We can’t pay workers full salaries - Kogi state government | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 March 2015

We can’t pay workers full salaries - Kogi state government

The Kogi State government has said that only six of its 21 local government councils can pay 50/60 per cent of workers salaries. The Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Mr Abubakar Ainoko, said this in Lokoja. He blamed the situation on the shortfall of N416m in the allocation to the councils from the Federation Account for February. Ainoko listed councils involved as Lokoja, Okene, Ofu, Ibaji, Adavi and Okehi.
“The remaining workers in 15 local government councils will receive between 30 per cent and 40 per cent salaries in February. Workers receiving 50/80 per cent since Oct. 2014 when the ministry took over the payment of local government workers’ salaries will have to make do with the situation’’, he added.
He called on the workers’ to be understanding and not to allow the situation to demoralise them. He expressed the hope that the situation would change for better soon. He also appealed to the leadership of the local government councils to pay more attention to internally generated revenue. President of the National Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE), Mr Tom Abutu, described the development as sad. He contended that the more than 25,000 local government workers in the state would be going into the coming general elections on empty stomachs. He wondered why local government workers in the state were the only ones that had been on percentage salaries for more than two years.

(NAN)

83 comments:

Hmmmm #bright bravo# 7EFA4A13

SUE JORDAN said...

lol....these guys are jokers...

RedCherries said...

Are u for real? Please visit joyobidike.blogspot.com and share your thoughts, thanks!

Hw can one build a family in this trying tyms abeg.....

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

Ur bizness tho. But karma will catch u and T.A
Orji. But my bizness is dt I will catch a grenade for GEJ

Why will you have enough money
When you and your predecessor has finish embezzling you allocation
Mtcheeww

with Buhari as president everything good is possible.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

That lokoja is a dead state..no pun intended tho..nawa oooo

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

N EFCC CAUGHT EX GOVT MAN WIT MILLIONS ...CN U IMAGINE D MINDSET OF PPLE??TOMJERRYSWIT

Mismanagement and putting d blame on allocation. Wht a shame and wht d heck wit those raising of two fingers... Our politicians wit their delivish allegiance. God help them.

nonsense. they have embezzled the money for election... no excuse

meenah_wakil on instagram

I wan become governor now them don vote u, u can't be innovative

Vote no fight

And PDP E rats have been on Aregbesola's case since this week.

9ja has a serious problem. How can someone work for you and u don't wanna pay in full. Not fair at all.

why ni? pls pay oooo.,I need de full payment for mama's drugs. #sobbing#
Linda take note whilst u Observe!!!

Paul Ofou said...

Abegi dey should all shut up and look at how to generate their own source of internal state revenues joor the days of spoon feeding from the federation accounts are over.. Get creative and start working.

Naija I hail thee

7F098C19 said...

Nawa. Civil servants. God help my dear country. Engr Emy

But the governor will receive his salary intact Abi?The poor citizens are always the ones bearing the brunt of govts sins

What rubbish! Please they should pay all the workers their 100% salary

Is he kiddin?

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

That is very inhuman from Kogi govt. meanwhile the politicians will still receive their full pay and you are denying low income earners their full salary.
That is one major flaw of PDP led government. Very bad.

Wish to learn step by step how to design simple website, visit www.prislaw.com

VERuLE says-gud to kn.

Nonsense talk and his own salary as the governor nko? This is sheer wickedness. Linda take note!

Nah wah some government workers are really suffering o.

C.Jerry said...

What bullshit are these people saying?? Workers had better work for 30% of the month too. #Rubbish

Strange

We Cannot always Rely on Crumbs from the FG. Let's Devolve Power to the Federating Units.

while the kogi state governors son is in brighton uk paying over 50,000 pounds on parties.. theres God ooo

thankgodshakes said...

This is heartlessness on the part of our leaders, please let them protest. it's wrong! A labourer deserves his wages.

He should direct the question to d appropriate persons na.

Not fair!! You'll cut their meager salary again? Its scary how bad and pathetic the situation is in Nigeria.

Story for the gods d ones wey dem get wat happend to it
Embezzle funds and pitch blames on anoda one
Stupid ppl

....SƖεεkz

But himself and the local government chairmen will receive full pay and Allowances...life

But Mr ainoko did not tell us if this will be affecting his own salary too?? I thought Benue state government is wicked, but kogi is worst. Absent governor, dull administration ever. #Felt pained for the poor victims

This man no serious oooo

t baby said...

wrong.., this is very wrong... how can they do this? al in d name of campaign. smh. I weep 4 dis country. ..

t baby said...

I am damn sure the governor got his complete salary... smh

t baby said...

GOD go purnish all of una

Una no dey shame to talk am?!

God help dem

Romeo said...

That's incredible! It is obvious that less than 30% of the states control by the ruling party (PDP) are leaving to expectation, others are clueless. It is Sad and politicians are enriching them self to the detriment of the masses. We need to put part sentiment apart if this country must move up. We should learn to vote out non performing political office holder at all levels. May God give us the will and right to vote the right candidate come March 28 and April 11.

It's election of course and a major time for looting spree. It's a crime to owe workers! !!
...Mama J...

charles ems said...

God bless nigeria!

Abeg make all the government too collect 30/40%. Abi?
What is so good for the goose, good for gander ke!

How much be the salary when then go still de collect in bit. Na wa oh

Truly has the state defaulted in paying the governor's salary and allowances?How comes that he is impoverishing others?The political class is unrepentantly mean

Which way my country ?

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Pay on delivery available in Lagos. Delivery available Nationwide.

Where is that man that said Jona will score 70% in Kogi? 20% is not even possible

Which guys

Deola smart adeyemi is a senetors daughter from kogi state and she is busy buying Royle Royce for Malivelyhood and buy millions of naira mobile phone , God will punish all of you in that kogi state including the so called governor

Their own is even better in Benue the situation is worst we ve been paid half salaries since August n state C/ servant are not paid for 5 month now. Gov Suswam is biz spending money for his senate campaign while we re dying of hunger. GEJ should forget Benue we re embracing change at all level. Sai Buhari.

So, this thief is blaming the federal govt abi? So, will he receive 30percent of his own salary also? All of u are syphoning funds knowing u aren't coming back after May 29th.

What nonsense is this...

the salary is reduce by what %

the governor salary is reduce by what %,nierian be wise.

Typical of PDP led government. While APC-led states are working and devising means to generate money independently, all PDP states do is wait on government allocations

Raise of two fingers? Now I see what u fall for. Can't be surprised of ur comments henceforth

Mosiwomeka said...

But they can receive their own full salaries???
Plus the governor is always not at home. Always outside the country. Smh.......

A child on a farm sees a plane & dreams of flying. But d pilot sees d farmhouse & dreams of returning home. That's life!! Enjoy yours
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

Mosiwomeka said...

Azin ehn

Mosiwomeka said...

Gbam

Mosiwomeka said...

Exactly what I'm saying

Mosiwomeka said...

There is God my dear

Mosiwomeka said...

Abi

Mosiwomeka said...

True!!!! Absent governor

Kogi state sucks dey are just too backward. Am a corper serving in Kogi state and I know how dey enslave corpers here witout any dime as state alowee

God go punish dat ur dirty mouth. Are we here 2 campaign 4 any bastard? Pple are suffering ur ar here talkin abt buhari. May God punish both Buhari nd GEJ. Dey dont hav gud plan 4 d nation

May God punish dem all

U ar ryt. We av Ajaokuta Tin plant nd Dangote Cement in dat 4kin state nd my pple ar still suffering, I cry. Linda takenote

D governor has health issues tho(he's a Mad man) he's supposed 2 be in Yaba left or ARO

May thunder fire his left ball

Kogi is d worst state in Nigeria. D state government treats pple lyk slave

Hw I wish TV stations show hw pple live in poverty in Kogi

I cry