Pilot turns plane back so family won’t miss funeral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 January 2016

Pilot turns plane back so family won’t miss funeral

The pilot of a Delta Airlines flight turned the plane around to pick up a Phoenix mom and her children on the way to their dad’s funeral.
Marcia Short’s husband of 32 years wished to be buried by his family in Tennessee. The 56-year-old died of lung cancer and his body was flown to Memphis Dec. 19, one day before the Sunday funeral.
So when the Shorts’ Dec. 19 flight out of Phoenix was delayed by more than an hour and the gate to their connecting flight in Minneapolis closed without them, they fell in despair.
“The heartache and thought of missing that flight hurt tremendously,” Marcia’s daughter Nicole told the Daily News via Facebook.
Through tears, the Shorts began waving their arms and screaming in a desperate attempt to catch the pilot’s attention.
They pleaded with an attendant who said nothing could be done to stop the plane from taking off.
Marcia was consoling her daughters when the Delta employee got a call, the pilot had seen them and was returning to the gate to let the family board.
“When the phone rang at the desk and she said it was the pilot who insisted on bringing that plane back to the gate to let us on more tears came,” Nicole Short wrote to The News. “But these ones were happy tears.”
A Delta spokesperson identified the pilot as Captain Adam Cohen of Endeavor Air, a Delta Airlines subsidiary.
“This Pilot deserves more praise than my family can give him,” Nicole Short wrote. “I hope others reading this will think twice and spread more kindness around.”

Source: New York Daily News

94 comments:

Dts touchn....he shouldn't b sacked ooo

GOD BLESS YOU PILOT.

Dts nice

Aya....so good to know,RIP to the dead.

Is dis compassion or wah?

Great Man!

Thatz a good heart!God bless the pilot! And may God comfort the family of the deceased! *princezz*

how nice....

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Good for them...that kindda thing might only happen in Nigeria if you are an influential person.....ProudlyDeltan

The pilot is a darling...woow nice one...

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Heart of gold @ the gracious pilot

Ruthcindy said...

wow! kind hearted pilot.

eyaaaaa thank God

Awww

OKORO UPGRADED

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

Okay.....Good morning here

#LindaThumbsUp

that was very kind of him . shantel5050@yahoo.com

wooooow...so kind of him.

linda Last Born(IPHY) said...

Linda me no understand....

Eyaa. That's a gd one. The family wld always b grateful 4 ds kindness.

danex said...

woa! that's a nice one. God bless you pilot.

My Lady, that's really touching, hope the pilot did the right thing..!

Heya. Nice. But hope he doesn't lose his job

Uzosafetyblog said...

Good news. #IRepLIB

The President Speaks: New year message to Nigerians

YOUNG BUHARI said...

Such kindness. God bless him

Wow what a kind heart..linda observe carefully

So kind of the pilot! Bless his kind heart,am guessing the family is white.

Really a good one...mary nwanmo

Breaking rules of flying #sneh

So touching and emotional...

That's what kindness is!

Eyaa#slimmy

hmmmmm
the pilot was thoughtful

RIP nice one Mr pilot

Dats gud of d pilot. God bless him.

Linda's bestie...

Nwa Nnewi.

kind heart pilot

new comer

kingsareborn2rule said...

Enter your comment...Seen Seen Seen

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

Awwwwwwww so nice of him....

Wow! So nice of him. ZINO

PUBLIC tatafo said...

The pilot has a kind heart

Good !linda this is injustice #Abi#

Wow.. This is unbelievable. Good of the pilot tho but risky business. He can be fired for this u know.. He tried.

Wow.. This is unbelievable. Good of the pilot tho but risky business. He can be fired for this u know.. But he tried... 👍

praizpaulinus said...

That's what kindness is about... God will reward him...

Eyaaaah this is heart warming am in tears now.

so emotional. cute. followme on instagram at @arhcent. i follow back. #lindaitsurboy

Eyaa, that's nice of the pilot.

Ehya

Okbye.

Eyah,very nice of him.

Eyaa!!! That's very kind of him

Babylawyer. said...

That's so touching.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

NEW WIFE said...

EYAH...

NEW WIFE SPEAKS

NEW WIFE said...

EYAH...

NEW WIFE SPEAKS

Awwww

applegeniuz said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
#kpomkwem#

So nice of the pilot....

ijeoma(DAVIDO'S P.A) said...

Awwwww so sweet of him

Eya...nice one

Haha. So nice of d pilot. #IamMe

Kudos to u pilot

SHORTEST DUDE said...

How much is fuel now biko?

Vickyfabulous adeleyevictor17@gmail.com said...

Owkk... Weldone my gud man.. Gud one

Buchi Jakes said...

Hopefully the pilot doesn't face sanctions or even sacked for that.

Eyaa, good hearthed people still do exist , but what if the pilot and woman were having something between them ? Just saying

good man, keep on your good works.

kudos said...

But these ones were happy tears...Believe

Great pilot

God bless him so much.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu calling

Teary eyes#God bless d pilot

Awww..so nice of the pilot

Olaidex blog said...

So touching. Olaidex d secret fan.

Amy said...

I actually shed tears reading the part the pilot called to pick them up. Nice one. I can imagine not being able to attend tbe funeral of a loved one when you have planned being there.

Jesus is Lord!

Eyah. But what about the inconvenience it caused other passengers

VICTORY said...

That is so kind of the pilot. The LORD will reward him. Want to make it financially in 2016 through network marketing. CALL 08033187482

Nigerians should emulate this.angelmakiz@yahoo.com

That's a good heart. The pilot is a darling. If is Nigeria forget it ooh.

good man

new comer

Nice one BT make your good no come with sack letter

don snipes said...

Lovely pilot...

.....just saying.....

Pearlie said...

That's nice

A gud heart

Really nice of him.

Smilin.....wat an impeccable gesture! God bles u my pilot.

If we all do random acts of kindness daily, we might just set the world in the right direction. So inspiring.

Wild flowers!

Awww! God bless the pilot for this act of kindness

Oyinbo people have so much respect for the dead

wow....dat was a huge sacrifice

chyyy said...

It sounds so wonderful but d pilot break d rules too. Turning back to pick pple when d plane s to take off

NwaBiafra said...

Chaai

EYAHHH. TOUCHING