UK Grandma sentenced to death in Indonesia for drug trafficking | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 22 January 2013

UK Grandma sentenced to death in Indonesia for drug trafficking

Lindsay Sandiford, 56, from Gloucestershire, was today sentenced to death by firing squad in Indonesia for attempting to smuggle cocaine worth $2.5 million in her suitcase onto the resort island of Bali. State prosecutors had called for the housewife to be jailed for 15 years but she was told today that she would be put to death for her crime.

Lindsay had claimed in court that she was forced to take the drugs into the country by a gang that was threatening to hurt her children but the court wasn't interested in her reasons. She was arrested in May 2012 when customs officers at Bali's airport discovered 3.8 kilograms of cocaine in the lining of her luggage. Two other British citizens and an Indian have already been convicted and sentenced to prison in connection with the bust. Lindsay plans to appeal the sentence.

56 comments:

Why smuggle drugs to china, thailand, saudi, Iran, indonesia amongst others? Those countries got though laws n rules! Ka ma ri ibi!

Can someone explain to me please. How come she has been sentenced to death while the other three involved are going to prison? They were all part of the crime.

Bubble gum said...

Oh no! i feel so sorry for her

Chidozie Mario said...

Grandmother wey no get respect for womanhood.What happened to integrity?
Symptoms of Sexual Addiction

Sexily Endowed said...

Shit...... Dis is sad if she was really forced, she is gonna die for mayb sometin she nos notin of how it started. Mama kpele biko..... But why de women cum dey fail missions deses days, they are de best accent bk den cuz they can hardly suspect dem, na wah oooo, which oda business i wan join now huh?

How sad... At her age and all, the way these Asian's are so strict towards drug trafficking ehn... Authorities already now know that drug peddlers use aged people now to put off suspicion. Trafficking of drugs shouldn't be an option though.

Y shld dey sentence her to death..its ment to be life inprisonmtn..or 30 years seff..its too much joor..an old woman,that's tryin to protect her life and that of her kids..this is worng..she shuld appeal.fast..

What do you expect her to say? Greedy old grandma. Gang is always threatening them. What are the police there?

okorodudu said...

Doesn't make sense.... how come some of the other pushers got light sentences? Did those ones carry adultrated drugs?

I dnt support drug smuggling but sentencing a human being to 'death' 4 it is 'absolute' rubbish and before u 'oversabis' start giving lecture about d bad effects of drugs on d society, I dnt reckon anybody sits anybody down and start shoving drugs into their systems, its a 'personal' choice. Madam na wa 4 u sef ooo! Of all places to 'hustle' or be 'forced' to hustle go na "Indonesia" in 'Asia' where der govt has Zero tolerance 4 drugs, why u nor come Nigeria where we go still use police escort with siren carry u go where u dey go as long as u settle!..........T...

ETHAN said...

Na wa oh dis kind old woman but her story fit be true o.

Talk about zero tolerance.

Wat eva d motiv,dz countries laws ar spelt out nd its DEATH.Even countries dt av tried 2 interven ar ignord & dz culd b embarrasin 2 such nations.

D sentence is just too extreme. Pathetic

2 bad...DQ

darriz feiri feiri sad

Linda watin happen? You just copy and paste, you no edit? " For smuggle cocaine" please check and edit.

Oh ma gosh! The sentence is too extreme for granny na...

Gosh!! That was so sad..but.. but.. but.. Damn am speechless!

No xcuse 4 her failure !...

NAUGHTY CONFESSIONS OF NUBIAN KID said...

when africans commit same crime they are part of a drug syndicate and should not be pitied but when a white person commits same crime she was coerced or didn't know story story no one is above the law let the law take its course with her..if that nigerian footballer linda posted his story many years ago is good for the hangman's noose even though he maintained that he didn't know then the woman should not be an exception

Ehya! Dey shld just leave her in jail dan to kill her! She's already old, she'l prolly die dere! :( poor woman ¯\(ツ)/¯

dr van bay said...

Mma oyibo! Je nke oma! Udo di!

Its sad.

KIM said...

People will never learn not to go to those countries, not even for fun! I guess she sacrified her life for her children, even though they are the ones that supposed to pay the price for messing up with gangs! As a mother, you do your best to raise your child, if they choose to mess up their life when they are older then that's their choice, not yours! Each person should seek their own salvation!

Ouch! Please linda keep tabs on this story. I want to know how thisll play out

Gozzy said...

Ok,I rily dnt knw if d claim of her being threatened and forced is true.bt y death sentence by firing squad?

Omen said...

No be only Naija dey do this kind thing then. Well done.

Queen Bee said...

May her soul rest in peace in advance!old mama dat can't rest.
Btw,isn't dat sentence too harsh for just carrying crack?make dem Come naija see defaulters dem go just free d old woman!!

Lord have mercy. Death? Dunno what to say on this

super mario bros said...

Bad market

momo dey lie abeg!! why she no report the gang to police... momo wanna get rich or die trying....it is well....don diddy

I once lived in Asia, Singapore to be precise, on their tourist leaflet, there are always bold signs written in red for drug trafficking.Penalty is always death.They don't joke over there.Even Malaysia has laws against that.

The sentence is extreme but they would have known of the consequences that if caught, it's DEATH,so why do it?

I remember when sunny ades guitar dude was caught a lot of u abused him greedy and all called him names didn't pity him now its a white grandma its vice versa may God help us

O ma se Õoooº°˚ ˚°Âº

She was the one caught with cocaine. The rest may only have been accomplices. They weren't caught and depending on their alibi, they r almost as innocent as their lawyer

If you can't do the time, don't do the crime.

I dey your back.

maybe she just wanted a better life for her kids but went about it the wrong way. i feel so sorry for her though. she should have known better.

don diddy?...lmao.
Maybe na 50cent 'momo'...@get rich or die trying!!
D pple on this LIB sha!!lolest!.....queen bee

Ogbaje Chuks said...

It is pathetic my sister!

DEATH BY FIRING SQUAD? THIS IS BARBARIC. I THOUGHT IT WAS ONLY BUHARI THAT COULD DO THIS

Exactly, same old story

@NCONK na only u don yarn better for this matter. All of these other wimps are now supporting her coz she's a Caucasian, if it were a Nigerian they would've been screaming "it serves him/her right"

Linda is mad sha she didn't post my comment

We Nigerians are hypocrites sha I'm sure If it was a Nigerian that the caught it will have been a different reaction our uk nd us Canada brothers nd sisyrrs will now start saying Nigeria is a bad country that's why the cant come back Wellthis. Is evidence stuffs like this happen everywhere Abd we need to stop jumpin fast on our own issues God help Nigeria

If na naija commit same crime most of regular people wey dey comment here go dey say rubbish say dem dey spoil naija image.. Crime na individual mind, na all country dey involve

Nutty J. said...

Accent?

NAUGHTY CONFESSIONS OF NUBIAN KID said...

@anon
dont mind them na self esteem dey disturb them in the united kingdom a country where the rule of law is almost total where will anyone threaten to kill your children and they won't be arrested and charged?
i trust the govt they are ready to re house them under new identities if need be…the truth is that because she is an older white lady they thought she will go free and they would have been doing it and succeeding for a very long time…

she is not the only white british that was arrested there were others who sent her still living in indonesia meaning they get regular mules to ferry drugs for them…

one thing many people dont realise is that the main drug dealers are white people..while a nigerian or jamaican might smuggle a couple of hundreds of thousands they smuggle in millions and succeed most times go and sees many of them in liverpool area after them are the pakistanis..

go anywhere in manchester,birmingham and those areas majority of them smuggle drugs they have even offered me before i run

Lolz @ buhari. Beat me that a woman will be sentenced to firing squad! Na wah o if they must kill her y not some other way. God help her sha

pls let her go she z old

Dats cuz ur comment makes no sense! Deal with it

dr van bay said...

U no get tv ni?