LIB reader says he witnessed a disabled man being harassed by Road Safety officials (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 May 2015

LIB reader says he witnessed a disabled man being harassed by Road Safety officials (photos)

A LIB reader said he was heading home with a friend on Sunday when he spotted a physically challenged man being harassed by Road Safety officials close to Headsbridge in Onitsha. He said they stopped to intervene. He said the disabled man was a Keke Napep driver and when they asked him what he had done, the man said the Road Safety men were asking him questions like where did he get the cartons he was carrying and also asked for his fire extinguisher amongst other questions he felt didn't make sense after he had already shown them his driver's license. So they asked for his key which he refused to give to them and they proceeded to assault him. See more photos after the cut...

76 comments:

What injustice...

Which kind wicked people full nigerian force self...this is so not fair...

Hmm *nocomment* lindaobserve

A disabled man kaii dis is so unfair serzly

angelite said...

God have mercy on them

omalichaspeaks.com said...

Pure wickedness. Any chance he got their names or badge number.......these lot need to be sanctioned. Harassing a poor dude who's trying to make a living for himself. Would they rather he was begging??? Umu ekwensu!!!

***I got to the office quite early this morning and one of my staff strolled in almost two hours after resumption time. I was kinda worried and tried ringing her before she got to the office but her phone was switched off. I asked what happened and her story went thus...
On her way home from the office last night, few minutes from her house she noticed a woman with a little girl of about three years old. She said the lady was carrying a 'Ghana-must go' bag on her head holding a smaller one in her hand and equally holding the little girl who was also carrying a small bag.

In her compassionate nature she decided to help the lady as they were about crossing to the other side of the road. She held the little girl, took her bag from her and they all crossed the road. Less than three minutes later she looked behind her ........click my name to read more.

Chei!....Nigeria my Nigeria ....will dere Eva b change?

Eagle Eyes Media said...

It's only in Nigeria where a disabled person is allowed to drive a conventional vehicle.

Are they blind for christ sake, cant they see that this man is disabled...... God which kind country bdis wey human derive joy in putting fellow human beings in pain abeg..... God punish those fools....

OMG! This is so unfair, this is so inhuman.
What happened to our humanity, is it the job of FRSC to check content of a car or tricycle.
I really felt for the disabled man.

Na Waooo when dey re supposed to react to situations dey wont.

This is so unfair... Why are Nigerian so called force men this wicked... And we wonder why Nigeria is in constant reverse. May GOD forgive us all.

This is wickedness o, God is watching! #onelovefromsnow#

Haywhizzle said...

What!!!! Such cowards

Since when did Road Safety officials become Policemen? It's a real shame that we have a lot of Armed Robbers in Uniforms exploiting people daily all over the Country.

Jay said...

The issues in Nigeria are just too much, which do we address first? Government? Lastma, police? now road safety??? God help us o!

What would they want apart from a license from this pitious man? Stupid overzealous morons.

That's the order of the day in Nigeria, everybody in power especially law enforcement agencies and officials haras innocent Nigerians.

God is Watching. #Lobatan

being disabled doesn't mean you should not apply safety rules in what you do, but the FRSC should have use their own senses in this situation.

This is injustice

Alma said...

It only happens in Nigeria

being disabled doesn't mean you should not apply safety rules in what you do, but the FRSC should have use their own senses in this situation.

sadebunmi said...

Have had an experience with FRSC officials before too. I was 8month pregnant while driving to clinic. They stopped me and ask for licence an all. When they saw everything the guy asked me to bring my extra tyre. He pressed it and said it was deflated. I had to beg that I neva noticed and was hurrying to clinic to see my gynecologist on appointment. He just tore their so called voucher and ticked no extra tyre. Seized my license and told me to go and pay 2k at d bank. Things went rough that day. Was in tears and had no help. On badagry express way. Till today anytime I pass I remembered d office. I mastered his name sef cos i eventually missed my appointment.

I wasn't there n these people r nt worthy of support but I don't believe that's d complete story. He may hv done sth. Only justice will prevail

Smh.. this is totally completely not fair,

Wicked pple everywhere...........Injustice bn melted out on civilians daily

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

This violates all kinds of human rights. Someone help this man, someone help. How can we help? My heart hurts just looking at this.

How inhuman. How can you assault a person who can't defend himself? Seriously, who does that?

SDK latest commenter said...

Linda I jux showed my dad dis,he said he nid dia names can u pls ask d sender to gv u dia names pls..........dis is injustice of d highest order jux d officers names pls#Linda'sgal

Dis is wht I call d height of insensitivity, and senselessness. Wht a. Shame.

Not fair....but then nobody really know
the true story.

Please there can be more to this than the picture speak. Dnt let us be hasty in judgement. However if he was truly harassed then I totally condemn such inhuman act.
Help urself cos no one will help u, what u dnt pursue u cant have!! Use this miracle diet coffee and Lose 7kg or more in two weeks without stress.its specially made to curb ur appetite so thats why u can lose ur 7kg or more easily.u are expected to stay off exercise till u complete ur programme.its so easy as it sounds and its suitable for 18 to 60 agegroup.join the team of our happy customers.see page@beebeeltd for testimonials or call 08096510696.if u really really wanna lose that weight.then there's no better time.limited stock available.we deliver worldwide . We sell body shapers buttlifters and sexy lingerie, arm and waist shapers

Can you see how people bring curses upon themselves? A disabled? Why punish him for crying out loud?They should have just ignored him since he was physically deformed! Upon say this one's dem go school!!!

nawooo

SMH...TOMJERRYSWIT

The Therapist said...

It's in the DNA

This is so unfair..

Please visit my blog Www.trendwithgloria.blogspot.com

What is happening in dis country??? Na wa o! Linda take note!

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

God will help all these law enforcement agents.

Flexydoro said...

This is obviously a propaganda. Image don't lie. Please were is the harassment in this picture?

Exactly my question oooo

Hey, I hope you know that not all disabled have good hearts? Some are very evil, some are even kingpins of robbers. So do not be quick to judge.

This is a blatant abuse of power, based on power designation, what is the business of the Road Safety with the whereabouts of the cartons, isn't the primary duty safety of the road, Why all this?

richbee said...

hello Grace,even if we arent sure of the complete story but we see how some officers in advance countries still act polite no matter ur offence unless u try to pull a stunt and they retaliate with force...physically challenged people have no place in nigeria dictionary...you don't harass the citizens no matter the offence...there is due process to be taken

People seem to forget that even disabled people can be dangerous and wicked. Aren't they human beings? They keep saying don't treat them as disabled and now you are calling the road safety guys wicked. Look at that guy's face, he doesn't see himself as disabled. He looks so belligerent lol

Dude looks like a trouble maker tho...Why take off your shirt?

Wateva for?!

JP said...

GOD IS WATCHING

Nawa

Bunch of goons

Now that he didnt sit by d road side to beg,they wont leave him alone to hustle. Wicked useless people

Carole said...

Onitsha is hell on earth. What happened to the disabled man in onitsha is no surprise; people, particularly strangers are harrassed in broad day light and nothing happens. Some colleagues of mine and I were so harrassed there that we have this "thing" for people from there.

Carole said...

Onitsha is hell on earth. What happened to the disabled man in onitsha is no surprise; people, particularly strangers are harrassed in broad day light and nothing happens. Some colleagues of mine and I were so harrassed there that we have this "thing" for people from there.

wicked and in human. No wonder individuals prefer to crush them rather than stop for a stupid inspection.

This is unfair

Such acts are found prevalent in Nigeria. God help us Nigerians

Pure wickedness.

Are you saying it is wrong for keke to have fire extinguisher or they should let him break the law because he is disabled? Is it not in his interest and that of others that he has an extinguisher to tackle a fire if it occurs?

I am not saying he is a criminal but we've seen cases in the past where armed robbers use disabled men to hide or transport their guns because security operatives don't pay as much attention to them so if the cartons are a concern, a search will resolve the issue (though I'm not sure that is within their jurisdiction).

Again let officials be fair in their dealings with citizens and not abuse their office.

in developed countries disabled people are not only protected from harassment but are also given preferential treatment.

Sum disabled dudes can b vry arrogant ooooo finking dey are above d law cos of dia condition, I witnessed one in sapele were sum group of disabled men held traffic for close to 1hr one was even tryin to disarm a soja in d check point, d soja man was just laffing , so guys don't b quick to judge, I believe those men whould ve had it up to d brim b4 dey reacted d way dey did, picture can't really tell if he was mistreated, video whould ve done d trick. N remember dia are always a tu face to any story so don't b hasty to cast ur blame

@Dr Odama,in first world countries,disabled/physically challenged pple drive very well.If u doubt me,watch "little people big world" on TLC channel.You will be amazed.
Physically challeneged can and do drive.The only tin is that they have the vehicle customized like this man who is been harassed has it done for him.Michael.

Help me tell them.

In as much as I pity this disabled driver; he broke the law by not having his fire extinguisher. God forbid , if this second hand keke catches and kills him; people will ask why didn't he have the fire extinguisher and FRSC will be blamed for failing their duty.
By law , the disabled guy is not worthy to drive the keke. They should ceased the keke temporarily until he buys the fire extinguisher and then collect his keke.

Shito said...

As much I comdemn the assult because there are more civilised way to handle situations, however, there may be more to this picture and story. If the disabled man had commited a crime or an offence then he should responsible for his action. Disability is not a justification for wrong doing. Let us learn to do right at all times, that is the only way we can progress as a people.

Those road safety people r very dumb. All they know is to harrass innocent people for their own benefit. This man is handicap and he is trying to make life for himself and his family instead of being on d street begging for money. That is a shame that d road safety people don't have that kind of brain.

Betty said...

They couldn't pick on someone their own size, they decided to vent their frustration on this man?

Are you mad???

Na wa oh!

Dis is so unfair, dis are De pple DAT are ment to protect us.

Haba! This is so wrong....

I GREW UP IN ONITSHA, AND I AM A BUSINESS MAN IN ONITSHA THE DISABLED MAN IS CALLED HONDA BY NAME AND IS A NOTORIOUS RETAILER OF INDIAN HEMP AROUND THE ONITSHA STADIUM, PLEASE DO NOT BE QUICK TO JUDGE THE FRSC.

LINDA IKEJI OWES IT TO ALL THE READERS TO ALSO INVESTIGATE SOME OF THIS ACCUSATIONS OF PEOPLE AND LET HER READERS KNOW THE TRUTH, THAT IS INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM.

LETS NOT FORGET THAT ITS THIS SAME PEOPLE WHO ARE ALWAYS ON THE ROAD ESPECIALLY DURING FESTIVE PERIODS, CHRISTMAS, NEW YEAR, EASTER AND SALLAH, HOW MANY TIMES HAVE WE COMMENDED THEM, LETS GET THE TRUE STORY BEFORE JUDGEMENT. THAT IS MY OWN

THIS ARE THE PEOPLE (FRSC) WHO DO THE WORK WE WILL NATURALLY NOT WANT TO DO, RESCUE ACCIDENT VICTIMS, AND TAKE THE DEAD TO THE MORTUARY, HOW MANY NIGERIANS STOP AT AN ACCIDENT SITE TO GIVE HELP, YET WE ARE QUICK TO JUDGE THOSE WHO ARE ALWAYS THERE FOR US, ITS A PITY UNTIL I HEAR THE FULL STORY THERE IS NOTHING TO BE SAID.