I’ve never been as unsure about the future of this country as I am now- Rev Kukah | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 January 2017

I’ve never been as unsure about the future of this country as I am now- Rev Kukah

Bishop of the Sokoto Diocese, Matthew Kukah, says he has never been unsure of Nigeria's government like the way he is presently. The respected cleric said this at the launch of a book, ‘Religion and the making of Nigeria’ in Abuja yesterday.
"As a Nigerian and a citizen, I have always been an incurable optimist. But I have never been as unsure about the future of this country as I am now.
People say they are killing for religion, but intentions are not enough. As it is, we may never be able to prosecute anybody because we have not been able to separate criminality from religion. In Nigeria, we have a feeling that somehow, people can genuinely kill in the name of religion. I think that unless Nigeria as a country is prepared to make laws and ensure that all citizens live by same and be answerable by the same law, what we are witnessing is a symptom, not the disease. The creeping inequalities, the inability of this system to deliver has made us uncomfortable. The point, therefore, is not for us to keep praying. Should religion lead to the un-making of Nigeria? The answer is ‘No’. But the government of Nigeria should separate religion from politics and economics and let everybody make his claims.”he said

25 comments:

Future huh? Nigeria future died the day apc came!Heavenly man speak up sir! MY LOVE FOR THIS MAN IS MORE THAN GODS LOVE ON HIM. the only hausa bishop after musa asake that talk truth without fear. I respect u sir. The way Nigeria is now all Christian are insure sir not only u because who know TERRORIST BUHARI 'S EVIL SATANIC ISLAMIC PLAN IF NOT GOD, the hausas keep killing because of religion now fulanis has butchers more than 5000 kaduna Christian still no single fulani has being arrested. TERRORIST BUHARI SHOULD DIVIDE NIGERIA SO THAT MUSLIMS WILL GO THEIR OWN WAY AND CHRISTIANS THEIR OWN WAY BECAUSE LIGHT AND DARKNESS CAN'T WALK TOGETHER.
useless shameless dirty apc supporters hear will not understand this because they are under SATANIC CHANGE SPELL. Open una eyes now or no more.

Future huh? Nigeria future died the day apc came!Heavenly man speak up sir! MY LOVE FOR THIS MAN IS MORE THAN GODS LOVE ON HIM. the only hausa bishop after musa asake that talk truth without fear. I respect u sir. The way Nigeria is now all Christian are insure sir not only u because who know TERRORIST BUHARI 'S EVIL SATANIC ISLAMIC PLAN IF NOT GOD, the hausas keep killing because of religion now fulanis has butchers more than 5000 kaduna Christian still no single fulani has being arrested. TERRORIST BUHARI SHOULD DIVIDE NIGERIA SO THAT MUSLIMS WILL GO THEIR OWN WAY AND CHRISTIANS THEIR OWN WAY BECAUSE LIGHT AND DARKNESS CAN'T WALK TOGETHER.
useless shameless dirty apc supporters hear will not understand this because they are under SATANIC CHANGE SPELL. Open una eyes now or no more.

God help us

Chasky_Drill.. said...

Tell them o..the country is coming to an end..Biafra will rise..i am sad that at this very moment..even the blind man feels supreme..yes the blind men actually..those who have eyes but can't see..and those who know the truth buh are shading it like a man encumbering a woman in bed..shame shame..Biafra commennnnce..i am waiting..we are waiting..the IPOBs are waiting..yes o..and we can't wait any longer..buhari and apc are going down..Drill will be observing..

ISLAM IS EVIL

Dope!!
Well said and the delivery was apt.

Please tell that man called freeze that he should just hollup

I DEY TELL YOU

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

Be careful what u ask for. Y are u complaining now. God has given u Buhari the 'Messiah' and the change u were asking for

You have spoken. "Those who live by the sword wil die by the sword" because
"What is written is written"

Franco said...

Honestly speaking Bishop Kukah i used to admire n respect u in d past....but my perception of u changed d moment i discovered you were a politician in relgious robes...you are one of d problems dis country has

Gbam!!!!! Always speaking the truth at the right time. Even God cannot hold him accountable for not saying the truth. Muslim leaders, mend ur ways, if it were the other way round, they would have been crying fowl by now. May God help His people. Amen.

Franco said...

Honestly speaking Bishop Kukah i used to admire n respect u in d past....but my perception of u changed d moment i discovered you were a politician in relgious robes...you are one of d problems dis country has

This is just the simply fact. This present government has represented religion in almost every aspect of life..polities and economic today is religion base..this is one divisible factor about this government

God bless you sir

Bishop kukah if u can neglect the children and soldiers that died because of the greed and insensitivity of d past govt then I bliv u should hide our face in shame. U can go and ask for forgiveness for d criminals date raped d country and u're talking about being unsure. Sir I've never been sure of a better Nigeria

Mama fifty said...

what is happening calls for more and fervent prayer by Christians and God will answer and stop the onslaughts of the evil.

TBH

There is no future in Nigeria...

Hnmmmmm, that means u are just waking up from your sleep sir. What happened in Plateau some two to three years back is far worst than what happened in southern kaduna. Iam surprised u were very optimistic of the country call Nigeria at that time despite the biased nature at which the government handled the issue even when a Christian was the president. I do not support the senseless killings in southern kaduna because tomorrow another state might be next. But iam not happy when people pretend as if the genocide witness on the Plateau was exaggerated. We must stand firm against this act of terrorism but also speak the truth that this has been for long and enough is enough.

It's mind-boggling the type of security/police sytem that operates in Nigera: known hoodlums/killers will massacre entire communities in their homes for years now. Yet,
both the state and federal governments cannot arrest nor obtain a conviction for even one of the Fulani murderers. What sort of place on earth is this again? Clearly, a country that pays lip service to national unity and respect for the diversity of its peoples. Even more, what types of lessons are the children learning from the adults, watching all these injustice and hatred over and over again? QED@atm

Shut d fuck up.wtf is Biafra??? Nigeria has enough problems already. U guys shud go sit down & pray 4 dis country.

Enter your comment...Almighty God help your people

Haliburton scandal said...

You are very correct my Lord, before now we don't have crisis virtually in every all part Nigeria, but today all most all part of Nigeria is in crisis, from Venue to Enugu to adamawa, it's terrible, change has come and we are testimony to that

Haliburton scandal said...

You are very correct my Lord, before now we don't have crisis virtually in every all part Nigeria, but today all most all part of Nigeria is in crisis, from Venue to Enugu to adamawa, it's terrible, change has come and we are testimony to that