'Nigerian lover proposed after 6 months..then said he only wed me for a visa - Oyibo woman tells her story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 May 2015

'Nigerian lover proposed after 6 months..then said he only wed me for a visa - Oyibo woman tells her story

Oyibo woman Deana Charles said she was left humiliated when she found her Nigerian groom texting another woman just half an hour after their wedding. Then he admitted he only married her for a visa. Story as reported by The Sun UK. Read below...
Sales assistant Deana, from Tiverton, Devon, met Ben, 25, on a dating site in 2010. She was instantly attracted to his looks and was hooked after he struck up a flirty conversation with her. 
“My whole world came crashing down when I found out my marriage was a fake. I loved Ben with all my heart. We’d made loads of plans for the future and he seemed desperate to start a family
"I wasn’t serious about finding love, I’d only signed up for a bit of a laugh. As soon as I saw Ben’s picture, though, I was smitten. He had gorgeous brown eyes and a great body — just my type. We started chatting and he explained he’d come to the UK from Nigeria to study for a business degree. I couldn’t imagine being so far away from my family and friends and I told him he was really brave.”

Ben was persistent online and was keen to meet up as soon as possible. Deana was nervous at first but, three months after they started talking, she agreed to travel to London to meet him for a day of sightseeing. She continued:
“It was the perfect first date. Ben took me to see Big Ben and we went to the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich. As soon as we shared our first kiss I could feel myself falling for him.
He asked me to stay for a few days and I said yes. It felt like I’d known him for ages.”
Days turned into weeks and, after a fleeting visit home to pick up some belongings, Deana agreed to move in with Ben in Catford, South East London.
“I was surprised when he asked me to move in with him so soon but I was also really excited. But my mum was really concerned that I was giving up everything for someone I’d only just met.Some of my friends said the same. No one was completely sure of him. I just shrugged off their concerns because I was convinced he was the right man for me.”In August 2011, six months after they first met in person, Ben popped the question.
“Ben asked me to marry him while we were having breakfast at home. It wasn’t very romantic. He didn’t even get down on one knee, but he did buy me an imitation diamond ring. I was shocked he wanted to marry me so soon but I was completely in love.”
Though she’d dreamt of a big, romantic wedding, Ben was determined to wed as soon as possible. So Deana agreed to a register office wedding in January 2012, with a low-key reception at a local Chinese restaurant.
“My family were concerned but they all turned out and supported me. When I walked down the aisle Ben told me I looked stunning. And I meant every word of my vows.”After the ceremony, Deana urged Ben to call his family to tell them the good news.
“He was reluctant to get his phone out. He eventually agreed to call his mum but when I looked over his shoulder at the screen, a message flashed up from a girl. She’d texted Ben to tell him she loved and missed him. My legs turned to jelly as I remembered she was his ex-girlfriend in Nigeria. was in pieces but Ben begged me for another chance. He said he’d only text her because of last-minute nerves. I didn’t want to storm out of my wedding so, after lots of tears, I let it go.”
“I wanted to wait a few years before getting pregnant as I was still worried about the message. But Ben was determined to be a dad. I thought it was his way of showing he was serious. We tried for a baby but we struggled to conceive.”
13 months into their marriage, Deana borrowed Ben’s laptop and her worst fears were confirmed.
“My heart stopped when I saw he’d been sending messages to a girl on a social network site and she had sent him explicit pictures. Ben told her he loved her and wanted a baby with her.  Minutes later I received a message from the girl — she felt so guilty, she’d messaged me to come clean.”
 Devastated Deana confronted Ben.
“When he realised there was no way back, he told me he’d only married me for a visa. It explained why he’d been so keen to get me pregnant — the authorities would find it harder to deport him.”Disgusted Deana packed her bags, returned to Devon the next day and filed for divorce. After two years, Ben finally agreed to it. Deana says:

“I felt relieved. Looking back, I realise how naive I was. Ben was due to finish his degree when he proposed, which meant his student visa would expire. He had to get me up the aisle as soon as possible.”
 Deana, who has not spoken to Ben since their divorce and no longer knows where he lives, says:
“It took me a long time to trust another man but I have recently met someone and am trying to move on.”
 Ben says:
“My mate used to send me dirty pictures of girls he was seeing. I knew my wife would get jealous if she saw them on my phone so I got rid of them or sent them to my email. She must have checked my email that day and then found the pictures.”

122 comments:

Chris J said...

mtchewww

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Lmao....oh she didnt know wsup before abi?

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

Nigerian stunts

why nah brother, she's not so bad. Linda take note!

Is it not obvious?

Before nko, I don't even need to read her story. Dave

Lmao....love fire!...smart guy no dulling.

Lol we always use the fat ones. Lindaobserve

Ben IBU juu man....

Tough guy. Shit happens ma'am

Techrammer.com said...

That is the main reason a lot of guys marry the white girls now. So, it's not surprising.

Get the phone of your dreams at unbelievable discounts. Apple, Samsung, LG, Tecno, Infinix all included. Check it out.

Lol oga Ben diarisgodoo!
Dear you got served, Ben is not here for the body, he came for the VISA.

Another way to survive...lol

Is a pity, Guys re not smiling.

Oyibo think say dem wise...I swear Na dem stupid pass

See D's sharp guy

I dont care if the woman acted foolish or is too old for the Ben,this is wrong.This is why that anti lie bill in relationships should be passed into law asap.Alotta people are emotionally robbed in the name of luv.And yet we ask why crime of passion is also on the increase?

Lol imitation diamind ring is an insult to womanhood. She should have slapped him

But Naija men sef. Una nor dey tire to deceive woman? He shld thank God he didnt get a jail term or get deported. If it was Zambabwe? them for jail am bcos it is in their laws that u must not deceive a woman into marraige or pregnancy

Deedee said...

TOO LONG. WTF?????

Dis guy bad ooo.

The guy took advantage of the girl's naivity. I'm not surprised. Anyway is a way with a Naija brother.

LuckyGold said...

Hmmm Too bad!
WWW.SUPERBAZE.ML

Did u notice one thing that the lady said? She said when they were exchanging marital vows in the registry, she meant every word but our Naija brother didnt mean it. He may think he succeeded in deceiving someone but he should remember that there is repercaution. Somebody must do thesame to him or his children which might even be worse. That is life for you

She should consider her self lucky she didn't have a child for him.....
That would have been a constant reminder and she won't have been able to just pack her bags and leave

Ben is a liar. These foolish white girl will never learn. These Naija boys use them but they don't see it. Ben shame on you for making a mockery of the institution of marriage. Some naija girl would have married him and be condemning divorcees, but will tell you her own husband did not marry in the sight of God. :-D The Naija girls abroad with papers don't marry Naija guys without papers but these white girls stupidly leap before they look.

andre kelvin said...

Lol real nigro

She never chi chom chin!

These are the people that give Nigeria bad name abroad. No country trust Nigerians anymore because of 419 and deceit. Nigerians change. Work hard and stop being lazy by deceiving white pple.

0809naija for life.................Thats a Naija man for you

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

So na hu we won believe now man or the girl jst confused

Ben - Sorry Oh!! u have been named and shamed. Are you back home now? Because I dont see them allowing you to remain after this kin breeze wey don blow......

Hahahaaa...Badt sharp guy. We kno dats d trend for naija boys in the Uk. It's useless trying to put up an innocent front Ben...Ur guilty af

Madam sorry o!
That's naija guy for you.

pearls said...

Nija guyssssss... na wa ooooo

This na lie-lie story he no happen. Na forge.

Dude was almost successfull.....

Ete abassi hilarious mehnnnnn. Naija ooo * lab scientist*

Hmmmmm intrestin

John said...

Jibiti paali - fraudster in action.

Zaga!

Zaga!

What do you mean by oyibo woman? Pls write like an educated lady

uzor onwusa said...

wickedness in the world.

What does the white woman expect from the Nigeria guy before? A true love or wat? Make she park well. That serves her right.

The hustle is real

Ohhh...oyinbo woman you so silly to think he can love you for real with this your black bra strap under white dress on your wedding day... you are obviously not his type, do not deceive yourself again.

Smh

Ohhh...oyinbo woman you so silly to think he can love you for real with this your black bra strap under white dress on your wedding day... you are obviously not his type, do not deceive yourself again.

Smh

oloshi..omo ale jati jati..oniranu shey uv seen were ojukokoro has landed u..EDO guys r guilty of this scam mostly.

One chance.... I'm glad she's moved on though.

Visa wahala ,,,, God help us all

Hmmmmmmm

It's as if she dey live in another world and has never heard of Nija guys
... poor Oyinbo... pls dump him and someone sweet will come ur way. he is a lawless and conscience less soul. Vague and empty guys struttin around now whey will be shouting that women too dey live fake life... fake eyelash, fake boob, fake ass, fake lips, fake hair, fake intestine, fake kidney... "why can't women be natural for once" the truth is anyone who lives a life of lie to himself and a fellow human being is the one living a fake life not only those who do beauty enhancement... what will it cost u to tell the truth? can't still figure out how a grown up as a hole will be lying over unnecessary issue that stares the truth at u. Dey wan cane u? Men man-up in character and not just in ur wallet or penis.....

all scam! correct 9ja man no fit marry you naa

Hmmmmm, my Nigerian brothers be messing up since 1900

My legs turned to jelly as I remembered she was his ex-girlfriend in Nigeria

pele oyibo woman, na like that they de do o..

Mtchewww...both of 'em ain't serious

NIJIA BOYS AINT SMILING, DEY WANT VISA BY ALL MEANS....TOMJERRYSWIT

Sharp guy only he got caught

Dear white chick..u got it all wrong. U are very wild and adventurous. U have no glue wat love is. U fell for tall, dark ,handsome brown eyes. If u had lost some weight am sure ur dear Ben would hv found other reasons to stay. Still can't believe u wore a visible black bra on ur wedding. Next thing is for ur family nd friends to condemn every Nigerian man..or for UK immigration to increase their laws yet it is obvious u were the uncontrollable one. Whilst others saw reasons for u to slow down, ur wild side wudnt let u. And u hv met another man. Story go dey again as marriage doesn't mean a tin to u. Well Ben I hope say ur plan work(wateva it was).

Dear white chick..u got it all wrong. U are very wild and adventurous. U have no clue wat love is. U fell for tall, dark ,handsome brown eyes. If u had lost some weight am sure ur dear Ben would hv found other reasons to stay. Still can't believe u wore a visible black bra on ur wedding. Next thing is for ur family nd friends to condemn every Nigerian man..or for UK immigration to increase their laws yet it is obvious u were the uncontrollable one. Whilst others saw reasons for u to slow down, ur wild side wudnt let u. And u hv met another man. Story go dey again as marriage doesn't mean a tin to u. Well Ben I hope say ur plan work(wateva it was).

Nigerian men stay marrying oyibo for papers since 1930.

Eeeya, such a sad tale. Naija pls u can do better

commy said...

nija and men fake life too bad

Folamimi said...

Lol some people are bastards eh? Poor girl

U for try package ur appearance wit small sexiness maybe dat would have kept him attraced to u deana.

Greedy Man!!

Ok so he should not have lied but dear girl..you thought you had a chance with a fairly normal looking guy? I think Nigerian men who marry under deception are evil and are prostitutes as such. But I fail to understand the logic of white women who would only ever find a nerd geek unattractive type as a white guy.. why do they then think a young good looking black man would be interested. Girls the guy from Africa isn't blind. And sister you need a makeover!

hehehehehehe...caught in the act

Maga don pay. Or should i say Maga almost paid.

SHE SHOULD HAVE KNOWN THAT B4

talk2frankky said...

Ben is that you ?

Visa wahala..God help us oo

I will urge all to be careful before you pass judgment. That is only one side of the story.Making the young look bad is not fair. There are two people in a marriage. The Young should be given an opportunity to tell his side of story.
Visa is not everything. It takes a lot of hard work for marriage to succeed. What part did she play for the marriage to breakdown.
All she is doing now is fueling hate to support the Government to see that all marriages between couples from different ethnic background to scrutinized
If she really loves him she will not flash his pictures all over the web.

I will urge all to be careful before you pass judgment. That is only one side of the story.Making the young look bad is not fair. There are two people in a marriage. The Young should be given an opportunity to tell his side of story.
Visa is not everything. It takes a lot of hard work for marriage to succeed. What part did she play for the marriage to breakdown.
All she is doing now is fueling hate to support the Government to see that all marriages between couples from different ethnic background to scrutinized
If she really loves him she will not flash his pictures all over the web.

In all their stupidity theyre still wiser dn u black people. Being cunny and deceitful to get what u want is not wisdom. To a black man he thinks this behaviour is smart, to a white man he thinks hes deceitful. Doing the right thing and working hard for yourself, your industry and your country is what a white man considers smart. Change your mentality.

How come all the white chicks dese naija men scam are usually fat and ugly. I have neva seen dem scam a fine slim white chick. Madam white chick, you are a thief, you fell in love with tall dark and handsome. Why didn't u fall for fat ugly guy. You think dis guy is blind? on ur wedding day u wear dis ugly dress with bra strap showing. Which man doesn't want a beautiful bride. You are just a thief looking for fine guy.You think dis guy is blind,why wont he chat with anoda girl on ur wedding day, see what you look like. loose some weight, dress well. You look 45 and not 25.

Shawty say she come for the body ooo but ben come for the visa ooo...

bomi said...

This is they go about disgracing the nation of Nigeria just selfish interest not knowing it's a matter of throwing stones in the market square, it may hit a member of one's household too...
May God have mercy on u, idiot...

ASAMPOKOTO said...

God bless you anon 3:40. Wow! Bless you

ASAMPOKOTO said...

It's too sad

ASAMPOKOTO said...

How is she a maga because a lot of NIgerians are fraudulent and deceitful. Smh

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Karma is a bitch. They always forget

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Shows your mental IQ Stupid

i'm pretty damn sure the mofo is an Igbo boy!!!! always soiling our integrity!!!!!!!!!!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Cus honestly hot british girls barely look their way. Almost never actually

Na today?

Lmaooooooooooooo I am Nigerian with American citizenship and a Nigerian guy I met in college married me for papers but I did not help him. My story is like this girls story. My husband is Edo too. We married in a registry. However I am not helping him to get his green card. Although he claims to love me. I don't trust him one bit.

Are u this stupid imagine ur useless comment. She is not so bad hungry looking fellow looking for linda's give away

Na wao!!!... Ifeneme happen o!

even if he just wanted dokuments, why not find the one he can really love n make nice family? why need to cheat? one good day it will return to him...

Sincerity is not stupidity pls
I really laughed at imitation diamond ring. So sorry for her

That is why they don't trust Nigeria here...all kinds of crime. Giving the Nigeria and her citizens a bad name.

o boy i wouldnt do dat actually. wowwwww that stunned me.

Stupid man I hate dis guy

She does that a lot, makes me wonder if she's racist.

<< LIB Addict >>

This shit abt nigerians have been affecting us,internet marketers for long now. Payment gateways consider us fraudulent, messed up and too ambitious that they v shut us out!!!
I can't receive my hardearned money online because paypal,alertpay and the likes detest nigerians for their deception.......and you mutherfuckers are calling us SMARTER...?

FUCK IT!!!

Wow! Nice, and lovely story. I really enjoyed taking my time to read d story line by line.

Thumbs up, and more power to d composer of dis story.

BEN BET WHHHHHHHHHHHHHHY....

Mrs Power aka MP said...

Royal idi very funny

those lil things that make up whats wrong with the world

LoL!!!

BEN BET WHHHHHHHHHHHHHHY....

hammer said...

Anyone making this an issue peculiar to just Nigerians and calling Nigerians awful names is just ignorant, stupid or being covertly racist. People from all over the world marry for papers in order to get jobs in a foreign country. Mexicans, Russians, Arabs, Indian etc. also do this for survival. People just love to bad mouth Nigerians for fun whereas other nationalities are just as guilty of this vice. A lot of Nigerians get married to foreigners for the right reasons, plus foreigners also marry immigrants for selfish reasons so they're not always innocent victims, life is give and take. Ben isn't a criminal, he's a young immigrant in a harsh foreign country looking for a way to survive, you're not in his shoes so stop throwing stones at him.

Better girl with sense.

Bitch yorubas n edos do dat too anuofia

Preach

Abeg Ben I give you hand lol. These oyimbo girls never learn. Move in after few weeks? If not be naija guy, oyimbo guy for show am. Sometimes they are so stupid for love. Too much tv. Wake up girls! You make all women look stupid!

Oyinbo woman ur white men r worse cheaters so shut up n look deep before u leap

There a plenty of us Nigerian men married to our white wives because of love. I love my white Eastern European wife of 16 years. There are plenty of Nigerian men who use Nigerian women and marry them for all kinds of reasons but do not love them. Stop stereotyping mixed marriages.

You wicked racist. My Nigerian father married my white Hungarian mother from true love. They have been together for 21 years. Racists like you marry people just from insecurity and hatred towards people from different backgrounds. Seek God's forgiveness.

Pleezz. I know plenty of good Nigerian men married to white ladies because of love. These are long happy marriages. On the other hand I know lots of Nigerian men marry Nigerian women just for paper or for all kinds of dodgy reasons and no love involved. I for record love my white Slovakian wife of 12 years.

There are plenty of Nigerian men who love their white wife. I am a Nigerian Igbo man and I love and respect my white wife. We have been together for 15 years, married for 11 years. There are numerous couples from same culture who are together for suspicious reasons but no love whatsoever. Stop your hate.

Quit lying racist. David Oyelowo wife Jessica is fine Bacary wife Ludivine is gorgeous. I see beautiful oyibo women with Naija guys everyday.

Dudu woman you are stupid and racist. I am Nigerian married to white lady out of love. Personally I know plenty of Nigerian men married to Nigerian men and those men do not love them a bit. It is just for show. They have black and white women on the side and Naija wifes tolerate it.

I am Nigerian man and I married my white Czech wife of 9 years because I love her. I had papers before we met. I know Nigerian men who married Nigerian women with papers for papers only and after dumped them. Some married white ladies afterwards for love.

I am a Nigerian man and I married my white, Czech wife of 9 years because I love her. I had papers before I met her. I know Nigerian men who married Nigerian women for papers only and dumped them afterwards.

Yes Ore Odubas white wife is stunning.