If you're in Kano, watch what you wear, they're arresting people now! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 23 October 2013

If you're in Kano, watch what you wear, they're arresting people now!

According to a report by AFP, police who enforce Islamic law in Kano have arrested 150 people in the last week, including for indecent dress, as part of a crackdown on immorality. 

From AFP
Some people in Nigeria’s second city have been picked up for sporting hair styles inspired by prominent international football players, said Mohammed Yusuf Yola, spokesman for Kano’s sharia police, or Hisbah. Others were thrown in jail and fined for wearing their trousers too low on their waists, mimicking a style that became prominent in the 1990s, partly through the influence of some American hip hop artists. The arrests have followed an order by Kano state Governor Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso to cleanse the city of immoral practices and the trend is set to continue in the weeks ahead, said Hisbah Director-General Abba Sufi.The Hisbah is a state police force funded by state govt and is not part of the federal police.“We have arrested 150 men and women in the past week, including prostitutes and their boyfriends, transvestites, alcoholics and those engaged in indecent dressing in contravention of the sharia legal code,” Yola told AFP.

Religion has repeatedly been used as a political issue in Kano and the governor, seen as a moderate, has been accused by rivals of lacking commitment to sharia’s guidelines.Yola insisted the operation was launched to reverse disturbing trends in the city of some five million people and is targeting people of various faiths.“Those arrested include Muslims and non-Muslims and we treat them equally because this is about morality,” he said.

Kano, like the rest of northern Nigeria, is majority Muslim, but the city has a sizeable Christian minority.

Some of those arrested have been released after paying fines ranging from 10,000 naira ($63, 46 euros) to 15,000 naira, Yola said.

“Those who could not afford the fine are being kept in prison,” he added, but he would not specify the number of people currently being held.

At the restoration of civilian rule in 1999, 12 northern states, including Kano, formally adopted sharia, but the Islamic legal system has been unevenly applied.

The Hisbah was formed in 2001, largely to enforce sharia, but the force has other duties, including some community development work and alternative dispute resolution.

The southern half of Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, is mostly Christian.

104 comments:

FIRST TO COMMENT!
Lolz at miss linda thanks for informing us even though i never liked it
Looking cute
guys can you date a so much endowed lady like this? See picture

Dressing of such is childish we know but its a free world, and then, Nigeria has more bigger problems to fight than indecent dressing, why don't they start with the Boko Haram mayhem that's up north first?

not only kano even kontagora in niger state

Gosh these muslims are always causing problems. How is it your problem if someone you don't care for is dressing indecently? Then turn your eye away and keep moving. For goodness sake we have much more issues to tackle in Nigeria than dressing.

Lorl

please help me tell them 6 Things Never To Tell Others About Your Relationship

Who won come kano before? Who won die? The city of boko harams

no need..make dem continue to dey sag...who don faint b4 nor be stranger to DEATH.

serious gobe.

Immaculate said...

Nonsense, stupid government, they should cramp down book haram hideout because they know them. Not just excorting illegal money from innocent citizens,thats why I hate kano state and it's environs.

Infringement of rights all in d name of religion!! Wat qualifies a hairstyle 2b immoral? Rubish!rubish!dnt clean ur city of bokoharam,dey dere dey molest innocent pple *ONYX GODWIN*

Dis is trash.I dnt xpct kano state govt 2uphold dis law 4long coz kano is bigger dan wat dey tink.Dey profess islam on d outside buh wen u luk tru their closet esp d Alhajis at nyt,evn d devil can neva be a contender.In as mch as dey try to oppose westernization,I tink wat dey disdain has com 2stay nd not evn arrest or detention can change dat.

When the officials should be busy tracking down boko harram, they're enacting irrelevant civil laws aimed at christians.

Cc all my colleagues posted 2 NLS Kano...I feel ur pain.

Amara said...

Idiot barawo banza! Should that be your focus? Boko Haram is bombing people and instead of filling your jail with terrorists, it's people sagging you are after. KMFT!

Hypocrisy in the highest order. Rubbish! You will see muslim girls wearing hijab, if I tell you the kind of activities that happen in those hijabs you will open your mouth. One hijab with four legs. Some of them wear only bra or nothing at all inside their hijab. Why would the sharia law be legalised in Kano, has it been legalised in Nigeria as a whole later they will say ONE NIGERIA. Rubbish!

Nigeria an its issues. What has someone's dress style got to do with anything? These people are just bigots for all I care. Nigeria pls focus on making yourself better rather than focus on immaterial things. I have spoken

Rubbish! Is dat wat shld be their main target? Wat abt insecurity in d state. Y wud religion be used in governing a state? Wen it isn't only Muslims in dat state! Just anoda means of extortion. Uneducated governor and government as a whole! *IRYNE*

It's a shame that of all the numerous problems facing the North, all a governor could think of would be to enforce a legislation on indecent dressing - absolute nonsense. You don't enforce your religious beliefs on others. Indecent dressing is not the cause of BH.

Must they go on arresting people for crying out loud. Everything about Islam is war, violence, protestations infact negativities. Christianity only preaches and allow you to change; Islam is by force. God forbid!

Sylvia said...

Hmmmmm, HP dia wunt be any violence.

And dis same people corrupt pass any body u can tink of*angry*

Sylvia said...

Hmmmmm, HP dia wunt be any violence.

wemimo said...

Mtchew

Dear God please deliver us from deep set intellectual backwardness.

Nazzy said...

Lol....for those wats up wats up nigros.....b careful ooo.....now yu gaz dress gentle else yu lv north to east b4 yu fall a victim#fact

Hmmm na wa fo these people o

InfoNubia.com said...

The sagging saga (no pun intended) isn't new. I posted a story in April about some county in Louisiana that fines people $50 if they are caught sagging. The fine doubles if caught a second time.

Historically, sagging began at in the prisons when inmates weren't provided with belts to hold up their falling pants. I don't think that's culture we should cultivate.

On the other hand, there's a social justice component to this. At least in Louisiana, offenders are offered an option of community service if they can't pay the fine. Hope they people don't rot in jail in Kano if they can't come up with the money.

muslims are the biggest hypocrites ever!!!!

diamond said...

It shudnt b kano alone. Dunno y one will dress n d underwear shud b seen outside. Esp 4 men its digusting

Southern government too shld ban hijab wearing in southern nigeria.

pwitie B said...

They shud gerrout jor ad concerntrate on good governance

What the hell is happening

So Mumu and killers can form police but state is not allowed to form same, and that's ok with FG?

Na dem sabi Oº°˚˚˚°Âºoº°˚˚˚°Âºo lolz

Another problem will soon brew I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ this restless north!...by the way, why can't they arrest BH first?...hypocrites

This is total nonsense. The kano government should focus more on pertinent issues like providing affortable health care, portable water and other important infrastructural amenties to the citizens of kano state and not waste taxpayers' fund on non essential,non needed service.

A commendable effort but I think the fine is a tard high

cutemumm said...

They can't even try this shit in kaduna...mtcheeew.they want to start sharia palava again..

where was the state police when churches were being bombed?

boko haram wey dey hurnt innocent life u no see dem arest na pple wey go their busness u dey see. a bunch of fools

Who would even want to go to kano biko Linda?

What happens to those who don't have the money? Will they remain in prison forever or what cos I didn't hear of any court being set up here

Kudos! Its better to make such arrests of harmless and law abiding Nigerians than to face the boko haram insurgency. Abi kano state governor?

Nawa ooooo what's my beloved country turning to? An islamic Country or what?

Rubbish... Hypocrites...Another way of looting folks all in the name of morality

frank said...

Instead of focusing on d menace boko haram is causing in d state which has disrupted day to day activity der by leading to civil unrest they busy wasting time on trivial matters... Kano government is jst messed up.... God help us

@chux.com......abeg let them also come to ph.

Miss J said...

Nigerian government will leave important issues that concern lives n development and be probing into frivolities. What nonsense! Is dat how jobless and less busy the govt is? Nigeria especially the north should grow up. see 'almajiri' every corner in kano begging 4 arms and the govt is doing nothing. Do not use religion as a means to an end.

Chibueze and Roland, I hope una dey read this. As una say trouser no fit stay for una waist. Na Kano we dey o!

SAMURHYMEZ said...

haha! operation (swag not)

Dear Musa Kwakwanso,
We also have rules and laws down south. We are Christians and certain rules apply,

Naama (Cows) are not supposed to walk on tarred roads where cars and people pass, the penalty is death by firing squad of the cows and 25 years imprisonment of the herders and 10 years for the owners. [wonder how many of the alhajiz will find this alright]

Keke (Tricycles) that bash or scratch motorists cars should be made to pay for said damage or spend 2 years in prison, and 1 further year of community service or as much as it takes to pay up for the damage.

The tarred roads are for moving vehicular and human traffic, not for sitting or praying. there is a penalty for these as well.

But we let these things slide not because we are stupid in the south, but because we respect people's rights to decide......How many Boko Haram members have you thrown in Jail for killing people, How many politicians have you arrested for corruption and bribery, instead you are arresting folks for dressing "indecently" and drinking alcohol!!!My dear sir, I dare say removing your tooth only to put a gold one is indecency!!!

Yours,
A very Angry Yoruba Boy

Who invite you before?

Christian or muslim,both religion encourages modest dressing.Why don't they do the thrashing thing instead of fine?and i think soldiers will do better than police,boys need to be taught not to make prisoners role models*flourish

Na so! Make them continue to dey do us wash. Little wonder y ashi dey complain during ramadan.Dey there dey form holier than thou.Mtscheew

more bigger?take it easy abeg

Na them sabi do holy holy pass and them be nomba 1 for evil pass.person appearance no matter(but it speaks small)na the heart be koko.

Andre said...

Gosh!!!!!! Book haram. Excorting. ASUU and FG pls call off d strike ooO.

Dear PC,Did u just use "more bigger"?. Did u also say "dressing of such is childish we know"? Just stick to ur dictionary cos its obvious u can't even communicate by constructing simple sentences.

Abi oo ask her

Ugorious said...

These are folkways, doesn't require punishment. Is dis d BOKO dey should fight?

This is a shame. Nigeria has bigger problems. Kwankwaso is such a hypocrite.(smh) All in the name of politics n religion. Men who womanize become social crusaders. ONLY IN NAIJA-Newyorker

When in Kano, behave like a Kanonite. Lol.

Zuriel.

Good idea banning hijab wearing but its also a bad idea, u know these muslims are very violent (make dem no come declare jihad for south)

I love wat gov fashola use to say if u cnt obey Lagos state laws u beta go bk to ur state. So for those in kano be obey the law enacted for u guys dnt even follow on wat pple are commenting here or u case will be long thing.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

The problem with moralisers is that they are also tyrants!
Moralisers are also all the time hypocrites!
In their "holy indignation" to insist on their own ideas of decency and morality, they never know when they'd taken the descent into moral totalitarianism, denying others the right to be themselves...
Even when they'd degenerated into insufferable manners, it hardly occurs to them...
They become numb to the tugging of reason and conscience insofar as they can invoke a Holy Writ for justification for their action...
In what way has another person's sagging personally hurt you?
In what way did another person's cleavage personally hurt you?
In what way did another person's mini skirt personally hurt you?
In what way did a commercial sex worker plying his/her trade quietly, without inflicting injury on another personally hurt you?
In what way did another person's beer personally hurt you?
Moralisers want to confiscate our personal freedom...
They want to dominate us!
And nothing can be more an infraction of natural rights, nothing more sinister!
I hate moralizers like plague!!!!

Linda when we reply people attacking our faith you don't like placing it why?its because you share the same faith with them,well advice for modesty in aspect of religions

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,nauna get una head to tink n una hand to write,BH go trace all of u e no concern me.

While you are at it, arrest corrupt politicians and paedophiles marrying young girls.

Arewa and beyond matterz said...

Just imagine these fools blabing n insulting kano n kwankwaso,u southern pigs!tak ds clearly:warn ur cowboy broda 2 eradicate bokoharam he imposed on we northernrs simply bcos we rejected hm durin d 2011 polls,shariah law does nt allow immoral n indecency mode of dressing inclusive therefore I wnt all of u sadists 2 go n hug d nearest transformer 4 all I care or rather mop atlantic ocean.southern pigs!aka drunks!

As long as it doesn't involve amputation or execution, there's nothing wrong in restoring sanity to their state. It's their way of life. Either conform or relocate, shikena.

Goodluck to them and their religion

Na dis one b boko haram wen dem suppose dey fight

jacob bigila said...

All of this indecent dressing is an index dt sooo much of our value system needs orientation! It also shows clearly dt as a nation Nigeria hs real issues of morality to grapple with! Until we solve this malaise dt u rate as nt important we may as well never get to eldorado! Any great nation must be birth n built on the principles of morality,sound ethics n righteousness! Righteousness exalteth a nation bt sin is a reproach to any pple! I give my support to the claensing thgh am nt muslim!

Am i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Kano and ive not heard of such..and the so -called Hisbah hardly exist sef

akpa-ose said...

mad people! I'm beginning to believe that Islam is trouble not peace they claim to be preaching, can we now see the reason why bokoharam problem is too hard to solve? I they now made it clear that all northern Muslims are the people behind bokoharam problem. May GoD save us from there hand IJN

So dem get eye for ppLe we no dress well but dem no see bokos in operation rubbish

You are a big fool, haba! No sense @ all

N christians are worst! Ask CAN

Na God go punish kano state Gov. E no see all those stupid muslem pple wey dey throw bomb for kano make he arrest dem, na innocent pple him come dey arrest. No God go punish all d muslem wey dey nigeria .......

Lack of priority

@ Aisha you can't impose your religion on other people those who practice sharia law should be held not those who aint practicing. As we southerners can't come nd impose cerrtain practices of our religion on you. Its called freedom of association and religion.

Watin concern okada wit seat belt dis world might end soon

@ jacob thumps up @ least u understand d logic. so sagging is allowed in christianity ryt? They are talking abt morals here not religion. I wonder y some pple are so ignorant. U cannot change that religion u so much hate, u can only insult & talk. Shikenan!

Ssshhhaaarrrraaaapppp fool!!! Y r u attacking linda? Abg no come bomb us 4 here.

U r a frustrated fool,writing with so much hatred. ppl like u r d problem we r having in this country..I pray 4 ur souL...#God save Nigeria#

Ssshhhaaarrrraaaapppp fool!!! Y r u attacking linda? Abg no come bomb us 4 here.

Diz z bullshit dressing code z nt in nigeria constitution. Those arrested dnt even know their right.

These is bullshit

Dress code is nt in 9ja constitution. Those arrested dnt knw their right

Akpa-ose u lack manners & thinking faculty,these are group of people living according to the teaching of their faith why insults,you people claim civilization &freedom but the reverse is the case,so check your religion very well then you give me answers to fake prophets,pastors & miracles,thank god we are witnessing it & the world is seeing only Nigeria churches perform miracles only Nigeria pastors move in jets,only here we have diff churches,diff gods be wise boy,better go open your own because we its a business venture.Linda if you like don't publish,Islam is my religion am proud of it,

Akpa-ose the year is ending which program your pastor will do miracles' or crusade.money making venture,criminals

Bryan Orji said...

Lol, nw dis is some funny as shiznit

Stupid comment frm a confused & bloody vampire! U exonerated ur fanatical leaders (buhari, ibb, ciroma, atiku) who threatened fire & brimstone to mk d country ungovernable shd power nt return to d north to blame gej. Ur days ar numbered!

Ur islamic god is greedy for the blood of the innocent.
IBB, father of boko haram, owner of vanguard, punch, Ait, channels, glo, Dana & the rest of them, all set up by money looted from oil wealth in d south. Now vampires in d north think they are bigger than the country & can commit any atrocity & go scot-free.
Gulf war loot - $12billion - is still rolling over in fixed deposit at UAE..el-amin university aka BOKO training institute.

U claim Islam hates fornication and abhor beer parlour, yt u kidnap & force many girls into marriage and u can't do without alcohol.
U believe ur prophet is powerful yet u fight for him by killing innocent ppl; fighting for a dead mohammed whose atrocities cannot be numbered ranging from forcing little girls into marriage, snatching some from their husband, killing the ones challenging his authority.

Mohammed shekau is your hero, zaria and kastina towns are known for feasting on carcasses of flesh of human and donkeys. Maiduguri and yobe are know for drinking blood and Sokoto is the headquarters for demonics islamic blood letting and satanic occult.

Bunch of hypocritical paedophiles who protest & kill against d tearing of a piece of valueless demonic book but allow so many child-girls to be brutally raped under d guise of a satanic religion & marriage.

U started with killing & bombing christians & southerners living in ur domain. Now dat d southerners ar nt within d reach of ur blood-thirsty foot-soldiers u are crying foul bcos u hv bcom d target. Wht goes arnd coms arnd!

Buaahahhahahahhahah. I can't stop laughing o sed it and av always sed it d guy nor heat English. He just comes here to deceive and trying to convince himself that he can speak good English. Buaahahhahahahhahah at least we can see dis one is clearly not a typo error ah ha ha ha ha ha someone pls stop me from laughing

What!!!!....ohhh,marring a 13 year old girl is right? #WTF....amalmagation was a big mistake

All religions detest immorality,why insulting Islam?i know of churches were you won't be allowed with skimpy dressing this matter of morality not insult pls try understand a subject in discussion b4 insulting our faith pls,even pastors preach about such things,be wise folks

To aisha sarki,

Stupid comment frm a confused & bloody vampire! U exonerated ur fanatical leaders (buhari, ibb, ciroma, atiku) who threatened fire & brimstone to mk d country ungovernable shd power nt return to d north to blame gej. Ur days ar numbered!

Ur islamic god is greedy for the blood of the innocent.
IBB, father of boko haram, owner of vanguard, punch, Ait, channels, glo, Dana & the rest of them, all set up by money looted from oil wealth in d south. Now vampires in d north think they are bigger than the country & can commit any atrocity & go scot-free.
Gulf war loot - $12billion - is still rolling over in fixed deposit at UAE..el-amin university aka BOKO training institute.

U claim Islam hates fornication and abhor beer parlour, yt u kidnap & force many girls into marriage and u can't do without alcohol.
U believe ur prophet is powerful yet u fight for him by killing innocent ppl; fighting for a dead mohammed whose atrocities cannot be numbered ranging from forcing little girls into marriage, snatching some from their husband, killing the ones challenging his authority.

Mohammed shekau is your hero, zaria and kastina towns are known for feasting on carcasses of flesh of human and donkeys. Maiduguri and yobe are know for drinking blood and Sokoto is the headquarters for demonics islamic blood letting and satanic occult.

Bunch of hypocritical paedophiles who protest & kill against d tearing of a piece of valueless demonic book but allow so many child-girls to be brutally raped under d guise of a satanic religion & marriage.

U started with killing & bombing christians & southerners living in ur domain. Now dat d southerners ar nt within d reach of ur blood-thirsty foot-soldiers u are crying foul bcos u hv bcom d target. Wht goes arnd coms arnd!

Face it,u hate that you are being enslaved...what happened to freedom?immorality is of the mind not what u wear.

These idiots should abeg face their immense number of homosexuals who abound everywhere in the states. Especially with their upper class and Almajiris. Animal government who will leave leprosy to rather cure ringworm. Keep decieving yourselfs. Mumus

Hello dear I know u meant to write extort and not escort. Take care

Kwankwa so is very wicked. The way he wants to just destroy igbo people's life there. God is watching.