Mob beat policeman to death for killing trader | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 August 2013

Mob beat policeman to death for killing trader

Culled from Punchng.com
The Lagos State Police Command has commenced investigations into the killing of a police corporal, Ado Ayuba, who was lynched by some hoodlums in Suru Alaba area of the state. (Above pic: not the police officer killed)
According to the police, the victim was beaten to death by an irate mob for allegedly killing a trader, Mustapha Mohammed, on July 30, 2013.
PUNCH Metro learnt that Ayuba and another policeman were deployed to the scene to chase away traders who had illegally taken over a portion of the Lagos-Badagry Expressway.

It was learnt that trading activities by the traders usually caused gridlock in the area. It was also learnt that some residents and motorists had complained to relevant authorities about the inconveniences caused by the traders. It was said that a construction company working on the road had also made appeal to the government to check the traders.

A senior policeman, who spoke to our correspondent on the condition of anonymity, said, “Ayuba and the policeman were posted to the area to chase away traders who had taken over that portion of the road. The road is under construction by Chinese Construction Engineering Company and the company had complained that its makeshift construction site was being hijacked by traders.
“On the day of the incident, Ayuba and another policeman were dispersing the traders when things went wrong.

“We were told that the traders overpowered the policemen and in an attempt to protect himself and his colleague, Ayuba opened fire into the crowd and killed a trader (Mohammed).

“Ayuba’s colleague immediately fled, leaving him alone with the hoodlums. The hoodlums seized Ayuba’s gun from him, picked up stones and sticks and beat him up without mercy.

“Some soldiers arrived at the scene and attempted to rescue the policeman. But the soldiers were greatly outnumbered by the uncontrollable mob, which overpowered them and chased them away.”
Our correspondent learnt that by the time the police back-up arrived and managed to disperse the mob, Ayuba was unconscious from the beatings he had received.

The policemen were said to have rushed Ayuba and Mohammed to the hospital where they were confirmed dead.

Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, Ngozi Braide, told our correspondent that the matter had been transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department, Yaba.
She said, “The matter is under investigation at the SCID. Investigations will reveal what happened.”

120 comments:

Bea said...

Why are Nigerians soooo angry! Too much blood and death! Damn! God help us all!

This isn't right! You don't right a wrong with another wrong! This vicious tendency called lynching that Nigerians favour over real justice is appalling and crude!

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Nigeria is Hell. Devils.

Aww RIP...but na do me I do you ish

first to commmennnt

acid man said...

Dnt fink I hav a problem wit the beating....dnt knw wat u guyz fink?

Shouldn't that tell the lagos state government something? YABA, ALABA and COMPUTER VILLAGE. This are places populated by igbo boys and any female in lagos state can testify to the rate at which they openly assult girls like its a normal thing, its just so happens that the victim is a policeman this time. My point esactly is trades in this areas are lawless humanbeings, angry bitter, frustrated they just hang around and harras pple all in the name of looking for customer. Smthing should be done to clear out these places or next time, I will be an innocent girl.

Sir jay said...

Na for only 9ja mob dey overpower soldiers and police oooo! So when person dey trouble where e wan run go na? Native doctor? Abi na where? Mpteeewwww

Hmmmm don't know what this country is turning into.

Mich said...

You bloody hell kidding me?
Damn!its a jungle out there,how do you lot cope,eh?
Mobsters and irate crowd in every nook and cranny.
Poor corpse.
Oh,I meant cop!

Adadioramma said...

Ngozi Braide , shame on you!!!!!!
Please try a different cliche next time! We are tired of this "The case is under investigation at XYZ command." Anuofia na nwanyi! Tufia kwa gi!
That was how you told us among many other times that " The case was under investigation" when the police shot that poor banker who hid under his car after he had be robbed without being hurt by armed robbers; the poice showed up and shot a defenceless guy wearing only boxers and hiding under a car in his compound.
I repeat...Shame on you Ngozi Braide and in fact shame on the entire police force!!!!!
Tufia kwa unu !!!!

Rough Diamond said...

Wat a sad way to die! Well, a life for a life! May they rest in peace! Ihe neme!

tooney said...

na wa oooo.... hmmmm pity....

Mabel said...

Barbarians!

Haba nigerians dey jes like taking laws into dia hands

d story does not sound real. dem say too much for d story.

Oga o! Notin we no go see n hear. All dis police pple too dey **loose guard**

dads son said...

"Ayuba opened fire into the crowd" really, where is that done, what was he thinking? It should have been "Ayuba opened fire to the sky". He bought himself the death ticket. I don't even know if its to feel sorry or blame... Tragic and confusing..

Nawa ooooooh! S it nw err'day we kill n ds country?? Its really getting outta hand

Nawaooo wonders dey say shal never seize

QUEENTY said...

Na wa o,na soso lynching person dey hear dis days! Choi.

Nigerian Police re professional liars.I feel so sorry for him bt didn't believe the story she told.

latolzy said...

Na wa ooo..ayam d first again oo

Police tym don reach b dat.lawd af mercy

Wonders they say shall never end. It will always continue to emerge. Which way Nigerians i want to know? This country is a mess and thats the truth.The truth is bitter to say.

Now a police officer is killed and they want to investigate....... Stupid people, he would hav gone away with their regular 'accidental discharge' am nt sayin he deserves death but police officers kill every day and those deaths are neva investigated

Once again Nigeria and Jungle justice carried out everyday....what a pity....
SAINT.....

Ok now this country is really scaring me what the hell is going on?i dont understand nigeria anymore tragedy upon tragedy

Opened fire on d crowd* nt shot into d air* hmmm

Badadry making the headline dis days,police kills delsu students,now mob kill police na 50/50 shey!

Miz Kay said...

Nigerians seem so angry now,killing by mob everywhere,dnt they get that taking the law into ur hands is never justified? How wickedly can u beat a person 4 d person to die? I have a feeling something terrible would soon start happenin to evil politicians... God help us!

The game is 50-50.he kill a trader and the mob also killed him.may G♡̷̬̩̃̊d̶̲̥̅̊ also punish him hard on his way Ŧ♡ hell fire.

miss dejavu said...

Jungle justice...but this tym for a gud cause @naija police #nopity

Hmmm R.I .P OOO!in as much i do not feel pity i tend 2 ask biko what re they still investigating i wonder ow many cases is still @dat panti sef.investigation contiues till Jesus comes.#GodblessNigeria#kane

This is bad.

kunle said...

This is a very bad act of the people. Why are the traders not following the policemen order before he led to such fracas. The traders causing nuisance to the residents, passerby and even the construction workers. At times, there act seem selfish. It is high time we start giving them utmost respect. Besides, some innocent residents might suffer for this.
Rest in peace to the gallant cop and the trader.

What the fuck is wrong with this country? Seriously wft?? I'm so sick of hearing people being beat to death. Wtf is wrong with the justice system? I mean do people constantly have to die from being beaten? Ugh fucking failed country we are. Backwards as fuck. How I wish america can run Nigeria. Its apparent our fucktard of a government can not run this country. Stupid drop outs that juju-ed their way up to government status. Ugh #pissedasfuck when will change come? Then we have celebs who are busy kissing Yankee celebs ass instead of bettering their country. Omotola, dbanj, and ko's mshewwww

The story lacks weight! Too many lies here and there...this is of course the 'police people's' version of the story. 9ja police are known for killing innocent pple. I guessed he fucked with the wrong set of people. Twitter @okoyejoel

When would we become civillised in dis country nd learn nt to take d laws into our hands....we nid to stop been barbaric

olami said...

Nothing makes the mob different from the trigger happy cop. People should stop taking laws into their hands. The rate at which human being are being beaten to death is alarming. God save us all.

Jewel said...

How many of such mob killings have the police investigated and brought the culprits to justice?? Now they have had a taste of it,they have stood watch for others to be killed by mobs,I believe they know better now! Mtewww!!!

LUCHEE said...

Dis everyday lynching is uncontrollably getting out of hand

Sylvia said...

Please LORD help we country oooo..it gets worse evryday.

Na wa ooooooo... Humans be dieing like chickens everyday... Scary shiii

@Bobo_Edo

Banana said...

The kind of things police do these days ehn, only God go save us. He had no right to open fire to the crowd at all abi he think say na Egypt he dey?

zubby said...

Wot a pity! Shot of words sha!

Undermining of the state authoruty.
Noisben.

dis one rili goes 2 d mob dey did bad sha......chavinci15

anarchy! state of Anarchy! sad story, sad events.....two wrongs dont make a right....

Dende said...

About time the police got a taste of their own medicine...rip mohammed,rih(rest in hell) ayuba

Jugle justice.some times it pays to kill dis nen in black dia wahala is becoming too much for the comon masn

Gud 4d police abeg,if he wanted tu correct d mohamed traider..he shuld av shot him on d leg,nt tu a state of death! Mtcsheew I jes hate Nigeria Police men!

jane said...

This is becoming alarming oo. They shld jes stop dis rubbish alwedi!!

Princy said...

Wow,I just hate all this beating to death story,no matter the crime.

If the picture isn't that of the police man killed,why is it there?

OGE said...

Nigerians are getting too violent all thanx to poverty.

Na wa ooo tins dey happen ooo first to comment.

Elle said...

This boils down to the incompetence of the Nigeria Police force, how can they assign just 2 officers to curb the nuisance @ Alaba, isn't that madness?they never think anything is worth doing well. Bitch ass police force

dis one na real ' an eye for an eye'.
unless the will arrest the whole suru alaba. they should allow it to rest. dats d many risks of their jobs.
shyla

Dose of their own medicine,policehave supervised and killed 2many innocent citizens#KARMA @ work

Good for them!! Greedy policeman ..am sure they asked fr bribe!!

brownie said...

Its an eye for an eye!! Ω̴̩̩̩̥α wa oo, dead body kon turn two. God save us from the wrath of policemen!

He killed by sword and died by sword. Tit for tat, May God console your family.

. . . Na wa o!

Wat is dis world turning in2 Linda?...d oda tym na police stand watch as pple kill person children. Now na pple run down police man base on him own issue..God abeg o, make man no use him leg n hand enter trouble 4 dis lyf.

daisy said...

Nawa oooo all dis kiling n beatin 2 death don tire me oooo, wats our country turnin in2. God na ur hand we dey oooo

seno said...

Mr death is everywhere. God help us

Serves him right...police men n women behave like animal...I remember d day my gf was arrested n I went2 bail her wit d help of a guy n d woman police there was abusing us calling us names(ashawo) n I was embarassed n felt like2 stranggle d woman n they evn slapped my frnd n was beating her.so since den I hate police n I don't pity dem wen they r been killed... Bad set of pple.. 1st 2comment. Linda post my comment oooo

And after they reveal what happened will the victims be brought back to life? Mxcheww. This people don't even know how to form the activity.....

Linda this story is so so untrue. The policemen deployed at that suru alaba always extort money (daylight robbery) from drivers plying that route and they do not chase any trader.On the said day, I think he was having an argument and cocked his gun and shot at close range, the bullet pierced the stomach of the person and also hit a lady on the foot. This made the people angry. #KARMA #RIP to the two dead persons involved

kelvin said...

When Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ we going to stop this jungle justice in naija
May there souls rest in peace sha

I don't support the mob kiiling the police man, but police men r not meant to fire wen things are not serz, he is defending himself from a mare civilian nd used gun! Why is he a police man den? A police man in meant to be able to defend himself with or without gun. May their soul rest in peace.

After beating d Police Officer to death, did it bring d trader back to life??? Hw irrational can people be? I hope that mkt is shut down for good...

veralu said...

Ok, God will help us, Hi linda,dis na my ist time

veralu said...

Linda, I want 2 see my comment jor

Na wa o. A chicken's life is much more valuable than a Human's life in Nigeria. People take their fellow human's life like they can give life. Olorun kuu suru

lagos na wa.... lagosians would nver cease to amaze

serves him right, now both of them should face the judgement seat, one big lesson for the police, perhaps they would apply caution, they were not given guns to intimidate the unarmed civilians, good for him!

its tragic buh maybe d police would nw understand hw tragic lynchin is, and stop watching wyl pple get lynched

lagos na wa.... lagosians would nver cease to amaze

This is sad. Nigerians are turning into animals

The Disciplinarian said...

Hmmm....na wa ooo! *Phew* Oro yi so simi lenu otun bu iyo si! (Literarily...This matter mess for my mouth com add salt join am!

Dats to §♠Ƴ this matter pass me)!!!!!!!!!!!

Hmm. People's temperatures are rising in Nigeria O. People are so discontented that killing is becoming nothing. The Nigerian government really needs to sit up because the way I'm seeing things, these are signs of a potential uprising of the masses.

I don't knw how I feel abt dis,killing a man for any reason is really cool...ppl will say police own too much. They settle wen they meet their maker...okbyeamouttahere

onyinye said...

Sad.

Don't know if this is good or bad.But one thing i know is this act of Jungle Justice has to stop. Yeah we can all say serves him right, but remember ALUU 4 and those 2 innocent guys in badagry, we are NOT animals. BY ALL MEANS Beat the guy and hand them over to authorities but mobbing people to death is just wrong.Totally WRONG.

K-REX said...

This Mob (Lagos), una own don dey too much o. Let justice prevail and let the police arrest the perpetrators of this evil act.

Khorah Adieze and co please shut up....where did this mob action rubbish start from? did ALUU 4 happen in Lagos? You guys are part of Nigerians problems. Something happens and you immediately regionalise or ETNICIZE the whole incident. lets learn to talk intelligently or shut the hell up. Mob action in itself is TOTALLY WRONG... Yes we can say serves him right but tomorrow it can be you. Beat the guy by all means but NOT TO DEATH HABA!!!

This is just bad. Why do our policemen carry guns with live bullets in them? That's one question that begs for answers. If we want to reduce the no of deaths by 'accidental' gunshots, then the police shud stop giving their men live ammunition. And this hopeless house of Assembly members need to pass a law on jungle justice. This jungle justice stories r nauseating and becoming too rampant. God bless Nigeria!

seriously dunno why the police would release a statement saying * Ayuba shot in the air to defend himself* so dumb... you use your gun to defend yourself against civilians? Meanyl, i kinda believe the story that the policeman shot the guy at close range and that they just extort money from peeps at the market, this is because, i live close to the region. RIP Naija, lynching is terrible.

I will luv to watch ur video. Wen ur turn comes

I am telling u. Corruption isn't the only problem in this country. The way nigerians rise to d killing of another is disturbing. Even d act of lynching thieves, I believe anyone that can carry out some gruesome act is worse than a robber. It means such persons have put their conscience to death. How do we start educating every person in Nigeria? All these stories depresses me. Almost as if we r threading on a time bomb!

--Teeteelahyo--

its really nice to know that mobs are no longer afraid of soldiers and guns o. so when will they take their anger to the right people that deserve it? like the politicians and thieves that are robbing us blind

@12:05am, u most be a very bitter soul and a tribalist at that. What has igbo traders got to do with what happened? It's only from your bigoted perspective that you see it as an igbo thing. It seems like you have been harassed before in d market probably for skimpy dressing.

May God av mercy on all of us

I don't usually comment but I had to cause of d unempathetic comments by others I have read.. You can't say cause mr a killed mr b in your presence so you must kill mr A. So you that decides to kill mr A, who'll decide to kill you. Yes an unwarranted death is painfull bt doesn't mean the rogue spirit of a death for a death should be applauded and recommended. The saddest thing is I don't know how people can beat someone to a state of almost death, and when you see he's almost dieing, you beat him to death. Guess these churches and mosques have not done too well with our generation. They shuld forget about us and concntrate on the nxt generation

The account of what happened doesn't sound correct.
Those guys would not pounce on the Police if they were not provoked. The retaliatory lynching must have occurred after the Police gunned down the 1st victim. The Police did not shoot in self defense.
Also, the name of construction company is not to be brought into this as if they caused this whole breakdown of law and order.
I already see the Police trying to cover up the truth. Unfortunately, these were avoidable deaths. May they all rest in peace anyway.

i dont have problem with that anyway. where were you guys when the said police sent his victim to six feet below? they needed to be taught lesson of there life. why will a man killed another man just becuase we cloth you with police uniform that was bought with public fund? every uniform man in this country behave in a manner that is so uncivilized, they all others as fools and nothinness, so why cry foul when it happen to them what they do freely and go scot free with? Abeg let me hear words.that will serve teach other erring officers a lesson that they shouldnt think that it will be business as usual. When fly was perching the wound nobody sees it but when the fly is now killed by the person having the wound ,that is when you now see people shouting. please go to hell!

Miss Roze said...

My dear, d ibo guys in lagos are gentle. Go to onitsha main mkt, u will testify. I an a lady and I grow my finger nails specifically for these annoying guys. Whoever touches me gets scratched...if he is unlucky, d scratch draws blood.osha guys ehn...u and dem go dey struggle for ur hand. So my dear, use ur nails to protest when next they touch ya!!

O well! Talk of tit 4 tat! The frustration and anger that is building up in Naija shld just let the stupid naija leaders know that one day monkey go go mkt e no go return! Heartless leaders!!! I hope this development trains the Nigerian police berra! They think they can always get away with killing innocent civilians? Well, they berra think again! If u can't protect them, y kill them???

Serves dem absolutely right....we hav heard several cases of lynching in d presence of police officers, dey always thought dey were immune to lynching hahahahaha

Well, I dare say the policeman had no right whatsoever shooting "INTO" the crowd. He rather shoulda shot into the air. His inexperience and low value for another life cost him his very own life. This should serve as a deterrent to the senseless police killings.
For the police spokeswoman...STFU b****h!!!

Jemmy said...

NIGERIANS HAVE CRIED OUT TO THE POLICE FORCE TO INTERVENE IN THE KILLING OF THOSE INNOCENT CORPERS IN PORT-HARCOURT AND DELSU STUDENT IN BADAGRY, BUT THEY TURNED A BLIND EYE. NOW, TABLES HAVE BEEN TURNED... I DON'T FEEL SORRY THAT A POLICE MAN DIED ONLY BECAUSE THEY DO NOT FEEL SORRY ABOUT ANY OTHER PERSON.. LYNCHING WILL CONTINUE IF THEY DO NOT TAKE STERN ACTIONS

Chibykes Mahatma Tony said...

Am so happy when I hear that a police man was killed especially if they were killed by civilian dat dey d police have been recklessly killing left right nd centre. Even primary school protest, police go carry live ammunition go dey shoot. God punish police. If ur papa na police sorry, u r cursed. Dem cum give dem camouflage uniform. If u like give dem tuxedos police remain wat dey r. Arseholes

hmm. what I like about this story ishow the mob were able to overpower both the police and the Army.Nigerians, let us stop speaking too much grammar and complaining about bad Governance,let us MOBilize and chase these thieves out of power,starting from the National Assembly.RIP to the dead ones.

Na wa o...why should the Officer open fire into the crowd???is that the training now been given?..what happened to the air...as for Madam Ngozi,its obvious you can't control..u are simply not fit for that post.. Every time u are investigating , I guess that's all u can do,talk and blab.I hope and pray it does not ever involve any of your family members ... Rubbish!!

I have missed u,prime jobless,where hv u bn

thanar said...

Jeff. I tire oh......... Help me Ask dm cos if u ask m, NA who i go Ask?

ANYA IKENGA said...

Can these mobs be directed to National assembly? nay politicians? One day na one day.

this is crazy, in american if you try to beat up a police man you will get shot also based on training. If you think am lieing walk outside if you in yankee go punch a cop and you will see what will happen. I feel sad for both men that died cuz it really dint have to get to this. RIP

Your kidding right?!! Have you looked at our leaders? Have you seen their handiworks? Well every Nigerian is angry and any idiots who let's his/her guard down becomes a victim. In China they have a room where angry and frustrated people go to break and destroy furniture just to let off steam. In Nigeria maiming and murder is how we have decided to do the same, which is sad. Our government need to wake and realize that Nigerians are angry people and everyday they approach boiling point. And when it goes burst, there will be blood and this time the country will fall apart.

Bea said...

Lol! That awkward moment when I'm first to comment! Lmaoooo

God have mecy

Just by punching a cop in America you will get shot? Really? Wielding a gun must be fun.

No body is taliking abt the man that the police man killed! that 2 was an act of lawlessness now.abi. He 2 is a human being and a Dog.

I am interested to see wat the police will do....

U are so retarded that u haven't noticed that if ur first to comment on linda's blog comes as a retrospective finding.
Learn from bellani who's d real first to comment.

demzy said...

Point of correction pls, nigeria is not hell, not dat I am happy with what happened but worst happen in some other country.our police should pls do stuff dat will earn dem respect.

Its the lord of the flies all over again....

Acid man... I don't even have 2 write much 2 educate u... 1st of all u bear such a babaric n degrading name,I'm sure ya part of d hoodlums Nigeria as 2 deal wiv... U'l b one hell of a destroyer,pls don't eva put ya ugly pics here.. Pls pple don't get me worng,I'm juss pissed 4ked up Acid man... Blood munger