Human Trafficking: Court orders the extradition of Nigerian fugitive, Franca Asemota, to the UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 14 January 2016

Human Trafficking: Court orders the extradition of Nigerian fugitive, Franca Asemota, to the UK

Justice Abdul Kafarati of the Federal High Court sitting in Abuja on Wednesday, January 13, ordered the extradition of Franca Asemota, a Nigerian fugitive to the United Kingdom for offences bordering on trafficking of minors. The court gave the consent to her extradition through the office of the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF).

The Nigerian Economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) arrested Franca Asemota, 36, in Benin City, on Wednesday March 24, 2015 on suspicion of money laundering offences.

Following liaison with the NCA her fingerprints were checked with UK records and her identity was established. She was additionally arrested to face extradition.

Asemota is wanted in the UK for allegedly being an organiser in a network which trafficked young women, mainly under 18 and from remote Nigerian rural villages, into Europe using London’s Heathrow Airport as a transit hub.

Investigators believe the girls would be promised education and training in France, but were later told they would have to work as prostitutes.

Asemota is accused of accompanying around 40 victims on eight separate flights between August 2011 and May 2012. A European Arrest Warrant (EAW) was issued for her when she was thought to be in Italy, but NCA officers later tracked her down to Nigeria.

The investigation into the trafficking network, codenamed Operation Hudson, is led by Home Office Immigration Enforcement criminal investigators and supported by the NCA.

Hank Cole, head of International Operations for the NCA, said:

"Asemota’s arrest was the result of exceptional collaboration and close working with our partners at home and in Nigeria.

"She is wanted on suspicion of serious offences in the UK and we will now seek her extradition so she can be put before the courts here.

"This operation demonstrates the NCA’s global reach and our determination to track down those wanted by law enforcement in the UK, no matter where in the world they are."

Operation Hudson has already secured the conviction of two men involved in the trafficking network.

In March 2013 Odosa Usiobaifo of Enfield, London, was jailed for 14 years for his role in the trafficking of 14 and 15-year-old girls whom he put on flights to Spain from London.

The following October David Osawaru, from Benin City, Nigeria, was sentenced to nine years for chaperoning two Nigerian women in transit from Lagos to Prague. He was arrested by Border Force officers at Heathrow.

Seven alleged members of the ring were also arrested in the Spanish cities of Madrid and Lérida in September 2013.

When the case came up on Monday, January 11, 2016, Asemota’s counsel, Ugochukwu Ezekiel, prayed the court to grant his client bail to enable her seek medical attention as she had spent almost a year in custody.

Akuta Ukeyima from the office of the AGF, however, opposed the application saying that, it would be better to ask for a short date for ruling on the substantive matter.
Consequently, Justice Kafarati adjourned to Wednesday, January 13 for ruling

At the resumed sitting, Justice Kafarati granted the extradition request and ordered that the accused be extradited to the United Kingdom to face trial for the charges filed against her.

58 comments:

Hmmmmm

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

For bulk sms and corporate website design, pls visit
www.advertiserspanel.com

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Asap

baba said...

Too bad

If she is guity ..let the law intervain

www.frayokit.blogspot.com said...

Things are absolutely going down way every day! What is happening?

She must be made to face the full wrath of the law.

Whatever!Abi linda!

Good!

Babylawyer. said...

This business is still running. They should make her pau dearly.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Whatever!Abi linda!

Aproko Queen said...

Oviedo kpataki... una nor jus dey shame..ghe Ozour

End time all over

www.frayokit.blogspot.com said...

We never hear good news in Nigeria, every day funny and bad news. May God help Nigeria!

JAYZSBOSS said...

Serves her right

Mufliat said...

Good for her.
Too bad.

#Hajia Mufliat

hmmm onye kwa?

Okemz said...

This life sha..... Hmmmmm

Good 4 her......

Esther Dangana said...

The love of money is the root of all evil

Life na per head, carry ur cross ma'am

I know this person na,

Edo Ladies and their trafficking business.

Na them! Using olokun to deceive gullible and innocent girls to prostitute for them

Congratulations to her, she try

Pesin Pikin said...

She has to face the law plz...

If she is found guity, let her face the law

That serves her right

Job well done....u do well

GHOSTFACE said...

Very Good

If u check am well na EDO STATE GIRL. dem like ashewo pass any work... Nonsense

AJ MAIN BOY...

Why must they always be from Edo State naaa? Besides the name sounds so Ghanaian! Asemota, Achimota.

Lindodo what are they waiting for to have their publicity visuals splashed all over LIB background?

I'm not a robot!
Je ne suis pas un Robot!
Abughi m Igwe obula!
Nye manyi robot debu!
Mi O yi SĂ© Irin!

!!!!!!!

End of road for her

Nna ehn, it simply shows that what a man can do a woman can do twice better. God have mercy on your people. Don't know what this world is turning into

She got what she deserveddeserved. Linda take note!

Uzosafetyblog said...

Abeg they should come and table her #IRepLIB

Long john said...

End of the road for her...

God bless my hustle.

Long john said...

End of the road for her...

God bless my hustle
Long john

E hav be u

Up Bendel

N to imagine she 's a lady like them,,,,,. What won't people do for money? #Linda'spal

Thunder fire all of them human traffickers

Bitch pls.
Hang Her.

donjazzy's crush said...

She will certainly spend 15/20 years in jail.its simple,ask d girls that are above 18 if they want to do prostitution not taking under age girls nd deceive them with jobs and greener pasture. Tell dem d truth and some will still follow u.

donjazzy's crush said...

@uche what about the ibos? They are all in d street prostituting.Its not good to tag a tribe to a particular tin

If she is guilty dem she is a bad egg.
ugly news every where

ure a disgrace to womanhood nd to d pipo of edo state.

#DhatEsanBea

Dead.....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

paparazi said...

SAD DAY FOR HER. GOOD.

Edo international prostitute who will care for the family in naija now.

NOR BE EDO WOMAN? WHY AM I NOT SURPRISED. EDO PPLE'S TRADE SINCE 1942. SHE HAS BUILT A HOUSE AND BEER PARLOUR WITH THE PROSTITUTION MONEY

Keep disgracing us oo

#GodFirst
Linda's Rootfather

Jesus is Lord!

Good serves her right

Make she go answer her clarion call

#irestmycase

U people just open ur wide mouth and talk rubbish. Lindaikeji, i'll advice u follow d matter till d end and then we shall c who will laugh last. U rams don't know a true version of a story but comments like duns. She asked 4 d extradition and thank God it was granted and there we will know d truth instead of delaying her here without any reason. #Godfight4her#

If u like publish my first comment, I don't give a damn. U don't her as I do, so stop spoiling pple's name.