Top FIFA officials arrested in Zurich this morning for collecting bribe | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 May 2015

Top FIFA officials arrested in Zurich this morning for collecting bribe

As FIFA leaders gathered for a meeting in the 5-star Baur au Lac hotel in Zurich this morning May 27th, Swiss law enforcement officials arrived unannounced and arrested 7 of the highest-ranking football officials in the world, at the request of the US Department of Justice. Read full story below
Seven FIFA officials were arrested in dawn raids on charges of receiving millions of US dollars in bribes. A separate criminal investigation into the how the 2018 and 2022 World Cups were allocated was also launched by Swiss authorities.
Sepp Blatter faces Prince Ali bin al-Hussein in Friday's election as he seeks a fifth term as FIFA president.
Fifa, world football's governing body, has been dogged by allegations of corruption and wrongdoing in recent years.

The latest developments are another major blow, although Fifa communications director Walter De Gregorio insisted the organisation was continuing to reform.

"This is good for Fifa," he told a news conference following news of the arrests. "It hurts, it is not easy, but it confirms we are on the right track."

The seven Fifa officials were arrested after the US Department of Justice issued a 47-count indictment charging 14 defendants with racketeering, wire fraud and money laundering conspiracies in a 24-year scheme.
"The indictment alleges corruption that is rampant, systemic and deep-rooted," said New York attorney general Loretta Lynch.
"It spans at least two generations of soccer officials who, as alleged, have abused their positions of trust to acquire millions of dollars in bribes and kickbacks."
The charges allege:
  • Nine current or former Fifa officials, including Jeffrey Webb and former Fifa vice president Jack Warner, charged with corruption
  • Four individual and two corporate defendants - including former Concacaf general secretary Chuck Blazer and Warner's son Darayn plead guilty
  • Alleged scheme "fostered a culture of corruption and greed that created uneven playing field"
  • "Undisclosed and illegal payments, kickbacks and bribes became a way of doing business at Fifa" - US DOJ
  • Majority of scheme involved corruption over media and marketing rights to matches and tournaments 

Here Are the FIFA Officials Indicted on Corruption Charges of up to $100million

Jeffrey Webb: President of Concacaf, one of the six regional confederations that compose FIFA, and vice president of FIFA
Jack Warner: Former president of Concacaf and vice president of FIFA
Eugenio Figueredo: Former president of Conmebol, the South American federation, and outgoing FIFA vice president
Eduardo Li: President of Costa Rican federation, set to join FIFA executive committee this week
Julio Rocha: President of Nicaraguan association
Costas Takkas: Former president of Cayman Islands federation
Rafael Esquivel: President of Venezuelan association since 1988
José Maria Marin: Former president of Brazil’s federation
Nicolás Leoz: Former president of Conmebol and former member of FIFA executive committee
Alejandro Burzaco: Argentine sports media executive
Aaron Davidson: President of Traffic Sports USA — a promoter of soccer events — and chairman of the board of North American Soccer League
Hugo Jinkis: Soccer media executive
Mariano Jinkis: Soccer media executive
José Margulies: Charged as intermediary who facilitated illegal payments

What About Sepp Blatter?

Sepp Blatter, president of FIFA since 1998, was not charged, though the soccer officials who were indicted might present prosecutors with information that is damaging to Mr. Blatter. An election, seemingly pre-ordained to give Mr. Blatter a fifth term as president, is scheduled for Friday in Zurich. It will go on as planned, a FIFA spokesman said.

Source: BBC/New York Times

46 comments:

Am happy about that... No time for unnecessary cheating.

Ndia ndi na eri ego football....de don chop money so tay some don de resemble frog.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

I wish that can happen in nigeria

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

Good for Them
Funny tho

And election is on friday see dia faces

Corruption must not be allowed in any form whatsoever. #onelovefromsnow#

That never ending story, this could cost BLATTER his much coveted seat; but it is about time!

lami said...

FIFA and corruption again?

Serves them right!

Busted, upon all their salary

Hmmm that's good news

fidelgist said...

This is good news for football

I can't get passed level 30 on choco blocks
and the sh*t is pissing me off big time...need
clue from the choco masters here......

Good jobs

Wish this could happene in niger!

Nna I dey watch the news on CNN o! Na real wa! Linda take note!

Dat dude luks like Jackie Chan... Is he d one pls?
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *

We are all corrupt

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

See how fat they all look?

This is very embarrassing.

SYNDILOVE said...

Lmao odiegwu!

See as them fat full ground.... Criminals...

Lol when I don reach level hundred and sumtin....google the level ur finding diffcult, u'll be guided.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

I wish that can happen in nigeria

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

tani said...

what of Sepp Blattter

Its alright.

I knew things cant be that smooth, there must be underground ops

lols ur damn funny
Frog na understatement sef😁😁😜

Shame! Shame!! Shame!!! Wht a shame, and disgrace dat they spoilt their hard earned name, and career wit b corrupt.

Sepp Blatter want to contest fifth term as FIFA president. Wht nonsense is dis dat he wants to b in power by all means not wanting d younger generations to runn FIFA.

Then tell me hw reforms wil b in FIFA wit all dis old generation's ruling dis body. Biko let them b arrested including d current President.

I sent you a map on how to complete the level 30 on your IG. Check your msg and if you like snub me like you always do.@christie benjamin

While are their faces like this?

Please visit my blog Www.trendwithgloria.blogspot.com

JUST A UCH OF FAT PEOPLE WHO WANT TO GET FATTER

After USA lost 2022 bid they became very angry,as world sole superpower they want to win by all means.note: election is on Friday the made arrest today all the people arrested are sepp blatter associate.what concern us state dp

Lol....true.

Those of you whining that Nigeria should not surrender that drug dealer Senator-elect Kashamu because the US seeks extradition and we, quote unquote, should not allow Oyibo to push us around, take note of these arrests. The US does not play. They go after ANYONE ANYWHERE. And, they NEVER FORGET. 10 years, 20 years...Just when you think they have forgotten you, they pounce because all they have been doing is perfecting their case.
We need to understand some home truths such as that Nigeria is a signatory to the extradition treaty that gives both countries equal rights when citizens of either country commit crimes and think they can run back to their country and chill. Why is it okay for Nigeria to be a haven for criminals? Why? Have you ever seen a person, a family, or a community devastated by drugs? And, for what? So that some greedy idiot can live large, buy expensive cars, build mansions, etc.?? Nigeria needs to raise its standards of morality, ethics, and integrity.

Mimi12 said...

If it's Nigeria they would go free, bribery it's the other of the day

www.miimisdiary.com

Sepp Blatter should retire and give another person chance joor.

Very good!

No Sepp Blatter?

At the request of the US department of justice??? Who made them the WORLD LAW COURT..???? IS THIS THE NEW WORLD ORDER NONSENSE???

They should start with Blatter, he is the corruptor in chief. He prefers to die in power than in prison

Nice one....corrupt bastards..thou our leaders here in naija are more corrupt than them

Wetin this men wan use bribe do again??? Heeeee! Money no dey belleful ooo. See their face as ebiii likee ----------- *wink*

Tboy said...

I'm speechless!!!!