Heat wave in India kills over 500 people | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 May 2015

Heat wave in India kills over 500 people

Soaring temperatures have gripped parts of southern and northern India in an extreme heat wave which has killed more than 500 people and looks set to continue this week, officials said on Monday.

The hottest place in India was Allahabad, a city in the northern state of Uttar Pradesh, which saw mercury rise to 47.7 degrees Celsius (117.8 Fahrenheit) on Sunday, while the capital Delhi recorded a high of 43.5C (110.3F).

Most of the 539 recorded deaths have been of construction workers, the elderly or the homeless in the southern states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, said officials, but some deaths have also occurred in Uttar Pradesh, Odisha and West Bengal.
The Indian Meteorological Department has issued a red warning to affected regions saying that the heat wave conditions are likely to continue over coming days.
Director of Andhra Pradesh's Disaster Management Department K. Dhananjaya Reddy said 325 people had died of sunstroke or dehydration in the state in the last three days.

"We are advising people not to go to work between 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.," said Reddy. "We have also opened centers in different places specially in urban areas for the distribution of water and butter milk."
The government has canceled the leave of all doctors as hospitals were being flooded with cases of heat-stroke, he said, adding that compensation of 100,000 rupees ($1,575) will be given to families of people who had died.

While in the neighboring state of Telangana, where 204 people have died, officials have advised people to stay indoors during peak afternoon hours, drink plenty of fluids and wear loose clothing.

Taxi drivers in Kolkata - capital of West Bengal state where four deaths have been reported - refused to work between 11 a.m. and 4 p.m. after two cabbies died in their cars last week.

Reuters

47 comments:

Sad, rip

Really tragic. Lindaobserve

Chaiii, God save us

Hian! There's nothing that wouldn't result in a big natural disaster in this world.
May the souls of the dead rest in peace.

Their country is soo freaking hot and smelling, thats why you see them all over the world.

This is terrible oo. Let's pray for the world. Do this and it shall be well with you. Gal 6:10

May Jah save us all😂

That's unfortunate......Rest in peace to the
dead.

may d souls of d departed RIP
AMEN

Wow so sad India again terrible things are really happening india.

Download Movie: The Mirror Boy (Nollywood English Movie)

prettiyz said...

Oh my God,Nigeria may not be balanced but we r lucky when it comes to flood,earthquake,heat wave etc

Too bad

OKORO UPGRADED

Bado said...

This is like the temperature range in Doha and we still dey chill. Or dey wan try Kuwait wey dey enter 50 degrees?

Eya

Mehn... and we're complaining.

Dear Lord, dis is why despite everything dat is happening in Nigeria, I still bless God 4 dis country becoz we don't experience all these natural disasters, RIP 2 the dead, so sad!

OMG!!!!
God have mercy

Paris said...

I pray God visits them

May der RIP

Suzielicious said...

Which kind heat be dis? Ha! It is well o!

God pls save us frm untimely deaths, and tragic accidents.

Innocentia Annie said...

It's quiet a pity
RIP to the dead

Aya.... Too bad

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

God help them o, thank God 4 naija..

Prinnie said...

Hmmm.this is surprising.here in North Cyprus last year,it got up to 52 degrees Celsius in late June and nothing happened.how come its less than 50 there and people are dying?? May their souls r.i.p. God help us ooo

May God help them. All these natural disaster are not peculiar to Africans. We should grateful to God. But we want to destroy ourselves with terrorism. We also need God's help.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Na to dey sleep inside deep freezer be that o

Terrible.

lami said...

Na wao, God have mercy on us.

OMG!!!!

Nigeria is indeed a blessed country!

Sad!
Thank God that our country doesn't experience all this natural disaster.

Bcos they're populated, they're over a billion just like China and that's why it contributed to that

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Rip

Naija is so blessed, we don't experience natural disasters, rather we inflict man made disasters on ourselves. May the bereaved be consoled

Sad.

Check out how Toyota Nigeria painted Lagos red at www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com.

Ayobami said...

Awww. Sad

God save us all.

God help us

God pls save us frm untimely death, and enemies dat live around us.

I dey tell u.. Fuel scarcity better pass dis one o... Warning to trekkers

Hmmmmmmm may the souls of all the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in perfect peace amen.
But come to think of it,niaja people na correct and over blessed people. So just a temperature of 47.7*c and 43.5*c dey make them die anyhow like 'broilers' while sokoto temperature here dey reach 48*c and 45*c and yet we still dey parole despite the fuel scarcity we still dey trek from Lagos to Abuja to salute our leaders.....niaja people am soo proud of u all especially my fellow northerners una too much......na correct old layers una be........nothing do una

God help them

Alorlondon said...

Is that the same reason you see nigerians and chinese all over the world as well? Ode. Mumu like you.

RIP. Nigeria is so lucky

Wow and we complain of a little sun over here. It is true what the proverb says.....

blossom said...

when I heard dis I keep thanking God Nigeria , despite all God is stil with us. R.I.P TO THE LOST, SO SAD