So they're still harrassing women for being out after 9pm in Abuja? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 March 2015

So they're still harrassing women for being out after 9pm in Abuja?

A few years ago, many women complained about being arrested, branded prostitutes and taken away by officials of the Abuja Environmental Protection Board (AEPB) when they are found out and about in the city at night without a car. Looks like it's still happening...

67 comments:

THE ACT OF SEX said...

Corruption everywhere

Shiiiittt!

STARRY LARRY said...

Lord save us in this our country called Nigeria

That's what we got from Bala Mohammed, its quite unfortunate, during the day the touts he employed will be harassing innocent Nigerians struggling to make a living, at night they turn to the ladies.

Crazy country

Vote no fight

Is there a law binding on this?.....

So wrong.lindaobserve

Can u image. Traits of sharia.

Say weytin now, na everybody go gt car? Come 2 lag n c pple going bk home @ past 12am

That's so wrong of them

toßßie said...

i fink its cul... hate bin out late at nyt

bluemagic said...

Odi egwu..

I heard that from a friend too. That's too bad

Karlsson said...

Yes, still happening.
Ubanagum

Story for the gods, na there them fit dey try dat rubbish. Linda take note!

lol what's wrong with the abokis and their nonsense sharia ?

Say weytin now, na everybody go gt car? Come 2 lag n c pple going bk home @ past 12am

Serious
Is not fair now
Well may is the real prostitutes that are making them arrest any woman they see

Linda it's so embarrasing that because I'm a singlle girl I can't have a drink outdoor in peace. I went to Ibiza december last year and was almost put in a bus a young man just ran there and rescued me claiming I'm his girlfriend. It's so pathetic that every girl in Abuja is a" prostitute" in the eyes of police and AEPB bcos there are looking for 5k bail. Shm on them

Wetin concern women n Environmental protection? 9ja sef. So they still discriminate against women in this country? . Mtcheeeeew! ~ceze

That is sharia 4 u. Get used to it or move to Lagos.

Very sad, they pick any lady they see even before its nine o clock, and let the real 'ladies of the night' to roam about. My friends and I were victims years ago, and we had to pay a huge sum of money to be released, after been threatened to be taken to kuje prison. And those who couldn't afford to pay were still remanded. My worse day ever!

Who cares...

Better for them @least to stop the issue of ABUJA CONNECTION (alhaji) eeetoo much

Eyaaaaah so wts d solution nw, women can suffer different type of abuse ooooo na wa o.

Mosiwomeka said...

No comment

I don't get my hopes up in people, because everything that looks good ain't good for me. Spoilt milk is still white.
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

So sad in 2015 still harassing our women

Bubus attention seeker!

Baby P said...

Lol.i no fit laugh

Reina said...

That how they bundled an innocent girl into a car...right in front of me. She was screaming for help....as they zoomed off with her.

While d real ashawo's r out there

Innocentia Annie said...

Dont mind them, my Big sis experienced such sometime last year but if the see the real prostitutes they wont do nothing. stupid people.

They should come to Lasgidis according to Osas and try that wan, won ma ri ran wo. Here wey 9pm na early morning for some pple.

Mad country with chauvinistic low lifes. #Which way Nigeria. ----C21

This is really bad, its difficult getting home before 9pm especially if you working in the town

Beer barn you said, decent girls are not expected to be roaming around clubs at night. Prostitutes are not only the ones that stand on the road.

Wow! Some of these men in uniforms aint always trained for their jobs. Its always harrassement here and there.

They are trying to clamp down on prostitution in the state!

Good talk.

IF prostitutes didnt have customers they would be out of work. Stop harassing women.

One Can't have a night life anymore

what rubbish

HRH Jefixx�� said...

Dey shuld face krystal lounge and ibiza na there ashewo dey stand!

It's barbaric and uncalled for.

but na ashawo them be na!. from their logo you go know!!!

And people like u is why we will never move fwd cos you believe you know the distinction btw decent and indecent girls. Is indecency a crime? Is standing on the road a crime? Is going to a bar to drink with your friends a crime cos you're all girls? You will abuse girls for chasing after men for everything and still abuse girls for deciding to take themselves out for a good time without waiting for any man. We just can't win in this society. Why can't we think with our heads and defend fundamental human rights of pple? If prostitution is a crime, is it not right to wait for the girls or guys to solicit customers before u arrest them? Is that not how it's done inseatd of arresting anyone u see on the road at a certain time just cos u have your own opinion of where they should be at at that time? Soon, if it's nt happening already, you will hear they rape some of these girls. Let's get wise and stop supporting the trampling of people's rights indiscriminately for pete's sake for one day, such nonsense will come back to haunt you. Haba!

"Environmental protection board"..okayyyyyyyyyyyyyy. Shouldn't they be looking for poisonous snakes and hyenas? wtf!!!!

Front of beer barn is notorious for prostitutes so me I don't blame em sometimes. Next time, ask security to hail you a cab

I don't think so. Sometime in 2014, a zero tolerance policy for prostitutes was announced

princess said...

ME said...

Bubusn s this part of ur oil governance duty, attention seeker oshi

Mumu like you !

Well it's sad.... buh abuja girls are found of dressing very indecently... wearing cloths that expose every vital part of their body... plus they were seen at the front of a bar.... they could easy be mistaken as prostitues..... am just saying... it may not always be the officials fault

Is about time we speak out, I reside in Abuja is krayzie how dis environment protection pple behave. Is so embarrassing

3:15 said...

mtchew.. dey just wnt bribes

3:15
As he stood there he realized just how lonely the road was.There seemed to be nothing for miles except a long Road with thick bushes on either side.
He had been so sure this was a short cut he had used once before.
But now........he wasn't so sure.There was nothing familiar about the road.
He had realized that after ten minutes of driving through what seemed like an endless stretch of road.
There was something creepy about this place.
The fact that he couldn't hear ANYTHING,(not even the sounds of crickets)made him uneasy.
He rubbed the back of his arms as more chill went through him.
And that was another thing.
It wasn't supposed to be this cold this time of year.
Everything about this road felt wrong;
The deathly silence, the cold and a sudden weird feeling he had that they were not alone.
The only comforting thing were the street lights that stood silently in the chill, casting their glare down upon the road.

He nervously glanced at his watch.
Odd.He thought.
His watch had stopped at 3:15am.continue reading

Stop being shallow, a.e.p.b stands for abuja environmental protection board, they have nothing to do with religion. The task force is made up of nuisance and shallow miscreants like yourself. Harassing people anyhow.

Shallow 1 and Shallow 2, holier than thou. It's not a crime to be out at night with friends and having a good time.

Wht! This is nonsense and rubbish and should never b accepted. Sth should b done abt dis as quick as possible.

shithole call Nigeria. Leaving important things and chasing shadows. Why not install cctv to monitor crimes instead of arresting women.

Wish to learn step by step how to design simple website, visit www.prislaw.com

Anderson FOX said...

They are ashawo abeg. I live in Abuja and trust me, these girls can dress more decent than virgins and still sale the market.

This is how they want to fight back, by using this twitter man to act innocent.

Flora said...

d 411 nw is 2 get a car ni...