Broken promises ended Oprah's friendship with the Obamas? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 22 October 2013

Broken promises ended Oprah's friendship with the Obamas?

Ever wondered why Oprah campaigned for Barrack Obama in 2008 but not in 2012? Insiders claim Barack and Michelle broke promises to Oprah Winfrey leading to a bitter rift between them...

From The NY Post
"Everyone remembers that Oprah went all out for Obama during the 2008 presidential election. What was not reported was that, in return, Oprah was promised unique access to the White House if Obama won. She’d get regular briefings on initiatives and a heads-up on programs to give her material for her fledgling cable network, OWN.
“Oprah intended to make her unique White House access a part of her new network,” a source close to Oprah told me. “There were big plans, and a team was put together to come up with proposals that would have been mutually beneficial. “But none of that ever happened. Oprah sent notes and a rep to talk to Valerie Jarrett, but nothing came of it. It slowly dawned on Oprah that the Obamas had absolutely no intention of keeping their word and bringing her into their confidence.”
Oprah did not campaign for Obama in the 2012 race, and she has been absent from his battles on gun control, immigration reform and the environment. She claims she is too busy to get involved in politics, even though she hosted a fund-raiser for Newark Mayor Cory Booker, who won a US Senate seat last week.
Oprah’s friends publicly dismiss the idea that she had a falling out with Obama. They note that she phoned Michelle Obama right after the 2012 election to congratulate her. They say Michelle invited her to have dinner with the first family. But the dinner never took place, and Oprah continues to be frozen out.
“Oprah was hoping there would be a genuine change in the atmospherics,” one of her friends told me. “But there hasn’t been. Clearly, she is being rebuffed at the level of Michelle and Valerie. And, just as obviously, President Obama hasn’t interfered on Oprah’s behalf.” During Obama’s first term, I argued in my book “The Amateur” that Michelle was jealous of Oprah, furious that he was seeking her advice.
“For her part, Oprah doesn’t like being with Michelle, because the first lady is constantly one-upping the president and anybody else around her,” said an Oprah adviser. “Oprah has struck back by banning the Obamas from her O, The Oprah Magazine . . . It probably hurts Oprah more than Obama, who, if he had his head screwed on straight, would have flown to California and begged Oprah to help him save ObamaCare.
“But Obama hasn’t budged, and neither has Oprah. She’s hurt and angry, and I seriously doubt that Oprah will ever make up with the Obamas. She knows how to hold a grudge.”

144 comments:

Tongue out

Bizzzy01 said...

Hmmmmmmm!

Not strange at all! In politics such things are normal! Disagreements and all!
Expecting everyone to have the same say with you in politics is as impossible as trying to convince a mother that her baby is ugly!

Fact is, Oprah is a big wig and she would probably expect too much... She should relax jare..

MAHEEDA just dropped herr BB pin on Instagram!!! LICK HERE TO SEE IT

FIBROID FLUSHER said...

If obamacare is truly a good idea..... It will not need any campaign again before the Americans will accept it all.

Well, hell has no fury than a woman's scorned!

NONY said...

OPRAH IS A MEDIA HOG..WANTING TO RESURRECT HER FAILING NETWORK ON THE BACKS OF THE OBAMAS....THE OBAMAS ARE EXTREMELY PRIVATE REFINED PEOPLE..BARACK OBAMA IS A BLACK MAN WHO GREW UP WITH HIS WHITE GRANDPARENTS AND REALLY KNOWS WHAT CAUCASIANS ARE LIKE, AND KNOWS EXACTLY HOW TO FUNCTION IN A HOSTILE ENVIRONMENT...

HE HAS LED HIS LIFE VERY CAREFULLY...NO SCANDALS OR INANE ACCUSATIONS HAVE BEEN ASSOCIATED WITH HIM, DOES ANYONE THINK IT IS BY CHANCE???..

THIS MAN IS AS SHREWD AS THEY COME AND WILL NOT LET ANY FRIVOLITIES TARNISH OR MAR THE NAME HE HAS WORKED SO HARD FOR...HOW MANY BLACK MEN CAN BOAST OF THIS...MY BROTHER WHO WENT TO THE WHITE HOUSE SAID THE AMOUNT OF BEAUTIFUL WOMEN ROAMING AROUND ARE ENDLESS, YET BARACK OBAMA WILL NOT FIND HIMSELF IN ANY COMPROMISING SITUATION...HE KNOWS HE IS LIVING IN A DANGEROUS TERRAIN AND IS DETERMINED TO PRESERVE HIS INTEGRITY!!!!

SO ALL THE WANNABES NEED TO LOOK ELSEWHERE FOR FAME OR RATINGS..NICE TRY!!! HASTA LAVISTA!!!!

Na she sabi! She dey craze!

Hmmm..tot naija politicians are d only ones who don't keep their promises. Okayoo. Oga Obama pls review d immigration bill again and pass it into law soi I can benefit from it biko. Bells.

seunLondon said...

How does this affect the fact that energy companies are hyping bills this winter :( BTW, Operah! must u have everything in life??? ,,,,,,#SeunLondon

Rough Diamond said...

E no concern me!

seunLondon said...

How does this affect the fact that energy companies are hyping bills this winter :( BTW, Operah! must u have everything in life??? ,,,,,,#SeunLondon

Jessy said...

Hmmmmmmm

Dlapikin said...

Why would she save obamacare when it is not in danger? BS report!

****YAWNS******...story...too much money dey worry her, na power remain...hian!!..*1st 2 comment!...(i think)

Its a conservative publication, so I will take this with a whole sack of salt! New York Post is owned by News Corp, same parent to Fox (Faux) News. Nuff said!

They will settle their scores when one party strongly needs the other.media and government work hand in hand.

Lol @ she really knows how to hold grudge. Hehehehe.

Things people do before and after they get what they need from you... Hmm.. That pics, its as if Oprah is the wife and Michelle is the family friend.

Anoda episode of d series * Scandal* lool

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

i think the obamas discovered after the elections that Life is a seemingly never ending string of choices. It seems as soon as you make one choice, another important decision pops up that needs to be made. Day in and day out, you make choice after choice after choice. These choices deal with every aspect of your life, with some of the choices being more important or more urgent than others. While some of the choices are big and others are small, they just keep coming and coming at you from every conceivable angle. And i think its not a bad decision to cut her out bcos without her obama won reelection.

Nkeiruka C. Ogbuokiri said...

The world has too much become a personailty show of who likes who...instead amny people will smile in your face and really hate behind your back. Dont get it twisted...so if they aren't seeing eye to eyes it's not the end of the world....we got bigger issues. And yes we love Oprah!

Why can the media chalk it up as both Oprah & Obama rift behind doors..because in person it goes like this: "I'm 100 percent behind our president. I actually love our president, and have the utmost respect for him and that office and what it takes to be there," Winfrey told Charlie Rose on CBS' "This Morning."

dats life for u....the person u helped today might be ontop tommorrow n forget u....its only God that can favour u "for he that keepeth isreal never sleeps nor slumbers"

Watever

Eeya,how sad! The game of politics. Your interests come first. The SACRED White House

bit.ly/1eHsS6A make money on line by clicking on the link.ok we don hear

In the words of others in my shoes 'First to comment'

Meanwhile, back to the question above, the truth shall be revealed soon...

Nwoye linda said...

Hi linda deari want to kip posting thiz til I get sugestions from people because am battling with decisions and its killing me,I need help.I wana share a problem hoping for a solution from LIB readers.Am a girl of 22 and my parents are on ma neck to get married but I really wana be a musician,that is the only thing I know I can do well,should I follow my dreams or my parent's wish.plss I need help...God bless.

But wait linda! How u take know? U dey dere?.oya,its past ur bed tym go and sleep.amebo geh. *tongue out*

It is better not to promise someone than promising what you can't do....

So Does she want a fucking cookie? Oprah please fall back and relax, the world doesn't revolve around you.

Omo Babe said...

Oprah need to eat a humble pie

Linda na waoh to u...u too dey get gist abeg. Nice1

Lol@she knws hw to hold a grudge,

Linda na waoh to u ooo...u dey dey get gist

Mich said...

Imagine how powerful you would be for the President of the United States of America to seek your advice on political issues when you aren't even a member of his cabinet...you have gotta give it up for dear ol' Oprah.
Obama is too much of a President to bend to Oprah's whims and caprices.
Oprah is too much of an independent money bag to suck up to the Obamas.
On a lighter note,I don't mind being so influential to the point where I can keep malice with the President of the USA...;)

Don Peror Francis said...

Anty Linda,next pls

TWITS said...

Women wahala! So sure d genesis of all these is Michelle v. Oprah. Its sad.

bbm pin 23491053 said...

Really. I wonder her Linda got her story. Interesting anyway. Cheers. Engr Emy.

Timeshare07 said...

I bet she does no wonder she I̶̲̥̅̊§ unmarried,politicians Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣ used to breaking promises get over it Oprah as a matter of fact U̶̲̥̅̊ Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣ rich n famous.U̶̲̥̅

jay chukz said...

Na wah ooo

What a pile of horse shit. I don't believe this nonsense for one second.

Linda go 2 bed n allow dem 2 continue bearing grudges n carryin faces

really?d obama's dnt come across 2 me as pple capable of such!anyways!na dier problem b dat!!richest black woman n us president fightin,n am here yet 2 make my 1st million!dey can die 4 all I care... *ONYX GODWIN*

politician & entertainer, oh! Really sweating it. Politicians do di promising, and di masses left with di reminding; otherwise sombody must be dissappointd.~~ ..NDG...Cimino ~~

Hey Linda.. False News you putting up here.. Becareful

God bless America my home sweet home said...

I love this. Thank God none of them is white, otherwise analysts would have made the analysis of this strife tru series of racial profiling and bias.

However, I love Oprah's firm demeanor and principle, if this story is in fact true. Your word should be your honor. But why do I find it a bit less convincing that Michelle is 'jealous' of Oprah? Perhaps becos Oprah commands a lot of respect and attention, being a strong domineering character, and as such she (Michelle) doesn't like anyone taking her husband's attention?

Hmmm. If true, Michelle should understand that her husband is very intelligent, and as such will be attracted to like minds..in this case Oprah's. Besides if they allow an intimate relationship with Oprah in the white house, both sides will gain immensely from it.. even after the Obamas leave the presidency.

Lastly I think Oprah has a right to be selectively quiet and angry towards/with First family. Who wouldn't? A breach of 'contract' as it were, would hurt absolutely, considering how hard Oprah has worked for and stood by them during the election.

I pray that they make restitution with her before they leave the white house tho..!

Oprah's learned her lesson quietly mumbling to herself, "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me."

Woomie said...

Hmmm.. i feel her pain. It could be really painful when friends or business partners don't keep their end of the deal.

What do you know about Oprah
Talk, talk

Just as politicians and business men are ever increasingly asking Linda to twist the hearts of the teeming Nigerian public...

The media has continually become more and more powerful in determining popular culture, and as democracy is simply a game of popularity..

D heavyweights of the mass media industries yield the power to determine what is popular. As they have the world's attention due to the entertainment they dole out constantly. Therefore they affect what becomes the outcome of any democratic process...

I will not take sides.. because this may be just a stunt to show Oprah's media power or to diminish Obama's credibility in the light of all the debates in the US.

But what I take from this is that, this is a confirmation of how the entertainment industry (once created to ease our moods and showcase culture) have become so powerful in determining our ideologies as people, how we live our lives and how we see things..

People in the entertainment industry are becoming more influential than religious figures and the fore-runner (the US) has used the media to fulfill the prophecies about Babylon the Great in the Bible..

Lies,Lies,Lies!! Yes supporting Obama, publicly, hurt her ratings but doing it again while running a network isn't business savvy. Part of Oprah's appeal is or rather has been her non-partisan leanings.

GOOD FOR THEM I GUESS< NEXT NEWS PLEASE

Amanda said...

Oprah should take several seats abeg. She seems bossy and last time I checked, she had no respect for God.

http://www.Payzzo.com/?share=969
referrals for cash. It works try and see. Open an account free of charge and earn by referring your friends neighbours and the world. Share do not be stingy.

Q- This can't be real. Are you giving free money?
A- No, we are not giving away free money. We are paying you in order to generate traffic to our website. We will get paid from our advertisers for the traffic we bring to them.

How does this affect d price of Garri in d market. #hissing

I don't do porn anymore; It's now PromoUpdate.com

how does this concern nigeria or asuu from calling off the strike KEEP CALM AND CONTINUE BEEFING

Linda whats up with the beer bottle cursor. Please stop it. Its really annoying. Thank you.

So even in the USA, promise and fail politics from the Presidency. But Obama, u no try oooooooooooo. Pay the bribe you promise Oprah now after all the support she give you.

Politicians are all the same...they promise what they can't fulfill

First to comment

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Whatever...
More of the battle of the females, though...
Well Oprah is not the messiah...
And Obama is the politician--promises-breaker...
Guess Oprah may now be saying with joy "schadenfreude" to the political travails of the Obamas...
That is allowed...
In trouble, we always seek out empathy and support...
But when all is well, no qualms with kicking asses...

Paulokah.blogspot.com said...

linda,wetin concern me? na how this go solve asuu strike? Mtcheew

I knew it will happen the moment oprah started acting up

Kemi Olunloyo Blasts Bianca Ojukwu Over Annie Idibia.

Gud 4dem

Sam G said...

He messed up. u don't make promises u can't fulfill. obamacare is gonna be a flop.

Hmmnnn...don't worry Oprah. Obama will come begging soonest...lol. Yipee, first to comment. Linda, if you don't post my comment...

Well dey r politicians Oprah! Plus its a breach of security 2 allow u access. Live and let live. Just sayin...D Curious1

Newspaper....u don come again...u can look for ways †Φ destroy friendships α̲̅πϑ relationship!....hian!

Very funny. Cos the White House belong to the Obamas. The Obamas are not in control of what happens in the White House.

She shd just move on and 4get abt it. Pple will definitely disappoint u. Der's a limit we can do as Humans.

angelmii said...

Dats nt fair, wat I knw is wat goes around cums bk around, soon dey will nid oprah

they will settle it @ inner charmber of illuminati, i personally hold a grodge 4 barak obama.

Oprah that's politics for you,as for Michelle she don't want you to take the shine off her

pwitie B said...

Two great women dnt bear grudges plss

Nawa Oooo. I lov Michelle

Omo see gobe.The most influential woman in d world versus the most influential presidential family in d world.Let d fight begin n may d odds ever b in ur favoR *hungergames voice* lolllllzzzzz

Lol,...shey na Godmotherism we call this one???,..(illuminati caucus)

Best said...

I lik dat lady Oprah. I wud do same if I were her. Giv no damn jorr. By d way, u ar richer dan Barack n Michelle put 2geda. U ar very popular too. Go hed wit ur gud works

Trust no one and don't help any one if you intend to get something back in return.

He still won without her help.....biko she should take a seat, access fire......No Man is GOD! He won without her....stupid old fool

Who cares whether Oprah is mad at the Obamas or not? Fact is, he was re-elected and showed testicular fortitude in rooting for the Obamacare agenda. Secondly, Oprah should take several seats back coz the richest black woman hails from Black Africa, Nigeria. She should continue plastering her old face in her magazine and bask in the glory of her yesteryears coz that's all she has.

See how grown people do things? If the setting was Nigeria and the obamas and oprah were nigerian, oprah would've blackmailed obama and obama will call her a liar on live tv and subsequently hinder the progress of her OWN. But here they're, not giving a fvck about each other.

That's their businee, our businee here is phcn nd Asuu strick! Tanks next plsssss.

so bad of them!

Obama's wife is fine, I swear!

This news doesn't help Nigeria situation,onto the next one pls..

How true can dis info be?

Noble... said...

Linda, abeg remove the bottle of stout cursor. it is making browsing awkward.

Adelani said...

Heeya, pele. Oprah needs to know that the tone of songs depend on the atmosphere.
But she needs to forgive and move on.

Don't promise if u can't fulfill it.Promises suppose not to be broken.if someone sacrifice sths 4 u coz of ur promise and oda things,u need to fulfill them coz if u don't,u lose sth dat matters.

NENISCHINNEY@GMAIL.COM said...

I luv oprah for who she is and not what she's, if there's a little squabble or fracas going on right now b/w she and the preside3ncy den am speechless here coz as lng as i cn remember oprah and president barrack abama are good allies and work as a team and i knw d r/ship will foreva blossom for all dem. you always remain my stallion and elegant idol

lol@'she seriously knows how to hold a grudge.' All aquarians know how to! :-)

Naughtybunny said...

Rich people's problem... Atleast he has the balls not to give into favoritism. If it were in Nigeria, am sure by now we'll have known when the president showers nd what he eats for breakfast... #Naija4Life.

Wow!!! What a word, "she knows how to hold a grudge" GOD go settle am for una

WHO CARES. NA SHE OWN AMERICA. NONSENCE!!!!

Ginger said...

That's their problem let them solve it.how does this news give me money for my project? Ain't not interested.

Poor oprah!datz wat happens wen u put all ur hope on sm1 n dey turn u Dwn!1st 2 coment!yeeehhhh

You don't update anytin that will help us, if its to put up nude pics of kosy and that street gal u will knw ow to. Old hag.

Linda, i'll have you know that this is one of the few times i feel i'm reading something really newsworthy. Keep it up, more like this...

wetin concern me, i de Najia here make them sort themselves out.

Eiyah...Take heart,

Na dem cup of tea

Linda biko post my comment.

she want to make the white house a show, for security I don't agree with this too, more inside details of the white house is what America enemies will use to attack....so please Oprah come of it..am against u in this

NEXT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How Dis one use concern asuu strike?

blood money said...

I do liked the person of O but she messed up sponsoring cnn for hours painting the Image of Nigeria black bcos of one 419.she even made a statement saying all Nigerians are fake,no matter who or what they are.that sucks the biggest..and I also wonder,must she have her way into peoples privacy?

Sowi 4 d failed promises my dear oprah but such is life nd life just av 2 go on.....DJ Pressey D aka D Ijaw Boy

Lemme grt her in hausa"sannu oprah"in her old age she still dey keep grudge,hrt attack will catch u

What's my own???? Make dem fight dem selves dere......and let her hold dat grudge forever cus even she benefitted frm d obamas, it still will nt put food on ma table. Mctheewww! Lin lin dry gist abeg......

Africans will surely behave like one, so no Naija alone this dey happen

Dat na their cup of coffi not mine

Good for them, after all they can live fine without each other...next pls

Omolawlah

Dat is politics for u na turn turn around game be politics

oprah didnt know that what she was asking for is favouritism that will put obama into trouble.America is not like nigeria where favouritism,discrimination and tribalism is the order of the day.It is a criminal offence over there.being a black president in a white men dominance will lead to jail.

glitterrazzi said...

Linda, oprah was never openly in support of obama, she was campaigning for Hillary Clinton then.

Bloody liar! If she wasn't obama's wife, you would say the truth. Let's call a spade a spade.she Isn't fine but she dresses classy which I admire.

Thats Politics for you. Its everywhere ...NEWSBLIST

OHIO ER said...

OPRAL SHOULD UNDERSTAND THAT , OBAMA BEING IN A WHITE HOUSE IS LIKE A FIGURE HEAD, BECAUSE ALL THOSE CONSERVATIVES RACIST WOULD NOT GIVE HIM CHANCE TO DO WHAT HE LIKE. JUST BECAUSE HE WAS THERE DOES NOT MEAN , WE LOVE BLACK SLAVE, THESE WHITE PEOPLE DO NOT WANT OBALA TO FUFIL ALL HIS PROMISE TO PEOPLE, SO THEY WILL ALWAYS BLOCK ANY ARRANGEMENT OR ANY PARTY HE ORGANISE TO MEET PEOPLE LIKE OPRAL , SO OPRAL SHOULD UNDERSTAND ALL THESE THINGS BETTER, AND NOT USING THAT TO ABANDON OBAMA , BLACK SHOULD ALWAYS SUPPORT BLACK NO MATTER GOOD OR BAD, IN THIS WAY , THE MASTERS WOULD NOT HAVE CHANCE TO GET INTO US, OR HAVE CHANCE TO CREATE WAR AMONG US ALL.

Anno 8:14,you need to go back to preschool cos asuu can't help this your English.its business and strike.

I'm happy someone put Oprah in her place. It's always about her.

Check dis out http://mystandardjob.com/?id=Passyciao

OMG!WOMAN said...
Barry9ice said...

na waoo, bcos u help him during his campaign & he couldn't fulfill his word for ur personal/selfish interest @ d detriment of his position as world nos one, u now turn him to ur enemy. u better bury the hatchet & forget d past, cos if u die with dt malice, well dont need to tell u where u will end

Oprah go sit somewhere....you too do....the world doesn't revolve around you. You wan dey control white house again.....Obama heads up.....loving you scatter

Linda, as you very well know, such decisions for access has to go through numerous departments and final decision, out of the President's hands. Oprah would have known that and doubt if there is any beef to be honest. I am sure as their tenure comes to an end, there would be more of them on OWN Network.

First of all The NY Post is a bunch of BS and Oprah was just with the president on The steps of the LINCOLN MEMORIAL for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. 50th Anniversary for his I have a Dream speech and the march on Washington .. The post is not an a credible source never has been

Linda u too dey lie. Dey sure of stories 1st b4 u post.......

Keep thinking

Yawnsss. Dumb comment. What has been the positive side in our ow Nigeria where religious leaders are more influential. Aren't we worse off? Go and take several seats in which ever place U worship! *mtcheeew

The obamas want u out of their lives oprah miss i know all diva goddes

Linda u no post my comment y?

poor oprah michelle does look like the jealous type.

U are intelligent. Ur comment is wonderful. I ll like to be a friend If u don't mind~allnelk@yahoo.com

Anon... which 1 is bloody liar again? if Obama's wife is fine 2 ds person, let it be dat way.

So indierectly now u don let us know say ur bro don enter white house abi?....oya go firstbank make u go collect 1m for that piece of irrelevant info...imtcheewwwwww

Obama doesn't look stingy, infact I admire the fact that they (white house) got procedures which must be adhered to...Oprah ur wants works in Nigeria but it doesn't work in the states due to security reasons....
Please free them joor, dey ve' got pressing issues to attend to..
when you are in the hot sit---u can tell how it feels..awwwhh-DADA CAMIRON ONNE.

yes said...

That is a true story Mr President keep asking for help since 2008 up to this date without knowing how to compensate his supporters. I was a student of Engineering in the Philippines during his first campaign to the seat of American president.
I campaigned to die facing danger from black heaters in the Philippines. People and especially my classmates , schoolmates and close friend believe that Obama is my blood relative. I joined Obama donation etc. I receiving so many emails from obamas even till this present asking to help to one issue or the other. I cant understand how Obama and his team keep asking for help and never think about how to put smiles on the face of people like me and so many other supporters outside there?
Before my Final Exams March 2011 at PSCC college of Engineering Santiago City Philippines. I sent many emails , fax letters to the white house asking a laptop computer which i later bought one on installments payment. I sent letters to Michell first lady when i got tired of Oboma none responds all in vain.
Today I am thankful to the Lord i am employed back home in Nigeria as a Project Engineer. But still I keep supporting OBAMA and they never stop asking me for help in one way or the other.
One day i will tell president Obama face to face that he is not a true black man cause blacks know how to help.

Great points made here. But u also have to remember that a promise was made and obama needed the help of oprah. He went against his word and that as a leader is just wrong. She did not go around bashing the obamas. She just stayesdaway.

Tongue out @PC n co..dia is a lady here who knows her English n she is even more comprehensible.....#kindredspirit. #nefaswords

The choice here is too much..#rollingmyeyes

Yes o. Adewu is. Adewu. Agreement na agreement