N225m car scandal: Stella Oduah tells her own side of the story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 24 October 2013

N225m car scandal: Stella Oduah tells her own side of the story

Minister of Aviation Stella Oduah has responded to President Jonathan's query to her to explain her role in the purchase of the controversial N225million BMW armored cars. See her response below

Executive summary on the procurement of NCAA operational vehicles
“The Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority, NCAA, is the statutory regulator of the Nigeria Civil Aviation Industry.
Consequently, the NCAA is charged with oversight responsibilities over all civil aviation operations in the country, including safety, security and strict compliance with ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices, SARPs, and Nigerian Civil Aviation Regulations, NCARs.
2. Towards the effective implementation of its statutory regulatory responsibilities, therefore, it is imperative that the NCAA is fully equipped with highly specialised tools and facilities, including adequate operational vehicles to cover all 22 national airports and over 400 airstrips. In keeping with standard practice, provision is therefore made annually for the replacement of obsolete, inadequate & unreliable monitoring equipment.

3.In the 2013 budgetary appropriation, provision was made for the procurement of specialised equipment (including operational vehicles) to complement and in some cases replace obsolete ones.

Furthermore, the fact that NCAA, as the regulator of the industry, often plays host to dignitaries from ICAO, IATA, US FAA, AFRAA, AFCAC BAGASO, CANSO, ACI and a host of others makes it necessary to have specialised operational vehicles.

4.With regard to the procurement of additional operational vehicles (including BMW Security Vehicles), the following due process was observed:
(I) By letter dated April 15, 2013, NCAA officially requested authorisation from the Federal Ministry of Aviation to procure 56 operational vehicles through lease financing. This option was proposed to the ministry to enable the NCAA make 36 monthly payments based on receipts from Internally Generated Revenue, IGR. 

The Ministry therefore granted due approval.
(ii)Based on the ministry’s approval, the NCAA invited Expressions of Interest from all Banks in Nigeria for the financing of the said vehicles. EOI was adopted because the procurement is two sided. First, the financier would have to be selected before the supplier is determined. This is in line with procurement best practices.
(iii) On May 24, 2013, the response received from the various banks to the Expression of Interest, EOI, request was opened publicly and minutes of the opening exercise was duly documented. During the EOI opening exercise, NCAA got commendation from one of the Civil Society Organisations, CSOs, approved by BPP who were invited for the opening exercise.
(iv)  The evaluation of the expression of interests was held on May 31, 2013 during which First Bank Plc, Union Bank Plc and Stanbic IBTC emerged most responsive. On the June 10, 2013 the above three banks were invited to submit Financial Proposals. Thereafter, First Bank emerged the highest rated responsive bidder.
(v)Between June 20 and 25, 2013, invoices were received from various accredited motor vehicle dealers during which only Coscharis Motors Limited quoted for BMW Security Vehicles.

(vi) On June  28, 2013, NCAA Parastatal Tenders Board approved the selection of First Bank Ltd for the Lease Financing as well as Metropolitan Motor Vehicles and Coscharis for the supply of the vehicles.  All  necessary approvals  were duly  sought  and  obtained accordingly.

(vii) Between  July 8, 2013 to August, 12, 2013 various meetings were held with First Bank Ltd, contract agreement was signed and necessary documentation executed.

Your Excellency is respectfully invited to note:
(i) The crucial statutory role of the NCAA in regulating civil aviation operations in the country, including safety, security and strict compliance with ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) and Nigerian Civil Aviation Regulations (NCARs).
(ii) The need for NCAA to be fully equipped with highly specialized tools and facilities (including operational vehicles) to enable the effective implementation of its statutory functions.
(iii) The procurement of specialized operational vehicles is duly provided for in the NCAA 2p 13 (IGR) Budget and the need for adopting instalmental lease payments over36rionths.
(iii) That Due Process was followed in the procurement of the said operational vehicles.

Please your Excellency my continued loyally and esteemed regards.
Princess Stella Adaeze Oduah, OON, Honourable Minister.
- See more at: http://www.vanguardngr.com/2013/10/n255m-car-deal-story-stella-oduah/#sthash.SUqqv9wj.dpuf

313 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 313 of 313

Money wey go give ♍ε̲̣̣̣ good investment, na wetin Ʊ don use buy Just two cars. Bullet proof М̣̣̇Ɣ ass!

What the FUCK does all this have to do with the fact that u spent $2.6M dollars on 2cars? Nigeria is in trouble with leaders like this. So u think quoting all this BS makess it ok? There were 'provisions' made in article blah blah blah for specialized vehicles blah blah blah. Dearest thieving minister..the fact that the money is thre doesn't mean it should be spent carelessly. Your primary obligation to the people u serve and the office you hold is 'budget control'. You are a shamless thief StellA and you will be treated like one.

Stelll God punish u, were is the price of the motor there mumu, dey only ask u abt the money u dey tell story

She looks like she'll be fire in bed...wink!

Will u be my sugamummy Stella?

due process that's always their corrupt grammar.

How much were u paid?

This lady is just simply an evil and Freddy selfish CUNT

Was BPP notified about this purchase? Free hand indeed

Keep it civilized. Don't repeat rude words even if you do not agree with Ms Oduah. She has made her defense and numbered the paragraphs of the relevant issues. If you wish to confront her, do refer to her document. I am surprised how many people actually believe that shouting and making rude, often ignorant , remarks win arguments.

What of the exorbitant costs and alleged kickbacks? The ministry doesn't negotiate when vendors overcharge for their services?

Madam, no one said due process wasn't followed in the procurement of the vehicles, or that we citizens do not take into recognizance the sensitivity of your office, but madam, our pain is that if you have a conscience and know the dept of poverty and suffering in this country you would not drive in those expensive toys!! Pls stop cos you can't defend this.
I once ate at a restaurant in Abuja and my bill was 6k I have always felt bad after that day cos greed made me eat that when their people outside suffering. I prayed for forgiveness.. Stella, U need forgiveness from man and God

Ms Stella price that's what we interested in,how comes it skyrocketed,how much is your kickback

Of course "due process" are always followed in looting the nation. Dear minister if u own a company and the management bring up stupid procurement bill in the name of due process will u approve? Corruption is corruption the process doesn't matter.
Dishonorable corrupt minister you mean to say

Have you ever heard of appearances in nothing else. Your ministry is in the toilet and you have the audacity to

Na wah oooo.There is too much corruption in the Nigerian government.When will all this end

Our current political office holders are not effectively capable of addressing this pernicious phenomenon. This suggests that our institutions are particularly ineffective at preventing and uncovering blatant corruption.

"Self-purification" required

Too long jare

Lmao Guy u no dey carry last

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

She's a big liar. Well, GEJ is with her on it so she seem secured to rant all the shit

Hon mistress sorry minister
we have not and will not complain about your purchase of these vehicles(wetin be my business,trekking is my portion for now).All we are saying is that it is too exorbitant for prices it was purchased.you are very lucky you weren't born in china, by now you for dey roast for prison or death by hanging.what worries me is that you have the guts to explain.a good name they say is better than riches(but nowadays its the reverse).

*smh

*smh,wat a lady

Didiola said...

Funny how only women politicians enters mess like this. The corruption males do, we never hear of them. Bet she pissed someone off who is trying to get rid of her. Femi will be very happy.

you must really think Nigerian's are dumb right? all you have written is:
1.the need for the cars and not if truely the prices were inflated
2.you wrote of letters dated when but no references to the letters
3.proof of the invoices for those cars will like to be sighted on national dailies.
in summary we know nothing will happen to you at the end of the day but don't you insult our intelligence woman.
The docility of the youth and masses fans the ember of corruption in Nigeria.
LINDA POST MY COMMENT NAU NAU

she is fine to Lash sha!!!!

It’s not this administrations top priority among it's transformational agenda—and for good reason.

Public corruption poses a fundamental threat to our national security and way of life. It impacts everything from how well our borders are secured and our neighborhoods protected…to verdicts handed down in courts…to the quality of our roads, schools, and other government services. And it takes a significant toll on our pocketbooks, wasting billions in tax dollars every year.

She is speechles, imagine old woman so called miss stella.. so what do you expect from this fuck face woman hell knws hw much she has spent on her gigolo guys all around well shame on you anyways !!!

Yucci said...

Tales by airport light. Mschew!

Every Monkey dat is given a chance to hold a position in dis country always misbehave. Am loosing confidence in dis country. #frowns

Dora was shot at and she did not get any bullet proof car(s)...wonder what this B***h needs those cars for?

So dis woman is tryin to justify dis lavish purchase!indeed nigeria is in trouble if d custodians r dis selfish n greedy!can she spend her moni dat way?cos its nigeria's moni,no cares.n she took oath of office.dis's broad day light robbery!robbery of d nation!!GEJ if she goes unpunished then ur not different frm her.I weep for dis country daily.indeed we shud b @ d same level wit S.A if not more but we r still grappling wit roads,light n poratable water just bcos sum myopic pple found demselves in power.God help nigeria

LEWA*EXq said...

God is watching

Balderdash absolute bull. How did the price quadruple. OLE ASHEWO OSHI.

u will burn in hell....lesby mama

mumbo jumbo

HM............. Y is my comment NT posted?

And due process was also followed in pricing the car? Thunder fire ur ass there!!! now we understand why u don't ve a hubby cos u would ve sold him and use the money to buy presidential attention

Yawn!!
1st question for you Hon Minister: why buy 2 2008 model bmws in 2013?
2nd. Will a 2008 model bmw still be available for sale in 2013 at 400% the of the 2012 top of d range bulletproof 7 series?
3rd. Where are the numbers in this statement.

This is all hot air x bullshit in a smoothie blender that u aim to give nigerians to drink over lunch.

I dont blame her sha. Birds of the same feather all those in government. Be buying bullet proof dont fix our shit airports and stop planes dropping from d sky.

A comprehensive audit of our nigeria's finances has to be carried out asap. I am sure there are many stories like this.

Pls joor let her Be
Is she d only minister to have taken moneyyy!!! Aunty Linda post ma comment nA Abeg!!! I no b Stella naaa

theokoko said...

Go&tell does lies2ur family***********sHarap mumu

The explanation does not show the justification for purchase of cars,nor it explains why at such a high price and why more suppliers were not involved (BMW is not the only one manufacturing such cars!). Certainly, expensive cars cannot be called equipment.

Not fooled. All those processes have been backtracked to corroborate the story. There is no way due process was observed and the result would be a profit margin in multiples of hundreds. Its these excesses that due process is structured to avert.

First of all, she should present evidence of the public tender (eg newspaper/gazette publication).......Huh? What? Did I hear anything? Thought not.

DadMatilda said...

Hmmmmm, "set up Aye" (in my local lang slang).
Am pretty sure and affirmative this query defence
is a plot between Ms Oduah and the president.
there are so many missing points in the defence.
The query is all about the purchase of two BMW
cars which should not have cost more than
30million Naira each for the sum of 255million
Naira. Wetin concern us with the need for NCAA
to aquire tools and facilities!!! a n wiru, o n wiruu.
won ni baba se oja ta, o ni ara Omo lee. ki Lo bii,
ki Lo n dahun!! barawo!!

Anonymous idiot how much were you paid...you are the main problem with Nigeria

Lucian said...

Exactly!

See corruption. pple are dying of poverty and ure speaking english.Dis is scrap

Due process fire shameless woman

All this one na story.she forced NCAA to buy those cars for her personal use .Mr President is keeping quiet because he and stella have something in common.fellow nigerians,don't be fooled by all this stories.

BARRY said...

That's quiet interesting...

Linda, pls don't fail to bring to us the Delta State Chief of Staff's reactions and thought oh...I mean PC's uncle, Mr.Patrick Obiahagbon..the Ogodomigodo 1 of Benin Kingdom!

If by Purchasing Armord Vehicles in the is th urgent and respensible steps he talked about!

@PC..have you spoken with your uncle since then?

is mr press. Aware of dis?

The cars r not even fine sef
She first denied the report later when it was obvious she started looking 4 d rat and she is onto this one....my advice to madame minister aka gej bed mate, try RESIGNING NA

So she is nt even maried! Winks

Ginger said...

Story story story once a upon in time.all this long epistel I don't understand u chop money abi u no chop? Stupid woman God will surely deal with u and ur cohorts

U ar a bastard,ys hw much dem pay u? can u hear ur sef ? I can't finish dose documented officiated blabbing mtchwwww #kels tlkss#

Chris said...

They are talking of 225Million u are talking of sugermummy. See ur mouth like old woman toto. Danbanza kewei!

Madam Minister, how dis long grammar fit explain how you buy 2 BMWs for N225million? #longstory

koye said...

Tou are so dumb...guess u re one of her relatives. She didn't say anything about the inflated price... God go punish her

Paschal said...

If the Honourable minister actually scribbled dis dwn, den i'm rily baffled by her dumbness...is she trying to say its dis "well crafted lie" due process dat let to d cars costing $1.6mil each???? Dis woman shud b flogged naked in d middle of her village square

wetin b dis.... Madam jxt talk true aw d tin happen joooor....

Dat woman has given them tough fight the cabal tried to bribe her she no gree they had to blackmail her we dey wait ,bicoutney babalakin,maevis fagbemi,punch newspaper una go tire everyday Stella Oduah u no longer have news!Bastards!!!!she is going no where!!!

U mother couldn't take care of herself dats y ur father left her u are so used to seeing ur dirty smelling mum dats y u dey imagine.MUMU!!!

Rubbish so bmw is d safety operational equipment? How many of ur staff has Gone for training? Long hiss

At anon 10:30 bcos u r eating from there money has covered ur brain.
Ùr day of reckoning is closer than u know

Precedence have proven Nigerians as myopic in cognisance when i comes to issues of corruption. They only make noise while the issue is at the front burner of national discus. The case of the pension fraud "oga at the top" James Yakubu who stole 37 billion naira and was subsequently sentence to 2 years imprisonment with an option of 750,000 naira fine. This case of Mr. Yakubu obviously have being swept under the carpet yet nobody is talking about it. We all are guilty of corruption. To get Nigeria out of the claws of corruption,all hand must be on desk. So let he who have no sin be the first to cast a stone on Madam Oduah.

She is as corrupt as every other politician, public and civil servant including GEJ. She shud just take a bow now that her cup is filled. Zion.

The Good Governant said...

I agree with everyone that has commented previously. This woman is shameless. The word 'obsolete' kept on cropping up as a reason for the purchase of the vehicles, to replace the 'obsolete ones'. Well, what happened to all our obsolete planes, our obsolete local and international airports, our obsolete runways, our obsolete baggage claim at MMIA????

What about the inflation of price as others have rightly commented. Well, if its true as Linda has reported that Stella is with Jonathan now, then the probe is nonsense! We'd better just wait for 2015 to get our pound of flesh and the way things are looking the polls won't be pretty at all!

Lauren help ♍ε̲̣̣̣̥ ask am

There are other ministers, politicians, heads of parastatals who embezzle and connive huge amounts of public fund into their private pocket. I don't know why all eyes is on this woman after all she has done for d aviation industry. I just think her enemies are at work here. Let us not be naive about this fact'

Hmmmm nawaO can y'all imagine?

Huummmm! I fear this mamiwater Oo. See her eyes... Humm. May God save us.

Continue wasting Nigerian money, God will judge. Due process my foot

due procex my foot,dix shit ur wrote xplains nothing for d abomination u ve commited

Let FG pardon her atlease if not for any thing, her beautiful and sexy eyes. Abi no bi so?

is GEJ fucking this woman? why is it taking so long to hang her by her pu**y to death?

Operational vehicle is different from armoured vehicle. She got approval for operational vehicle according to NASS bt Nass striked off armoured vehicle dat cost 70million wch is 140million for the two cars bt instead she went to inflate the price to 225million & I know wat she will claim now is that armoured vehicle is d same tin as operational vehicle wch even a lame man can tell u d difference

It just doesn't add up at all,I can c someone trying to cover their tracks

*owo oniru ati owo oniyo* God dey watch all of una.
We go see hw ur end go come.
Minister shameless

shank said...

All these are propaganda !!!

According to a member of the House of Rep, there was provisions for both operational vehicles and armoured cars in the 2013 Budget. The specification of the Operational vehicles were Hiluxes and Corrollas (27 in Number) but the BMW armoured cars wasn't approved. So is Madam Stella Oduah telling Nigerians that the BMW armoured cars are Operational Vehicles? She must be a galoot for responding with dat nonsense story.

BMW Bullet-proof seven series are now classified as operational vehicles in the great naija. haba, lets fear God nah. And is it because of the operational they will be used for that made them 3x their market price?

Even if we buy into all dat crap shez saying how can the two cars be 200m naira more expensive than obama's official vehicle which is $300k

Raylah said...

Madam stella, talk about the inflated prices of the said vechicles.... This is what we call.... OP(out of point). Mcheeewww

Oluwabobby said...

What the fuck is all this rubbish?What a senseless statement or report.
Fire burn all these wicked leaders

Oluwabobby said...

What the fuck is all this rubbish?What a senseless statement or report.
Fire burn all these wicked leaders

Dis woman too lyk expensive package...na thief all of them be..bt d money 4 so so car wey fit crash 2mao dey brekete gan o.. Anywaz sha... Ready for an unbeleivable guy picking up live snake with his mouth and performing tricks with it, http://ireporterstv.co/a-guy-picking-up-a-snake-with-his-mouth/ dont miss out

dtruth said...

I have tried to keep quite on dis issue but since I can't bear what supposedly meaningful nigerians are supposed to be saying I have to speak now. What is d problem here, is it the np cars or the price? If its the cars then we must all know that its not a new thing in our society of today. If the price is the issue then I can understand and only pray that political monetization doesn't make the country loose the cars after two years. For Gods sake what kind of country are we in? If u do good or bad u step on toes either way. Dis woman is trying to computerize revenue generation in d aviation sector where the country has lost so much revenue and of course by so doing dat has stepped on toes and has caused threats to her life. I see dis whole thing as hatred. The dino melaye that is talking, how many years did he work or what legi bussiness did he do to aquire all d exotic cars he has? Bullet proof cars included. Exotic houses home and abroad. What did he do wen he was in the legislature rather than support madam eteh for the same embezzlement of funds. Now he is making noise. Abeg make we leave matter

dtruth said...

Linda abeg publish d truth except u don't like to hear d truth

Evidence say I sabi write. where is the explanation for spending 7 times the going rate? Is that what we call exclusive government pricing?

How much more you want to add to your income depends on you.
This involves no stess and nothing to lose but not ruling out the fact that you have a little work to do.
Check this out and start making money.
http://bit.ly/18wkoxy

bullet proof vehicle as operational vehicle nd at such outrageous price. If her life was in danger, why didnt she raise alarm, it is only when this scandal unravelled we knew her life was in danger. Gej, will still allow this sort of persons in his cabinet. Most of our problems in this country will be solved only if we vote for leaders that are disciplined nd uphold strong values of honesty nd dedication to selfless service. Pple should forget about ethnic,regional nd religous sentimnts. I dnt give a hoot where my leader comes from, his color, which language he speaks so far as i am walking freely without harrasment, thier conducive envirnmnt to make my bread. Corruption is what is the cancer eating this country.

I see enough justification to procure vehicles for the ministry, what I don't see is a justification to buy them at over inflated prices....

Does this her message also imply that we have not seen anything yet?? Based on her plan to have operational vehicles to cover all 22 national airports and over 400 airstrips......

God is watching them...........

GEJ will enjoy the night with her *wink*

dansignature said...

Dem dey ask abt how d rice tk reach $1.6m, she dey talk of due process. Na dat 1 we wan hear? D car na $167k x 2 =$334k. Where d remaining $1.266m from jump enter d $334k ? Na dat one we wan hear. D PRICE

Don't judge her so fast she must die in a plane crash to realize how costly it is to try God

I'm not even sure JAMES BONDS specialized vehicles with all the mechanism in the world cost that much!

She is truly and has big yang as well but that doesn't justify anything!

Guyz let's not act foolishly in dis case becouse in dis country we all agreed and name nigeria is tu corrupt na u way dem catch under pepe tree na be d thief at d end d person will be free na we d masses go d kill our self 4 d matter see in dis country if u are current with politicians and d way dey run tin una go see say 4 dis matter dis woman na saint compare to what others are doing make una 4get dis matter 4 dem abeg

That's her madam o...before they stop her salary. Hehehe

MO said...

My worry aside from the inflated price is how an armored bullet proof BMW can be termed an operational vehicle.for use on several air strips and airports according to you Madame.a BMW is and will remain a luxury automobile.if you need a vehicle for inspections Madame,its definitely not this vehicles.fuelling and maintenance alone will pay several contract staff monthly.please enough of this foolish excuses.and please show us proof of the vehicles you termed "obsolete" cos we know that in Nigeria our political office holders DONNOT manage.operational Madame are cars like the hilux bus,ford trucks etc

MO said...

BPE during their presentation have come out to say they didn't approve this purchase.that purchases in excess of =N=100million naira has to be approved by the FEC.

So,did the FEC approve this,if they did it makes them culpable.if they didn't,Mrs Oduah breached another regulation and should be prosecuted for fraud.Mr president has surrounded himself with really bad people.his wife,diezani,oteh,okonjo iweala and Stella oduah.grow some balls sir

Y u dey always chop my comment Aunty linda. Wetin I do u? I go soon change my name 2prince charmin ng Bonario

MO said...

Anno 10.33,purchase of vehicles isn't the issue here.please follow the news.

MO said...

Anno 10:03

Has anyone ever tried to find out the true cost of these bmw cars ex-works? Are we leaning on prices of second hand cars issued by junk dealers? We need to find out where this woman is wrong. Is it in over pricing the cars or is it in buying the cars at all? Afterall Tinubu is driving a 250million naira prado jeep bought by Fashola and Fashola owns two of such jeeps too. Have we asked what other ministers are driving or what so many governors or even vice chancelors are driving? People are jealous of the poor woman for turning around the looks of airports especially in the Igbo axis. They want her out .Where is the N40 billion loan our former speaker Bank -o-ole obtained from the banks? Where is our 12 billion dollars squandered by IBB? Are they more Nigerians than MS ÒDUAH. He who goes to equity must go with clean hands. Melaye cannot be trusted as he is a serial adulterer and was messed up by a girl for sleeping with her raw to the point of impregnating her. We know Sahara reporters have lied severally in the past feeding us with fake and misleading information and half truths. This must be one of their hatchet jobs. If she did not steal the money, she will be vindicated at the appointed time irrespective of all the howl and baying of fangled wolves and snarled teeth of blood thirsty hounds. We wait to see the end of this saga.

so very instresting dats just d end of d storY...

You mean you are not bothered that cars that shouldn't be more than #70M were bought for #255M?

God will save the country from the enemies within!

For all your Insurance and Bond needs, please call me on 08085109999

Ope Ogunwemimo

There r still so amny pple like her in this country who r so bent on crashing down nigeria.this critisism will neva wk.the only solution is to look for a way togather all of them together and blast them to pieces without even any remains to bury.if nt this will always continue till it get to a point that ASUU will go on atwo year strike and ther won't be any students in the university again due to the stupid set of leaders we av who kip taking us for fools.

One of the few reasonable comments I've read here..

@ Anon 11:14- Child of a bitch!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 313 of 313   Newer› Newest»