Dear LIB readers: My man keeps celebrating his female friends on instagram and I don't like it | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 March 2015

Dear LIB readers: My man keeps celebrating his female friends on instagram and I don't like it

From a female LIB reader...
My husband keeps posting photos of his female friends on his instagram saying its either their birthday or wedding anniversary or something and I don't like it. Just yesterday night, he posted a photo of his colleague saying it is her birthday. I have told him repeatedly that this his action makes me jealous, yes jealous but he says he doesn't see anything wrong with it. Am I over reacting or not? Is it even right for married men to be celebrating their female friends on their instagram pages, especially when their wife is one of their followers?

185 comments:

Start celebrating your male friends.

You're overreacting
and this can lead to nagging
Which can chase your husband away
And you're too jealous
Stop It
Since he is posting it base on occasions I don't see anything wrong

Woman, do u want to live long? If u carry man matter for ur head like dis u go soon die ooooo. Free d man.

if u have told him that u are jealous and he keeps doing it, he is probably doing it to spite u..I'd say you should ignore him and pretend u don't care anymore. He will eventually stop

I won't call DAT over reacting , I will call it hyper reacting.

Woman, do u want to live long? If u carry man matter for ur head like dis u go soon die ooooo. Free d man.

That nigga is doing away game.

So wrong, childish and irresponsible for a married to be found in such. It's obvious ur is not mentally fit for marriage.

Karlsson said...

Yes ma'am, U re overreacting. Best U stop following him on instagram if U can't get over that.
Ubanagum

Yes ma'am, U re overreacting. Best U stop following him on instagram if U can't get over that.
Ubanagum

Hehehe. He needs to respect ur opinion. Why shd he even give much attention to his female friends at the first place? You deserve all his attention. Keep talking he'll listen some day.

Karlsson said...

Ubanagum

It is not right in way. He has cheating genes in him. Linda take note!

Your marriage needs help.
He is not listening to you and that is a bad sign. Nothing and no one should have priority over the health of your relationship and as much as he loves his friends he has to love you more.

You both need to sit down and discuss this in a non confrontational and mature way.

long story linda you do not like posting my comment why

You're not overreacting my dear....a responsible man who respects his wife wouldn't do that...I wouldn't let that anyway...but tactfully handle the matter tho, so it doesn't cause more problems

Its normal to feel the way you're feeling dear, you're not over reacting. You are human with emotions, if he loves you he should respect that.

Divorce him if you can't deal with this excuse of a husband . No be you born am

SANDRA said...

Its wrong. Start putting up ur male friends let's see how he will take it

Bbm yes, so he can remove the pic after an hour or so, but instagram is a no no, my man use to celebrate his female friends a lot on bbm sef, not instagram and I told him I don't like it and it stopped, he's my bf not even husband but he stopped, before he wld even change different pics but nw it's just one pix n for few hours, ur husband has to respect u n stop that nonsense. PS I'm sure he's a player and I'm sure he was doing it when u guys were dating, ladies we have to learn how to stop things we don't like in our relationship while dating before marriage. Tell him to stoppppppp it, if he doesn't start putting pixs of ur male friends also and celebrate them on instagram. N he'll shop.

It's okay to celebrate ur friends sometimes, but when it's an everyday thing...hmmmm, my dear SHINE YA EYE

Sweedie you're not over reacting,its normal for u to feel that way....he should respect your feelings and stop posting such...

STARRY LARRY said...

My dear, you're not over reacting, maybe you start to celebrate you male friends on social network and let's see his reaction. I hate men who doesn't respect their wives

I don't know! ~ceze

lola okoye to peter okoye

Sori did u say Husband or Boifriend cos he still believes he is single oooo, sit him down nd tlk 2 him calmly explain dt if ur d 1 doing such hw wld he feel.

This kind husband go cheat on you one day....

Linda Does Not Celebrate Any Of Her Siblings On Her Instagram Page, Does that make her SELFISH??
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Its not right,its disrespectful, means he doesn't value ur feelings or thoughts bout his conducts, means he's a flirt and a cheater...u deserve better!! Never settle for less!!

slickmalick said...

Men will always be men, track us and you're only tryin to disappoint ursef. #slicky

Sugarsweet said...

Madam abeg relax Joor... As u said, they are his friends and colleagues and you want him to stop celebrating them? Men don't like wives telling them what to do and what not... It's so selfish of you..... Don't make him to start hiding things from you. Let him be free with you... Common your his follower, so he can't be stupid to do dirty stuffs with his Instagram.....You are over reacting..... And one more advice for you, you better stop being jealous so you don't develop BP or Heart attack.... These men are not loyal at all....

Dude is prolly cheating on you. Deal with it.

Yes you are overreacting! Ladies please learn to mind your business.

It's wrong, cos you wouldn't post pictures of your male friends so why should he? If you talk now they will say you are nagging.

Hawt Talk With Tosan said...

Girl please relax. This is harmless! You should be be more worried about what he may be doing behind your back.

Hephzibah said...

Jealous is as a result of lack of trust. It should nt b a problem 2 u bcos he is Urs/ur husband. Bcos if u keep at it u might start making him feel uncomfortable. On d other hand he can reduce it 2 please u. Talk 2 him sha or unfollow him for ur good

pls go and Sit down if u don't have some thing meaningful to say....its lk u lack work come and pick beans.. kip looking at dt1 u ll get old

nope,tz vry disrespectful.he eithers stops it or u unfollow him so u dnt hv 2 witness his flirty attitude.
aittyfinest xyz

No honey, you're not over reacting.....its absolutely wrong for a married man to be celebrating other single ladies......he need to start acting his age and realize he's now a married man. Talk sense into his head cux he might be cheating on you without your knowledge

Is not even right for d both of u to be following each other on Instagram, follow urselves @ home....

it's either he had sex with them or he has sex with them. Your husband should respects you and your feelings and should only celebrate 3women in his life: his muù you and his daughter.

Ur not over reacting.....try uploading ur male friends pics on instagram and tell him d same thing he tells u..... If he gets angry, den tell him ur angry too ...

You are not over reacting,ur husband shu knw he is married to u now ,he shu put away all dose act ,now that u both r together.happiness in ur home shu be his business ,not posting photo of his female frnds

awwww....social media wahala.........A married man shud always consider is wife's feelings before doing things.....dats wat i tink.....Ur rxn is normal

dont fuss my dear, post semi-nude pics, get some colleagues at work to like it.
two days later, upload the pic of a fine boy (that he doesnt know)

let the games begin

Ye u ar over reactin,its nufin,lik me,I use most of ma secondary skul female friends,on ma bbm even more than ma gf,cus dey were ma day 1 pals,so babe it nufin

Linda way of enriching herself, but this is not news naw

Di gi bu nnoo ezigbote ashawo.....saa anya gi mmiri b4 ncha abaa gi anya.

Eyaa I understand ur pain. But men aint loyal, just get used to it nd minimize nagging.na dia way

bluemagic said...

U will die bfr ur time oh..y let such issues bother u!!!dnt u av male frnds u can also celebrate..haba,woman tk it easy ohh

THE ACT OF SEX said...

Start celebrating your male friends on Instagram

100% agree with this chick! Swear down Naija guys are so insensitive!

Mosiwomeka said...

It's wrong jare, he should stop. How will he feel if you do same? Dunno why men behave like this sometimes.😤😥😤😦

I don't get my hopes up in people, because everything that looks good ain't good for me. Spoilt milk is still white.
@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

madam calm ur nerves down, no man is an island he can't possibly cut every body off now. relax no big deal

didi said...

Linda I just want to b like u!!
I don too nvy u!!

Lmao.all dese social media wahala is a major problem in relationships. I feel u r over reacting Mrs.if he wishes d babes hbd nd post deir pics,it isn't wrong.d prob only comes in when he posts deir pics without a purpose..I think ur husby is harmless,take a chill pill

Akin' Odunsi @gr8akin said...

*Sigh* I do this too but mostly on BBM and my GF gets jealous but after telling her several times that they are just my friends, she hasn't been complaining again, dis days she jst look and ignore! The truth is, I love dooing it and maybe just like me, he's just like that, he might not count it as anything but see it as normal. That's what I think and do, if I see ur DP, even as a guy, if I like it, I'll use it as DP straight without even saving it. I don't know his own motives o but that's my own sha.

Its normal we men are dogs, that u should know. Lindaobserve

Jojo said...

Laughing in 3D......

It's absolutely wrong!

U r not over reacting dear,u r only protecting ur home.u guys r married now,he(husband)shu put away dose act and make his family is business not posting photos of his female frnds

I know how u feel but just overlook it or maybe start doing urs too

Baby P said...

Lol.i leave it to linda to answer for you.

U'r over reacting dear.

Aww oga! That's not nice nau!......but Linda naija get plenty wahala already on its own why person come carry him own dey join? Even plus including the PDP/APC fight

Yo!!! U men out der need to learn how to make ur woman feel special as often as possible! It's bad enuf she admits to been jealous yet u say u see Notin wrong!!! U pipo shld fear God ooo,Dats y I kip praying to God to give me all I want in a man ooo,Cos I deserve to be happy.i no fit manage

KWEEN said...

Relationships are quite tough in this digital era *sigh*

dunny odunayo said...

No, It is not right at all. your husband needs to grow up and drop all that bachelor act and behave like a married man. how would he feel if you too start posting pictures of your male friends? I bet He would be furious. Respect Ur wife bros.

Reina said...

Simple...celebrate your male friends as well....He will change

My friend go n sit down there's nothing wrong in dat u r over reacting, come! Dont go n cut ur husband penis like other woman oo, dont b too jealous abeg I kn say u luv ur husband but take it easy

Simple,celebrate yours and flaunt your actions and see how he reacts to it...

My dear be happy he celebrates them openly and that you are aware and don't force him to stop cause that could lead him to something you are not ready for. All I am saying is don't be jealous by his actions instead work your way into being (the girls in question) your friends.

#cutoffhispenistoo#

msmaduba said...

Lmao! So this is your own pronlem?! As funny and childish as it sounds! If he cares about your feelings he should stop it! All na compromise

Girl,you better get your man. Your husband is being disrespectful. I know that if you celebrate male friends on your instagram page,he is not going to like it. Speak with him one more time and make him understand he is hurting you with his actions.

Very wrong,if he refuses to listen to u,start posting pictures of ur male friends too,then he'll understand.

mzmaris said...

What is good for d goose is equally good for d gander....give him a taste of his own medicine

As long as he isn't pissed when you celebrate your male friends then maybe you're overreacting. But he should be able to respect your feelings if he does love you. ----C21

FAMILY MAN said...

NO IS WRONG UNLESS YOU HAVE AN OPEN RELATIONSHIP. IF NOT IS WRONG AND IF HE FAILS TO HEED, VERY SIMPLE TAKE OUT A MONTH AND START CELEBRATING EVERY MAN YOU COME ACROSS ON INSTAGRAM AS WELL UNTIL HE GETS JEALOUS ENOUGH TO ASK, THEN YOU TELL HIM YOU WANTED HIM TO WEAR YOUR SHOES AND FEEL YOU. BUT WHATEVER YOU DO, DON'T FIGHT HIM OVER IT, BE NON COMMITAL BUT FIRM UNTIL HE PROMISE,S TO CHANGE.

Lol did you ask yourself repeatedly before u sent this in? U are Jes over reacting dear. I see no big deal in this

It's wrong, I understand where you are coming from. Because if the case were reverse, I'm sure he wouldn't find it funny. A lot of men are very insensitive. Tell him again how this displeases you and if he doesn't adhere, look for a random fine mans pic, put it up on Ur instagram and write a sweet happy birthday caption... Let's watch his reaction and see how he will feel. If he has a conscience he will be jealous and he will redress his actions because he knows that such little things have the potential to ruin his marriage

Lol did you ask yourself repeatedly before u sent this in? U are Jes over reacting dear. I see no big deal in this

No real man does instagram, unless u are into entertainment or still a small boy...

Lolz make ur jealousy no put u for wahala oo

Innocentia Annie said...

This is not right biko why will you celebrating your female friends way too much when you are married maybe he can do that once in a while not making it a tradition.

Some men get time honestly. . My hubby dat can even Change his bbm display picture for months and he does not have time for instagram... tell ur man to stop being childish pls..

Nusitech said...

The question is what can you do about it? He is obviously not going to stop, and if you "starve" him at home, that's more reason for him to keep doing it. It's a no win situation you just have to live with it hoping he'll grow up one day.

eka said...

personally, l think its wrong and inappropriate,
d lady should maintain her stance
cos if it was d reverse, she would be in A & E now...

Ur body dey over hot oooo, u berra don't kill yaself

A big no for me. Am so much jealous that all my hubby's ex are still his facebook friends, while he asked me to delete my ex from my facebook. Men are so funny, they think they can always get away with everythg they do. Isabella_nice.

Okowright Balaxy said...

Mr man stop it if your wife doesn't like it!!!

Miss Ferragamo said...

You're not overreacting sweetie, he's wrong and I'ld be jealous if I were in your shoes.

IDIOT you are a very big fool..........goat ....so ur boooo is a married Man abi? May urs not be taken frm u...u are even TRIPLE reacting ......,nw u concern that his wife is a follower idiot go get you man.......

If you dating a married man u are MaD.....and your even publishing this #abeg kmake I no use ma vexation on u ozwor#

IDIOT you are a very big fool..........goat ....so ur boooo is a married Man abi? May urs not be taken frm u...u are even TRIPLE reacting ......,nw u concern that his wife is a follower idiot go get you man.......

Erm my ex boyfriend was this way, it kinda made my jealous and i thank God it's over cz he would neva have stopped but then we were young, he won't stop cz at a time u probably tolerated it, this is marriage not a relationship but then if he doesn't give u a reason to believe he's cheating please don't go looking for one, unfollow him on ig, u might be happier, spend time doing wat u love and above all pray.

4 me ooo, psnally I dnt see a big deal in it. U shd v confidence on his luv 4 u instead of gttin jealous ova issues dt r trivial. Bt if u'r still nt comfortable, post pix of ur male frnds n celebrate dem too, jst 2 c ur hubby's reactn n if he reacts jst d way u'r nw den its ur best shot 2 mk him c y u dnt gbadu wot he's doin ni. #winks

Property Arena Ng said...

You are over reacting but if he cares for your feeling he will stop doing it

klue said...

the man should better behave and fully appreciate this pretty lady.

Well for me, I dont see anything wrong with me but too much of it is bad

SWILL MARTIN said...

Hmnnn oya strt celebrating ur male frrnds and then see how he feels.#dats ur solution

D man na bad guy sha! Lol

It's soo wrong.. worst dt he doesn't see anything wrong wth it. Post a pix of ur male friend jus to get his attention. Or so he'l understand hw u feel

Madam o!!!!shine ur eye...

kanma said...

Nothing wrong in it. If it were to be one particular woman all d time, dat lld be suspicious. Bu several females....naa

Neks said...

He should calm down jor. But if he insist on there is nothing wrong in wat he's doing, u too should celebrate ur male colleagues and friends na.

Madam,stop nagging and be a good wife.

Settle it wit him na. Must u discuss ur spouse wit total strangers?

DIARY OF A TEENAGER said...

No no. Not ryt. He needs sm1 to celebrate? Let him celebrate you. Everyday is your bday, tell him that.

If the life style is ok with u before u marry him, then don't complain..manage it and don't be too jealous. But explain how u feel in a well mannered way and live him for his conscience to follow up with him.

Very disrespectful

To me, its not right. But keep talking to him sha. U r not over reacting dear. Na so e dey start o.

Worry about what he does in hiding not what he does before the whole world!

Hehehe.i dunno

Na 2day d tin start? Since u didn't complain during ur courtship, y complaining now? Anyway, talk 2 him wen he's in a vry gud mood n talk lyk a well trained woman o

You are the biggest fool because u can't read simple English !

Some people sha,i must comment!!! Did u by any chance read d write up?! #smh#

Anonymous Beauty said...

Lady, my own view on dis issue is dat, ur husband has no regard for u,simple! bcos a man does what appeals to his woman's feeling,u v even told him and yet he continues.

Did u even read and understand this post b4 throwing insults??? **dumbass**

#abbytohxoft

Exactly my point Neks. Lady discuss it wit him,if he does not stop then celebrate your male colleagues too.

Please don't do that

Please don't do this

Please don't do that

@chioma, you made me read this post again and I don't like it.

R u saying her husband is not her business? Jezz

LMFAO, what is ur point exactly

Nothing wrong with that...

Got plenty problems.. insta is not one, I dont have an instagram account, i dont do them picture things but... anyway I think if your activity on a social network is making your partner uncomfortable you should accord her some respect and curb it.

Correct!
This person must have been married for centuries oo..

Hawtberry said...

Ask him not to have a life then. Please try get your mind off it. This goes to all ladies, including myself. We should understand that being married to our husbands doesn't mean his life is over or he is stuck with just one female in his life...

Dear just over look what he's doing

You are obviously a nutcase with no sense. With that mentality, God help you if you ever get married

You are obviously un married or preparing yourself for a failed marriage with that low mentality

All these men sef. Sis if you get mind, start celebrating your male friends.

Shikena!

Royalbeau said...

When u make comments, put ur self in that position first, am sure someone like u will even break appliances, I mean she said she doesn't like it, they are married and some characters and activities should be modified, he is not in anyway required to make his woman less than a woman, Infact he should make her feel she is the only woman in the world, gosh! We really still have a lot to learn. Smh

Jade said...

I couldn't agree more.

spartaan said...

Yea in ur case he will stop posting female pics on bbm because he's still your bf. Marry him and see if he will listen to you..

Abdul Adepetu said...

Start celebrating all your male friends! If they catch cold put there picture up, steadily and permanently, celebrate male you know. Let's see who will be jealous. Not fair. Pele jare

Its like u're blind. U didn't read where the description of the blog said GOSSIP abi? Smh

Damola Gbadegesin said...

For me there is nothing wrong unless you guys have trust issues but if you trust him just let him be jere and dont die before death.

@igwe adaobi. Wen u get married u will know how I feels

U cant give wat u don't have. If u r not married u can't experience it.

Gbam!

It is WRONG!!! When u're married u shd no longer think like a bachelor! Do things that r healthy for ur rship & sacrifice some past habits evn though u used to like them.. Marriage involves COMPROMISE!

You're not overreacting. Trust your intuition. Because if you are 100% confident in your man then such shouldn't bother you. But if you have suspicions, don't doubt yourself o. No smoke without a fire

Sylvanus said...

You are over reacting! Most women are like this. The simple truth is that such men are better as they always do not go beyond such posting and using "my dear" for other female friend. They are plain minded and does not go beyond what you see them doing. Keep close eye on the holier than thou people (men or women) they can be deadly.

E.O. Clement said...

you are not over reacting. you are just been a (married) woman. God help you out.

Mz Hardtheyleye said...

Woman! Chillout, u'r ova reacting o, since it's on special occasions, I dnt see y u should complain, n, u should deal wif d kind of jealousy o, b4 it turns u into somfin else. Thank god he's nt cheating, wat if ur picture is alwaz on his profile but he cheats on u, watin u go talk? " Eni rin nkan e tofe ku pelue, owo ani to ti sonu nko?"

The rightness or wrongness of uploading the pictures is a separate argument. The most important is that the Husband is obviously not respectful to his wife's feelings. Feelings of Spouses must be protected by both parties at all times.
For God's sake, Her Jealousy is as a result of the love she has for him. I see his refusal to stop after having complained of her disliking the attitude as been insensitive towards his wife.

unfollow him sikena

morning after said...

u wld just give ursef hbp for nuffin

THE MORNING AFTER
Furo woke up with a terrible headache. Eze's arm lay lazily on her waist .
The sunlight was streaming in through the windows that Saturday morning.
she slowly sat up on the and massaged her forehead.
"Next time.......",she whispered to herself,
"....don't dance so close to the speakers.....no matter how drunk you think you are."
The ringing in her ears just wouldn't stop.It felt like a small parade of drum beats and wild flashing images were going on in her head.
For the life of her,she couldn't recall how many shots of Vodka she'd had that night. Her last count was Six......or Seven(maybe Eight)she just wasn't sure.
Everything else after that, was a blur of loud music,cigarette whiffs,sharp taste of alcohol and bodies pressed up against her.
It had been crazy,she thought to herself, but it had also been fun.She hadn't had that much fun in a long time.continue reading

My dear, nowadays people use reverse psychology... there has been a general belief that if sm1 does smfng in the open they r innocent, it's not always the case my dear... sm men would even introduce their side chicks to their wife as something unsuspecting, soo as to keep her distracted from the truth... a married man shouldn't be celebrating a lot of girls on IG... bbm yes but not IG... cuz those pics remain even after the birthday... even apart from the wife's feelings it doesn't tell good about the man... an average instagrammer to views the guys page would perceive him to be a player... abi na only him get female friends

Men no longer do things behind a lady's back.... they do it right under her nose... a lady has got to be vigilant

Hmmmmmm, nothing wrong wit wht he is doing as long as u knw those he is celebrating and if u don't knw them u ask. Case close.

Wow! Wise comment. Thumbs up girl.

Favour belle said...

Your first statement doh. .hahaha definitely she wants to live long.

Lemme jst cut 2d chase aii......y'll shd jst leave instagram and focus on building ur home!!!

OYIBO gave the best advice here... strat celebrating NOT just your male friends but every HOT looking random guy ... him head go straight silly ass man

Igwe ADAOBI ........... WEE YOU KEEP KWIET.... ISN'T SHE HUMAN IT'S PEOPLE LIKE YOU THAT HUSBAND USE YOUR HEADS TO PLAY BALL.TWAT.

The woman is too jealous calm down madam before u cut his penis and kill him out of jealousy

i think once you are married you put Away thins that are not likely to help your marriage , that is what the man his doing there is no fun in it , does minor thins count in marriage because you are no moresingle .

She is notover reacting. The man is a polygamous punk.

@ madam igwe adaobi, wait till it happens to u. You'll know if she was over reacting or not.

Good talk Onyx, ur head is there.

@sugarsweet, shut up jor, she's human and her husband has to respect her feelings

madam go take a chill- pill jare, you know their his friends and you are stressing over it. him no go get friend again because him don marry you, that's why men run away from marriage and you female folk continue to do prayer and fasting to get married

Na wa for you o! They say " what you don't see, dose not kill you" stop following him and force on your marriage jare! On the other side check yourself as well!

WHAT UR HUBBY IS DOING IS NOT RIGHT

post ur own pix of ur male friends

korede said...

U are obviously a woman with very low self esteem and i dont think u are actually very busy, u need to brace up and forget the guy, what do u have to be jealous about? the guy chose u above those others, let the man be and stop stressing over nothing

prettiyz said...

Since it's birthday I don't see anytin wrong but since u don't like it he should learn to stop it to avoid problem and u should also try cortelling ur jealousy

Flora said...

well, if he feels dere's nutin rong in his actns, i'd suggest u start celebrating ur male friends 2, and c hw he'll react... one tin is clear though, ur hubby does nt care abt ur feelings

Gbam!!! Ur wife's happiness shud come first!! She does not lik it!! Don't fucking do it!!

Just relax since you've already told him pray he stops

he simply doesnt ve regards for u...wetin matured man dei do 4 insagram wit other pple's babes or wife's pics, he jst dei worship pple property....