US Government freezes $458million Sani Abacha cash | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 5 March 2014

US Government freezes $458million Sani Abacha cash

The United States government today March 5th said it had ordered a freeze on $458 million in assets hidden in European accounts by former Nigerian dictator Sani Abacha and his conspirators.

PM News reports that the Justice Department said the corruption proceeds, stashed away in bank accounts in Britain, France and Jersey, were frozen at Washington’s request with the help of local authorities.
Abacha died in office in 1998, but his surviving relatives still include some of the richest and most influential figures in Nigeria.
According to a civil forfeiture complaint unsealed in the US District Court in Washington, the department wants the recover more than $550 million in connection with the action.
“This is the largest civil forfeiture action to recover the proceeds of foreign official corruption ever brought by the department,” said Mythili Raman, acting assistant attorney general.
“General Abacha was one of the most notorious kleptocrats in memory, who embezzled billions from the people of Nigeria while millions lived in poverty,” she said.

The Justice Department said the assets frozen — along with additional assets named in the complaint — represent the “proceeds of corruption” during and after the military regime of Abacha, who became president of Nigeria through a military coup on November 17, 1993 and held that office until his death on June 8, 1998.

The complaint alleges that Abacha, his son Mohammed Sani Abacha, their associate Abubakar Atiku Bagudu and others “embezzled, misappropriated and extorted billions from the government of Nigeria and others, then laundered their criminal proceeds through the purchase of bonds backed by the United States using US financial institutions.”

Raman said that the action sends a “clear message” that the United States is “determined and equipped to confiscate the ill-gotten riches of corrupt leaders who drain the resources of their countries.”

The US government’s Kleptocracy Asset Recovery Initiative “where appropriate” provides for the return of stolen proceeds “to benefit the people harmed by these acts of corruption and abuse of office.”

It did not specify what action would be taken with regard to the Abacha case.
The funds frozen include approximately $313 million in two bank accounts in the Bailiwick of Jersey and $145 million in two bank accounts in France, the department said.

Four investment portfolios and three bank accounts in Britain were frozen, with an estimated value of at least $100 million but the exact amounts in the accounts have not yet been determined, it said.
The Justice Department said that on February 25 and 26, authorities in Jersey, France and Britain complied with the US action to freeze the assets.

The complaint also seeks to freeze five corporate entities registered in the British Virgin Islands.
According to the complaint, Abacha and others systematically embezzled billions of dollars in public funds from Nigeria’s central bank on the false pretense that the funds were necessary for national security. They withdrew the funds in cash and then moved the money overseas through US financial institutions.

Abacha and his finance minister, Anthony Ani, also allegedly caused the Nigerian government to buy Nigerian government bonds at vastly inflated prices from a company controlled by Bagudu and Mohammed Abacha. That operation created an an illegal windfall of more than $282 million.
In addition, Abacha and his co-conspirators allegedly extorted more than $11 million from a French civil engineering company, Dumez, and its Nigerian affiliate in connection with payments on government contracts.

Funds involved in each of these schemes were laundered through the United States in nine financial institutions, the complaint alleged.
The financial institutions involved include Citibank, Chase Manhattan Bank and Morgan Guaranty Trust Company, now JPMorgan Chase, and New York-based units of Britain’s Barclays Bank and Germany’s Commerzbank.

Last week, at a ceremony to mark the centenary of Nigeria’s formation by colonial lords, the Nigerian government headed by Goodluck Jonathan honoured Abacha, along with other past leaders for services rendered to Nigeria.

Source: PM News

269 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 269 of 269

Where did this gay punk emerge from... is that the issue on ground now. Pls hide ur gay feelings jor.

Nigerias. What a wicked. World

Chukwubroz said...

we are not surprised, maybe a click somewhere, ha ha ha ........

Sirwels said...

If d moni gets here it will till b shared among d rich politicians

NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT JUST HONORED THESE THIEVES. WHAT A DISGRACE GEJ...AND CAN YOU BELIEVE THE FOOLISH CHILDREN INSULTING THE GREAT WOLE SOYINKA... ABACHA IS THE WORST THING THAT HAPPENED TO NIGERIA... GUYS REMEMBER THE PROPAGANDA “WHO THE CAP FIT". (LOL). DEAD DICTATOR

Wannabe AuntySocial said...

My friend just keep quiet there. Who said we are killing them. Idiat.

Jst shut d F up already! Nobody gives a F about gays ok... We do nt wnt it Nigeria! #oloribuku

FUCK THE ABACHAS said...

Linda I'm nt seeing my comment o

Nw I see. No wonder Miriam Abacha once said, no matter Hw dey seize the Abacha loot she & her family will neva b poor as Dangote & we thot she was a Clown then. Smh na was 4 Abacha sha

Money talks, bullshit walks.....that's nigeria for you!

Chiefo009 said...

Abeg wetin concern US wey dey freeze money, why cant dey send the cash back to Nigeria? I wonder o

WHERE ARE DOSE SILLY CHILDREN OF BABA THIEF(ABACHA) LET THEM COME OUT AND RUN THEIR SMELLING MOUTH. SHIOOOR

Honestly for me Mr Jonathan is a disgrace to me as a President. Why will he give a centenary award to Late Sani Abacha? For all i know if Abacha did not died,will Jonathan ever get to Abuja in his lifetime not to talk of living in Aso Rock. Well i am not surprised he did anyway, when he is surrounded by Reuben Abati and co what do i expect? Presidential pardon to D.S.P Alameseigha and Al- Mustapha are part of his ways of ensuring corruption is sustain in Nigeria, no wonder he said in Davos the other day that "corruption is not Africa greatest problem".

I hope those children of his defending him gets to see this and US government sure knws how to pass strong msg to oga Jonah whenever he does any wrng thing.

My question now is where will all this money go 2 and how will it be used 4 the benefits of the ordinary nigerians who actually suffered during his wicked reign

jay said...

Gumsu and her brother sadiq...how market na?d wicked shall never go unpunished,it doesn't matter how long it takes.....

FUCKING COUNTRY LEADERS.... said...

Later linda will be lyk " aw d third son σƒ abacha bought his girlfriend 20million naira neckless, wow congrat girl..rock it babe nd guys dis is how real men behave" mtchwww...y won't dey have mouth ² talk wen pple lyk linda and bella wit d stupid govt praise dem even wen we knw dat dey re thieves and bastards...linda if u lyk D☹и̲̮̣̥̅̊'†̥ post d comment bt â„“̊ knw dat u will surely see dis...stop promoting rubbish on ur blog cos it seems dat u re all abt money nt abt d love 4 wat u re doing

No comments,gumsu and sadiq am soooooo waiting for your open letter to the American government . Bunch of faggots

Are you for real? Wots your pain? Get a life or go and hug transformer. Ewu homo......

Abacha family really stole from Nigeria,all this money for one person?he should rest in f**king hell

This centenary honours na wa ooo.

Justice team said...

This idiot commenting about gay in a corruption case. Why don't you say your name and tell the police that u are gay . And see wat happens to you .

Justice team said...

Oga shut up, who are all this gay brain dead people. Is the arse hole all you care about. How about the poor masses. Am sure u are related to the Abachas

na wa ooo, gumsu/sodiq where una dey abi una never see this no. so why una no go talk. bad fruit from a bad tree

The frozen money shouldn't b released to our STUPID govt they having the money should come 2 help Nigeria's invest in our country with our money sources or establishment because if given back 2d govt dat moni is gone,Help us ooo

Ole, omo jaguda! Ole ngbe ogo fun ole. Jona ati Abacha!

Linda, what are the president's special advisors saying about this? Those guys were busy writing long epistles when they were distracting Nigerians into a whipping frenzy against gays. The silence is deafening now that they can't incite persecution of that minority group anymore to hide their inadequacies.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

And that son of a notorious killer still opens his mouth to challenge people in spite of all his father did to this Country.

No mind this baboon....

Charming Kay said...

Dis song is dedicated ² nigerians
Alagbara lolorun mi (My God is all powerful)
Alagbara ni Jesu mi (My Jesus is all powerful)
Oba to pa Sanni Abacha, (The king that killed sanni abacha)
Lai yo kondo (Without a batton)
Ko ma soun ti kolese (There is nothing He cant do!)

Thank u

Ole, omo jaguda! Ole ngbe ogo fun ole. Jona ati Abacha!

Oya nah,gumsu and her very own brother should keep on yapping nah...mumu pikins

souvenirworks said...

My God! This guy died in 1998, and they re still recovering his loot...chei na real double wahala for dead body...RIP abacha too bad u cant spend the money now.

hmmmm
news from nigeria nollywood

This is enough money to last 3 lifetimes chai ... If Nigeria would put this money to good use, we would solve half our issues.

=EVN WITH ALL D LOOTS,MONEY STL DEY NAIJA. ABEG WHR D ABACHA PIKIN DEM GO? LOL. NA BCOS DEMOCRACY DEY ,HENCE UNA 4 HEAR. LIK SAY ANYBOBY BEEN TALK SHIT 4 UR PAPA TYM GO FREE.

Don't mind d useless fool, comparing his Ole father to Wole Soyinka. May God punish d Abachas from generation to generation, may they never know peace.
Sebi if I say Goodluck is a useless & clueless president u guys will crucify me. How can GEJ give a national award to someone who brought pain & sorrow to this country. Foolish president!

Dabby.

FunmiD said...

I jus wish we could be colonized again cos its obvious we can't govern ourselves well.
If this money is returned to the Nigerian government,it would only be re stolen by the present government and slashed away somewhere more carefully.It would not be used to put the much desired infrastructure in our dear country.
So you see,dear compatriots don't we need people to come and force development on us at gun point?

Warri pinkin said...

Linda you see how God dey work the stupid kids of that tyrant Abacha had d guts to insult an esteem prof like Wole Soyinka.
What SOYINKA HAS ACCOMPLISHED Abacha and his kids wont accomplish such in 1100 years to come yet his UN informed kids were talkign thrash God and the United states has vindicated wole soyinka and they have shamed Nigerians government most especially Jonathan. Jonathan stupidly gave Abacha post houmous centenary award and lined him side by side to wole soyinka what an insult to kongi
soyinka refused and people talked thrash that th eprof was proud in less than a week the United states discovers 500 million dolls that the thief Abacha stole and hid the truth is Lawrence anini and shina rambo and other great armed robbers are babies compared to Abacha in the art of robbery they are learners Abacha was a killer unleashing his death squad killing oppositions looting and plundering the nations resources yet the individual Good luck Jonathan gave him and award Jonathan just exhibited his ignorance on the antecedence of Abacha

winniekoko said...

$458 is not up to one tenth of the money he looted Nigeria. If u know the enormous amount of money he looted, u won't have choice than to put the entire Abachas into extinction by bombing.

My question is, where would this funds be sent to? would it be sent back to Nigeria for the next President to embezzle it?

I'm telling u, that's d only thing 9ja got knows how to celebrate "Evil". Useless govt, useless president. If it was some other country d Abachas would have been stoned to death, not making mouth about. They even walk freely in d country & very soon GEJ would give them ministerial post. May God have mercy on d people of this country.

Dabby.

Were nie....gay oshi,omo pau bi ibon....eleriibu omo

Mrs E said...

“General Abacha was one of the most notorious kleptocrats in memory, who embezzled billions from the people of Nigeria while millions lived in poverty,” she said.
Sadiq, Gasumu, we need your replies be it in for of open letters, tweets or texts NOW! You kleptocrats!

OH MAI GOD, SEE MONEY THAT CAN MAKE YOU FEEL BAD IF YOU HAVE NOT HAD BREAKFAST

(twitter-instagram)

ehnehn, that useless son of him Sadiq should speak out or write an open letter on this to the USA government. Sadiq Sani Abacha his also part of boko haram, bastard boy.

ASHIYA said...

Ure a FOOL!!!!

Help me ask d retard cos not even in the animal kingdom is such a thing heard of.... So sorry for all u offspring's of d devil..

Gumsu and Sadiq, No money to pay for internet connectivity to talk rubbish from now on...,

Time to get a Job.

SUPERVISOR said...

I SAID IT YESTERDAY - ABACHA STOLE NIGERIA'S MONEY AND MURDERED KEN SARO WIWA.

GREAT NEWS!!!! SHAME ON ABACHA CHILDREN!!!

"Last week, at a ceremony to mark the centenary of Nigeria’s formation by colonial lords, the Nigerian government headed by Goodluck Jonathan honored Abacha, along with other past leaders for services rendered to Nigeria"

LOBATAN

Linda, y have u refused to post my comment? That isn't cool.

Dabby

So sadiq abi suck dick,u see ya life outside,more than ten years after we are still TRYIN to recover frm ur father's heinous crimes. Even if u returnd ALL d money ur father stole,it wud still nt b enuf. But dt is d only way u may b emboldened to say pls forgive my father,let us bury d hatchet and move forward. For now,pls bury ur head in shame and enjoy ur ill gottenwealth that has bought u plenty english grammar but no common sense.

They would send the money back to Nigeria and it would be laundered all over again. Vicious cycle of corruption.

LB said...

U see how foolish the Abacha's and GEJ are. The cetenary award just brought thier yansh back in the open. Ds goes a long way to show how other leaders see GEJ as a fool for giving ds man an award. I want to believe d award was for skillfully stealing frm Nigeria under d disguise of opening a security account overseas for Nigeria. Btw Mr Jona with all due respect our major prblm nw is ds boko harram wahala,u better do all u can asap bcos dey must nt and i repeat must not penetrate into d west est Lagos if nt bliv me u n ur cohorts are done for. Just run away.

Neeqilata said...

Still can't believe GEJ gave Abacha an award. Wow! Can't bliv Abacha's children still hav mouth to talk in dis country. Well it's not their fault sha. With all d hidden billions. But wait oh. If the return the money to naija it's still not safe. Election is next year. It will disappear like our $20bn

Alagbado-ode said...

Like Fela rightly preached in one of his lyrics (may his soul rest in peace) - "which nigerian head of state no be thief? Which Nigerian president ( dead or living) no dey steal? You can see all of d socalled fmr hd of sts falling over each other and bowing stupidly for d present head of theives to receive their awards for thieving well.One day they will all pay for their sins against d poor masses of dis country!

So what are the CORRUPT WEST going to do with the money??? HOW ABOUT THEY PAY PA CK ALL THE INTEREST THEY HAVE MADE OFF THE STOLEN LOOT. FUCK THE USA!

Alagbado-ode said...

This Gej government is a government of d looters by the looters for d looters or how else can one explain our presido's penchant for always giving patronage and amnesty to certified criminals and rogues/money launderers like Alham's, Boy George, K..sham, Abacha etc! Is it a case of birds of d same feather looting together? God dey o!!

If dis had come out before the award jonah would have changed his mind giving abacha the award....i guess jonah just shit himself on the foot now!!!

Dr. Chiejine, Jonathan just gave the guy a national award, kapish? If u couldn't figure that out, your doctorate must be like Jona's own. Olodo oshi.

Chuks agamba google is your frnd. Atiku abubakar bagudu is a different person frm aliyu atiku. Bagudu represent kebbi central and is a pdp member. Aliyu is an apc member.

Calling people useless animals only helped to dissect the cadaver of your imbecility regardless of your gender,race,origin or literacy level. You have broken the barometric index of respect and you shall remain disrespected. What are you really doing on the blog about "useless animals" if in fact you are not a worthless animal of no gender going down an abyss of a calamitous existence.

Ozuor. What's America really doing for Nigeria? Ode ni e I swear. If your papa na gay, u no go dey here day mal-yarn. People dey talk better thing.. Oloshi day mention gay. Mentally retarded idiot

Miss gumsu abeg talk again!!!!!
Bloody brat!!!

MOKo Pee said...

Heh!!!! Is it not abachaz wife DT said no matter how poor dey are, dey can never be as poor as dangote... God has caught y'all sha....so US thank u but how are we getting it back na.

Abacha really killed this country, but I don't what is wrong with Mr. President by shortlisted his name among awardees?

Sadiq did you say your dad was a saint?

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 269 of 269   Newer› Newest»