Collapsed building; court orders Lekki Gardens MD, contractor to be remanded for 30 days | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 March 2016

Collapsed building; court orders Lekki Gardens MD, contractor to be remanded for 30 days

An Ebute-Metta Chief Magistrate Court on Friday granted the request of the Lagos State Police Command seeking to keep the Managing Director of Lekki Gardens, Mr. Richard Nyong in custody pending the conclusion of on-going investigation into collapse of a five-storey building under construction on Kushenla Road, Ikate Elegushi area of the state which killed no fewer than 35 persons.

The court also ordered one of the contractors handling the project, Odofin Taiwo Henry to be kept in police custody at Panti alongside Nyong for the next 30 days. Magistrate Folashade Botoku, who granted the remand order, held that same was in the interest of justice and public safety. 34-year-old Nyong was apprehended on Thursday, while Odofin was arrested on Wednesday.

The building had crumbled around 3am on Tuesday with several workers trapped in the rubble. The state government had sealed the building, which was originally designed to be a three-storey structure but in a brazen act of defiance and impunity, the owners of the building, Messrs Lekki Worldwide Estate Limited, the promoters of Lekki Gardens, were said to have criminally unsealed the property and continued building beyond the approved floors until the unfortunate incident.

Nyong and Odofin were brought to court at about 1pm in a black Range Rover Sports Utility Vehicle with registration number (Abuja) KWL 682 CN. When the case was called, police prosecutor, Godwin Osuji informed Magistrate Botoku of an ex-parte application seeking to remand the defendants beyond the constitutionally prescribed period, saying the application was brought in the interest of justice, public safety, public order and morality.

He said in view of the circumstances of the case, it was impossible for the police to conclude the investigation within two days, hence the need for the application. According to Osuji, as at Thursday, 24 bodies were recovered from the scene of the incident, while others were still being recovered. He added that some of the relatives of the victims were still making efforts to identify their dead bodies, while autopsy is yet to be conducted. He said: "In view of the circumstances of this matter, it will be impracticable for us to conclude investigation in two days as there are so many agencies involved and so we have come to court in order not to run foul of the law."

He, therefore, urged the court to grant the request to keep the defendants in custody of the Police Criminal Investigation Department pending conclusion of investigation. Responding, counsel to the defendants, Bode Olanipekun orally applied for the bail of his clients. Olanipekun, in the alternative, urged the court to order that the police should release his clients but that they should make themselves available to police when needed.

However, Osuji, in response, said it was trite law that an application for bail could only be filed after the defendants must have been arraigned on a criminal charge. He said at the moment, the police was yet to file any charge against the defendants and as such the application for bail was not yet ripe.

In her ruling, Magistrate Botoku ruled that under Section 264 (1) of the Lagos State Administration of Criminal Justice Act, 2011, she was empowered to order the remand of a defendant as in the instant case, but that the major consideration is the justification of such application.

She held that having gone through the facts of the case, it was in the interest of justice for the application to be granted, as there was merit in it. Magistrate Botoku therefore ordered the defendants to be kept at the Criminal Investigation Department Panti for 30 days at first instance, subject to variation upon further applications. The matter was consequently adjourned to April 12.

BOLA AKINGBADE
DEPUTY DIRECTOR, PUBLIC AFFAIRS OFFICE
MINSTRY OF JUSTICE LAGOS STATE

77 comments:

NEXT PLS??

Linda what is this na? It's. Like m on lailas blog

Nice one 30 days is small they incompetent court would have given him like 10 years the guy is an agent of destruction like terrorist buhari.
Yorubas should repent and desist from ritual because i heard that Jesus is coming soon.

Dstv must av really pay u aunty Linda . This ur New graphics get as e bi .

Chai..
Nawa oo

hrm paul ojeih said...

How can she remand demin custody for a month. Synagogues building dat collapsed wat did dey do to TB joshua.T b is free d case is as good as dead

Yetty k said...

He s rily lookin sad

Too bad, remanding them in prison won't bring back the dead.... The harm has been done already

Dis would serve as a deterrent to others. Same fate would have be fallen TB Joshua but he no gree enter. Linda take note!

Jude Akinwole said...

Good step in the right direction! They must be made to face the long arm of the law!

Our judiciary making us proud,i guess he's not well connected, otherwise, we know how this things go

Bollocks.
Cops will jst extort the Asshole n kill the case.
Should ve dump the fool in Kirikiri.

cutestlove said...

It's well oh...Linda our blog is beautiful now.

Phew! This life is a pot of brown beans.

30days small na

Just because Lekki Gardens didn't contribute towards Ambode's election, he is being victimised. Look at TB Joshua and the likes roaming about. They didn't keep them for a night and you want to keep Richard for 30 days? Ambode free Richard.

The building had crumbled around 3am😐😰😮..what are they doing 3am in the building,, rush built I guess.

I wish your family members where among the dead then you would not sound so stupid

Legit said...

Big time setup sha! In court the next day just like that... What happens to investigations ? Not saying it's a bad thing but we have pending cases where the persons are still roaming around eg TB Joshua!

Hmmmmmmmmmmm God help us all

Come to think of it, look at tb joshua, Nawao! Injustice keeps trending

Oden'Igbo said...

I am marveled by this massive ignorance from a Smart phone user. Chineke para tulee.

Falaye Gideon Olufemi said...

Terrible

Rough Diamond said...

Why linking Ambode with Richard? You know nothing about Lekki Gardens, a colleague and I did a Due Diligence on them sometimes in November last year and we advised a client against buying a property owned by lekki gardens due to poor standards of buildings and etc.

U r a mad Man/Woman. idiot like u...lets assume ur father,mother and ur pregnant sister was there inside the building....u wont be saying dis Trash......To hell wit u.

I think your head must be screwed backwards. 35 people died because these 2 people decided to build 2 extra floors after the government had sealed the building and you talk about financing election. You must be insane. In China they will receive life imprisonment. The fact that Akpabio is the owner of lekki gardens will not help them by God's grace .

Ah!!!....wat nonsense!!... No bail sef?..30 days!! ... Are they running away!??

You are an idiot...

It is well. There's God and He's alive. You will come out stronger and better in Jesus' name. We are praying for you. Nonstop.

You are very silly. Infact, you are an idiot.

You write like an idiot, concentrate on the merit of these case. Moreover T. B Joshua case did not happen during Ambode's time, coward.

Ode!!!

My chair of life,this is just a tough phase,and we shall all rise d storm and come out of it stronger and wiser.

When will Nigerians ripe and stop all this religion and political word. Stop being rude and abusive to ur leader, if one o ur brother was dead in d event u will not be talking like these, Ambode is doing is work and when issue of TB joshua was on Ambode was not the Gov so think before u talk.

Na fasahola b Gov den not Ambode

JAGABAN said...

Shut up

Hmmm what of TB Joshua is he different?

So Ambode bombed the house down and made sure there were 35 dead people abi? Post election loss trauma is real.

If you didn't see TB Joshua face the law you should hail the govt for addressing another similar case...

Nigerians can never be satisfied, if the govt no do na problem, if the govt do na problem... Smh.

BTW this case is different from TBJ's , this Lekki gardens building was sealed by the govt and these people unsealed it and continued construction, that alone is a crime.

I feel sad for Richard because he is hardworking and is passionate about this his business , However, this could have been prevented. Shame on all the people around him that didn't advise him well especially his sister Christy... Shame on you all.

30days in custody? Chai . Only God will save Richard.

Can the state also dig out all the govt officials who might have a hand in unsealing that building because I'm very sure money exchanged hands. They need to face the law too, not just there's 2.

RIP to the dead... It's just a sad case all around.

Oponu ni e.....free Richard ko.. who will free the souls lost in an avoid able accident caused by greed. Richard by God's grace u will face d wrath of d law!!!!!

Stfu! If one of ur family members had died in that collapsed building you won't be talking this trash

And the 35 people that died? Do they not deserve justice?nofnyour family members were included in the death or injured, you will be saying something else.

Yeye dey smell 👃

Tilda said...

You are a fish.we are talking about lives lost and u r talking about beef. Receive sense!

Honeyshegs said...

Valid point...why is TB Joshua still walking free? Animal farm seems better than Lagos in this matter

Foolish talk

mr odun said...

Struggling with a live threatening ailment known as Diabetes has caused a lot of people to have sleepless night over time because finding a cure have been difficult as a lot have been sent to their early graves as a result of this.
Here comes a natural solution that has been tested locally and internationally top nutritional agencies over the world. GLUOFIT is a solution made from nature to help cure diabetes within the scope of some days.
EMAIL:ayonifedele@gmail.com

Good for him, next time he we never managed material,

Noted

Who is this one talking here. They have so far ended the lives of 35 humans (not to even mention subscribers hard earned millions) and you are here trying to politicize the issue.
Please try choose 35 members of your family to replace the lost souls before coming here to play politics with a serious issue like this

Gud for dem.

Really,you had to make this about politics? 34 people died, not animals o. Someone's father, husband, brother or son lay dead under a rubble that could have been avoided. Please show empathy. Let them investigate and whoever is responsible in Lekki gardens management be held accountable.

Isek said...

@ Anon 8:23PM is it possible Governor Ambode caused the building to collapse so he could have an excuse to arrest Richard? Your reasoning is pat.

I hope it doesn't end with the contractors, someone in the lagis housing authority failed in discharge of their duties else they would have noticed that the construction company defied orders unless of course they were bribed. Every head involved need to roll

Was going to say the same thing. It's unfair victimization. Tb joshua's synagogue killed close to 300 over a year ago (Foreigners inclusive). The case is inconclusive. He's still living large. #FreeNyong

Gboyega said...

Whoever wrote this "Just because Lekki Gardens didn't contribute towards Ambode's election, he is being victimised. Look at TB Joshua and the likes roaming about. They didn't keep them for a night and you want to keep Richard for 30 days? Ambode free Richard.
March 11, 2016 at 8:23 PM" is nothing but a WORTHLESS HUMAN BEING....

How come you don't value people's lives, the government had sealed a building under construction which was meant to be a 3-storey building yet they continued work on the building even beyond the supposed 3-storey and it eventually killed 35 HUMAN BEINGS and you dare open your God forsaken mouth to utter rubbish here all in the name of politics?

Are you a ritualist who don't value lives? 35 potential Presidents, Governors, Olajumoke's have been killed as a result of greed and you come here to thumb rubbish cos the internet is cheap? Why not write your name you son or daughter of destruction.

Linda what is your own? I have commented on this issue how many times. Still you haven't posted one. No vex me o

#FreeRichardNyong

may d soul of d faithful departed. Rest in peace Amen. mr Richard is a very nice man I no him very well he is not what people think he is: GOD WILL FIGHT FOR HIM

I am very passionate bout how mr Richard takes his job very seriously. But this that happened could have surly been avoided.money exchanged some hands in unsealing the property why unsealing a property sealed by the lagos govt in first place.And why will you build more stories on the structure?the money of those that subscribed for units after completion what happens?the lives tht were lost? This is sad.

Luciana Chinda said...

My own is that justice must be done.

Gboyega said...

Whoever wrote this "Just because Lekki Gardens didn't contribute towards Ambode's election, he is being victimised. Look at TB Joshua and the likes roaming about. They didn't keep them for a night and you want to keep Richard for 30 days? Ambode free Richard.
March 11, 2016 at 8:23 PM" is nothing but a WORTHLESS HUMAN BEING....

How come you don't value people's lives, the government had sealed a building under construction which was meant to be a 3-storey building yet they continued work on the building even beyond the supposed 3-storey and it eventually killed 35 HUMAN BEINGS and you dare open your God forsaken mouth to utter rubbish here all in the name of politics?

Are you a ritualist who don't value lives? 35 potential Presidents, Governors, Olajumoke's have been killed as a result of greed and you come here to thumb rubbish cos the internet is cheap? Why not write your name you son or daughter of destruction.

Edinburgh's finest said...

God bless you gboyega.

Meanwhile the synagogue issue happened during GEJ's era and we all know the GEJ was very sympathetic to church because he needed Christian votes hence why tb Joshua was treated as a VIP.

TB Joshua hasn't been seen in public for a while now based on information online. He knows he has to lie pretty low and remain under the radar. I won't bf surprised if he's currently abroad and residing in one of her countries where he's "loved" by its president.

��sad face

All I have to say is that Richard is a good man. May God see him through.

Collapsed Lekki Gardens landlord and builder locked up in jail before a single evidence is heard, but exploded cbn cross river state building that killed over 35 people, principal's go free, not even named or investigated. Nigeria has changed to Chains

May the soul of Richard Nyong rot in prision. Fraudulent company who take people's money and never deliver. Bastard. I hate the man and I pray he dies in prision

The MD of Lekki Gardens is a law abiding citizen. A rare gem. A role model for all youths. Someone with a great vision and initiative. He contracted the building to a contractor and the contractor was paid to do his Job. What exactly is his sin please?

Governor Ambode pls release The MD. He is innocent. Release him for God's sake.

He turned himself in. If he was guilty, he would have been on the run.

It is only reasonable that he be released.

The homeless people that died there stayed there against Lekki Gardens policy.

GOVERNOR AMBODE FREE LEKKI GARDENS MD SIR!!!

Anonymous @9:16 apparently,You are a butthead and am sure you haven't done much for your life let alone for another person.

I see thousands of houses and people living in their estates.
this man has touched lives and they pray against you.
May you rot in hell which you are already in with your hatred,
May you die in blindness since you haven't seen what he delivers.
may your generation rot in prison starting with you.

The MD of Lekki Gardens is a law abiding citizen. A rare gem. A role model for all youths. Someone with a great vision and initiative. He contracted the building to a contractor and the contractor was paid to do his Job. What exactly is his sin please?

Governor Ambode pls release The MD. He is innocent. Release him for God's sake.

He turned himself in. If he was guilty, he would have been on the run.

It is only reasonable that he be released.

The homeless people that died there stayed there against Lekki Gardens policy.

GOVERNOR AMBODE FREE LEKKI GARDENS MD SIR!!!

arowolo said...

the mad man that just comment that the company is a farudulent company ,you are nothing but fool, ask me why ?.. how can a well know company like Lekki Gandens fraud people without people charging the company to court since over 3 years Richard started the company ..what i want all the bad bele people know is that this guy has touched so many lives , this guy employed over 3000 Nigerian and it reduced unemployment in our society . ,,Mr Ambode pls tamper justice with mercy

arowolo said...

the mad man that just comment that the company is a farudulent company ,you are nothing but fool, ask me why ?.. how can a well know company like Lekki Gandens fraud people without people charging the company to court since over 3 years Richard started the company ..what i want all the bad bele people know is that this guy has touched so many lives , this guy employed over 3000 Nigerian and it reduced unemployment in our society . ,,Mr Ambode pls tamper justice with mercy

arowolo said...

OMOLUABI said...

@Jude, how long is the arm of the law that it can not reach TB Joshua? These guys surrendered themselves to the Police Commissioner. They are not in anyway going to run away. That should have been enough grounds for the Magistrate to refuse the Police application. So much injustice in the land

ZORO said...

@Anon 9:16a.m
You are probably a blind man, so I will forgive you.
If you were not, you would have seen his estates where thousands of people stay.
you are probably not born by a woman let alone father, if not you would have saved this stinking vent to yourself.
you have not impacted any life before and so wont even understand it when one impacts thousands of lives.
May you be mete with same hatred and venom you spill.

U're a senseless idiot. How in the world does this relate to Yorubas... take ur time to read and understand. Trash talk is not compulsory!