Exclusive: US Army Veteran, Chuks Okebata assassinated in broad day light in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 January 2017

Exclusive: US Army Veteran, Chuks Okebata assassinated in broad day light in Nigeria

LIB has just received an exclusive tip that a respected US Army Veteran Chuks Okebata was shot dead in an alleged case of 'broad day light assassination'.
According to the tip we got from a source who claims to be cousins with the late Chuks,
'my Cousin Chuks Okebata, A USA Veteran, who has spent most part of his life working and defending the United States of America.
After a very long time living in the USA, and because of the love he has for his country Nigeria and his home town (Umuduruorie Umuomumu Mbieri in Mbaitoli LGA) he started building a house at home as a bond that make him to be frequenting his mother land. Just as he returned last Xmas to spend his vacation in Nigeria and also to move into his new home. At Exactly 5pm on the 12th of Jan 2017, some gun men abducted and shot him'.
He continued to say,
'for all I know about my cousin, he has always been a free, gentle, and relates to everyone irrespective of your age. He's survived by his two lovely sons and a wife (he has been in a serious battle with his wife in the US). A bounty has been placed on anybody with any clue whatsoever that can lead to the arrest of the Hoodlums. A sum of 2.5mil Naira reward as the family is out to seek Justice for the Assassinated son'.
Already, friends of the late Chuks Okebata have since taken to social media with heart warming tributes to mourn his demise.

More photos below...

111 comments:

Oghenetega said...

This is a serious Matter... Could be the Wife or the Family Members...
Ppl R Just wicked sha..

All this building house in the village -- for what? 2006 was the last time I visited Anambra state. They showed me pepper. Now I have very close family members meet me in Lagos -- and no one else must know until I have left Nigeria. RIP, bro.

Chuks, I warned you. Who is going to live in that big house you've built now? Your kids who were born and raised in the States? What a waste of life and money...

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

What sort of terrible news is all these?,if he had known,he would have remained in the U.S.Just too bad!!

Very sad..

Hmmm.Strange things in naija.

Na him family people kill am! They want collect his property and his cars.
He should have stayed in the US jejely!!!

nawao

why ar dey killin dis man for heaven sake..height of wickedness

Enter your comment...I think the killer is far,they should check his family.

So he was assasinated in Nigeria? This country is cursed.

God have mercy. Rip

I always tell my friends that nigeria is not safe. I fear for my life whenever i'm home. From police to street boys. Everywhere is fucked. Govt is another piece of shit.

Chai I!!! I am shocked .

Omg RIP! Pray d killers wiil b found so soon! AMEN!!

You're a very foolish and heartless goat!

R. I. P dearie. You Nigerians are the bedrock of your troubles. The way you behaive. The way you talk. The way you comment on blogs read by people all over the world. If you continue to curse your country that means yourself and your entire generations are cursed. Investigate very well its going to either his friends or family members. Pls leave out the village.

Shut up which Nigeria is not safe! Don't they shoot and kill people in US too?

The family killed him jare and now they want to pin it to his wife. Oloshi family so they can inherit the house. Se na the wife wey dey yankee wan kill am, inu Ma Jin ohh. This is very very sad

Na wa o. .i wish he reconciled with his wife. The devil is only out to kill ,steal and destroy. Now that he is dead, who is happy now?? Regrets will flow, had i knowns too,sighs and wishes. That is why marriage should be covered and protected with prayers.

Trafficator.ng said...

May his soul rest in perfect peace. May God grant his family d fortitude to bear the loss.www.trafficator.ng

I agree with you. Law enforcement is piece of dodo, so called extended family is nothing but bunch of scumbags. One cannot stay in Nigeria without being afraid.

You no get sense at all.His wife lives in the state,are u out of senses ??then recieve sense..
Bottom line,all these anambra,imo,benin,calabar are not safe for us living in the state when we are home.They are all piece of shit including govt.RIP BRO

You no get sense at all.His wife lives in the state,are u out of senses ??then recieve sense..
Bottom line,all these anambra,imo,benin,calabar are not safe for us living in the state when we are home.They are all piece of shit including govt.RIP BRO

I wonder ooo, I really don't see the need to be honest. It just a reminder that all is vanity. However, the perpetrators will not see the light of the day, why snuff out a life of an innocent, hardworking man?

They've killed the innocent man for no reason. That's why most of them out side the country has refuse to come home because their mother land is not safe. It's a pity. God grant your family strength to bear the loss

Sad news. I am afraid to visit Nigeria now. This kind of news all the time. So we in Yankee are not save when we visit home?

I HATE this country!

I feel for his kids

Nawa o,the heart of a man is full of evil, may his soul rip.

Oghenetega said...

Evil World.

Trendyify said...

Phewww,so sad may his soul rest in peace

Humans are so wicked

This security issue is making people not to encourage their kids in America to invest in Nigeria. Such a jungle filled with cannibals and vampires.

D uncle is a suspect, evil uncle everywhere

That's what my parents do too.

They never stay where they grew up. Always Abuja & Lagos.

They also never share their itinerary while in Naija and make as little noise as possible.

There's one exception though...

Now the village elders will commandeer Chuks home, not knowing the hard work it took for him to make it.

***Lush

They also never share their itinerary while in Naija and make as little noise as possible.

That one exception takes serious days of fasting and praying. They never go if the Holy Spirit warns against it, and keep close to God in prayer while there.

Now the village elders will commandeer Chuks home, not knowing the hard work it took for him to make it.

***Lush

That one exception takes serious days of fasting and praying. They never go if the Holy Spirit warns against it, and keep close to God in prayer while there.

***Lush

This is Very Sad! This Must be an Enemy in the Family That Did This. RIP...

Anon 20:43 some truths may be 2 hard to absorb or sound foolish or wicked, but maybe if d the dead guy had listened to this dude he probably would have been alive 2day

Pls track down dis commenter. He might have a hand in the killing...

JAO said...

Sighs, my condolences.

This is sad. i just wish somebody can tell a little more of what actually happened. Do they need to KILL him, really??

Definitely his family, not his wife.

You are in bondage! How can you just live in fear like that?

Ndiigbo have lost three sons. The father that would have brought our two more sons home was killed at home.

Now tell me, just tell me, how we can ever persuade those two cute boyz to visit the land of their father?

Who do this thing? Who do this thing? It will never be well with u and ur lineage. RIP!

May God have mercy on this country of ours. Choi!when h
as it become a crime 2 visit him? Why blame him ? Handsome,pls forgive them, may u rest in peace.

Meet u where? In zoo or Biafra? Bunch of confuse pipo. I thought ur Biafra is paradise and Lagos is zoo, why running away from ur so called Biafra?

My God why so so sad. Your killers wil never kon peace and they wil die a very very painful death My bors RIP

AGB said...

May his soul rest in peace. Amen!

mumu na ur Igbo brothers kill am! No be nigeria na Biafra pipo kill their brother. Eastern part is the worst place to live on earth.

That's why I shudder at the thought of Biafra, imagine what will happen when we have Biafra as a country and converge, I remember what happened during Oso Abiola in the east, wasn't funny, not everyone who traveled during Abiola race came out alive from the east, ndigbo Ike gwulu, too much envy in the land, I'm scared of going to the east from the uk, feel safer abroad and in Lagos where very few people know me. Rip young man, now his sons will not want to come back from the US and I don't blame them

Rip bro..

Nigerians are funny. What if he is the victim of a failed kidnapping? I don't see why they would abduct him if they intended to assassinate him.

I can tell very few of you even had the opportunity to know Chuck. He have two strong handsome son and a beautiful wife. He had great plans to invest and start a security company in Nigeria to protect and serve his home land like he has serve in the United State Navy. When a lot of people see Nigeria they see problems that why they never come back Home but not Chuck, He saw a opportunity to provide military training to staff of young man to start a security company in his home land. Now that is brave heart in the mix of a problem world he wanted to help solve some of the issues. I will never forget you my brother, My friend, My shipmate,Roommate. I know your kids will be great if they have half of the heart and spirit you had. In the road to build a great, better and safer Nigeria few good man like you will always fall but never be forgotten. Your dream and spirit will live on through the people you have touch their heart or make a strong impact in their life. You forever live on through your sons, wife, mothers, Fathers, uncles, Aunties, Friends, Your fellow United State Navy Shipmate. We will seat on a table and tell tales of the brave Chuck and smile because you always live through us. 21 Gun Salute Shipmate rest well until we meet again...

akamara said...

You are blaming the naive family. What about if the guy is involved in shady deal and it turns bad? Soldiers don't make much in US Army especially when you are not an officer. Does the family tries to look at the kind of friends the guy has? Stop blaming the family, there must be more gm than meet the eyes.

akamara said...

Especially the Eastern part where half of the people are witches.

Very very bad, na waa! For bad ppl.

Why should they track the person? Is it a lie? You're equally a suspect.

Do you have a brother, let him investigate or a good friend. once the killer is established, take a gun to their family and make a mince meat of every living thing there and then report to the Police. Greedy and jealous poverty ravaged villagers are very wicked and will do any thing to frighten you out of your family inheritance. Running away is never the solution, raw revenge in this case will eradicate this shit.

Vivienne B said...

Nigerians are wickedly wicked FULLSTOP.

This is scary.

The wife may still be the culprit to inherit LIFE INSURANCE money. So don't be too quick to judge. I have a feeling the wife plotted for it to happen in Nigeria, so that she is less of a suspect! Except if Chuks was dragging land with any of the villagers.

So true!!!

Mr. Anonymous. I think you are the person who needs to have your brain checked. I have a feeling that you are related to his wife that's why you are taking sides with her. Do you have the slightest idea that someone can stay in any part of the world and make a phone call to Nigeria to get the job done, it's just about your money and who you know.

So he just had to say he was fighting with his wife so people will think she's a suspect
IBO people sha,the woman is in the US laws are different I bet if she was in Nigeria they would have shaved her hair for the gods

Sorry to say these but igbo's are more common with such greed.how on earth will you just killed someone just because u want to take over his wealth?

Dapo Williams said...

What a pity!
They wasted the poor man. May God grant him eternal peace. DW

Dapo Williams said...

What a pity!
They wasted the poor man. May God grant him eternal peace. DW

May he RIP!

Linda let me give u vital info. U know me and its been years since I dropped a comment. But atimes u can't hold it back cos the person in question is my friend. He left his ex wife and she threatened to kill him several times but trust me he didn't take it serious. Even went as far as calling dia kids to tell them dia father won't come back from Nigeria days before it happened. The woman in question is on the run. People are soo wicked. To cut the story short I can swear she killed him, God sees everything. He was killed at atta junction after he tried to fight back. Even till death u fought. RIP my friend

Vanity all is vanity

He was assassinated in Biafra

Olodo as if Lagos is safe like heaven,according to UN South East still remain d safest place to live in this country......up till now ,funsho Williams was killed in Lagos and nobody found d killers,kudirat.....so many.
So yes it's still a zoo.

Who ever typed the comment below has questions to answer. Further, the wife did not murder him.I suspect that he gave money to somebody that used part of it to contract his murder. Obviously, he lives in the state, so the question is who handled the finances for the building project. Y after Christmas did he decide to stay back well into Feb? Perphaps to handle the building project himself becos someone was ripping him off. They clashed over his money and in the heat that person organised to get him murdered.

Definitely, that person is in that village to know people that can do this sought of thing and not abroad.

If i be detective ehn... I will definitely catch that person. However, the comment below mine is suspect.

Chuks, I warned you. Who is going to live in that big house you've built now? Your kids who were born and raised in the States? What a waste of life and money...
14 January 2017 at 19:34

or he is owing somebody money, either money is the root of all evil.

Pls forget this Biafra thing,east is not a safe place to be,kidnapping,poisoning,diabolical practices is the other of the day there.

Chop Chop said...

Ah, ppl bad oo. If only u know what his kids are going tru now, dia sadness and confusion. That was too cold blooded and his blood will forever hunt d killers and the planners. RIP.

Olodo how maany state do u live in?

my prayers with your family and friends. May God forgive u of all ur sins and grant ur soul eternal rest. .....
There's more to consider in this situation, I don't believe d wife could be behind this, but God knows d truth and may He alone give justice to this mourning family.

*goose bumps*

Jay Jay said...

So bad most of you have lost your name and now you are all "ANONYMOUS " Why ? Fear of what ?

I love people who fight back, he fought them but they shot him becos they had a gun with them and he had none with him. U are a fighter Okebata, REST IN PEACE.

Freshest presh said...

Enter your comment...almost evry1 anonymous.God pls instant jugdement who so evr it is.

Maybe the wife has nothing to do with this,nawaoo some family are just so wicked, they have killed the young guy because of propertys n now just because the wife has been having some issues with her husband, they use that as an excuse, that lady said all those things because of anger, that's why sometimes be very mindful of what u say when u r quarreling with anyone

All his abled brothers live on the States. Most of them has never visited Nigeria or have any intention of visiting Nigeria. He loved the wrong woman.

It's important to pray against and for your enemies at all times. May his soul rest in perfect peace

Don't rule out the possibility of the wife being responsible!! He has been in a close battle with the woman! It's possible that she could have masterminded the hit from her location... the guy in question is from my village(next compound) that basically makes him my distant cousin...

Chicago princess said...

Lol...y'all jonzing.dts why people never come bk tk that evil Nigeria..loads of fake ND evil minds.

Chicago princess said...

They never like to see people's success especially when you don't give em money..OMG.u gone.

Toy baby said...

Hmmmmmm! What a waste, RIP bro

FG knows what happened to him.Trust me.

Na wooooow RIP

Ngozi said...

Lord have mercy

The world is a global clan now. Any business can be done from any part of the globe just as crime too. This murder may have been hatched in the States and executed in Nigeria. Last year I lost a close friend who came back from Spain for the festive period. He left the village to Port Harcourt and was killed same night in his house. It is a pity everyone especially home comers from abroad. Nigeria is not safe and you are a target one you are spotted to be doing well. God is our only security for in vain do our so called Security agents keep watch.

jeremiah said...

so painful

Really sad. Just read his wife's side of the story online. Pity she is being accused and a deliberate attempt by her sister inlaw to frame her with the murder of her husband. Marriages have problems. Ppl fight and settle. But they were still married and living together from her account she even packed his bag before he left for Nigeria. Why has his sister left out the fact that her brother lived a lavish lifestyle and was clubbing and spraying dollars upandan in the midst of hunger in owerri clubs? Why didn't she tell Nigerians that her brother was kidnapped by hungry owerri ppl who wanted random but as a veteran he always went around with his gun and according to new reports online, he shot one of the kidnappers leading to them killing him. The desperate attempt to wrap this over his wives head, leaves me wondering if the kidnap was not occasioned by one of his family members in the first place. These things as we know happen very often in Nigeria. They just didn't expect it to end up in death. I pray the deceased finds peace. And most importantly I pray the Nigerian police can unravel this misery and set an innocent woman free.

Whose ever that is behind this evil plot will surely die a miserabl death through gun. A course upon him, and his entire generation. Outsider doesn' know what is happening inside; it's only insider will alert the outsider, so family members(both inlaws),and close friends are suspect. As for the gunman, you will never have peace till eternity. Even in your grave, there will be no peace for the wicked. My condolence to the innocent kids.

l pray that they will find who kill you .and your spirit will not let them rest until they come out from A/Z .AND YOUR DEATH CAN NOT PASS YOUR FAMILLY. I GIVE YOUR WIFE 75%.your family 25% let them search there self it can never pass them.

Smh said...

I really feel bad for his family may he rip but in Philly he was very disrespectful to women he called me several B words but no one deserves to get there life taken away like this sorry for your loss

Yes you're right. Lagos State recorded over 800 homicides in 2016.
So nowhere is safe without God as your security guard. Regarding the wife, you can't point fingers. No matter what he did to her he did not deserve to be killed. Nobody has authority over any person's life only the Creator. The wife might be innocent he was the father of her children. Unless you don't watch crime movies and could be impersonation to frame her.

A man who lived n defended his adopted country for years and wasn't killed, only to be killed in his own home country after all d hard work. God have mercy.

what a sad news and Black day observation, at Umuduruorie Umueze Mbieri Mbaitoli LGA Imo state where the youths came together to commiserate and pay respect to a fallen brother and their community American born gallant soldier who was assassinated by unknown gun men. Chuks Okebata your brothers and sisters are not happy with the way you departed.

R.I.P BRO CHUKS

As all the community of Umuduruorie Mbieri Mbaitoli LGA have loss a brother father and a guy that really care of all the human been,

Umuduruorie Umueze Mbieri Mbaitoli LGA

Please if you don't know chuks I beg don't say anything about him, Is better to be quiet them say things you don't know about the late chucks okebata. ... please I beg you....RIP Oscar you were very hard working and won't have any one say negative words about you.

For a woman to orchestrate she would have to be from a connected family and rich family.Before yu guys throw bombs have your facts. Is the wife connected? Threats don't equate action. Did he have enemies? Did he fight over the land? A lot of people get killed like this when they go home to open their home? Was it a robbery, a kidnapping for ransom or money since he could build a big house? May his soul rest in peace? By the way why did he not have an entourage w him at all times?
Make believe detectives he your facts before coming to ominous conclusions

chinny said...

Which fool is talking of biafara and killing, when the ododuwas butcher humans like fowl. God forbid. go to osun,OYO,ogun and lagos the father lanf of al atrocities. may God hv mercy on our Nation

I was in d village when it happened too bad