Dear Nigerian internet users, have y'all seen the proposed Cyber Crime bill? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 31 January 2014

Dear Nigerian internet users, have y'all seen the proposed Cyber Crime bill?

How many of you internet users in Nigeria have seen the proposed Cyber-Crime bill which is before the House of Reps? For insulting someone online, you can get a 5year jail term. Like, for real? I don't understand why this government is not focusing on important things. They are now trying to clip the wings of news sites, blogs, readers/commenters and users of social media? They better not pass this bill into law. What about freedom of speech and expression? Find it below, culled from Punch...
For using profane language on other people or pelting them with insults or abusive words on social networking sites, Internet users in Nigeria risk a jail term that ranges between 12 months and five years.
Section 18 sub-section 1 of the Cyber-Crime Bill 2013, which is pending before the House of Representatives, expressly states that anybody who “insults publicly, through a computer system or network” commits an offence and will be liable on conviction to imprisonment “for a term of not less than five years or to a fine of not less than N10m or to both fine and imprisonment.” Continue...it gets more interesting
Also, the bill prescribes a jail term of five years for anyone who circulates or makes any racist and xenophobic material available online.

Cyber-criminals, who hide under the anonymity of the Internet to bully, harass other users of online platforms also risk jail terms when the law comes into full force. .
Section 15 of the bill, which deals with issues of cyber-stalking, prescribes a jail term of 12 months for anyone found guilty of posting messages deemed “grossly offensive, indecent, obscene” or messages aimed at “causing annoyance, inconvenience or needless anxiety” to another online user.

Besides, anyone who bullies, threatens or harasses another person, through “information and communication technologies” or posts messages online that contains “threats to kidnap or injure” another person will be jailed five years or pay a fine of N15m or both.

According to the bill, Internet service providers will be required to keep all traffic data and subscriber information for the purpose of prosecuting those suspected of committing cyber-crimes.
The service providers are expected to provide necessary assistance towards the identification, apprehension and prosecution of offenders, failure of which makes them liable to fines and or jail terms.

Part V, Section four of the bill prescribes the Office of the National Security Adviser as the co-coordinating body for all security and enforcement agencies when the bill becomes law.

One of the high points of the law is the prescription of death sentence for anyone who commits an offence against what it calls “critical national information infrastructure” which results in death.

325 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 325 of 325

I'm afraid oh.me that insults people regularly on this site.linda is your site safe,I'm under anonymous hope I'm safe,if we are not safe tell us now so we can stop commenting. 5 years in kirikiri is not beans.

Dear nigerian government,I will insult you any time I like and you can't do shit to me.

Very soon women won't be allowed to drive. Na small small,our rights are being taken away from us

No light for 3 weeks GEJ,where will I see light to be pressing internet.biko talk to my hand.

I'm afraid.

Oya now,I will stop using internet,i will go back to letter writing, and I will insult that person that annoyed me in my letters. Lol

Linda has this bill passed cause I just insulted people on your site now now. Can they catch you under anonymous.fear they catch me.

All you gay people commenting on linda ikeji,saying you had sex with your lover,you better STOP.I'm begging you STOP.

Isn't it naija again? lol. they can't do nada. just trying to scare people up and down.

Thank God this bill is still pending.

Amiey said...

in a way, that stuff is needed, people talk anyhow on d internet.. just sound negative, pick on people and throw insults about FOR NO DAMN REASON... ders actually need for these tongues to be tamed but the govt should look at more important things and not go about catching dogs when wolves are tearing us down.

Can we hand over the reigns of power back to the military now please?? The so called Democracy is being way more detrimental to the human right it is supposed to be protecting. Why can't we concentrate on the most important issues??why can't they pass bills about protecting the girl child?about protecting the citizens from domestic abuse, about child welfare and education reforms. We have a medical system that is so bad even the leaders don't believe in it and what the government is worried about is people insulting other people online?classic example of very stupid and blind leaders.

Lack of vision is the major problem with Nigerian government.I pray for urgent intervention from visionary leaders

I think they should begin with themselves by passing a bill for several years imprisonment for the corrupt leaders and looters that has eaten deep into our system. ndi ara.

sureguy@toronto said...

Jobless government can u imagine that Linda you are among their target

gbemi said...

In less than a year. We lost several rights as citizens, adult n children...nd still counting.child right gone, consensual adult right gone, now freedom of expression gone. Nigerians are very insultive sha. And they tend to threaten ppl online when they've lost a debate. So I kinda saw this one coming. Lol see life. Vote for jonathan come 2015! We're guaranteed to transform into north korea. Haha suckers!

Gela said...

this guy is so fucking annoying i swear down....instead of him to go place death penalty on boko haram pple, na cyber crime him get power for........mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew

WTF!!

Dear Lord,,,I would love to say a whole lot but since LIB is part of the internet I just have 2 mind my choice of words ohh,,b4 it is considered as cyber crime against the FED, REP Of NIJA

Linda freedom of expression does not mean a licence to abuse others. your right stops where mine begins. it may be the dawn of civilized blogging and professional journalism

Jonathan has lost it. He is using diversionary tactics to get people talking and angry so they don't focus on the main issues. No road, no water yet we want to kill gays and send people to jail for speaking their mind. Wrong priorities.
-Newyorker

probably this is why comments wait for approval * wink *

When morons rules the nation.

stupid government wif their stupid lives,always chasing rats while their house is on fire. I so detest being a nigerian.....pukes!!!

There are lots of important issues d govt left unattended to, d president is a failed leader and has received lots of insult via d Internet that's d reason for d useless law.

Omo nice Law so all those people wet yap my daddy freeze can spend their lives behind bars. At last Linda would think before she types and Nigeria would be sane again! THIS LAW MUST BE PASSED!!

I better stop commenting then, bye Linda i'm going on a very long hibernation
Love from Miami

These people are indeed jobless o!!! Can't focus on important iss.

Precious said...

IMPRESSIVE!! I AM 100% IN SUPPORT OF THIS BILL! at least people will be mindful of what they utter. Some Nigerians make really lousy and derogatory comments with little or no regard for other people's feelings. That should cease, freedom of speech or not! Learn to respect others.

Oya, let me be the first to say f*** off! Bunch of Hooligans, kmt. Oya, come and arrest me. You don't anything better to do.

Your father went mad so everything is now Jona this and that

Am sure with such words that is why u never made it in life

GEJ is a great President, Nigerians are just bitter people, so this can help reduce the bitterness, envy and hate

so... where are we going, in this useless country .... Jonathan is a fool , no a compound fool and all is cabinet.... bastard... Am expecting my jail term ...

linda na hunger be this way they come for you.fast and pray make them reject am oooo. lol

Only social media curses and they are scared to tell you how foolish these men are and that they are all cowards, i call on all our youths to be ready this time, because its not gonna be only write ups on internet it has to be physical ..... Fat belly foolz

We just need the military to come back to this country

Me I am insulting them! They should come and carry me from Canada where I dey. Bunch of foolish losers. No light, no water, unemployment, no health care, no security, I could go on and on, but these fools have decided to waste taxpayers money on this BS. We have not finished talking about anti-gay law and now this one? People who are stealing money steadily. Since Jona enter na one story or another. smh! I have not lost hope in Nigeria, but hearing stuff like this makes me almost gag

Like really?? What can you do! Mtchwww toothless bull dog--

Alexa

Ode ni e sha. U are as dumb as the fools governing u. Ur comment negates d purpose for the post. Ba intelligence

first time i will ever comment on this blog. but i do read and refresh this page always even whenever am at work or home...you should know why Jonathan is coming up with this mundane constitutions. He's been the most ever accused president on facebook and over the internet especially. He's been told to look for scapegoats by his illitrate wife. am sure that's why he's coming up with this BS. if he likes, let him trace me to Dallas, Nigerians are everywhere in the whole world. so we can make our voices heard irrespective of the location. I think he's forgotten the FOI bill. He's outta his sick head i swear. Please lets write this down, this guy will still beg for his life to be taken away from him cuz very soon, he will experience hell on earth as the worst part of his living life. Linda, you got to post this.

@BOBO_EDO said...

They won't fix electricity Problems ooo.... Clueless idiots!!!

@Bobo_Edo

They wil soon set a committee on that

Don't be an idiot

Tell themmmmmm!!!!!

Sabrina agu said...

Confused cabinet....mtsheewww

What a joke....
do they know how many insults go up the internet per day...

the is no light
poor service delivery
inadequate pipe borne water
very poor roads
poor infrastructure

don t they have any shame

the politicians are stealing money and nobody is doing or saying anything

Nigerians are to weak and cowards

rubbish

Which school did you attend?don't you know anything?does jonathan write bills?or ordinary nigerians like you and i,and its been pass to the house of representative,and signed by the president.if you don't know your govt,please don't comment

Nonsense! Y does linda always approve stupid comments like urs, wat does gay right has to to with cyber crime SMH! If u read ur books well u will know dat Allah purnishd certain generation cos of Gayism etc. Yl idiots like u re here shoutn. Mtscheeew

I concur so much

Aunty Lindo, this has nothing to do with this post, but since youre such a Beyoncé fan,, post a before and after pic of her. Her album cover of dangerously in love and her Pepsi commercial photoshoot that they put all over lagos and abuja. And see the difference and tell,me if you think shes not bleaching. Thank me later

I suppport maybe Linda can now stop be such a fucking leech and feeding off other peoples misery

Dumb asshhh leaders. They dont even know where boko haram usually post their haram videos. Aren't they using Internet? They wan come dey pursue harmless citizens for telling them d truth about their squandering ways.
Kai, only in Nigeria can they pass such a bill

fine of 10M or 5yrs 4 jus sayn "U Are M%&"...serzly?! (•_•)

Its now u know they should focus on something important right? When they issued a longer sentence for consensual homosexuality than for rape, nobody complained. This is just the beginning.

jokers

It is inconceivable that of the myraid of problems in this country which include corruption, lack of infrastructure, amongst others,what government can think of is how to clip the wings of a critical mass of the people. It will FAIL. How will government be perceived after the certain failure?

Onyinye said...

in naija anything is possible. Will be watching them.

He already brought isreal internet experts dat will help him track internet activities. This man has serious issues. He wants to curb nigerians into fear. Well before the net, our mouth been dey function wella.

Yesssssssss....love this. Time for civilised blogging. No more negativity. If you cannot be civil, bounce away. I'm all in for a negative free country. Oga Jona, abeg sign am straight away. If you can't be positive all the time, .abeg bounce away.

Lol another way to extort money from innocent nigerians.... Lol can't stop laughing

If supposedly truth..ur joy is not the bill..your joy is the pain that ur frnds has made it more than you..and am sure you tried but didn't work out for you..you must be a snitch and deserve to be sentenced of jealousy.enemy of progess...

Watch people talk about civil rights ? Since when did civil right give you the freedom to tear other people down ? Hypocrites. These are the same people that go against gay, that the bible doesn't support it. Ohh yeah right the bible supports all the negativity you people spew on here and the one u condone Linda ? Or suddenly you people remember there is a right...smh human beings will find every reason to condone evil. IF he signs this bill, your freedom of speech is intact, he haven't said...don't talk..just be civil or is that too hard ?

Read and understand..its not for cyber scam...read and understand mr international green and white traveller

Lmaoooo...The funniest thing is the only blog this will really not affect is Bella Naija. Love this. Perhaps, this will teach you people how to not condone negativity. Everything isn't money and blog traffic. And even if they don't sign it, shouldn't this be a wake up call for you all to realise we all do not need all these cyber crimes and rubbish talks, all in the name of commenting and a reminder that we all need to be responsible for what we condone ?

Una neva see anytin,its jst startin,if u can encourage a govt to jail pple dat dnt hurt u 4 14yrs,wat makes u tink dey wunt do worse .... una eyes go stil clear.... mtchwwww

We need d name of d senator dat proposed such stupid, clueless, right infringing law !!was he high on pussy ???so i shudnt speak my mind again ?i shud kip shut n pretend to b nice wen our leaders r stealing our money ???am fed up !!no power, water,roads,healthcare in shambles, education na zero n all dey care z wat we say online??? i nid to bang my head on d wall to let dz sink in !bunch of looseers !

For all of you who were so gleeful about the anti-homosexulaity act, remember the old saying from the german nazi era:

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out--
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out--
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out--
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me--and there was no one left to speak for me.

Though I don't like Jonathan's Govt, I still planned to vote for him come 2015. But with this dictatorial development in disguise, I am so sure that I will vote anyone APC presents, be it even a goat, I will vote the goat rather than Jonathan. I'm very sure other people who just read this feels same way now

olabisikemi said...

what rubbish !!!!!

Do you know how many people who knows how to Rob with armful stuff which internet stuff has change there life do you know how many people for town as a graduate without any Job who are into scam see make i tell you my own if the law is granted this is going to be another way for boys to show up in many group and at the time its only boko haram we have in Nigeria soon we are going to have Boko Halali because me wey i dey write i sabi carry gun na scam i dey do so make my life so if this turn to crime why not people no go dey carry gun killing your people who missing using our own money

olabisikemi said...

so funny !!!!!! niger na dream killer ..............

Lost it rather

Ahh see gay don dey talk ooo shame on you go get ur ass on toilet

useless people, dey dont want 2be lashed/insulted weneva dey loot our money or abuse their power....dey're definitely close 2dia doom,dey'll push us 2d point whr we'd av a revolution.they fink Nigeria's a big cage huh and dey can do whateva dey like wv d lock.

The lawmakers will not agree because they too will be spied on whether now or later.

Na de kian yeye bill way jona nd co go wan pass wit dat him mouth wey be lyk person wey de cry,jona ASUP stil dey strike o agbaya

God help us in this country! Are these so called leaders thinking or are they just bored?

I find it extremely provocative and also an insult to the intellect of Nigerians for our parliament to be considering a self-centered, irrelevant and inhumane law that violates the fundamental human rights of Nigerians. God will expose and also frustrate their plans.

They are the corrupt people. Their family and friends are also corrupt in the various offices they hold. So, how do we expect them to make laws curbing corruption and over ambitious politicians? That will be like someone punishing himself. Nigerian youths am looking at you all. This you your fight. If you like leave the old dogs to keep doing with us as they please. Let the margin between the rich and poor keep widening. Let their kids keep studying abroad. Let them get all the jobs. And let the masses be subjected to all the hardship.

This is insane

lovlyivon said...

Yahoo yahoo Bois una don hear am blue film watchers una don hear am??? Hehe be warned jail awaits offenders + 15million #laughinginspainish

Linda u're scared abi? Cos u know ur business will suffer if this bill takes effect. Yet u were supporting the anti gay bill on tiwa and banky's show, failing to use ur influence to make show the ills of the said bill...bloody hypocrite!

This is a propaganda by other blogs dere ar jealous of LIB. GHANAGIRL

Mab said...

Jonathan shld calm down jor

A lot of people commenting here are block heads, what are you all calling Jona's name here for? Is he a law-maker? Is Jona now a member of the National Assembly? His own job is to pass it into law by assenting to the bill abi? So why are you all shouting Jona Jona ! If somebody has constipation it is Jona,if somebody is purging it is Jona that caused it. Wetin sef!

I SUPPORT THE LAW, INSULTING PEOPLE AND BREAKING LAWS ONLINE IS ANTI AFRICAN OR NOT AFRICAN, NICE ONE JONATHAN, THE WEST WANT TO IMPLEMENT THE TERRIBLE ONLINE CULTURE ON US..

I tink y'all shd read d bill in totality b4 raining curses!Linda jst pickd smetin dt she knew it wld interest pple 2 comment! D main deal abt it its to stop pple frm hacking in security/terrorist related or scams etc waitin to read d bill b4 I comment!!! Linda pls get d real gist abt d maggot pussy u posted yestdai!for d info u gave is false.get d real story and repost!

Ok we Don hear so when law for gals on heels and minis go como and how many years we go spend? Lemme guess 35years imprisonment and 30million naira fine...

I think this bill is politically motivated against the likes of El-Rufai and the rest of the opposition to the PDP... (My opinion)

Another north korean leader.

Failed Country

What does he think we are? This man has to be tamed. He should leave

We the citizens of this great country should not just l
sit and look we must do something or we all go to jail

Linda , if you don't mind. I am just tired of people saying no jobs no jobs so I have decided to put tips on my blog and how to step out of your comfort zone and do something that's why I am pasting this blog link here . I hope you accept , it's just a way of helping others http://gideonakinwusi.blogspot.com/

U must b Yoruba **fear fear*

As in...this country is almost doomed...it's like jonathan is tired of seeing ppl yabbing him through the internet-tho na true ppl dey talk sha
*vanchuks*

I support wat apple said,let there be death penalties for politicians hu stl d country's money too,yeye ppl

GEJ remember your tenure will expire.

Important issues are being shelved and less important things are attended to!! This is why Nigeria can't progress. Priorities are wrong. But God is watching...

He has just started. Lol you were applauding the antigay bill, before the next two months, by the time he finishes with the citizens of Nigeria, you'll all be wishing for 14 years in jail instead of the repressed lives you'll be living in your new police state.

Congrats. More ororo to your elbows ;)

Jonathan is a fool.....oya make them come catch me...assholes

5-day Disneyland tour(Paris, France) for kids and Adults

0-2years = $0
3-6years = $410
7-12years =$500
12years and above = $700

This includes
2 nights BB accommodation in a 4star Disneyland hotel
2 nights BB accommodation in a 3 stay Paris hotel
Sightseeings
Transfers

This does not include
Visa (we could assist)
Flight Ticket

For more info pls contact The Trio Travels on
2B3ED142
Thetriotravels@gmail.com

Motherfuckers una go arrest tire

Is Uncle Jona trying to increase fuel price again ?

They should try and renovate all d prisons in da country b4 putting all these jail terms n passn their smelling bills

Since when did Jonathan become a member of the house if assembly. Illiterate idiot!!!!

Political illiterate. Does the president make laws

Political illiterate. Does the president make laws or is he a member of the National Assembly? fool

Stupid govt... Nd d law for scamming white pple nd doing yahoo yahoo,,mtcheeew,, u only nid to type nigeria on google 2 see nigeria scam topping d search list, very good international image

Must u pple insult d pple, when has he become a lawmaker. I jus wsh my president 'll b smart enough to politicize dz properly. Haterz shuld go to hell #TeamGej2015

Akanimo Sunday said...

Atleast,it will curtail abusive and profane language. You can crticicize without insulting.

Chef Blackbeards said...

U re just a Mumu, is it our dear president that proposed the bill. Everything that happens in nigeria we blame our president even when He is not aware of it. If u steal 50 naira blame jonathan too

So face to face insult will be how many years and how much? Anu nmpama

I was actually praising Jonathan for the anti-gay law bill, but now i regret doing so.How can a president not know his obligation and carry it out, other than chasing shadows. Oya now, he should arrest Edo state governor for insulting a widow pulicly and in addition asking her to go and die. Mtcheew. Make him come arrest me nah. He is very useless as a president. ppl r suffering 4 unemployment in the country and he is busy showing concern over rubbish. He has even forgotten he once insulted publicly.

All you fools who were praising the anti-homosexuality law with its drastic curtailment of freedom of speech, freedom of association etc.n this is the follow up

They are all mad,what about the Funds they steal from the public what law should they pass for that one,may God punish each and ever member of their family,if they think it's easy,they should come i would buy laptop and connection for them so they will work and see how hard it's to make money via internet.all they do is sit and deliberate on stupid matters,devil punish DAVID MARK,GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN AND ALL THE ENTIRE MEMBERS OF HOUSE OF REP AND SENATES.......SEE YOU ALL IN HELL....FOOOOOL,IDIOT,BASTARD,CAWORD,MOORONS,BORNFOOLS,SCUMBAGS AND ASSHOLE ND PUTAS AND PUTOS.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 325 of 325   Newer› Newest»