Photo: EFCC Arraigns Man for $127,000 Scam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 March 2015

Photo: EFCC Arraigns Man for $127,000 Scam

Find the EFCC press statement below...
A suspected fraudster, Emeofa Michael Ikechukwu (Alias Michael Briggs) was on March 10, 2015 docked before Justice H.A Nganjiwa of the Federal High Court Port Harcourt, Rivers State by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on a 9-count charge bordering on personation, forgery and obtaining money by false pretence to the tune of more than $127,457. 
The accused person allegedly obtained the sum from his Swiss girlfriend whom he tricked into investing in a non- existent timber business.
Ikechukwu allegedly met his victim on a dating site in February 2013 and struck a relationship that blossomed into promise of marriage. “Michael Briggs”, introduced himself to his victim as a timber tycoon who was in Nigeria to close a business deal. He later informed her that he was having some difficulties with Nigerian officials and requested for loan from her.

He later sent various scam documents to her, offering her partnership in his timber business in Nigeria. By the time she realised that she was dealing with a trickster, she had lost over $100,000 to the accused.

One of the count reads: “That you Emeofa Michael Ikechukwu (Alias Michael Briggs) sometime in April , 2013, in Port Harcourt and within the jurisdiction of this Honourable court with intend to defraud, did obtain the sum of $77,003.95 (seventy seven thousand, three dollar ninety five cents) from one Hengameh Misepasi and which you purportedly claimed to be a business partner dealing with timber which pretext you knew to be false and thereby committed an offence contrary to Section 1 (1) (b) of the Advance Fee Fraud and Other Fraud Related Offences Act 2006 and punishable under section 1 (3) of the same Act”.

The accused person pleaded to guilty to the charges. In view of the plea of the accused, the prosecuting counsel Sadiq Hussain applied for a date for trial . The judge remanded the accused in prison and adjourned the case to May 16, 2015 for hearing of bail application.

73 comments:

NINE DAYS FOR THE THIEF.GOD D LAW HAS CAUGHT UP WIT U...TOMJERRYSWIT

Well, isi onye ocha daa....erie ya mugu. Sorry de caught u

STARRY LARRY said...

Can this thing end in Nigeria?

Niger! na their way!

Wawuu! Whooping 127million dollars. Nna na you biko.

I'm sure we won't hear the ending, efcc cases are season films, u don't finish it... OBSEQUIOUS

Chai! Such a huge amount.. Ok seen sha

StillDatSame2015Dude

linda darling its not $127million but thousand ooo..
luv ur smiles linda...it always turns me ON.hehe

The guy for dey groove nw i swear..

Sorry man. The rule of d game issss. 'never be caught'

Linda oooo. Abeg check your headline o. U sure it's $127m.

Ikechukwu.......Ikechukwu......127M ..............U shal get mind sha...

$127k not million linda ikeji ahn ahn cant you read?

How nice.

No one likes dishonest men

Giving the Straight Guy the Gay View

abeg if d oyinbo pple sef dey form mugu na their wahala be that o. person fit ask you to bring that kain money for them

Efcc shld focus their attention 2wards corrupt politicians nd leave hustling guys alone

Daniel said...

Choi!!! bros u get morale ooo...lol

Guy you get mind o! The hustle is so real. But EFCC sef na all this yahoo boys dem go dey pursue up & down. Dey should go after the real thieves jare! Linda take note!

Interesting...
I hope they catch big fries at least they r starting some where. Thumbs up to them and more power to their elbows.

Guy you get mind o! The hustle is so real. But EFCC sef na all this yahoo boys dem go dey pursue up & down. Dey should go after the real thieves jare! Linda take note!

Hmmmmmm it appears as if EFCC isn't doing enough....what about Dare Majekodunmi in Johannesbourg, South Africa who has made over $500 million from internet scam. This con man has bought 3 houses in Johannesburg, drives exortic cars, married to a South African citizen and he has hitherto not been caught.

Smart dude.. But u aint smart enough, cos u get caught..

Guy u dey vex oh!!! shooo... all from one person

With all these EFCC catching scammers, I had a feeling that one day they wud put up a pic of som1 I know. Lol. They just did. Michael Briggs aka Mr Briggs. Lmao. No more running things . Hehehe....sorry eh. Glad I wasn one of the girls enjoying ur money all this while

God punish u!!! U r bastard!!!!

U r a bastard

Pls guys help me out wit dis Nigeria English..."The accused person pleaded to guilty to the charges." Is it suppose to b pleaded guilty or not???

U knw my Englisg is made in Oxford dat y am asking. Lolzzzzzz.

Linda, is it 127 thousand dollars or 127 million dollars?

Lol....d guy barely touched d money I guess cos he looked starved

Wait! wait o! Has he collected the money or he is yet to collect it because this dude does not look like he has 50k.

Make dm free the boi abeg::::can u compare wt d guy stole wit wt dm politician are looting in this nation:::

ehisokhai@yahoo.com said...

Our leaders been scamming us since 1960....buh EFCC no dey c dem....no justice

He doesn't look like it. .

are u blind how does 127k turn to 127 million
some media takeout wants

Linda, it is THOUSANDDDDDD not million oh

Hmmm see money

sorry man, shit happen

Wawu... Na juju him use on her? Choi hardluck bro.

Micky Bills!!!!! Too bad!

As in ehn! Micky bills dat year

ha I know this boy, he attended uniport U2007 set. na ofrima boy stays in aluu na was oooo. chooooiiiiii omo sorry o.oda guys driving EOD back in d days should b careful.#stopG and #startnairabet.

I know these boy back in uniport 07 set,always smiling, na ofrima dude. odas shud take note. baba sorry oooooo.

lol, Linda is it thousand or million? i wonder what kind of drugs you get high on these days...lol..oya Onxy linda better pikin fire back!

Linda shey na $127million or #127million naira.

Linda abeg, na only micheal nai be scammer wey efcc don catch? Why you carry his matter for head?

David Iyke said...

See as he is holding his judgment paper like a certificate of merit!

This face looks familiar or have you posted this picture before.

It's $127,000!

My dear, Dat has been my thought also. This guy was my senior in secondary school.

Otuonye Chidera said...

LINDA, YOU AND MISTAKES

CLICK HERE TO GWT THE INFORMATION YOU HAVE NEED TO SUCCEED

https://m.facebook.com/emeofa.i.michael?_rdr

How do they track them down?

Linda its thousand yh?

Abeg redo your headline, Linda. Do you understand the difference between $127million in dollars for emphasis and $127k? If the Swiss girlfriend had that much money, she should be on the list of billionaires.

I think the headline is deceiving. It is 127.000 plus.

Job jor...na so efcc dey form activeness dis period....lie lie news

Damochedxb said...

127 million dollars???????? The amount in your headline is different from what's in the statement. ..

Princess B said...

Hmmm! naija which way.

Ada Owerri...

Oh oh, small boy with bad idea of making quick money.

I tire o

I tire o

eyah
it's rily paining you

i just searched dis guy out on facebook. d bros dey live large abeg! biggest boy! but one day na for d owner. pelenu....

Dafe writes via old itel mobile

If he actually obtained such huge amount and got caught...mscheeewww! him fall hand!
Haba! Ol' boy you goof oo!

Make them free this guy joor, graduate without work what do you expect him to do. #Selfemployed

He pleaded guilty and they're still going to trial? To what end? To find him guilty after he has pleaded guilty? Na wa for this reporting oh!

Gej people ....

Sorry d caught u, bro ! #someteamdeywisesha

EFCC is working because of election? What of the OBT by loads of leaders?

For PDP to know how they have failed us. A good fraction of the Ibos will vote for Buhari despite the civil war.

#smh - does it make sense that a 74 year old is beating GEJ? That implies he has failed woeful.

SAI Buhari

Make dem free this guy abeg ma husler, do you know what he has went to, sleepness night and juju, before maga go pay, abeg he has paid his price, let him enjoy his life biko, EFCC God punish you

EFCC No go catch Allison Madueke and GEJ bah na boys wey never even chop reach 100m naira na were dere focus dey mad pple stupid country..

THE END ALWAYS HAVE A WAY OF JUSTIFYING THE MEANS........ITS STILL ME, MICHAEL....