Police officer sentenced to death by hanging for killing a sachet water dealer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 September 2015

Police officer sentenced to death by hanging for killing a sachet water dealer

A Police Inspector identified as Samuel Timothy was today sentenced to death by hanging by a Rivers state High Court for shooting and killing a sachet water dealer, Onyekachi Nwasouba at No. 34, Old Aba Road, Port Harcourt on November 10th 2010.

According to court documents, the deceased who is a graduate of Industrial Chemistry was wrongfully shot at and killed by a team of police officers led by Inspector Timothy after they wrongfully branded the deceased an armed robber.

They shot at him despite his repeated plea that he was not an armed robber but only a sachet water dealer. In a three hours ruling, the trial judge, Justice Adolphus Enebeli, said that the convict (Timothy) demonstrated an act of inhumanity through his action.

He said the testimonies given by witnesses at the scene of the incident, pointed to the fact that Timothy was an “Inhuman, trigger-happy policeman, who engages in murder; a hater of humankind and a merciless killer.”

“According to Section 319 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, I do not have the power to reduce your sentence. That, you, Inspector Timothy Sampson be hanged on your neck until you are dead,” he said. Timothy who had served in the Nigeria Police for 33 years was due for retirement in the next two years when this incident happened.

58 comments:

AQO said...

Won ti geti ee.

Yes!

Serves him right

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

PARENTAL ADVISORY

The winches in his village finally got him....

This will serve as a lesson to other policemen who kill helpless and innocent citizens anyhow.

Justice well served!

Yes! Yes!! Yes!!! Dis is justice@work and I hopedis serve as deterrent to others.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Good news. An eye 4 an eye

Good

Demola Rogers said...

Serves him right

Hmmmm sorry inspector

*lib's namesake*

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Can you imagine..i dont even knw what to say in his case

Glowyshoe blog

Ok. I don't like dat judgement dey should have given him us let do what ever we like him.....dis 1 small... Who E help.......

PARENTAL ADVISORY

God bless DAT judge, for d ordinary Nigerians who go through hell in the hands of d thieves and murderers in uniform everyday...

Juliet Iwobi said...

Justice served! Shocking Video/Pix: Abuja runs girl allegedly slept with a politician for N300k & found worms in her private part after [Very Graphic]

An eye for an eye no doubt.....

New Nigeria alas...serves him right

they belive in there ye ye gun that they carry olaniyidavid71@yahoo.com

PARENTAL ADVISORY

1 gone, many more to go...this made my night...

My 35k wen dem chop go kill them.....

It really pains me much I couldn't win today's Monday give away. I really waited all day for it because have got a really pressing need but my network couldn't allow me post on time,my eyes are so heavy, having body pains for stressing myself since morning upon all hissss. please anyone with a good heart, I beg u all in God's name that can help me out financially with the give away I wouldn't mind. I really really need money so badly. Things are so rough with me. Janenana252@gmail.com

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Pls for the police, they should add "death by beating by a mob" to the law...biko

This should serve as a deterrent to others like him.

Oh! Two years left for him to retire after 33yrs in service, he messed it all up wit dis blunder dat cost him his life.

My people biko b caution and really careful wit some frustrated and evil minded fellows dat hang around bcos they might b enemies of progress dat r ploting against ur success.

B wise and watchful!

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Jane sorry ehn, channel DAT time u used in hustling for giveaway into sales of recharge card...

Money will come once u are not lazy....

Oh! Two years left for him to retire after 33yrs in service, he messed it all up wit dis blunder dat cost him his life.

My people biko b caution and really careful wit some frustrated and evil minded fellows dat hang around bcos they might b enemies of progress dat r ploting against ur success.

B wise and watchful!

Hmmm I no fit shout

For all medical enquiries that bother on male and female reproductive system, kindly direct your worries to onlinefertilitycare@gmail.com or join our face book page 'Onlinefertility' to chat with experts on the field.

Hope others will learn from dis...RIP to d dead!

Too bad

Prechy said...

Oh God, pls have mercy on ur children

WeALTHY ChIC said...

Royal priesthood, are u sure u re normal cos u always sound stupid and irritating. How can u always make uncountless meaningless comments on one post? U seriously need help ASAP.

that is the law i hope the rest of them should trend carefully and work very well

I think you are stupid one. What did he say wrong.

I thank God justice was served @last.

Oh this is good.

Dis is justice..dey cant b killin us n goin free..dis men wen no gun any other nigerian can beat dem up..evil pple

Oh no!pity, I don't blame him is Bcos of the way robbers operate this days he must av taking him for a mistake, 2 yrs to go,tooo bad,well I can't judge it like this Bcos it might be a pay back for the once he did out of bribery,
I beg this 1 pass pls jorrrrr,make una do una worst

Oh no!pity, I don't blame him is Bcos of the way robbers operate this days he must av taking him for a mistake, 2 yrs to go,tooo bad,well I can't judge it like this Bcos it might be a pay back for the once he did out of bribery,
I beg this 1 pass pls jorrrrr,make una do una worst

seyi crown said...

Wow, polices men should hang more 4 killing any how

Seyilicious

Let him go an put road block for hell

Hian!

Good justice! God bless this Judge. Let this serve as a deterrent to all them trigger - happy police men, devils in human clothing.

GUD FOR HIM...ODAS TEK NOTE....TOMJERRYSWIT

Rip to Mr timothy

Justice served. ....This should be extended to our politicians that embezzle our money.

We need more of dis, maybe dat would keep all dem mad policemen in check. Linda take note!

Das good an serve him rite rip in advance

There are winners in this case. Shame on the Inspector for been so carried away. As humans we need to respect the sanctity of life irrespective of who we are, because we can't create one.
Therefore, in the same vain I say NO to death penalty, it's not a lesson for the dead, neither is it a lesson for the living. Please let's all respect the life we can't create.

Good! Stupid fool, maybe he will be a lesson to other trigger happy officer loitering the streets!

Now justice has been served

That's how one from kala police station in porthacourt threatened to shoot me and brand me an armed robber and nothing will happen. Have his name and number.he will soon hear from me

Arc. Adefila said...

judgement well delivered, for ur building designs and suspended ceiling installations pls call 08034442078 or email filadesigns@gmail.com

I jst need d picture of his dead body,to be sure..he must die..

oluwacastro said...

Only God knows how many people he has murdered during his 33 years in service

Na small...

Justice well served....hope other happy trigger policemen will learn from this