Im Senate President against the wishes of some powerful individuals - Saraki | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 29 September 2015

Im Senate President against the wishes of some powerful individuals - Saraki

Senate president Bukola Saraki insist he is being tried at the Code of Conduct Tribunal because he emerged senate president against the wishes of some powerful individuals. He said this while addressing members of the senate at their resumed session today September 29th.
"Distinguished Senators, I believe you have all followed with keen interest, my trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal. I shall avoid discussing the details of that case here for obvious reasons. But let me say it again, that I am ready and will submit myself to the entire judicial process as provided by law.
Meanwhile, I wish to reiterate my remarks before the Tribunal, that I have no iota of doubt that I am on trial today because I am the president of the Nigerian Senate, against the wishes of some powerful individuals outside this Chambers. But what is clear to me also, is that the laws of Nigeria, and the rules of the National Assembly give consideration only to the wishes and desires of those of you who are here today as members of the Senate, to elect as you wish, one of your peers as President of the Senate. This, in your wisdom, is what you have done by electing me to be the first among all of you who are my equals. The laws of Nigeria do not give any consideration to any other forces outside the Senate in the election of its President. And to yield the ground on this note, is to be complicit in the subversion of democracy and its core principles of separation of powers as enshrined in our constitution. This is why we must once again, commend President Muhammadu Buhari, for refusing to interfere in the election of the National Assembly leadership even in the face of enormous pressures on him to do so. He has proven quite concretely that he is indeed a born-again democrat"he said

48 comments:

True talk.

Wetin concern Agbero with overload kwanu??? Linda take note!

Tell them

Odieqwu!

Obviously.. If u want to step on an elephant toes make sure u have d proper skills or things to escape the anger of his trunk.. U didn't expect them not to deal with u after what dey see as "betrayal"

Dis is quite unfortunate

Already we know!

obietrezy said...

That's his business. Jor oh

Enough already, stop trying to gather sympathy, the issue at hand is very simple, no one is above the law. If you are innocent let the court prove that.
Some Nigerians in prison never got such opportunity.

This man is not only arrogant & rebellious but is quite unabashed as well.Witch hunt or not,the question still remains ,are the allegations levelled against him true or false? Did he or did he not do it?
A wise politician who knows he's got skeleton in his closet would dare not walk the path of rebellion. And the most irksome thing about it all is that those senators who passed a vote of confidence on him are following him not because he's actually innocent but because they know that the cookie will crumble together with em.
If I were him,I'd quit talking & do the needful.Resign or apologize .Simple

That's true, Tinubu will not back down until he achieves his aim. Ride on Saraki, the senators are solidly behind you. Tinubu and his cohorts should be probed of their corrupt activities. But Saraki if you embezzled public funds, better refund it. I'm not in support of any form of public looting.

Ok will shall see

Pls have you tendered your resignation. Ears are itching.Don't cause trouble for the ruling party. Don't hold Nigeria to ransom.

Hmmmmmm. Let watch and see how everytin turns out. I wish him all d best and God bless him.

BLUNT said...

These politicians are really manipulating us. This same Saraki that championed the division in the PDP that ultimately led to it's loss in the last election is suddenly being protected by the same PDP!

True. Thifnubu & his houseboys at AllPastCriminal can kiss ma black ass. There ain't no way the position of the senate president of this country is going to one of his puppets..

Saraki for president..

But you were not even duly elected...you rigged your way in. The simple fact that you are the chief lawmaker with these much of a blemish makes it necessary you answer these charges. If you are honorable you should resign for the sake of the hallowed house the represent.

#IT IS WELL!

Onitsha Brought Up said...

Mr man,Go n sit down .only God knows how much you have embezzled in this country! If u like do face like nwa boi .

We hear

#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise

And they wanna remove u from dat seat by all means....too bad for dem!

Hummmmmmm.....*justpassing*

U want to play smartness wen u no that ur hand where not kline, have u not heard that he who com with equity must com with kline hand???? #Saraki and Ekweremadu must go#

Go and sit down

ok na

WATCH: Referee threatens player with a GUN on the pitch during football match

It was expected even before he won as senate president.GMB won't condescend to a political fracas between Saraki and Tinubu esp when things are still under his control. Its a battle of the fittest where all parties are guilty.

D mistake u made was tryin to out-smart ur elders

born again indeed for his mind olaniyidavid71@yahoo.com

Tinubu and Bonario take note, hes here to stay

7F098C19 said...

Touching... I wonder how many of this LIB readers read this note. Or they just want to just comment. Smh. Engr Emy

tinubu should let saraki be...e dey pain am say lawan no be senate president

tinibu should go and die

tinubu should be hanged...he is pained lawan is not president

Mayberry said...

I have said it before & am saying it again, bad belle dey naija 2 much. Lili pls take note

Good advice Bonita. Good advice.

True talk..

Saraki no mind them...you are our next president

Tinubu go soon know how far, Saraki is our man, Tinubu please go back to south west...you are not a national figure by any standard

Arrogant in what sense? We are talking politics and he's beaten jagaba and his cohort to it. Remember he was elected by citizens who have equal rights with you and any other person who thinks otherwise based on their conviction. so why should he Resign? An allegation remains an allegation until it's proven beyond reasonable doubt and the accused found guilty by a court of competent jurisdiction . You ain't the law. Let the law take its course but not sentimental stampeding. President Saraki congratulations on the renewed confidence of the Senate in their votes for your leadership today. I've always admired your wit as youthful governor who as a matter of integrity insisted that the governorship of kwara state isn't a dynasty or family affair even when you had to do it against one of your own. Clement O.

Who's calling for sarakis resignation? Arrogant in what sense? We are talking politics and he's beaten jagaba and his cohort to it. Remember he was elected by citizens who have equal rights with you and any other person who thinks otherwise based on their conviction. so why should he Resign? An allegation remains an allegation until it's proven beyond reasonable doubt and the accused found guilty by a court of competent jurisdiction . You ain't the law. Let the law take its course but not sentimental stampeding. President Saraki congratulations on the renewed confidence of the Senate in their votes for your leadership today. I've always admired your wit as youthful governor who as a matter of integrity insisted that the governorship of kwara state isn't a dynasty or family affair even when you had to do it against one of your own.

Arrogant in what sense? We are talking politics and he's beaten jagaba and his cohort to it. Remember he was elected by citizens who have equal rights with you and any other person who thinks otherwise based on their conviction. so why should he Resign? An allegation remains an allegation until it's proven beyond reasonable doubt and the accused found guilty by a court of competent jurisdiction . You ain't the law. Let the law take its course but not sentimental stampeding. President Saraki congratulations on the renewed confidence of the Senate in their votes for your leadership today. I've always admired your wit as youthful governor who as a matter of integrity insisted that the governorship of kwara state isn't a dynasty or family affair even when you had to do it against one of your own. Clement O.

True

Emperor Tinubu aka Jagaba abi you wanna make your madam the Senate president Ni? You can't have it all. Yeah! you have successfully rigged those you want to power but this lad says he won't let you have your way in the NASS . In this game of chess he struck you down with the black knight. He says you can't erect your pawns in the hallowed Chambers it must be by elections. We see the long hands of the emperor in this witch-hunt called CCT. Emperor Jaaaagaabaaaa it's enough na after all your entire family dey government. Baba etu omode yi lee joo. Agba iwa loja kori omo tuntun o wo o.

They may be powerful but also fallible cos they are not God. Bukky ride on you have our unalloyed loyalty. They were calculative but got the final answer wrong QED loba tan. And they're veeeery angry at you Bukky. Ko Olourun sho e o Bukky

BestAyo said...

Against the wish of everyone who fought for change. You are a lone ranger!