Photos: Scores injured as Hausa scrap dealers allegedly attack residents of Itiam Etoi community, Akwa Ibom | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 January 2017

Photos: Scores injured as Hausa scrap dealers allegedly attack residents of Itiam Etoi community, Akwa Ibom

Three persons are feared dead and scores injured following clashes involving Hausa/Fulani scavengers and local residents of Itiam Etoi community in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

According to an eyewitness who spoke to The Guardian, the problem started on Tuesday night when a Hausa scrap dealer carrying a generator in a wheelbarrow was accosted by some local residents, who asked him for settlement.

When he refused, a minor misunderstanding led to a brawl and forced a reprisal attack from the Hausa/Fulani settlers in the area.
Below is a report by Godwin Sam:

The peaceful community of Itiam Etoi in Uyo Local Government was on Tuesday night thrown into chaos when a number of Hausa men attacked them, leaving a number of them wounded.
According to a source at the scene of the incidence, who preferred anonymity,
 "the attacks began at about 10 pm when some people had slept. It would have been worse if there were many people on the street. They started cutting anybody they met on their way with machetes and clubs. Some of them carried iron rods and other forms of weapons with which they beat and wound people. They also destroyed the properties of people selling shops in the area".

When this reporter asked about the cause of the attacks, another source said it involves a case of a stolen generator which was sold to one of the Hausa men. When the owner of the generator found out that the generator was sold to the scrap collectors, he apprehended them and the case was thought to have been settled, until last night.

The source said the problem started when the man who bought the generator was another of his Hausa kinsman whom ha accused of selling him out by reporting to the owner of the generator that the generator was sold to him and started to fight with him. An attempt by an Ibibio man in the area to separate the fight led to one of the fighting parties insinuating that the Ibibio man sided with his brother to beat him. He then went to his people to tell his brothers, who reinforced and went with him to attack anyone they met on the street.
One of the victims, Mr. Itoro, said
"I was sitting in front of our house when I saw them running with machetes towards me. But because I didn't have any problem with anyone I was not afraid, only for the to cut me in the face and continued to run on".

Another victim, Mr. Ezekiel, said "I went to see my friend in the area only to see they running towards my direction. Since I did not know there was a problem, I was just walking on the street going back to my house. One of them lifted his machet to cut me in the head and when I blocked it with my hand, he cut my hand again and again. That is when I knew the matter was serious and started running".

The man with the highest level of injuries, Mr. Ubong Okon, said they met him on his way back from work and descended on him.
"I sure they wanted to kill me, but God saved my life as some youths who were drinking nearby came to my rescue. I thank God that I am still alive".

When news men contacted the village head of the community, Eteidung Effiong Asikpo, he declined comment. But, the Chairman, Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) Rev. (Dr.) Ndueso Ekwere, while speaking to this reporter called for calm as everything will be brought under control
"I want to urge the people to stay calm as the police and the authorities have waded into the matter. I also want to urge all law-abiding citizens to go about their normal duties as culprits will be made to face the full weight of the law".
 Meanwhile, youths in the community have declared that they don't want the Hausa men in their community again. The youths who came out in their numbers chanted war songs, calling on the "abokis" to evacuate their communities since they are no more safe in their own land.
"Aboki must go... Aboki must go... Aboki must go ..." they chanted.

Meanwhile, some shop owners in the area have closed their shops, fearing another spate of attacks.
The Hausa men have been evacuated from the community by the police to an undisclosed location.
More photos below...

27 comments:

In this our Nigeria

Wats going on?

Same blood thirsty demons. FOLKS IF YOU HAVE THESE PEOPLE AROUND YOU, ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME , BLOOD MUST FLOW.

Imagine oo! Even in akwa ibom huh? HAUSAS NO DEY FEAR because of terrorist buhari HUH? Shame to u fools see them big for noting so una allow them to do this to una without retaliating. ANOTHER REASON WHILE I LOVE IBO PEOPLE IF ITS THERE NOW THEIR TERRORISM MOSQUE GO DEY BURN WITH SOME OF THEM. Hausas are nigerian problem. TELL ME WHY I WON'T SAY AMEN TO BISHOP OYEDEPO PRAYER AFTER SEEING THIS. We and hausas are not one and we will not be. WICKED HEARTLESS MONSTERS FILLED WITH HATE AND KILLING. all because of terrorist buhari huh? Decide this country oooo we don't want again oo
SEE THEM BIG FOR NOTING IDIOTs HAUSA CAME TO UR PLACE AN DO THIS TO UNA SHAME SHAME SHAME GO AN LEARN FROM IPOD MEMBERS FOOLS .
Nigeria don expired already.

Imagine oo! Even in akwa ibom huh? HAUSAS NO DEY FEAR because of terrorist buhari HUH? Shame to u fools see them big for noting so una allow them to do this to una without retaliating. ANOTHER REASON WHILE I LOVE IBO PEOPLE IF ITS THERE NOW THEIR TERRORISM MOSQUE GO DEY BURN WITH SOME OF THEM. Hausas are nigerian problem. TELL ME WHY I WON'T SAY AMEN TO BISHOP OYEDEPO PRAYER AFTER SEEING THIS. We and hausas are not one and we will not be. WICKED HEARTLESS MONSTERS FILLED WITH HATE AND KILLING. all because of terrorist buhari huh? Decide this country oooo we don't want again oo
SEE THEM BIG FOR NOTING IDIOTs HAUSA CAME TO UR PLACE AN DO THIS TO UNA SHAME SHAME SHAME GO AN LEARN FROM IPOD MEMBERS FOOLS .
Nigeria don expired already.

baba said...

All dis bokoharam Hausa boys in d east n southern part of dis country should pls go back o.
Godtakeover Nigeria

Jezzzzz....
These northerners are not to be accommodated by anyone...
They are blood suckers

Jezzzzz....
These northerners are not to be accommodated by anyone...
They are blood suckers

***********************Jesu!!!!!! *****not again...... Ndi Hausa ******

Buhari promise them free hands that is why there voted massively for him..everyone who did not vote for him is now an enemy to him and his people..cross river and akwa ibom are very accommodating people. Attacking every one is an act of war.. I hope this is not d apex plains of the government

God bless you

The amalgamation of the north a d south remains the worst thing to happen to this country. I wish Lord luggard can resurrect and see the mess he caused!

Long Live LIB

are they mad???

This killings is one too many. Public needs to get a hip of this tribal and religious killings

HAUSA PEOPLE... HMMMMMM

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

dis hausa goats i wonder wetin person do una..

These people should be forcefully called to order.

WE WORK AND YOU EARN - FIND OUT

carl said...

God save ur children

anonymous said...

Nigeria is DEAD. Its remaining for buhari to bury it. They just keep on lying that nigeria is INDIVISIBLE. It is a FRAUD, the construct called Nigeria. The history of Nigeria has been exposed. First, it was the Fulani after the hospitality of the the Hausa, invaded the Hausa land and took over Sokoto and other areas in the north. The Fulanis have fought the Hausas for years and have not stopped. Then when it came for Nigeria to become Independent, the hausa/fulani did not give their blessing. It was people from the East and West that fought for Nigeria Independence. It was the British that persuaded the north to join. So, from the Genocide we are seeing being carried out by the Muslim north against Christians everywhere fully supported by Buhari shows the north DO NOT believe in One Nigeria but only the Oil coming from the south south. So, let the north stop deceiving themselves proclaiming One Nigeria. Let everybody go their separate ways and you will see that it would be better for the country in the long run.

This actually happened in my community and i live about 5mins away from the scene,my cousin Mr Ezekiel was affected seriously and also other members of my family who live about two poles away from the scene.i must say it was an unwarranted attack on members of the community who habour thousands of Hausa/fulani men in the community.THis has to stop and the government has to mediate properly or else lives and properties may be lost in the long run.it started liked this in Jos ans Southern Kaduna and today the story is gory

Oghenetega said...

This is very wicked .
The Hausa tk the law into their hands as if they own the Country..
This is very Sad and they started attacking innocent ppl...
They are better of in the Zoo

The should come and try it in rivers state. No hauser man go waka freely again. Rubbish

Nawa o.

ISLAM!!!! ISLAM!!! ISLAM, this people should pls be separated from human beings. Cos this clearly shows an average Muslim man cannot live in peace ah ah. Am simply tired of Nigeria where everything goes.

Jovik said...

These people are so ekwensuic in nature...... Tufiakwa!

Jovik said...

These people are so ekwensuic in nature...... Tufiakwa!