Dear men, beat your woman in Lagos and go to jail | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 August 2013

Dear men, beat your woman in Lagos and go to jail

There's a new Domestic Violence Law in Lagos State, and it states that if you beat your wife, you will go to Jail. It is now an offense for any man to hit his wife.

According to the deputy governor of Lagos State, Hon Joke Orelope-Adefulire, the Domestic Violence Law is made not only to protect women who are most times the target of violence in the home but also to safeguard the interest of men, children, servants, maids and everyone who may be a victim of domestic violence.

In case of man/woman abuse issues, it does not matter whether there's a valid contracted marriage between the victim and the perpetrator of the act as long as they are living together in a home setting. Continue...

Here's what happens when there's a case of domestic violence. 
1. Remove the abuser from the home pending when the abuse is corrected
2. Or remove the complainant from the residence and put in a protective home
3. Provision of financial assistance by the state via the Office of the Public Defender/Legal Aid Council to victims of abuse who maybe financially unable to seek redress in court.
4. The court can issue warrant of arrest and remand order

222 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 222 of 222
Dr David Chux.O. said...

Nonsense, I have constantly had issues with a lot of women over this. They think I am not sympathetic enough. The truth is laws like this are meant to give women too much power in a family setting by making them the only untouchables.Why not rule out violence against every person man, woman, children, that makes more sense ?To be fair the law should also tackle verbal abuse against men and attach a prison sentence to it. That will be a balanced position.

Simple solution, if you're married to the Jezebel type, take your wife somewhere else, beat her well and come back to Lag...expensive no doubt, but well worth it...

if you can read you will not be asking that question.

kunle said...

You thought right but a guess a lot will report. Let watch and see. Besides, that's a great law for our society not like useless early girl marriage someone is trying to clamour for.

Wetin b thr own ,na dem hlp me pay my dowry wen I marry her ,if I catch her dey sleep wit my boss for work ,I go beat her ehn Fashola sef no go fit recognise her gan sef ..jail kor ,julius berger ni

Choi! I don laaaaaugh forget my name. Wife beater abeg take am easy 0 0 0

Anon 12:28Am what of when she catch you they sleep with the house girl? she fit beat you or arrange for you to be beaten abi?

Hahahahahaha.jail ko bail ni.that s a total grandstanding.it is just a political statement.for it work cameras shuld be installed in evry house on d street.else there wil be no evidence .Fashola just want to enrich his felow poor lawyers and police bcos bribery and corruptn wl be order of the day.the woman whose husband goes 2 jail wl defintely feel his absence.bt if the rate of jailing ofenders increases then there children might turn perpetual almajiris which wl in turn attract KAI agboros leading to outrite deportatn.it wl also gv some wmen a palor for infidelity.finaly it is a welcome development. VIA SNAPDRAGON5 TRADEMARK

This is a good one. How about when the woman beats the man?

Please men if you want to beat your wives, take them outside Lagos or wait for Christmas when you guys travel to the Village.

olu mighty said...

linda, fashola is trying but if I go beat her for ogun state nko and come back to Lagos. I will be free from going to jail in Lagos. I do not support beating women.

Anon 5.14 and Blunt ibo boy, you guys obviously lack pple skills that's why you are having probs with women talking too much. You can't beat your fellow men or ur female colleague @work that bruise your ego but you will happily beat the woman that cares for you when she bruises your ego. Can't you see there is something wrong? Have you ever tried reasoning with her or ignoring her. Women hates being ignored.
Secondly, women! Women!! If you get married to someone like anon 5:14, Give some local thugs some money, set him up and let them beat him. When that happens to him consecutively after beating you,you wld have successfully trained your man. Make sure you use different thugs.. Lool

@Anon 5:14, You are obviously an abusive, paedophillic, male chauvinistic pig. So hitting a woman is how you show authority? How sad, only weak men hit women, and you are the WEAKEST of them all. Fashola will make an example of you soon...

Saw a guy beating his girlfriend at the bus-stop last night! And I'm sure the mumu girlfriend will still remain in the relationship. Some fools are saying husbands would be scarce soon, and so what?! Marriage is not by force! Stay in an abusive relationship and die early!

ReverenD Ahmed said...

so true bro

MatchMaker said...

What if the woman beats up her husband? It should also be vice versa

What if is the woman that beats the husband

noblenenye said...

I have always been of the opinion that men who beat their wives are beasts. Tougher punishments should be handed out to culprits.

african foodmarket said...

if my wife misbehave i will beat her very good their is nothing lagos government can do about it we are not in the western world these is Africa it is not even in the constitution of the federal republic of nigeria .Fuck u fashola woman wrapper

God Bless Governor Fasola of Lagos state. This is the best law ever. once again God bless Governor Fasola and his team for making this reality !!!

Any man who beats his wife is a pussy.

yes.. I reported once and was told to go home and settle wit my husband.. Lucky i wasnt killed

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 222 of 222   Newer› Newest»