Photos: Two Suspected Fraudsters Arraigned for €61,500 Scam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 24 November 2014

Photos: Two Suspected Fraudsters Arraigned for €61,500 Scam

Find the EFCC press statement below...
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, has arraigned two suspected fraudsters, Gabriel Osereme Xavi (a.k.a. Collins Page) and Aikhaituamen Best Junior Cyril, before Justice E.F. Ikponmwen of the Edo State High Court sitting in Benin, on charges bordering on conspiracy and obtaining money by false pretence.
While Xavi was slammed with a 12-count charge, Aikhaituamen was docked on 6-count charge.
The duo however pleaded not guilty to the charges after they were read to them on November 21, 2014.
The accused persons are alleged to have fleeced a 49 year-old Belgian nurse, Goryczka Janina, whom they met on Facebook, of the sum of fifty five thousand, five hundred Euros.

The victim allegedly met one of the accused persons sometime in January, 2014, who introduced himself as “Collins Page”, a Croatian Engineer resident in Wigan, England.

Within days of their meeting, “Page” contacted her with the story that he was in Nigeria to supervise a construction project in Edo State and that he was having difficulty with his credit card as it had been blocked for security reasons. He solicited Janina’s assistance for desperate cash.
Over the next few weeks, Janina kept sending him money until she had transferred a total of €61,500 through one Emmanuel Okoh based in Cape Town, South Africa and Messrs Junior Best and Cyril Ojiemen.
When ‘Mr. Page’ pressurized her for more money, Janina confided in a friend who told her that she might have fallen into the hands of scammers.
In view of the plea of the accused persons, prosecuting counsel, G. K. Latono asked for a trial date and prayed the court to remand them in prison custody.

Counsel to the first accused person, P. E. Onobun and counsel to the second accused C. N. Dike prayed the court for a short adjournment to enable them file applications for bail.
Justice Ikponmwen adjourned the case to December 8, 2014 for consideration of bail applications and ordered that the defendants be remanded in prison custody.

Two of the charges against Xavi read:
Count-1: “Gabriel Osereme Xavi (a.k.a. Collins Page), Aikhaituamen Best Junior, Ojiemen Cyril (still at Large) and Emmanuel Okoh (still at Large) sometime between January and February 2014 at Benin within the Jurisdiction of this Honourable court with intent to defraud, conspired to obtain money by false pretence from Goryczka Janina, offences contrary to and punishable by Section 1(3) of the Advance Fee Fraud and Other Related Offences Act, 2006”.

Count-2: “Gabriel Osereme Xavi (a.k.a. Collins Page) and Emmanuel Okoh (still at Large) on or about the 31st day of January, 2014 at Benin within the Jurisdiction of this Honourable court with intent to defraud, obtained the sum of €40,000 (Forty Thousand Euro) from Goryczka Janina on the false representation that you were a Croatian Engineer handling a road construction project in Edo State, Nigeria and the money was for purchase of equipment and materials towards the project, which representation you knew to be false”.

100 comments:

LIB GIVEAWAY HERE I COME.....KESTER_STATETRUST@YAHOO.CO.UK

seunzyl said...

What's happening na? You dint paste comment since 6pm

Na wa o*phew**

kimnana said...

Good for them

Ole catch am carry go.

kimnana said...

Good for them

Bosslady said...

Everyday is for the thief, one day is the owner of the house!

LIB GIVEAWAY HERE I COME.....KESTER_STATETRUST@YAHOO.CO.UK

Jobless peoples

Hustler
Obprime@gmail.com

Jobless peoples

wow....thats bad

Nigeria and corruption ....obio4chilly4all@yahoo.com

Dudes that are suppose to do legal stuff and earn gud money for themselfs but their big eye no go allow them do better thing.... Their own don finish shah....
Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

Dudes that are suppose to do legal stuff and earn gud money for themselfs but their big eye no go allow them do better thing.... Their own don finish shah....

hmmm..xavi..lol..nice name..

fozenon@yahoo.com

REVEALED!! SEX SECRETS WOMEN HIDE FROM MEN... YOU MUST READ THIS! said...

To be sincere, this guys are really making big money!

REVEALED!! SEX SECRETS WOMEN HIDE FROM MEN... YOU MUST READ THIS! said...

To be sincere, this guys are really making big money!

Na wa o

Okooo
Obprime@gmail.com

Eugenia said...

These thieves come in different ways to defraud victims. Some women are so nice when it come to giving sha.

obio4chilly4all@yahoo.com

2 bad

na wa oh

mide said...

Yahoo bois are in trouble with dese new law of 7 years imprisonment

Ayodele Jay said...

serves dem right

Ayo jay

Ayodele Jay said...

serves dem right

Ayodele Jay said...

serves dem right...

Sharp guys

They shd b prosecuted asap

Boys hustling the wrong way......... Stealing aint a good thing we all know that........ Stay off stuffs like that

Orishirishi greed go kill some people

Xavi your dribbling skills are over.

"D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ will soon b released! maduekechinenye@yahoo.co.uk

They shd b prosecuted asap.

Good for them. Bounatics2012@gmail.com

bubu said...

boys gas hustle

lazy Nigeria youths, the law will continue to catch with you guys...efeghabo@Yahoo.com

Hmmmmm men

Free our yahoo boys biko... Na greedy oyibo money d take.

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Just passing by...

Y EFCC disturbing dose guys nw? D poverty in Nigeria is 2much they should leave them alone joor, bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Sureboys! *winks*

Oh.. Different things thesedays
Bad:see the video of three female police officers stripped nake,d in edo!

Adedeji Tobbie said...

Dem wan dry their client gbe.......Greedy working boiz

Good job, but the money is too small compel to what Rivers State Gov.Rotimi Amaechi is stealing every time from us

Greatest Battles!!! Part 1

His Grace- Part 1

Not Darkness - Part 1

lami said...

Its sad that able body men and women set out to destroy their future because of get rich quick mentality.

Go and catch politicians EFCC

Na dem sabi. Chibestpepe@yahoo.com

7 years in prison is awaiting...

DEguebe said...

...not the way to go.... It is well... Guys learn your lesson. Baba oloye says so via Opaeyin and Alombo

dollynkikky said...

Sweet

Abege,free naija guys! In as much as what they do is wrong, but the whitie dem shld pack well joor. Always fallen Mugu tufiakwa!

Emmanuelthomas219@gmail.com

d-peaches said...

God help us!

kaybaba said...

That's oops!

chi_zoba2006@yahoo.com

Things pple do for money. Bounatics2012@gmail.com

dennis425 said...

busted!!!!

Thief.

Una own don don 2day

Seen.#immagold# ogishot84@yahoo.com

Scam scam scam.nawa 4 una oo
Hustling

Guy men. Bounatics2012@gmail.com

Awemuyne@yahoo.co.uk

99 days fr d thief 1 day fr d owner. Eleganteme25@yahoo.com

Vacancies in Nigeria said...

Good for them

Is der time chimmynene@yahoo.com

Time 2catch dem chimmynene@yahoo.com

The Xmas is close so crime rate will be high,lord help us . s.imoh@yahoo.com

Ole. Lazy guys

chi_zoba2006@yahoo.com

Ogun loma kpa EFCC!!!!

U see ur lyf and how u reason, so they should leave them alone to continue stealing so now tell me the difference between this guys and our corrupt leaders? Dis was hw those big thieves started nd nw they are stealing public funds. Tomorrow some Of this yahoos boys will come out and contest and for Una mind Una don see future leader.

God catch dem

So sad

EFCC go after d real thieves not dis young boys...lucky Igbinedion lives in Etete Gra not too far from dis court...goats...until 1 of una miss una no go leave boys alone..politicians being defrauding d masses 4years yet no arrest yet

Gays and money

i want to win the 150k for my xmas trip

God don catch dem.... pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

Why are we not hearing about high profile cases? God is watching and will expose every hidden things in Jesus name. Toks

xomstool said...

Hustlers

Didn't knw I will actually c someone reasonable like you on here,I wonder if ppl know how hard is for those guys to survive after spending years in tertiary institution without good job nd their parent r there waiting for the fruit of their labours ...I wonder if you know how our graduates are dying of hunger dis days....Oloriburuku gov,they will never prosecute bombers nah masses they will b disturbing with their yeye laws...

My dear you are not better than them cos the use what they have to get what they want, is just that your days are not number yet that's why you think you are better than them.

Hustler have Nigerian ever put food in your table before or have they in anyways help this youths with or without their schools sert.

xomstool said...

Serves them right!!! X

Abeg leave this boiz alone jawe after all no better work for this our country,Make una free dis boiz

really resorting to fraudulent means to end financial insecurity is so 1900.
in this world of financial breakthrough through Forex trading!
trade@fleetforex.com

Lowkey said...

Thunder go fire those mumu EFCC or whatever they call themselves, they better release the two industrious guys that use their brain just as our great politicians do. The Judge should know that the only good judgment is to let this hustling guys go without collecting kobo and urge our governments to create job. If 9ja guy can use brain to portray what’s not physical to collect huge physical chase as many as that, then we’ve got talents in Nigeria but the fault of using it in a bad way lies on the levity hand of the clowns we call governments..

U fools is it nigerias money their stealing u shuld be thanking them they take the money from a thriving economy and bring it here to spend. Robin hoods dnt hate it's a fucked up world we live in. Nija is nija at the end of the day eat or get eaten. All these ppl comment in on here gonna go out and scam our own ppl in some way whether it's from ur office sellin second grade shyt or police or go official stealing pension. At least they not takin from our own. Yeah they stupid for getting caught but don't throw insults like yall culd even make that type of money in a whole 2 yrs of workin. Anyway lesson learned for these two young cats.