Mum calls the police on her 9yr old daughter for attacking younger sister | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 November 2014

Mum calls the police on her 9yr old daughter for attacking younger sister

A woman in Indianapolis is being highly criticized by other parents after she called the police on her 9 year old daughter for punching her 6 year old younger sister in the head. She didn't just call the police, she filed charges against her own child. (the home where it happened)

The mother, Andrea Stumpf, who filmed the attack and showed it to the police as evidence when they came to her home said she filed charges to teach the little girl a lesson that violence is not the answer.

According to Fox 59, the 9 year old was arrested and charged with battery last weekend.

The Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department spokesman later said the police officer made the decision to arrest the girl and book her because the mother insisted but talked about the significance of keeping children out of the criminal justice system if possible.
“We know that the younger kids get involved in the juvenile justice system, the more likely they are to keep getting involved with the system."
Was the mother right to call the police?

61 comments:

I think she is rit.

Lol talk of okro plant outgrowing the owner.
She left the police to do her job for her, trust Nigerian parents to put in her in her rightful place.

And the police fools foolishly agreed? All of dem de mad for their yansh!

It looks wrong ryt now and at this age but seriously, that child has got to learn...she will definitely never raise a hand on anybody ever agaain.....if only all mothers did this...boko haram wont be here.....

wise woman, before the school authorities report her for battering her own child - she made it official and packaged the evidence to support it.

obietrezy said...

Question for the gods... jor oh

Heyhey nothing way person no go see for this world *long hiss

Ngozin said...

Wow I don't think she went too far she just wanted to teach her a lesson ,tomorrow this same people will equally blame her if the child grows up a violent person or could it be she really harmed her sister they will still blame her mother .she stood up to take action ,imagine that child with her friends in school she must be bullying them.

I try to understand this mother. If she beat the child she's in trouble. How can she deal with her?
She want her to learn a lesson but she use wrong means to try to correct her

Instead of her to get a rod and flog d hell out of her silly ass.. calling d police on a minor as such is definitely not d right decision.

F$ck No!

He was arrested o! That's oyibo life now.. Not surprising! Job 22:28. BishopDammy#

F@ck No!

Obi Awunor said...

Hello Linda,
Good work on your blog so far. Inspiring I would say. It does all its supposed to do and much more. So great work and I hope it gets better.
It is a difficult one to ascertain if the girls Mother was right to call the police on her. I would rather the question you put forward to your readers was: What should the lady have done?
A 9 year old punching her younger sister in the head speaks volumes. It would scare me and I think it did scare her mother, who consequently made a judgement call and got the police involved. If anything to save the younger sister from future attacks and give the older sister a chance to be reset and put on the right track. Albeit she gave up to a broken system the responsibility to put her child right.
It is a tough one and it would always be so. But I believe we ought to give her mother the benefit of the doubt and accept the theory that she saw no other way out.
Upside of the story is; younger sister is alive and well, older sister is in a correctional facility albeit a broken one.

Well if the 9year old have been warned several times , then maybe the mother was right to call the police. If they don't listen they'll learn in the hard way

The mother was wrong to call the police. Let us look at the bigger picture. The child would be charged with simple battery which is what they call a misdemeanour charge and could lead to the child having a record till she is 21, then she would need a lawyer to help get her case expunged. This crosses off the ability to get into good schools or a job; hitting with an object would lead to a felony charge and one gets 'buggered' by this but this could be expunged after one is 21 but one would still be said to have a record which 'is sealed' like the Mike Brown case. ... We all want the best for our kids and can start by talking to them and educating them better

Mkpuru Mma said...

Dats extreme... wat happens 2 talking some sense in2 her or sending her 2 a correctional home instead of police.

Linda for me the woman no well she need doctor to check her brain , she needs brain check-up. CHI.

BIG MONEY MAN said...

HAVE YOU EVER WONDERED WHY YOU HAVE SEX WITH CERTAIN PEOPLE AND EVERYTHING IN YOUR LIFE BEGIN TO BLOSOM LIKE IT IS ONLY YOUR PRAYERS GOD IS ANSWERING THAT PERIOD. THEN YOU GO AND HAVE SEX WITH SOME OTHER PERSON AND THINGS BECOME SO BLEAK YOU WILL SEE PAPER AND ALMOST CALL IT MONEY.

SEX IS STRONGER THAN YOU CAN EVER IMAGINE.

EVEN BOTH HOLY BOOKS PREACH AGAINST HAVING SEX WITH PEOPLE YOU ARE NOT LEGALLY MARRIED TO.

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

So the woman could not control her 9yr old daughter?

AUNTIE LINDA I HEARD LADY GAGA IS MARRIED TO HER LONG TIME BOYFRIEND PLS CONFIRM THE NEWS......YEAH SHE'S WEIRD BUT I LOVE HER.....*****QUEENMAYA******

She mad

In Africa we tend to shield our loved ones even to their detriment.
we don't know the full details of the story above.we don't know the 9 years old girls history of violence nor how many times she has been reprimanded.
Personally,I won't judge this particular matter without the complete story.remember that its this same 9-14 years old that end up clobbering,shooting or end up committing suicide.

here in Africa especially the Nigeria that I'm from,we cover our children's excesses and in a lot of cases,we indulge and promote cheating,lying,bribery,prostituting,stealing and later start crying that its jazz from the mothers / fathers village depends on the accuser.

thank you

Jenny said...

@anon 10;55am totally dig ur view at least for futuristic goals, she wud hv jus handled d daughter n lik their normall routine ground her from her favorite things n later talk sense into her head

You live in Okirika.. You know nothing about America, so keep the fucking quiet. Idiot

ukbliss said...

We judge so quickly, do you know if dis woman has been having a hard time bc of dis girl, and we all know that if d moda lays a hand on her she will be the first to call 991

When everything is handed to you and the law shackles you from even performing paternal duties, this is the sh*t you get! If it was Nigeria, she will frog jump till her ancestors feel her pain.

Keep the fucking quiet?? Ok Americanah!

Oh pu-lease! It's a mother's job to correct her children,if a child won't listen to his/her mom is it an outsider dt'll make d difference?

Memes said...

At 9 she's calling the police,at 18 I wonder what she'll do

An older friend of mine had all her children in d uk,dey only come to nigeria occasionally bt u need to see how well behaved dese children are,wen dey mess up dey get a good spanking 4rm dia mom,its nt like dey don't knw how to dial 911 on dia mom bt dey neva have n neva will cos dey knw she loves dem n is only tryn to correct dem

My daughter hit her brother this morning for no just reason. Immediately i shilabara well well.
And i asked her to hug him and apologise.

centia said...

Moses I can see that u are a fool. Must u insult the police? They are doing their job unlike u that has no job, Ignorant fool

@anon 11:07 am, I kinda agree wiv u on ds one.

ann ubah said...

She just wanted to make her jealous

Gorgeous Diva said...

Which right? Called police on a child of 9?what da hell does she know? These whites are unpredictable!

U know say na oyibo country. If she do her job like our african mothers she go go jail. So it's a good thing she called d cops. Whatever it takes to save d child from d streets.

Exactly ooooo. Correct mum

She did the right thing

From ur name it shows u live in aba. Flogging a child will gt her into more troubles so her decision isnt bad nd besides its her life

She is right

nystyle@ said...

Exactly, just shut that mouth of urs that knows nothing and has never been out of ur village. U want the woman to go to jail if she smacks the child then loose all that she has in life for one unruly child?? No way.

nystyle@ said...

You are completely correct.

Beeteewhy said...

100 likes...the time u took in typing this perfect comment is worth commending.

Miss dee said...

Omg you just took this out of my mouth , this is wrong , the child will grow up to only hate the mother and her sister . What should a nine year old be doing in a court room or a jail cell ? She has scarred the little girl for life . Now the child would live the rest of her life regretting a mistake she made under the age of 10 , she would never be able to secure a government job , much less get admitted into a good school , this is so unfair . The mother only made it worse , she is brewing disaster in that family

Ur a big fool! So d best thing 2 do is flog her with rod.

The USofA has successfully groomed a generation of wimpy parents, and I blame their laws prohibiting parents from spanking their kids for achieving just that. How do u think this girl would feel when as an adult she realises her mom not only called the cops on her but also pressed charges?

That is the western world for you. Lol !!

Hahahaha keep d furking quiet?

Chiichii said...

The mother is a fool and lazy at that.
These juvenile facilities are scary places they are not run by sanctified holy persons and the child will almost definitely be raped and beaten in that place.
I get the mom is frustrated but this is SO not the answer.

SMH..

Ans for the spirits..... Mumu u nor get ans then don't comment at all

Between Wilhemina nd onyx i dnt knw who is more stupid! wilhemina u need to hang urself or drown urself, dat way, onyx will be motivated to do the same

gyga said...

Hope you know comments posted here are free, your write up looks like you are expecting to be paid for that your award winning article..ish

First time commenting

Osinachi said...

O di egwu nno. Ndi ocha ezuzu ka. So a mother can no longer discipline her own 9 year old without interference. She had to call the police. Next time, call Boko Haram to teach her a lesson. Mtttsssshhheeeewww!!!

no said...

oyinbo and their chicken/tilapia brain shaaaaaaaa

what of kids that abuse their parents... will their ever be peace even in our heart eva in dis life?

You're all fools if you think the mother was correct...u say he dosnt knw america..do u? Som1 dt entas d system dt yung can obviosli grow rebellious nd do worse things...dre r oda ways 2 correct a child dt dnt hav 2 do ft layin a hand on the child or callin the police

What do you know? And please the point of writing is to communicate efficiently. Spell your words correctly.
What does a 9 yr old know abt assault that wasn't taught at home? And you think the mother shouldn't be charged for child endangerment since she "allowed" her older kid to hit the younger one while she filmed it.
Think before your make your comments sir. Then again you're probably just a run of the mill idiot anyway