Yes! UK Government backs down on £3,000 visa bonds... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 3 November 2013

Yes! UK Government backs down on £3,000 visa bonds...

Great news people of Nigeria! The UK government has announced plans to cancel the £3,000 cash bond that visitors from 'high risk' countries, including Nigeria, were to put up to enter Britain. Below is the latest update from The Sunday Times UK..
The government is to abandon a controversial plan to impose £3,000 immigration bonds on visitors from “high-risk” countries in Africa and Asia after Nick Clegg threatened to block the policy.
The move will be seen by Labour as a humiliating U-turn for Theresa May, the home secretary. It came after David Cameron backed off from a full-scale confrontation with the Liberal Democrat leader, who was blocking the scheme’s progress through cabinet.
A pilot project to target visitors from seven countries — including India, Pakistan and Nigeria — who would have had to pay a cash guarantee or deposit to deter immigration abuse was to have been introduced this month.
The plan was to make visitors forfeit £3,000 if they failed to return home by the time their visas had expired. But in an announcement this weekend the government said it was canceling the plans

66 comments:

Erelu Obalola said...

Yippppeeee. Plus am first to comment! Dancing to Rich gang's Tapout!

They should have left it

Yikes! UK here I comeeee.

Rough Diamond said...

Yeea! Good news!

That's good to hear....those with entourage (large family) will be breathing with ease now.

BLOG QUEEN said...

Ok..great news

Wowwwwwwwwwwww. This is one of the best news for today. Now my family can come visit me without thinking about the bond. God bless Nick Clegg

We must continue to stand up for ourselves, Nigeria is a great country and we should not take shit from any country or persons no matter how strong. This people need us too.

This aint any of our concern actually miss linda next gist joor i am waiting! And guys you can checkout
See A Lagos Boutique Owner Sends Her Na'ked Pictures To Lover…And Gets Exposed! Pics

Nice move.

Its for their own advantage

Nude Photos Of Madonna At 18 Surface Online

why such a policy?

Just passing!!!

I knew it will not work.Uk to naija is like going to the bathroom to have ur bath.No biggy abt Uk.

LOL they have tire

Who cares

Wouldn't have worked, how would they get other people to do their chores, play their sports?

Work ke what is so special abt their county if no be say our leader Na thief wetin won carry person go uk of all county.

Who cares?

Beta 4 dem o

£3000! That is too much na....so they will jail u if u refuse to pay d money or wat?....mtchweee. They shld just cancel such nonsense policy.

Dem for no cacel am na,..make dem for hear nwiii.

Awww! Thank God! Now I can continue with my plans to go to Leicester for Msc.

They know it will be bad market for their country.

The Airlines complained that it will ruin their business

esky skong said...

And I was just talking abt this to my friendwho want to go for visiting in the uk..he don shout say 'GOD my life don kpaka...buh now he does nt need any 750k anymore..ffl @eskyoflyf

Who cares? Won jebi.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Try the hammer dance

who dey beg them. if they like make them back up or down. na them sabi

Hmmm....just reading through ooo.

I wish one day i wil be in dat country

Its actually bad news Linda for people trying to get visas` because they have made it difficult especially for first time applicants. If they had left the $3000 more people were going to get visas. Now if they suspect you are poor & you wont do much shopping in UK or may overstay they are just not giving you the visa.

Nick Clegg is doing this because its blacks & Asians that vote for him he wants to look good but at the end of the day he does not control visas. He gets to get a good name whilst they scale down on who gets a visa. We had to appeal for my niece to come over for holiday even though she had all the requirements. Appeals also cost money that you dont get back so a deposit was better.

No b only hammer....na chisel.
Erelu obalola

Queency. said...

I wonder what is so special abt U.K, I wish our big thief leader could woke up from sleep n do d right thing some like me will not smell foreign country.

Instead of developing ur country, y'all are shouting merrily.
Tomorrow,Burkina Faso will wake up and make one new policy.
An yes! There are many Nigerians there too

they are d ones that will suffer it, it was a stupid policy, d amount of money they make naiaj peole wey dey do masters, i know how much i paid to do my masters in this country , acomodation nko? lets not go there... their people dont hav d mooney,so they cant do without us

Thank God! Cos I wanna travel soon ....yayyyy

STORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do you know how much they make from Nigerian studying in UK alone....We are talking about several billions of naira.. Make them no cancel am now.......WHO IS LOSING!!!

That was my main concern

Yaayh!!! Yes!!
But I was sha ready for them sha anytym I get their tym. Lol

Shyla

Yaayh!!! Yes!!
But I was ready for them sha anytym I get their tym. Lol

Shyla

U nid to fastforward ur thots in line wit d hapenins

Spiky said...

Afta dis ur gbagaun,I doubt if he 'could woke up'.

U nid to fastforward ur thots in line wit d hapenins

Let us develop our country first, then they will pay to come here. The answer is not in Europe or elsewhere, charity begins at home

Discover the hidden weight loss secret of top Celebrity

Ooooooh!!! Why now?

@apple... Pls watch your language this is a civil blog/forum not a place to use foul language all in the name of been cool..am sure you use such words in front of your parents or children...moron!

BREAKING NEWS: aki n pawpaw's sex tape leaked, checkout the video. http://bit.ly/HnNNjx

thank God i can take my baby to london yipee,cuz i have a 5 year visa and was just wondering abt my son

Noooo, they should have left it *hiss*. Nonsense people. Emirates to Dubai would have seen a huge upsurge in their market. And let's not even talk about how many people in India they'd have pissed off. Nigerians think they own London. They haven't seen Indians at work.

Gbagaun!!!!

Chineke me oooo!!! Stray bullet, everyone take cover oooo... na wa for some Libers oo, pls pls and pls always check ur comment, nka wu gbagaun di egwu... lili if u like no post my comment... na u sabi

Jesse Ebuka Okoli said...

I Knew they wld cancel it..silly ass policy

Uk is gay nation!nigerians are too holy to go there!!so they should continue with their outrageous policy jor!!I lie??

ds uk that everyone is shouting for, ther's nothing here. those here wil testify to it. d only difference is the "stable economy" factor, that's all. its too unfortunate that nigerians will rather be treated like 3rd class citizens here in uk rather than back go home where they will live well, free from discrimination by the uk government. nawa. its jst a place to visit but not to settle in, thats all.

Great news,@ leats, for d sake of those who intends going there some other tym

God bless Nigeria said...

Good stuff. I arrived d UK days ago, and boi u needed to have seen how many Nigerians were put on the hot seat for one discrepancy or the other as per their entry clearance. I know the fake passports/visa issues av been curtailed tremendously unlike years ago. However, some pple who although have a valid visa etc.. cannot still show proof of their sustenance for their duration of visit in the UK. So tell me how and why u'll not be grossly humiliated upon entry?

I once heard the most lame argument by a shallow person concerning this issue, he outrightly declared that the fact that Nigeria was colonized by the British, hence, certain immigration defaults should be overlooked. This made me realize that this person is one of the reason Nigeria will continue to sink into decadence, with such a mentality as his. If every country is lax with their immigration details/logistics, we wouldn't be struggling to visit or even migrate into their countries, cos they'll be as bad as ours.
I still love my dear country regardless..however truth be told, some of us can like to embarrass ourselves at the immigration ports of other countries. Hence the constant relegation that subjects us to public ridicule.

HAHAHA!!!
Bloody fools, what were they thinking in the first place? They have forgotten the revenue they get from nigerians (me i dont know about other countries on the list) that go to uk for shopping trips, seminars, even students. Imagine a family of 5, so they would have paid 15k pounds?? hian!
Im sure they notice a drop in students admission, ticket sales n hotel booking.
They forget that its people like us who give dem revenue to run their country from multiple trips(i trust my naija people) , students admissions, and training programs (i trust my govt pple, dey can like training in UK ehnn!!)

lol, shame on u, May or whoeva tot this dumb plan in the first place.

Theresa May is Conservative, Nick Clegg is a Liberal Democrat and the Labour Party are not in power. The Conservatives and LibDems are in power together.

The policy would have affected univerisity education in the UK because students from affected countries pay higher fees and contribute to the economy and university funding. Such students would have gone to other countries.

BEFORE!!!! AWON ODE

abeg nigerians(especially yahoo boys,politicians n runs babes) make una behave una self well for abroad,me our country no near dat list again, una hear me

U.K forgets so easily that it has little or no natural resources save for revenue gotten frm taxes and college fees from foreigners. I knew this policy would neva see the light of day. Pompous british Government!!
Anon vee.

I was bounced last week for not providing proof of the funds in my account even when all the documents were complete including my payslip, employment/introduction letter etc. Na dem loose cos by 2moro, i will be flying Emirates to Dubai!

Gosh!am so glad dey dint go ahead with d plan.....

IT IS SAD NEWS ACTUALLY, I THOUGHT IT WOULD MAKE IT EASIER TO GET THE VISA AS LONG AS YOU CAN AFFORD THE 3000 pounds and you don't want to forfeit it, which ever way, not bothered... Dubai is ever welcoming.

How is this great new? Linda BIA, I am completely disappointed with you. We actually make these people feel they are better than us.