Photo of Lekki Garden MD in court today..in handcuffs | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 11 March 2016

Photo of Lekki Garden MD in court today..in handcuffs

Richard Nyong, (with his head down) pictured in court today. Himself and his contractor were arraigned at the Magistrate Court in Ebute Metta today over the collapse of his Lekki Gardens structure on Tuesday March 8th. 35 people lost their lives in the collapse. See another photo after the cut.

152 comments:

OKAY..NEXT?

Chaiiiii

Kpele

No mata d post u hold
Sumtin can bring u down

#spritual

He messed up by going on with the building after being warned

Dan said...

Chai y now y?

Sylvia said...

Oya lets go dia

N rip to d dead
Lord pls save us from sudden death

#spritual

Hmm I hate to be in his shoes right now

Aproko Queen said...

Wahala..the man don enter one chance

Hahahahahaha I love this pic.

Kayode Odusanya said...

Hmm! Other building contractors should learn fr this and stop putting people's lives on the line by cutting corners during building constructions.

Are You A One Minute Man?

Niyi Daramola said...

Its not his fault na

Is he resisting arrest? Y d cuffs?

* it's well*

Eyea...quite a pity. I know his enemies will be grinning now...It's well!

Bad market For them

I see no reason why this people should be taking to court...well its not my business😯😯

sorry man.its one of those challenge in life. you will definitely overcome it.

It is well with them.May the Lord see them through in Jesus name.
Linda this blog's new look is beautiful and nice . Well done Sis.

Must they be hand cuffed.Uncivilized Nigerian police.This guys are still presumed innocent until found guilty.Where on this earth an innocent person is hand cuffed as a convicted criminal.Only in Naija.

Please can someone hold Dr.Razaq Okoya accountable for this same thing that happened in April of year 2000! Lives were lost when his palatable estate where he hosts a lot of his parties now was been built!!!
Kids died as well, what is good for the goose should equally be good for the gander as well.
Justice has no status,colour, race or reasonability!!!

levi said...

coruption

Sincerely_From_My_Heart said...

I feel for him.. but a lesson to others.. We should be more careful in life..

Free Online Excel/Computer Training: Written: smsalways.com/video Video: yotube.com/mrelijahacademy

Roseberry said...

I pity him

Marie said...

Murderers!!! Wicked & greedy mofos who care less & think nothing of human life. How can you be contracted to do a job & put lives at risk? Didn't they realize what calamity would have befallen the inhabitants who so innocently would use their money to buy their death thinking they were buying a haven of refuge. I wonder what goes on in some people's mind.smh....mtcheeewww

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Err ya!
Kinda feel for him tho but then u use substandard materials to endanger pple's lives? And then un sealed wats been sealed off for by d govt?
Sorry! It's ur fate, tk it..

I notice some changes here☺,, linda what have you done to our blog😀😁😂

And was he the cause of the collapsed building?Abeg they shuld him joor#Lindangwanu#

Wicked men.

Makjesty said...

This kind tin sef...
Na so d tin B.

Long live the Queen...
(Linda Ikeji)...

Nigerian security sha! Why the handcuff? Did he steal? C'mon!

They ll always do cheap work and pocket d remaining balance. Now see innocent people lost their lives.

cutestlove said...

I pity them sha but then what about the life that has lost...if someone has told this men that they will be handcuffs like criminals they will never believe.

Gud for dem..

Na Wao.na only God go help e Na for diz matter.

QUI OO. said...

SO SAD!

Life imprisonment so they will stop using fake materials to be building houses in Nigeria,Teach him a bitter lesson judge!

But TB Joshua dat killed over hundred moves around freely and even refused to respond to court's invitation. There is no justice in this country.

Chaii...busted ...instead of using Dangote cement for your buildings,u con dey use some yeye cement now see your life

Why did they handcuff them? What crime did they commit? This is so wrong. #RIP to the Dead sha!

I pity the men. Sure they never imagined this.

OMG,such a fine man.

I can imagine what he is going thru right now. May God see him thru

DoraBelle said...

He's already arraigned while TB Joshua is still roaming freely on the street? This country is really messed up. Every guilty human should be brought to judgement especially when human lives were lost in the crime. When will TB Joshua be arrested for the collapse of his building that killed hundreds of people? When?

Scarlett said...

Oh No!

Why placed on handcuffs? he isn't a criminal and willingly submitted himself to the authorities.

i smell politics in this. He must have stepped on toes. Even TB Joshua wasn't treated in this manner, neither was he arrested till date.

Young guy, what did u think when u joined confra, offcourse u knew that blood is involved.

Meanwhile, we are yet to see handcuff pictures of TB Joshua and the contractor who built the collapsed building in his church o (because they DON'T exist!) And some will say politics is not involved.......shiooooo. Naija, which way forward? @Gov. Ambode, kindly make sure NO ONE is given 'VIP' treatment if you want us to believe THIS.....

Where is his younger sister,christy Amida,that idiot that nos how to molest people cos d brother is rich,..i just pity d people involved may their soul rest in perfect peace...God will help u Richard. ur a good and nice man but D vipers around u.they are d one misleading u...when ur d one buying d building materials and giving d engineers no issues like this at all..but when ur sister christy Amida and uncle Sola and madam labake and architect Mario manipulating u,that they want to be buying d material by them self u see where u landed..God will see u tru....

It is well

Sandra said...

Yesterday you were walking with your hands free, today you are in cuff. Such a life. May God see all of you through this.

#Lindas bae

See whahala

See whahala

Mr. Enigma said...

Well,that's what they deserve for building with substandard materials...

That's how satanic gift ends, I bet this guy is going to jail. N his soul was already sold out 4 wealth.

Cos of greed see how they are about to ruin their lives...

IT IS WELL WITH THE MANAGEMENT OF LEKKI GARDENS... MAY THE SOULS OF THE DEPARTED ONES REST IN PEACE...

Even in handcuff I believe in your vision. God will always win

so quick, na wa o
God will deliver him.

Haba this is too much na

Rip to d dead

Feel so sorry for this young man with brilliant ideas, May his God see him through this trial

LIZIANO said...

AMBODE THIS SO UNFAIR........ITS WRONG...THIS MAN HAS A GOLDEN HEART.....HE HAS NOT DOWN WNY WRONG HERE ITS AS A REULT OF FORCE MAJURE....AFTER ALL SCOAN WAS NOT ARRESTED ? INSTEAD THE MD SURENDED HIMSELF THAT IS A MAN WITH A REMOSEFUL HEART OVER THE LOST SOULS....OGA AMBODE FREE LEKKI GARDENS MD......RELEASE HIM PLEASE.....

Haba, Ambode this is not fair, i sense tribalism here, did you handcuff TB Joshua? please release him he is not a criminal.

It is well , i believe a man with a large heart like yours would definitely not do this on purpose. I have followed the story, may God bring you out of this. I pray people will remember other good things you have done in the few years past. RIP to the deceased and my condolences to their families.

Dem don enter! Linda take note!

Michael John said...

The 10 positives of Lekki Gardens in the past few years of their existence:

1. They never wanted to kill anybody

2. They have a very good vision to roll with. Within a very short space of time, we saw a company bring about tremendous change in rapid urbanization, demographic growth and an expanding middle-class. I knew what Sangotedo looks like in the last decade.

3. They brought about a change in the real estate market by changing the style of the game. Investable real estate in Nigeria have doubled compared to the figures we have in 2007. They deserves some credits for this.

4. Lagos state witnessed an unprecedented growth in real estates between 2011 and 2015, thus making it attractive to investors. lekki gardens played a key role in this through rapid urbanization.

5. For the first time, a developer brought about a paradigm shift from luxury lekki (which only the rich can afford) towards affordable lekki housing projects leading to higher absorption levels. That's a big plus for them.

6. Lagos is the highest employer of labour in Nigeria with over 120,000 construction workers (skilled, semi-skilled and unskilled) working on various projects. lekki gardens had a fair share of this figure.

7. They made some regrettable mistakes which their arch rivals are using to attack them now. But I realized that even the Donald Trumps of this world too failed at some point. Went bankrupt. But staged a BIG comeback.

We hope lekki gardens can stage a big comeback with more positives.

RIP to the dead and condolences to the bereaved.

Methinks this is selected justice. Did TB Joshua for once appeared before the court?

There is great injustice in ds country.when a church building collapse n over 100ppl died,d Pastor n contractor was not arrested n treated like this.but I support such action

Challenges are breakfast of champions. Embrace your challenges and come out as a champion that you are. We are praying for you sir

LIZIANO said...

AMBODE WHY THE HANDCUFFS....WAS SCOAN ON HANDCUFFS? NO...THE DANA PLANE CRASH MD WAS ALSO NOT HANDCUFFS?NO YET LOTS OF LIVES GONE,YET THEY WERE NOT CRUCIFY LIKE THIS,HABA...ITS UNFAIR....FREE RICHARD ABEG...ITS RIDICULOUS.....

Seyi said...

Good for him let him rot in jail. T LASG shld inspect all the houses this guy built. Foolish man th blood of innocents are fighting

If he can be arrested so fast, why are they delaying in arresting tb Joshua. Afterall they both share the same fate.

God will judge you for opening your mouth to speak without knowing the facts. This is a good man and God will vindicate him!

ITS SO UNFAIR. THEY ARE NOT CRIMINALS HABA

cole collins said...

The man whom change lives for good and create jobs for citizens and made an average person own a house in the heart of lagos.

Note that even LASG Confirms that he his a law abiding citizen.

"Nyong complied with the directive and reported himself to the office of the Commissioner of Police in company of his lawyer, Mr. Wole Olanipekun (SAN)"

since he showed himself worthy he is indeed a man of honour.

Na wao, may the souls of the deceased rest in Peace.
For Richard Nyong, God will win

Healthy Man said...

I'm really sorry for them. But why is the prosecution immediate? Maybe because they are not politicians.

May God see lekki gardens through this trying time.

May the innocent souls lost on the tragic tuesday RIP
This fast prosecution shows the legal system is working
But a food for thought; when the man went about doing good nobody clapped for him only to turn around and crucify him fast enough on default.
Lesson for developers:Be careful with your construction
another underlying lesson: Nigerians can pull you down faster than they cheer for you.

Wolex said...

Sorry dudes!

May God see you through this trying time.

Bobby said...

I can't blame them. Where was the agency in charge of building and construction when the building was being built?

@Seyi , if you are the youth Nigeria looks up to then we are all in trouble . Lagos appreciate the gift you have in a man , second changes are never a bad idea.

Ok seen

The Futarian said...

Chai! I pity them o

LIZIANO said...

RICHARD HAS EMPLOYED THOUSANDS OF NIGERIANS SEEKING FOR JOB EMPLOYMENT....ALEAST LETS REMMEMBER HIM FOR ALL THAT,FEEDING THE HOMELESS AND CHANGING DESTINIES, MAY GOD VINDICATE HIM IJN AND TURN THIS MESS TO A MESSAGE FOR LEKKI GARDENS MANAGMENT MAY THE SOULS OF THE DEAD RIP....MAY THEY THE FAMILY BE COMFORTED IJN.....ITS IS WELL....

Shut up ur mouth there. Ur generations will rot in jail. God will fight his battle & u will be put to shame.

LASG! If you are going to punish one person for a crime then punish ALL! Arraign TB Joshua and put him in handcuffs too! Hundreds of people died and nothing has been done to the man till date! Stop being political and do the right thing!

He is a great man! He will come out strong and better. Just watch out.

empress ojukwu said...

God should help this Man

Haba, Ambode this is not fair, i sense tribalism here, did you handcuff TB Joshua? please release him he is not a criminal.

Also same goes to TB Joshua too.

RIP to the dead, the Lord giveth and the Lord taketh
To Mr Richard, God will vindicate you but I hope you have learnt your lessons. You are good man with a heart of gold. May your good works speak for you

Gbammmmm..... Same thing am saying. Instead GEJ went for condolence visit.useless country called Nigeria, no justice.TB Joshua should be jailed too if these are guilty oooo biko

Hidden Beauty said...

Serves him right. Hope he rots in hell.

For everyone who is fast to shout'crucify him' may pain come and come and rest in your abode so you would experience how it feels. For everyone running their mouths, let crisis hit you so fast that sleep will leave your eyes. No one is above mistakes. I know this man...He is a kind hearted and fair businessman and a wonderful giver.

God will vindicate you Sir.. Just hang in there. You are a law abiding citizen. All this politics in this country...Please bring out Dana Air and T. B Joshua oooo.. GOD HELP US. May God fight for you Sir.

Rip to the departed souls

You must be an illiterate then. Foolish idiot with silly Nigerian mentality. Anuofia

cole collins said...

@SEYI LOOK BEHIND YOU, WHAT YOU WISH HIM HIS JUST STANDING TO GRAB YOUR NECK STUPID ABURO THAT LIVES WITH A WITCH FOR A MOTHER.

HUNGER STRIKE COMING TO YOU, SHEY YOU GET JOB NOW YOU DEY FRONT YOUR MOUTH.

Skyblue said...

Yes agreed he may be a good man for at least providing food for many families and does not deserve handcuffs, but why did they raise the building above the recommended and approved floors and when the work was stopped for that reason, they went ahead, bribed their way through and continued the job, bluffing the government. If they had stopped the building or if they had built just the recommended and approved number of floors alone, they may not be going through this now. Obedience is better than sacrifice Anyway the Almighty God will see him through.

Human being was the handcuffs really necessary like they can employ and put food on the table of millions of graduates that he employs and takes off the street hmm life is indeed very wicked anyways my God will vindicate him may all the souls lost rest in peace #God vindicate Richard Nyoung

Rouxey said...

Wait a minute.....will this bring back the lost ones?Then why all these?I have never met or seen a wonderful man like Richard.God can never change.Its well.

#FREERICHARDNYONG

Your comment is foolish and you are not a smart person. When has negligence leading to death no longer a crime, maybe in your stupid mind. Read up manslaugher due to negligence, Olodo!

Shame on you all who didn't prosecute TB joshuas contractors when hundreds of lives were lost just because or religious sentiments and bribery. Shame on you all!!

coolkaz said...

TB Joshua was not arrested and handcuffed even though hundreds of people died... Including foreigners
#JusticeIsNotJust

Olaaliu - dumb ass of the year. That was a stupidly senseless comment from you

He is in handcuffs because he contravened the law to stop building.

Not everything is tribalism.

I know some amala ppl are jealous of him but this one different.

no sympathy for mr.nyong.

he should be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law to send a message to shoddy builders and their get rich quick aspirations.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Mehn. God help him! Business don spoil so o. People wen don die nko?

Michael John said...

The 10 positives of Lekki Gardens in the past few years of their existence:

1. They never wanted to kill anybody

2. They have a very good vision to roll with. Within a very short space of time, we saw a company bring about tremendous change in rapid urbanization, demographic growth and an expanding middle-class. I knew what Sangotedo looks like in the last decade.

3. They brought about a change in the real estate market by changing the style of the game. Investable real estate in Nigeria have doubled compared to the figures we have in 2007. They deserves some credits for this.

4. Lagos state witnessed an unprecedented growth in real estates between 2011 and 2015, thus making it attractive to investors. lekki gardens played a key role in this through rapid urbanization.

5. For the first time, a developer brought about a paradigm shift from luxury lekki (which only the rich can afford) towards affordable lekki housing projects leading to higher absorption levels. That's a big plus for them.

6. Lagos is the highest employer of labour in Nigeria with over 120,000 construction workers (skilled, semi-skilled and unskilled) working on various projects. lekki gardens had a fair share of this figure.Please visit nigerianstat.gov.ng for this analysis.

7. They made some regrettable mistakes which their arch rivals are using to attack them now. But I realized that even the Donald Trumps of this world too failed at some point. Went bankrupt. But staged a BIG comeback.

We hope lekki gardens can stage a big comeback with more positives.

RIP to the dead and condolences to the bereaved.

All those accusing Ambode for not arresting TB Joshua should please use their brains to know that Ambode was not a governor when TB Joshua's building collapsed. However, the case is in court. APC was not in power then and Jonathan used to consult TB Joshua for spiritual help. How do you now expect Jonathan to arrest TB Joshua that was his spiritual eye? Pls you guys should use your brain and be reasonable. This is why change has come. Ambode kudo for exercising and effecting change

tsalz c.e.o said...

Na wa ooo

Exactly. How is his case any different from Razaq Okoya and T.B Joshua? And they put him in handcuffs? What happened to innocent until proven guilty? He has constitutional human rights. Nigerian sha! Sometimes I tire for the laws of my fatherland.

For those asking why the MD of Dana Airline was not arrested when the plane crashed, i think you should ask Jonathan that question because the Dana Airline plane crash happened during Jonathan's administration. Buhari has come and change has started. No more room for corruption and the use of inferior matrials at the expense of people's lives. The fear of Ambode and Buhari is the beginning of wisdom!

#Justice for Richard Nyong. They didn't handcuff T.B Joshua, Dr Razak Okoya, Sosoliso crew, BellView crew etc why handcuff Richard like a criminal? #Justice for Richard

It was a building under construction and the workers spent the night there without their knowledge. What part of that didn't you get? Let them go and arrest TB Joshua because well over 100 people from different countries died when his building collapsed. It is sad that people lost their lives and may they all rest in peace.

I totally agree with u @ Rouxey.

he such an arrogant man,
I think he deserves it

Why is TB Joshua still roaming around free? It's really unfortunate that ppl died, but pls TB Joshua should be arrested too!

Wordsmith said...

@MichealJohn...well spoken! Thank you for expantiating on the fact that he has a good vision. Not excusing the fact that lives were lost but politics has gotten into this matter. People are so quick to jump on this one mistake and ask for his head on a platter. His enemies are taking undue advantage of this situation especially those who have a hard in government to push for his fall.

This man's vision changed lives in this nation and beyond. God will turn this situation around to become his stepping stone to bigger dreams. Stay strong Richard.. This too shall pass.

May the dead rest in peace

Too bad for him...

Hmmmmm abi ooooo

U r a fool... Must everything b tribalism

MRI said...

This Richard is too good to face this. God please help him. RIP to the deads

MRI said...

This Richard is too good to face this. God please help him. RIP to the dead. Nigerians need to be careful in their works. Hate this hand-cuff.

My thoughts and prayers are with the victims and their families.

Please help my blog grow by following me:
www.endocheon.blogspot.com

Sometimes you guys say funny things..... Did an earthquake occur? ... Datz poor planning and a possible use of inferior materials just to save cost

Didnt u hear of TB joshua's court case? ... This is wrong tho , i dnt see why they should handcuff them like this

Are u d maker of Hell? Leave dis man, why d Government did not arrest TB Joshua And Dana airline DAT killed many people.condolence for the people that died may God be with their family.y a n cufs.Enemies plenty o

Anyone who knows Richard Nyong well knows he's a good man...yes he may have made some mistakes but which one of you here doesn't??? He is not a ritualist or opportunist. This is uncalled for...He was summoned he went in peacefully...what is this??? I know it's painful and I pray the lost souks find their peace with God. But let's be reasonable here. This is totally absurd. I am on my knees as I type and I know the God I serve will vindicate you Richard. Judge ye not so you will not be judged...Richard you will rise like the phoenix. Rise high above this. That dream you had will live forever.

AMBODE!!!! YOU KNOW THIS IS WRONG!!!!

That's will be exactly your fate for judging him.

Nigeria government shall, any opportunities, they we miss used it.

sandracruzzz said...

Dis is just so embarrassing I swear

Luciana Chinda said...

Interesting

Edinburgh's finest said...

You are crazy oh. What has plane crash got to do with building collapse?

Oh shut up.

The internet is rife with atrocities committed by this man and his building company. Go on YouTube and watch clips on tales of woe from his subscribers. Go to nairaland too - plenty threads on his issue. So shut Biko.

He even went as far as doing promo "buy 2 get 1 free". Which legit real estate company does such promo on houses? After cutting corners and building homes using sub standard materials, why won't he be doing BTGOF? When it's not like it's tinned tomatoes he's selling. The day I read about the promo, I knew he was obviously involved in corrupt building practices.

Jealous of him that wat hapun? You drunk or what?

We've got lots of "amala eating" reputable property developers in Lagos and we've got nothing to be jealous over a dude involved in corrupt building practices c

Shebi he was doing promo on his houses. "But two get one free". See where greed and cutting corners have gotten him to. Money meant to use for the construction of one house, he spends it on three houses and then comes up with a shady promo. Nonsense.

U are crazy. Your curses will go back to your head and family a billion folds. Let him face charges for the people that died. That's his cross. Leave tb Joshua and co to face their own cross. That said, you must be monumentally stupid to compare building collapse with plane crash.

U are crazy. Was ambode the governor during the period Joshua's building collapsed? Why are people this stupid?

Yimu.

E for no show face na. He would have been declared a wanted criminal with his face and detaiks splashed everywhere. So he chose the lesser of the two evils.

Another fool. Who was governor during the Joshua's building collapse

Are you stupid or what? Why compare plane crash with building collapse.

Shut up. Let him go to court and prove himself innocent

God bless you.

This is a new era of accountability.

Oga Chizzu. said...

God will vindicate you Richard

Saheedakinola11 I no GOD we be with you sir because you make million of peoples are eat from you so we are not going to Lus you Lagos

Is opportunities to Lagos Hi employed million in Lagos

cole collins said...

My heart is saddened. In 2013, I was in India when a high rise building collapsed, killing over 50 persons. The Government declared all those involved, including officials in the ministry of works, housing, power and water, wanted. In panic, the developer and engineers ran away. They were remanded two weeks later, charged to court and tried. In 2014, TB Joshua's guest house collapsed, killing scores of expatriate followers and worshipers. He held a press conference, insulted us by showing a doctored tape of a Bermuda helicopter hovering over the property which irreverently caused the unfortunate incident. He was never hunted like a criminal. The South African government flattered the LASG for the inquest carried out on the case, demanding that justice be served for the scores of innocent lives that were lost due to the prophet's total disregard for authority. Documents were shown, proving that he was asked to stop construction. Yet, he gives sermons from his pulpit daily and has never showed up at any court hearing two years and counting. Come 2016, I saw Richard Nyong in handcuffs with the site contractor. On the day of this unfortunate incident, Richard submitted himself to the closest police station without incident. The state government didn't acknowledge that, instead they claimed he was arrested. LASG also said he was told to halt construction on the collapsed building. FYI, there are no documents to this effect. The shanties around that area were marked for demolition, yet Lekki Gardens was dated on the day of the incident.Who is fooling who? Richard is still remanded in prison. What charges have been leveled against him? What is good for the goose should be good for the gander. We have clearly displayed our double standards. Preferential judgment for indigenes + clergymen and scape goat treatment for others.Our country Nigerian has refused to change and it is a sad development.

IF CHANGE BECOMES COMPROMISE THEN WE DONT NEED THIS CHANGE AMBODE SEARCH YOUR HEART HAVE YOU EVER DONE WRONG ???IF YES DID YOU GET PUNISHED , "LET HE WITHOUT SIN BE THE FIRST" SAYS THE WORD

cole collins said...

@LARRY SEE THE WAY YOU THINK CHECK HOW YOU STARTED THEN YOU WILL LEARN TO LIVE WITHOUT HATRED .
NO ONE IS ABOVE MISTAKE HAVE YOU NEVER WRONGED.

When u build a 3-storey building and later change your and added 2 extra floors to the same structure you are building a coffin for people to die in. I am an engineer and I know what I am talking about.

I live near this estate, I saw when they finished building the 3-storey building and even started painting it. All of a sudden they started adding more floors to the buildings. It is not only this building sef, there are several blocks in this estate with the same extra 2 floors.
By the way, their other estates at chevron drive and Elegushi beach also have extra floors added to d 3-storey buildings as well.
What they have done violates the building code and it is a criminal offense even without a building collapse sef.
Before you go about giving them credit, just imagine if this happened after handing over the units to owners and with hundreds of citizens living in the estate??? We will be talking of hundreds of ppl dead, entire families, children, etc.

If u really think they have done well, please take your family and start sleeping in the remaining standing blocks of flats

too bad