he's stories I was very proud of him cos he never lost any battle. What I know is racism I believe in my hrt he never did what he was accussed of he was setup bcos they all knew he was the only one that can defeat tyson. I pray they set him free cos my anty has suffered a lot he lost he's dad last 2 years ago he's brother sunny died 6 years ago. All u ppl in here writting trash think of ur life and stop judging ppl this thing can happen to anybody

This man is sick and needs medications. There is no conspiracy. He has bipolar disorder that can be treated forvhis good and public safety.

Ike Ibeabuchi father was a small time muscle show man called Pisto Killer. He used to wear a very long dread and lifts heavy objects even pulling a VW beatle car with his dreadlocks. Ike has always been in boxing right from our days in Emmanuel college owerri. He is hardworking and fought himself to the top. it is a pity how the American Society is treating him. This shows that it is not only in Nigeria that there is miscarriage of justice. I suggest the mother starts an appeal on Change.org

Jewel said...

So sad but this is the blatant reality of what goes on over ther. Please Linda ask her to read the innocent man by John Grisham. And also try to contact John Grisham as well.

he should have kept his dick inside his trousers , three allegations against him!!!!!! na household witchcraft follow am go America , he needs to pray . i suggest he goes to mountain of fire church

this is clearly the mafia at work,the mafia still exists ,kai u guys dont watch movies??? theres cash in drugs and boxing and the mafia is strongly involved on any venture that has lots of cash,ike didnt play ball and he has been victimised,only GOD can save him now,the mafia controls some of the govt. too

joe the boxer said...

I watched Ike from my sidelines bench as a young boxer in the early 90s. Ike would have been Nigeria and if not world's greatest. Boxing is a corrupt sport, they killed our dream, now Ike is rotting in jail. This is no joke, let's scream please, Ike must be free!!

Ike was taking over, and they had to shoot him dowm. Now he ranks among the top 3 boxing greatest prospects that never was. Ike is a Nigerian, stop the frivolities, Arise O Compatriots!

I've lived in Dallas, Texas since 1994 and had the privilege of speaking a couple of times with Ike in 1995. He came off as a grounded, humble, and Christian gentleman. I followed his travails closely, and can attest that as a lawyer, I believe the evidence against him is not tangible. At best, it is tenuous. If his case had been properly handled, Ike would have walked free...and he would have literally flattened all opponents to the World Heavyweight Championship. Where's the Nigerian Embassy, the Foreign Affairs Ministry and the Sports Minstry? Such a collosal shame.It's just a pity.

N7 said...

Lord Jesus only u knew what happened n even b4 ike's mom wrote this,U knew already.... Pls Lord can U just Help this mother n child from this painful n heartbreaking situation? I know u can do this and more. Tnk U Lord.

It is only in America where some one kills and goes free where as another person gets 13+years for attempted rape and murder. Where is the justice??? Yet America is supposed to be a democratic nation. God is in control, mama take heart and pray for your son.

Linda our dear daughter, kudos to you for bringing up the issue of our dear son Ikeh Ibeabuchi on your blog, may the good Lord in his infinite mercy continue to guild you alright. We the Government of Abia State and our able caring Governor His Excellency Chief T.A Orji are very much concerned in this case of injustice melted out on our son. Some weeks back, precisely in the month of June, our Governor approved the sum of 30,000USD Thirty thousand US dollars (N4.8million) which has been released to Ikeh's brother Mr Stanley Ibeabuchi by the secretary to the Governor to enable the family Hire a good lawyer to look into his release from prison. And we do hope that in the absence of their Now late Father, the family would put to good use this financial support from his Excellency. God bless Abia State Government, God bless His Excellency Governor T.A Orji, God bless our son Ikeh Ibeabuchi.

Let's all Arise O Compatriots, nice to know that his state Governor has been of tremendous support towards his release through the Fund released to his family just recently.

Aunty Patty thank God that support has started coming in, please just like the Abia State writer commented, don't fail to put to good use the 30,000 USD Dollars that has already been released to your family to facilitate his release. God will see you and your family through, I can imagine.

To make her case go public, she need to call or send a youtube video of her case to all local media to helped her solve her case. That's all I can say. Which you luck madam.

If you read more details from wikipedia you will see that there is more to this issue, from the headaches he complained of after his fight with Tua to his imprisonement verdict, people are so very wicked in this world that they can go any extent to pull others down and achieve their own selfish aim but God almighty can do the impossible, I believe this situtaion can still become a turnaround and a victory for the Ibeabuchis.

I feel so sorry for this woman but thank God that from what I read here, the sum of N4.8 million naira has been released by your state Government. Please use it wisely and hire a good lawyer Kia Kia to look into this case. Please also start appealing on change.com.

Thank you his Excellency the Governor of Abia State for releasing 30,000 USD to Ikeh Ibeabuchi's family. Kudos Linda for bringing this post up for discussion.

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Some people just type sha because they want to comment...,anyway, this Ike story is deep, am so sad, Gosh, i keep thinkn of Adichie's,*Americanah*.... See what he got into for the American dream, For God sake, they can just deport him, he will start over local fights here,there is hope here, they will just kill him there,the manipulation in that place is enough!.#prayforIke

This is d most story dat I found challenged ever since I joined dis blog, in short av been reading nd reading dis all over again, bt my mind tell me dt soonest dis guy ll be released by god grace n failure to do so more bomb dt worse dan sept 11 will happen in US, dis is pure racism, even if he commit dis mere accusatn, 7years punishment is ok, why killing dis guy slowly, US n their useless law will see bad side of god

I told ma sista only recently that shaitan is a white man,its high time dey stopd protraying d bastard as black..

Jewel said...

Another flagrant waste of naija taxpayers money,going to show how clueless and idealess naija govt is.has ike been paying tax in Abia state? If Ike has a solid case, there are pro bono lawyers in America who will gladly take over his case FOC. This also show that worthlessness of naija's ambassadors,they fold their hands while fellow naijans rot in foreign prisons. You can't try this to an american or a british without response from proportionate response. I keep on asking of what use are these ambassadors and foreign minister, except to squander naija taxpayers money. Common UK govt is placing bond on naijas to enter UK now and ther are sitting duck and looking like dummy.

A MAN THAT IS MENTALLY IS HAS MANAGED TO GET TWO ASSOCIATES DEGREES WHILE IN JAIL? YOU PEOPLE TALK ABOUT HOW NIGERIA IS SO CORRUPT BUT LOOK AT THIS!! THEY DRUG HIM AND SAY HE HAS BIPOLAR DISORDER BECAUSE THEY KNOW HIS POTENTIAL!! POOR IKE JESUS IS NOT ASLEEP.

This story should find it's way to all available social Media Platforms.
Linda,your blog is doing great...be encouraged.

MAY GOD SAVE HIM.BUTI KNOW GOD WILL DO SOMETHING IN NO TIME.AMEN.

MAY GOD SAVE HIM,I KNOW GOD WILL DO SOMETHING IN NO TIME AMEN.

You are very stupid. If you don't have anything proper to say, Shut Up.

Linda please reach her mom if you can, tell her to write to Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs Nigeria. That will do.

its so sad people,d money didnt get to d woman or her son.stanely was a wrong person to give d money too,i called my anty patty to confirm as soon i as i saw it on dis blog concerning d money,to my greatest surprise she said no idea.pls my fellow nigeria help to send dis message across.thanks

Jesus Christ did I just read that the money did not get to Ike's Mum? Please Linda you really have to do something before the so called Stanley squander's the whole money, wonders. NG.

You must know that boxing is controlled by the mafia... He is suffering for standing his ground.

has anyone anything to say about the victims has this man showed any remorse did he not think of the consequences of his actions was the govt not there before he started this,i believe that dude has some issues,do i feel sorry for him absolutely not do i think its tragic of course i have children of my hoe i guess none of these so called supporters have any daughters he must pay for his crimes get rehabilitated then he can do whatever he wants what a waste of space and talent a tragic lesson for us all

Black heroes(boxers) av always had to face pretty ugly maltreatments frm Joe Louis(a world war hero Ƒσя †ђξ US) to Tyson n Ike. Yet america claims to b fair n nt bin racists.
God help Ike. Amen

Sometimes I felt really surprised about certain peoples comments here, and their minds. All what people kept saying here is wish God save him, or what things to be done to release him after spending 13yrs in jail for nothing, which are only mouthed and not even real or taken seriously to start with. And as if that, even if it could ever happen, could be the real solution to his problem. but no one has ever said anything about the justice for his pains encountered, false accusations and defamation of character, (cos I knew how the western system works. esp in relation to foreigners and what a Nigerian can do or not do in a foreign land), and a possible career destruction. The lack of proportionate responses to malefactors and crimes often gave the more impetus to those that think they can do anything to anyone and go scot-free. We have a lot of faith-without-workers in Nigeria. They are prayer specialists with their mouths only, never by action, and even if there is any action at all, that would be done stupidly, less pleasing, and often below expectation and yet, they would like to demand a praise that has never being accorded to even the most proficient. There are many rich men in Nigeria, where have they all been? Even the so called governor who were expected to stand up truly and fully for this himself only ended up delegating such a task (and with such a paltry sum compared to what he can really do and or offer and compared to what they often stole from the country s coffers) to a person whom he knew absolutely nothing about his real relationship with Ike and now, we heard it that his mom, the only one in the right position to truly help him, knew nothing about the money. Sometimes I wonder if something is really wrong with Nigeria s mentality, why cant they think like humans for ones? Why must there be error in their way of thinking and the way they do things compared to the west? Most of us think gods or spirituality is the cause while we absolutely ignore our human abilities and common sense, which the west often do their best to show us how. When will we ever learn? When would we ever learn to encourage our champions to do more for the rise and good of our dear country? But this is sad to say because what affects one person definitely affects all indirectly. Those of you wishing him bad or thinking of doing him harm because it is him, only ended up proving to the world why you are also worthless and worth being maltreated as well in their eyes. Its just a free ticket. Wake up Nigeria! Its 21st century!

anonymous said...

Sometimes I felt really surprised about certain peoples comments here, and their minds. All what people kept saying here is wish God save him, or what things to be done to release him after spending 13yrs in jail for nothing, which are only mouthed and not even real or taken seriously to start with. And as if that, even if it could ever happen, could be the real solution to his problem. but no one has ever said anything about the justice for his pains encountered, false accusations and defamation of character, (cos I knew how the western system works. esp in relation to foreigners and what a Nigerian can do or not do in a foreign land), and a possible career destruction. The lack of proportionate responses to malefactors and crimes often gave the more impetus to those that think they can do anything to anyone and go scot-free. We have a lot of faith-without-workers in Nigeria. They are prayer specialists with their mouths only, never by action, and even if there is any action at all, that would be done stupidly, less pleasing, and often below expectation and yet, they would like to demand a praise that has never being accorded to even the most proficient. There are many rich men in Nigeria, where have they all been? Even the so called governor who were expected to stand up truly and fully for this himself only ended up delegating such a task (and with such a paltry sum compared to what he can really do and or offer and compared to what they often stole from the country s coffers) to a person whom he knew absolutely nothing about his real relationship with Ike and now, we heard it that his mom, the only one in the right position to truly help him, knew nothing about the money. Sometimes I wonder if something is really wrong with Nigeria s mentality, why cant they think like humans for ones? Why must there be error in their way of thinking and the way they do things compared to the west? Most of us think gods or spirituality is the cause while we absolutely ignore our human abilities and common sense, which the west often do their best to show us how. When will we ever learn? When would we ever learn to encourage our champions to do more for the rise and good of our dear country? But this is sad to say because what affects one person definitely affects all indirectly. Those of you wishing him bad or thinking of doing him harm because it is him, only ended up proving to the world why you are also worthless and worth being maltreated as well in their eyes. Its just a free ticket. Wake up Nigeria! Its 21st century!

anonymous said...

I must say I believe a lot of this to be true on how Ike may have been railroaded. I knew him for a short time as a Correctional Officer at LCC. I can't speak for what exactly happened because only God, the accuser and Ike know the truth, what I can say is that he wasn't crazy and he seemed to be a humble man. As for you, Ike's Mom, I hope the truth does come out fully, whatever that may be?

God curse you for your harsh statement

Raised in the fear of god...............on wonder he went mental.

He needed to come into the ring in some detachable hoods

Honey the Boo Boo said...

He dumb!

My people, it is wisdom not to judge or draw conclusion without knowing fully the truth in a story. 
I work with the Government of Abia State and I'm fully aware of the fund approval and how it was utilised. "Yes" it is true that  the Governor approved a total sum of  #30,000 to Mr. Stanley Ibeabuchi which was estimated to worth N4.8m. A total of N3m was later released to stanley Ibeabuchi after one month of the fund approval which I confirmed and was at the office of the accountant general Mr. Gabriel Onyendilefu when a cheque was handed over to him. I confirmed the purpose of which the money was released and I got the story on how Stanley Ibeabuchi approached the Governor. On what I confirmed, Stanley explained to the Governor that he lost his Dad and Ike was in the position to bury their Dad as the first son of the family but because he was incarcerated for over a decade and they can't break the news of the father's death to him because of his situation. Stanley being a smart young dude blamed the government for abandoning Ike who fought his way to make Nigeria proud in USA. He appealed to the Governor to sponsor the burial of their late father who was a hero and a famous Superman who defeated Kill-wee Nwachukwu, Super Dragon etc in a supermen show contest, and he also appealed to the Governor to support him financially in other to hire a lawyer who will represent Ike in his upcoming parole hearing. He appealed for 50,000 USD but later he got approval of 30,000USD. He couldn't meet up with the parole hearing date before the money was released to him and that parole was Ike's final parole hearing and his final released date was fixed on 28th February 2014. What Stanley did was to divert the fund to his late father's burial which he properly utilised the fund. As I'm working with Abia state State Government, I made sure I followed the very fund and how it was utilised. Am very happy that the young child utilised the money properly. My love for him whetted when I saw what he did with the fund. He is well trained and articulated. Amongst his family members, he's the only one who has been campaigning for his brother's freedom, seeking for the government attention both in radio and television, writing letters to the federal government and to the national assembly. You can imagine how he is the only one who were able to reach to the Governor and the fund approval was in his name. Am very happy that he buried his father single-handedly and with the help of the Governor. This very story can be confirmed from the Government and from his people. I'm sure that Ike will be happy with him for undertaking his responsibility as the apparent firSt son

My people, it is wisdom not to judge or draw conclusion without knowing fully the truth in a story. 
I work with the Government of Abia State and I'm fully aware of the fund approval and how it was utilised. "Yes" it is true that  the Governor approved a total sum of  #30,000 to Mr. Stanley Ibeabuchi which was estimated to worth N4.8m. A total of N3m was later released to stanley Ibeabuchi after one month of the fund approval which I confirmed and was at the office of the accountant general Mr. Gabriel Onyendilefu when a cheque was handed over to him. I confirmed the purpose of which the money was released and I got the story on how Stanley Ibeabuchi approached the Governor. On what I confirmed, Stanley explained to the Governor that he lost his Dad and Ike was in the position to bury their Dad as the first son of the family but because he was incarcerated for over a decade and they can't break the news of the father's death to him because of his situation. Stanley being a smart young dude blamed the government for abandoning Ike who fought his way to make Nigeria proud in USA. He appealed to the Governor to sponsor the burial of their late father who was a hero and a famous Superman who defeated Kill-wee Nwachukwu, Super Dragon etc in a supermen show contest, and he also appealed to the Governor to support him financially in other to hire a lawyer who will represent Ike in his upcoming parole hearing. He appealed for 50,000 USD but later he got approval of 30,000USD. He couldn't meet up with the parole hearing date before the money was released to him and that parole was Ike's final parole hearing and his final released date was fixed on 28th February 2014. What Stanley did was to divert the fund to his late father's burial which he properly utilised the fund. As I'm working with Abia state State Government, I made sure I followed the very fund and how it was utilised. Am very happy that the young child utilised the money properly. My love for him whetted when I saw what he did with the fund. He is well trained and articulated. Amongst his family members, he's the only one who has been campaigning for his brother's freedom, seeking for the government attention both in radio and television, writing letters to the federal government and to the national assembly. You can imagine how he is the only one who were able to reach to the Governor and the fund approval was in his name. Am very happy that he buried his father single-handedly and with the help of the Governor. This very story can be confirmed from the Government and from his people. I'm sure that Ike will be happy with him for undertaking his responsibility as the apparent firSt son