UNIJOS in chaos as students protest hike in school fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 November 2014

UNIJOS in chaos as students protest hike in school fees

Students of the University of Jos continued their protests today following yesterday's chaos in the school over what they say is a 100% increase in school fees. ‎The protesting students set fire in front of the school gate this afternoon, insisting that school authority must reduce their fees.

The students say the fee was N27,800 but has now been increased to #60,000. They also say they were forced to pay for developmental levy which has never been used for any development within the university. They said all effort by the student union government to speak with the Vice Chancellor of the university Prof. Hayward Babale Mafuyai, was met with a brick wall as the VC refused to negotiate with the students.

Following his refusal to speak with students, they took to the streets to protest, blocking all roads leading to the university of Jos thereby bringing all activities to a standstill. All university activities was also boycotted including the exams that was meant to start yesterday 24th November.

The protests continued today...

65 comments:

Bimbo Bankole said...

Wow

They should take things easy......VICKYATU@YAHOO.COM

AHhahahah..................Awemuyne@yahoo.co.uk

Fight for what belong to you.
60k for what ?

They should take things easy.

Vickyatu@yahoo.com

This our country is turning to something else

Yes they r right

Why is my comment not displayed on your blog?

Uche Emma said...

No please, before BH guys joins and cause more havoc.
Jos have seen enough

Adetula Tolulope said...

Are these students or thugs? I weep for Nigeria.

Great josites!GREAT!!! Bt d hike is major nw,its too sudden haba smthn needs to be done biko

Easy-E said...

See nonsense tins...gvt wia re u all

Wtf... Is not that jobs is quaranteed even after someone is through with the education.... They should keep up with the protest untill their request is granted..

Lol at the VC paid N75...habatically speaking. School this days if ur papa and mama no get enough plot of lands, no near school. fatherbrainy@gmail.com

Dem wan use d school fees build house ontop water?

From 26 to 60. Outrageous without reason. I don't blame the students for protesting.

Neks said...

what the heck, that's too much, keep protesting please thats the only language federal govt. understands

After graduating from school, you come out to face unemployment. My five years school fees can start up a lucrative biz.

LAURA20GIST@YAHOO.CA
4LIBGIVEAWAY

Naija is like hell. richard.yinka190@gmail.com

lami said...

Its gettting to a point where people will have to do home schooling for their children now because of hike in school fees in most Nigerian universities.

Jonathan tenure d worst eva hardship everywhere

Na wa

Nigerian authorities no get joy or confidence, 100% increase! That is too damn much!!

SANDRA said...

Its a Federal university not State or Private. The VC is insane. Skool has bin shot down till further notice.

Prince Ybholy said...

I like that price in the cardboard sheet . . . . Lols

This is serious! Bounatics2012@gmail.com

Chai! My Alma mater...#muchlovealways#

Hmmmm na waooo

Lol @ the VC only paid #75 during his university days.

Are u looking for a sugar mummy or daddy please call dis line 07060801564 please be mature....

ChiboyChuks said...

Hahaha! STAND UP!!! (UDO)

oau did same but we had no choice than to pay at last

RUBBISH.THEY SHOULD GO BACK TO THE DAYS WHEN THE VC PAID N75 so that they too can pay 75 naira. how can you compare years ago when there was no computer, inflation comparisons, less qualified lecturers, systems that were not international with today's fees. imagine.
The school fees are even too tiny self, even the 6ok. No wonder many of our Nigerian graduates are so unemployable. garbage in garbage out.

i support...but i pray make the v.p listen quick before student go break one of his leg..God help us all

Dexoalmighty said...

My Ujay wetin dey happen? Mafuyai was my lecturer and a very shy humble man. Please revert to the old fees, don't spoil the name of our great school. My last fees there was N6,500.

is 2 much 4 d poor

Smh.... So riot is now the way. Onyimadusommy@gmail.com

Vacancies in Nigeria said...

60k is on the high side, our government should be considerate.

This is very good. We nigerians are beginning to realize our rights

And the increase does not guarantee strike.....pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

adetula watch ur tongue.we are fighting for our rights.

Chidinma's blog said...

I support my greatest josites! Increment of sch fees every year! Abeg make una protest well well. But u guys should b careful o, before protest turn to crisis!

ukbliss said...

Dey don't consider poor ppl, Yeye pipo

SunnyBriggs. said...

Great Josites!!!

Make una no alow Boko Haram come join una for that protest oo bcuz I dey see something like bomb fire there.

aunty linda you forgot to include he called us rasculs hoodlums and mobs wo

chinweudo said...

I support the students but they shud be careful with the medium they are using to show their disapproval.

Anybody familiar with the economy both local and global knows that every thing is on d increase now, it's fair sha, not too much for a uni like dat of unijos compared to we in d state paying close to 100k.

ALUTA CONTINUA...VITORIAL ASCERTA.

todays protest was very painful bc some students were shot including special students.the school authority gave instruction for students to vacate and school shot down indefinately. Pls pray for quick recovery of our students Great Josites

Wow! I paid #4,000 per semester and graduated in 2006. Greatest Josites, what went wrong? My oh my!!!

REAL. PIKIN said...

Today is really a bad day for the josites as military men fire 3 students dead and the student been forced to vacate the hostel plesaes we need Justice as the protest was very peaceful students never destroy any thing, pls we needs justice. Mafuyai Most Go..........................

Student union government(SUG) went to negotiate and all they got was insult and abuses form the VC calling student rascals.if we are rascals that makes him a mafia, barawa wayward . Mafuyai babale haYward.

Nawaooo chimmynene@yahoo.com

The vc is heartless

Adetula u're very stupid for asking dat....hw can u equate our prestigious Josites to Thugs shegiya kawai

Enough of this school fees increase when they are not given the students qualitative education in this country

SHOP ON DEALDEY

Greatest Battles!!! Part 1

His Grace- Part 1

Not Darkness - Part 1

Hayward is wayward...lol. Ujay of life!

AGB said...

I went to this same school,I graduated in 2010 & our school fees at the time was just 7500 naira.

AGB said...

I went to this same school,I graduated in 2010 & our school fees at the time was just 7500 naira.

Anonymous 3:52pm 24th nov ur father left nyanch idiot get a brain mumu #ice princess#

To you, Anonymous who said...
RUBBISH.THEY SHOULD GO BACK TO THE DAYS WHEN THE VC PAID N75 so that they too can pay 75 naira. how can you compare years ago when there was no computer, inflation comparisons, less qualified lecturers, systems that were not international with today's fees. imagine.
The school fees are even too tiny self, even the 6ok...
I am shocked. Like it or not despite the facts ther were no computers then, education was far better than what we have now. so i do not see any base with your statement. Even the VC will tell you same. 90% of the Lecturers we have now are the product of our half baked institutions. the remaining 20% schooled overseas...

Come oo bros,u re very stupid.if u ve any responsibility u no go vomit dat trash from ur mouth,wetin d skul dey giv us wey dem wan increase skul fees,ve u seen d road n lecture rooms? Even d lecturers re against it. If u no knw talk den shut d F up.thunder fire u!!

gaba emmanuel said...

Ok, first of all, the increase is outrageous. Are you saying the cost of educating the common man is going up instead of spiraling downward? Most especially with all the programs put in place by GEJ. It is quite pathetic.
I was opportuned to go to a private university (name withheld) and also served as a student Representativ. We payed over half a million and weren't getting the basic necessities. We confronted the relevant authorities but yet nothing was done. Quite unfortunately, we rioted too and the school was shut down for over 3months or so. It wasn't a good time but it was necessary. Due to that singular action the school has put things in place till date and although we suffered the consequences then (some of my colleagues and fellow comrades were expelled) the place is better now.
A luta continua, Victoria e certa