World unemployment will hit 200 million in 2017 - ILO | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 January 2017

World unemployment will hit 200 million in 2017 - ILO

According to new research by the International Labor Organization, an agency that brings together governments, employers and worker representatives from 187 countries, the number of people out of work around the world will hit 200 million in 2017.

In a report this week, the ILO said global unemployment is expected to rise by 3.4 million this year, and by 2.7 million in 2018, because the workforce is growing at a faster pace than jobs are being created.

"Economic growth continues to disappoint," said Guy Ryder, ILO director general. "This paints a worrisome picture for the global economy and its ability to generate enough jobs, let alone quality jobs."

8 comments:

CALL THIS NUMBER(08141395113)IF U HAVE SCRAP ,CONDEMNED ,DAMAGED OR ANYTYPE OF INVERTER BATTERY

Dan said...

We are not affected

GOOD TO SEE

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

and Nigeria would occupy 100 million of that number

milton said...

this is underrated because naija alone has over a 100 million maybe this is naija and the rest of the world just saying

Daniel Aribiton said...

Yea... Job hunting SUCKS... Its a painful and expensive process why not pay professionals to help you look for jobs, search and apply to jobs on your behalf while you focus on other important things. At jobhunters.ng our mission is to make job hunting as easy and painless as possible.

Vic said...

@milton: the naija workforce is simply estimated to be app. 30% of the entire population app. 80 million of which unemployment rate is about 13% which is within 10 - 15 million. The report is true however the huge unemployment numbers would be coming from African countries, and other developing third world countries in particular.

Daniel from Jobhunters.ng said...

Hi Vic according to the latest report by N.B.S the Nigerian unemployment rate stands at over 27 Million. Could you confirm these figures on heir website? JobHunting SUCKS.It is painful and expensive. At http://Jobhunters.ng our core mission is to make it as easy and painless as possible.