Australian cricketer Phillip Hughes dies two days after being struck by ball | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 November 2014

Australian cricketer Phillip Hughes dies two days after being struck by ball

So sad to hear that this guy finally died. Been following his progress since yesterday. Australian Cricketer Philip Hughes has died two days after a ball hit him in the neck during a match between his team and South wales at the Sydney Cricket Ground on 25 November 2014.

Though he was wearing a helmet at the time of the freak accident, Philip collapsed and was rushed to St Vincent's Hospital, Sydney where he underwent surgery and was placed into an induced coma. He died this morning from his injuries. He was 25 years old. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

Doctors said his injury was a rare vertebral artery dissection which led to subarachnoid haemorrhage, which is bleeding in the brain. See pics taken immediately after he fell after the cut...

Hughes was struck in the neck by a bouncer from New South Wales bowler, Sean Abbott.

52 comments:

May his soul rest in peace.

R.I.P

As soon as I saw "american cricketer" I knew it was a report on death. May his soul RIp.. Psalm 118:17. BishopDammy#

Are u looking for sugar mummy or daddy please call dis line 07060801564 please be mature...

Mrs E said...

Sad!

May his soul RIP...weeblyproductsales@gmail.com

Ehyaa,how are u living ur life? If i die today where will u go? Instead of sitting and judging others,work on ur oqn self so dat u will make heaven... #onyxmotivationalthursday

Jesus! RIP

#king said...

Hmm..I followed d story too..unfortunate..I have tried to watch cricket even wen I travelled to S.A I watched a live game..its just a meaningless dry sports..R.I.P..cos of dis useless sport u lost ur life..And dat guy that threw d ball shld be charged for murder.....................................#KingOfKings #6ixGod

dats tragic...R.I.P

"Like Mother,Like Daughter"; Dora Akunyili's Daughter Wins International Award

Oh no! This is so sad! May his soul rest in peace

Guddy said...

May His Soul Rest in Peace. So, so sad. He is still a young man.

Why all them handsome men be dying.....so sad# *****QUEENMAYA******

If na naija now we go say dem do am for Village.. tragic loss tho

May his soul rest in peace

Sad. richard.yinka190@gmail.com

RIP Gallant boy

VEE said...

Very sorry and may his soul rest in peace.

faceoflib

LIB´s wea una sense of reasoning dey e bi like say una don use am look kim nudity Habah Most of people wey dey insult dis guy sef no get sence to be honest seh 13 never too much for a young lady lets call a spade a spade o jee make una too blame da girl ao woman go sleep with 13 diffrent men and she never ready to marry sef
all stupid girls wey dey run dia mouth like dia sour toto sef no get sense N SHAME habahhh 13
una all da craze da gal na pure harlotuu if da guy marry her enta house she go distribute for every man wey dey area even aboki wey dey sell goro
LIB PEOPLE GET REAL 13 PLIK JUST TOO MUCH NA FUUUD
SHE SHE DEY JUSTIFY
UNA ALL DEY CLAZ (craz)

Which food dem dey chop wey ball go heat yu for neck yu come die.... May his soul R.I.P.....

so sad! may his soul rest in peace..

TWITS said...

Sad indeed. Coincidentally, I was just about to check up on his progress, then saw it atop ur blog. May he RIP,Amen.

Trustnaija Blog said...

R.I.P

That man on black seems to be dancing kukere. Rip nwoke oma

Rip

Sad event
RIP man

Very sad!

Home front tins

Igbinosa Sarah said...

God rest his soul

Sad, rest in peace. Was there any malice on the part of the player whose ball struck him? Will he be prosecuted?

Chaii! RIP, God have mercy on us ad untimely death is not our portion in Jesus name (Amen)

Death comes in different ways,may ur soul rest in peace,amen.

khalan said...

RIP....sad

I never thought cricket was a dangerous game till now and it truly is nothing short of a freak accident! The guy would have turned 26 on Sunday. Can't imagine what the person who threw the ball must be going through!

"American Cricketer" bi bawo ?

Very sad for his family and for Sean Abbott too. I just read his helmet was an outdated one.

So em finally die,eya.... RIP to da dead

mimi pearl said...

Amen!

So sad RIP.

Oyegbenga said...

Am sure you can read well at Bishop, the story reads "Australian Cricketer Philip Hughes" where you see American cricketer?

Oyegbenga said...

RIP Philip Hughes

joy Egbunu said...

Ever heard of a freak accident? 'Twas a game danmit! Charged for murder ko, father ni?

beadsarenaandaccessories said...

so so sad.. It wld be hard for the guy who gave the shot to forgive himself even though it wasnt his fault. Really heartbreaking.

All sport are dangerous.

Hahaha afi cricketer na lmao
Bishop u cn sabi gbagaun ehn

King your a sick man.i bet you fid not finish your secondary education. Are you daft? Don't you read news? It was a mistake ws not intentional.

I tried playing it once with my team at work. Didn't enjoy it one bit.

Sylviagbo@gmail.com