Photos: 172 Nigerian migrants, including 6 women, repatriated from Libya | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 12 March 2016

Photos: 172 Nigerian migrants, including 6 women, repatriated from Libya

The International Organization for Migration (IOM) helped 172 Nigerian migrants, including 6 women, to return home to Nigeria from Libya on Friday, March 11. One hundred forty-two had spent months in immigration detention centers.
The repatriation done in close cooperation with Libyan authorities, Nigeria’s Embassy in Tripoli and the IOM office in Nigeria – was on board a charter flight departing Tripoli’s Mitiga Airport and arriving in Lagos in the morning.

Before departure, IOM Libya staff provided clothes, shoes, underwear, and hygiene kits. On Thursday, they had travelled from the Salaheddin and Abu Slim detention centres in the Libyan capital. A mobile patrol from the Tripoli Security Committee escorted the buses to Mitiga airport.

Almost all the migrants traveling on this charter were detained as they were trying to cross to Europe. Despite ending their journey of hope inside detention centres, these migrants consider themselves lucky to have escaped death on the Mediterranean, which this year has taken the lives of 97 migrants and refugees on the route linking Libya to Italy.

The funds for this charter were provided by the European Union and the Italian Ministry of Interior, under the project called Prevention and Management of Irregular Migration Flows from the Sahara Desert to the Mediterranean Sea.

The stories were similar in the light of the current unstable situation in Libya, which caused migrants many physical and psychological problems.

The repatriated Nigerians were received and screened by various agencies such as Nigeria Immigration Services, Police and the National Agency for Protection and trafficking in Persons(NAPTIP)

The Public Relations Officer, Nigeria Immigration Service, Mr Ekpedeme King who confirmed the deportation said the Nigerians were returned home for overstaying their visas, among other immigration offences.

"What I can tell you is that some Nigerians were deported today for immigration offences. Most of those brought overstayed in Libya" said King.

31 comments:

Ladybird banks.birdlover said...

Linda tnx for today..

Una welcome o..

Ehyaaaaa😱

We saw dat yesterday. Linda take note!

Hardship everywhere

Ladybird banks.birdlover said...

People should always do wat de luv....not doing smtin cos u hear others are making money from it..God bless u all..

Hey hey heyyy Nigeria is burning as hell.
Were is God of freeborn and goodluck Jonathan better come an save the poor in Nigeria.
Nigeria don't need some thing like this now that the country is bleeding what will they do hmmm another terrorist in making from yoruba and hausa place.
Terrorist buhari is the cause of all this predicament.God is not happy Nigeria.

FOLARIN said...

It was really nice seeing you today linda.
continue being an inspiration to us
love ya! Kisses

I feel for them.

Skentele or Skontolo: Double gele tutorial

Haba...wuna welcome oooo

Eyahhh

Welcome home pple.........

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

Chai!

Please throw them back to their country.. They must face the consequences they asked for and pay for their sins. Una sabi vote FOR CHANGE right? NO ESCAPE ROUTE.

Instead of em to stay & endure this change with is, they opted to seek greener pasture in Libya of all places.Issorait .Nno oh

They are highly welcome.

prettymojies said...

Linda is a rare gem. Thanks so much 4 today.

D man who saw tomoro said...

Linda connect me to Lady bird banks. She make sense

chommy said...

Welcome back o, lol. Linda observe!

Nawa.

Anuty linda this ur blog look childish now,the old one was better please.

Welcome

God help us

Ok thank God for their lives

Na wao, more suffering, no escape root.

It has now turn to a game of survival of the fittest in a country that is so richly blessed. I weep for the Nigerian youths. I don talk my own o

If Nigeria is a country why would people chose to go and live in a war-torn country?

Don Smith said...

This is what Nigerians have degenerated to. We are now being deported from ordinary Libya. Our govt really has to sit up. Unemployment is increasing on daily basis, no form of empowerment for the youths of this so-called great nation. People who are employed are not paid at the right time while many are being retrenched from their meager salary jobs.
Which way Nigeria? Which way to go?
May God help us.

Luciana Chinda said...

Odikwa serious