Oh my! Have y'all heard about the new watch Apple unveiled today? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 March 2015

Oh my! Have y'all heard about the new watch Apple unveiled today?

Apple Inc today unveiled their new mega Watch that can do a lot of things, including allow you know when your spouse is cheating and let you know if you'll see heaven. #kidding. But it can do a lot of things like help you check into a hotel, check your heart rate, help you call a Uber taxi, remind you of an appointment and much more.

Prices for the Sport model start at $349 while the stainless steel Watch starts at $549 and the Edition costs a staggering $10,000. Read all about the watch after the cut...

From Reuters
Apple Inc. launched its long-awaited watch on Monday, including yellow or rose gold models with sapphire faces costing up to $17,000, but investors questioned whether Chief Executive Tim Cook's first product would be a breakaway hit.

Apple's first new device since Cook became CEO will be available for order on April 10 and in stores on April 24, including chic boutiques in Paris, London and Tokyo.

In a nod to both fashion and technology, Cook shared the stage with model Christy Turlington Burns, who used it to train for a marathon, and Apple engineers who showed off apps, including how to call an Uber car with the watch.

Apple shares barely budged, however. Investors and analysts agreed that Apple would sell millions to fans but questioned whether it had a "killer app" that would engage a broader audience. Apple in September gave a sneak peek of the watch which included many features shown on Monday.
"I think there's a niche market for these kind of Apple tech people who love Apple and will buy anything they come out with. But I just don't know if it's going to be the power product that everyone's looking for," said Daniel Morgan, senior portfolio manager at Synovus Trust Company in Atlanta, Georgia, who described Wall Street as "scratching its head".

Members of the style establishment, in Paris for shows from the glittering likes of Chanel, Givenchy and Hermes mostly said they saw the watch as a gadget, not this season's must-have accessory.
The Apple Watch sport will start at $349 for the smaller, 38-mm model. The standard version of the watch will start at $549 and the high-end "Edition" watch will be priced from $10,000, said Cook, who loved the Dick Tracy ability to hold phone calls by watch.

"I have been wanting to do this since I was five years old," said Cook.

The different models reflect different materials. A $17,000 Edition in the smaller, 38-mm size, has a case made from a customized version of 18-karat rose gold, which is especially hard, along with a sapphire display. It comes with a magnetic charging case.
A $349 Sport model the same size has an aluminum case, a 'sport band' and a magnetic charging cable, and no case.

All the watches share digital faces that can look like traditional time pieces, show the heart beat of a friend, and display photos and interfaces for apps.

"Apple's been very good at personalizing its products," said Angelo Zino, an analyst at S&P Capital IQ, who said the "intimacy" of the watch was appealing. He saw 10 million in sales this year.
In the presentation, Cook described the watch handling many functions currently associated with the iPhone, which tethers wirelessly to the watch and connects it to the Internet.

The watch will track exercise and remind wearers of events with a tap on the wrist.

Cook also laid out other product successes and launched a new MacBook notebook computer that starts at $1,299 and weighs as little as 2 pounds.

Every major car brand had committed to delivering Apple's CarPlay entertainment system, and the new iPhone 6 and 6 Plus have 99 percent customer satisfaction rates, he said. The Apple Pay payment system is now accepted at 700,000 locations, and Time Warner Inc's HBO in April will debut its streaming HBO NOW service on Apple TV.

Apple also is offering researchers new development tools, called ResearchKit, to help medical researchers design apps for clinical trials, the company said.

64 comments:

Wowza!

Nice stuff

Beautiful, apple ar always bringing d best!

WOW!

Funso Samuel said...

Okay. Seen

Karlsson said...

Money wey I go use buy land. Sorry, not interested. Ubanagum

Nice Idea.

Hmmmmmmm? Nice but I think amma pass on this. Linda take note!

Daniel said...

Apple is sick...

When u slam a mobile phone on our wrist, don't call it spectacular.

Show us the next big thing.

My heart beat I not enough oo. And I can remember my.appointment too. Unless it tells me what, when,with whom, whomever my boo is cheating with, or even predict if or not by December I will be linda's best lady this year, they had better let me keep to my Oris and Michael Kors wristwatches oooo

Apple product are always out of this world
If this watch can tell me when jesus will come,
I will definitely buy it by hook or crook
If not?
*sleeps*

VERULE Says-did is serious,nice anyway.

Mela said...

Hmmmmm. Nice

Absolute madness..very soon we wld be saying..phone appear to call and phone disappear to end call. Eti ya were gbogbo yin.

Technology advancing.

What technology can do!

Cn it buy lyf? Dis 1 na money miss road, soon our supposed celebs will start selling their stuffs 2 buy 1, lol

My note 4 can do all tht and much more...apple quit copying

Emmanuel Ayeni|Life Coach said...

nice one. I have been waiting for Tim Cook- Apple CEO to follow the apple culture of bringing up something revolutionary, but then This isn't the first smart watch though, but it's apple's first. Leave good behind be better like a Telco says

Nky said...

Hehehe, if e go tell me when my man dey cheat on me, then bring it on dearie...

Lol....see money...Nice one though

:::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

Trendsetters.

Thank God valentine's is over, pity the n*ggas whose girlfriends' birthdays are still ahead!

I don't care

Oya naija let's go there, bye bye to Rolex...

I say I nor go believe technology until dem do app wey I fit download raw food from

Property Arena Ng said...

Interesting we are living in a smart world

Linda let me ask u,if I buy d watch we it buy good things into my life

Ejo elo ni yen ni naira?

Juu Suppy fun Suppy joor!

omo c gobe!

wonderful

Choi... Would it tell me the time rapturE would take place ... But I want one

Looks like something I wld like to ve

shouldisaymyname said...

Apple is overrated I tell you... Android wear has been out for over a year,have better designs(moto360, LG GwatchR, etc) and far cheaper.

Trendsetters indeed! Yeah right! Apple just has a mega marketing machine and a cult of followers who would line up for days to buy any gadget released by Apple. I don't see how much more it does more than my Samsung Gear 2 that I have had for a year. Oh well..it will still make mega bank.

Can it suck dick? can it swallow my nuts when i come? can i buss it open and fuck it when i'm horny? if the answer is NO! then i'm good.

Don't worry in less than 6 weeks it will be about 10k in Naija. Then we can start to buy.

Poverty

Can it tell me when Jesus is coming

Vote no fight

Saw it in CNN wid Richard quest
But I'm not fascinated!

Chai!

You don't need the watch to tell you that, he's cheating already.

*cocks gun*

By ashawo work abi?

Oya freeze where r u. Get d fake let's see.

Love it, i will own one soon. Amen!

Oya make our girls begin the sleep and prostitute around to buy this one

This is not ground breaking jor. Imagine a grown ass 60yr old man wearing these toy looking watches. I wish they partnered with an actual watch company for this project. Like rolex or something like that.

Rita gera said...

Hmm. Nice one though

Rita gera said...

Lmfao Akuko for Micheal kors...liar

Money for bag of rice for 3years mtcheeew
Yeye dey worry dem

KWEEN said...

I hope it can tell me when Jesus is coming too...

Innocentia Annie said...

Apple shaaa ooo.........nice though

Wow, watch do all these things

$10,000 x N220 = N2,200,000 Tufiakwa!

Daddy Freeze where are you?