Dear LIB readers; my hubby is wanted in the US, what should I do? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 25 October 2013

Dear LIB readers; my hubby is wanted in the US, what should I do?

From a female LIB reader
I've been married to this man for just three years. We have a two year old child together. I just found out six days ago that he's wanted in the US, along with three other people for fraud and email scam. He actually escaped from the country six years ago and has been hiding in Nigeria. He completely lied to me about what he does for a living and lied about everything in his past. He's an American citizen who can't take his family to the US on holiday. His excuses of not wanting us to visit the US was what led me to investigate him and that's when I found out his little secret. Or should I say big secrets. So what should I do now? I don't want to be married to an ex-convict and a liar. He lies about everything, even his name. I think my married name was made up. I'm no longer sure the people he parades as his family are really his family. I'm not sure about anything anymore and I'm now scared of him. Please what should I do? I'm scared shitless..

330 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 330 of 330

My dear,its for better for worse.don't leave him bcos of how things are now afterall u've loved him b4 marrying him.help him out of d mess!

Do not let him no you know the truth yet. Go to your father's house for a while and invite him there, then discuss it with him. You do not want to make him know that something is wrong before he harms u in order to cover up his secret.

try talk to him...,he might have reasons.

Start of by praying to God for d right counsel, from there you would know what to do. Am really sorry about your situation.

cdolla said...

U b with him. Dats life 4 u. I guess experience is d best teacher. Not all fairy tale hv gud ending.

Start by asking God for the right counsel. Only he can guide you as to what to do. Sorry about your situation

It is really complicated especially now that they have a child together.... She needs prayers

Roll Out!!! 😜😝😛

if the US catch him, he will be a goner.Linda post my comment.

How can u say his name is made up, na tales by moonlight be dis, abeg go sleep.

Are u a christian? Pray 4 him 4 god to touch him and change him

Sorry o. OYO is your case. When it faces you play your cards well. When you are alone, the choice is all yours to have a rethink.

Take it gently and talk into hs head and c if hes serious abt u and ur child.if nt hmmm

Abeg stay married joor.U were carried away by "American Citizenship",now u wan 2 run.U like flashy things na.U no marry de humble guy wey 4 give u peace cos im no get money.Abeg go sidon joor.No be lie lie de interest una pass.If good guy tell u truth now,u go believe am.Pack well joor.

Get ur facts right and if its true you have been lied to the entire time, pls leave his sorry behind the hell alone.

Stay focus. My dear!!!

Lol, you married him for his papers and american accent, let's not rule out your dream to visit the USA for the first time. Abi u don rush in finish.

During the time you courted didn't you notice he was not travelling, abeg park well and enjoy the ride to prison visits, u might get or papers by DAT 1 so hold on to the faith, lol. Ochi achigbo nwa .........

Has he been convicted b4??? Don't call him ex-convict. Moreover, how could u possibly marry some1 without having in-depth knowledge of their family background???

My dear, Ů need prayers in ur life cos ur case z α serious one. Α guy hu lies abt hz name z dangerous....Run as fast as ur legs ¢αи carry Ů..........*sips coffee*

Hmmmm dz one tye wrapper o! Dz is called marriage by deception! N such a person u can neva predict wat he can n cannot do! D church marriage can actually dissolve a marriage on such grounds! Pls consult ur religious head cos u need to thread carefully wit issues like this.God pls deliver us from such men!

Remember ur vows 4 better or worst,
dat d worst part S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ deal wit it.U̶̲̥̅̊ were busy enjoyin d money Ǎ̜̣̍Ϟd never care t̶̲̥̅̊ợ̇ inverstigate

Ask him urself
If he lied then tell him u will leave
He will speak up
Don't leave him because of ur baby

You are a stupid woman, u better stay with your husband. When everything was sweet u didn't mind, now cos u can't go to yankee u have issues, everyone in yankee do this an that to make ends meet, not just nigerians, chinese, italian, jews

Who send u.mtcheeeeew

Don't listen to foolish advise, don't leave your husband

R u the wife to the man whose house was over the internet few weeks ago?lol.

pls ma go to that plpes he paradas to u nd comfm d realy truth, u hear frm them. U knw the next step to take

Petro.... T said...

Ehyaaaa.... Datz so bad, he shouldn't hide his real identity to his soul mate na perhaps he was afraid you would not marry him if he disclose that to you, well marriage is for better for worst so just sit him down and interview him to tell you who he really is then you'll have to forgive him dear..

Dis is a very serios issue o. Men cn be so deceitful,kai. Sowie abt dt babe,all u cn do is ask d Holy Spirit 2 show u d way n he'l def do dt. God wil see u tru o...

Dnt let him no dat u are aware unless u are died person already, jst start making trouble and ask 4 divorce, workout of d marriage quietly

you are either an idiot or a learner. 20% of nigerian men who lived in the US are wanted for fraud or were deported for fraud. You should be more concerned about this man's character. is he good to you, does he treat you nice? given he was wrong to not have told you about his past, everyone has a past even you i'm sure, talk to your husband about what you found, if you truly love the man you married, you should talk to him, he left the US, he started a new life, as long as he wasn't wanted to murder, i don't see anything wrong. I say this because i once was in a similar situation, guess what, left the country, went somewhere else, trained as an attorney and now living a productive life. Just because someone had a "fraudulent" past does not make them monsters and you being scared shitless just goes to show.

Damochedxb said...

Man just divorce him and STFU. Bringing such talk to LIB. U sound like u married him for money and you are pained cos he cannot take you to the US for holidays. No wonder thats how you found out. If he gets caught cos of this your whistle blowing, i hope u go down with him.. Stupid bitch

Even criminals deserve love. He probably lied cos u won't have loved him otherwise. I am not taking sides, but u need to evaluate things, if u love him in toto then you know what to do. If his been a wanted man changes things 4 u, then leave him. U don't deserve him. If he provides 4 u, doesn't cheat or beat on u, so what he is a criminal? Just look pass that. If he is a changed man, work with that. If he ain't make him change.

Please is there a reward for his capture if so let me know and we can work this out and still get you and your American citizen children to America.

Even criminals deserve love. He probably lied cos u won't have loved him otherwise. I am not taking sides, but u need to evaluate things, if u love him in toto then you know what to do. If his been a wanted man changes things 4 u, then leave him. U don't deserve him. If he provides 4 u, doesn't cheat or beat on u, so what he is a criminal? Just look pass that. If he is a changed man, work with that. If he ain't make him change.

So many legal questions this is not the right forum to discuss this issue, you could still be entitled to U
S citizenship since am sure that's what is really what you want any way to travel to yankee

FBI

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Madam calm down and enjoy the money unless you wanna know what is happening out there on the street

scram!! girl, the marriage was contracted out of deceit so its legally null and void. Even catholic doctrine recognises this.

For your own peace and his own good, do the right thing and let the authorities know where he is.

Weigh your options, if the cons outweight the pros, you better up and leave. Good luck!

This must be a trying time for you but take heart. Love doesn't keep marriage, marriage keeps love. And no marriage can thrive under falsehood and pretence, in fact once there is falsehood marriage is deemed to not have been contracted in the first place. All the same think deeply, and pray to God to try direct your path.

Hmmmmm my dear,I dnt know where to start cos I will not tell u to leav him,maybe if we ar to hear from d man now his own part of d story will be differenc,Bible says we should hear from both parties be4 passing judgment so pls stay wit ur husband o

Inform the US embassy here in Nigeria. If they eventually discover where he is before you tell, you will be accused of aiding and abating. You will be part of a crime you know nothing of. Remember Ibori.

APPLELIPX said...

LEAVE THE MARRIAGE IF HE'S GOT FAKE NAMES TOO, YOU KNOW YOUR MARRIAGE IS FAKE TOO. ANOTHER THING IS IF THE US GOVT EVENTUALLY FINES OUT YOU KNW WHO HE'S, YOU WILL BE AN ACCOMPLICE. WALK OUT OF THE MARRIAGE.

HATERS-SLAYER said...

lol! Crazy girl

Pray? God hates divorce right? God also hates lies and deceit. The poor lady is practically married to a stranger.

EbonyAma said...

Dear my advice to u is 4 u to please ask God and Google what to do. Please don't ask me. Thanks

J J said...

This is quite funny.

EbonyAma said...

Dear, please don't ask me na, ask God and google 4 advice. Thanks and may God and google give u answers to ur question, Amen.

From the comments below it seems a lot of people fail to see the real issue here. The problem is not the scam. The problem is the lies. A marriage built on lies is a failed marriage. Who knows what else he's lying about. My dear if I am you I'll statt planning how I can survive on my own and start working my way out of that marriage. I can't imagine looking at my husband everyday knowing he's a serial liar. Good luck sha

True talk my dear

My dear he needs u naw

Dump him and tell the Embassy about him. There's more he's lying about to you!

dnt u hav an answer to her question? Must u knw if she's the one?

My dear he needs u naw

Lady Fola said...

I shouldn't believe u married him cos he's an America citizen but I guess U̶̲̥̅̊ ought τ̅☺ have done d investigations b4 N̶̲̥̅̊ȍω.Anyway,I think d best way i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ τ̅☺ *DIVORCE* him

Lily said...

I really don't know why people should post their problems online seeking for help from strange people.The truth is one will never get a good advice,all u get is criticism and people thinking u are somebody else. Seek God first and talk to a pastor about your issues first. God knows d best, perhaps it through u that he will become a free man.

J J said...

That's a horrible thing to say. Did he kill someone? The answer is no. Why would you advice her to turn in her own husband. Some of you people think Americans are saints. Americans commit worse crimes outside their countries but you never hear about because of their government. America is such a difficult place for none whites that I would't condemn someone who egaged in such behavior to survive.

The good thing is that he is not in America anymore. If he is willing to change his lifestyle, then she needs to work with him to become a better person. But if he has not changed or not willing to change, then she has a decision to make.

I would like to say that the vast majority of white Americans are racist. That makes it very difficult for bkack people there to make a decent living. Never sell your own person to please a white man because the white man won't do it for you. I know because I live in America.

JJ said...

Good advice. That's the same advice I gave her. I don't understand these people who are advising her to turn him in. When was the last time we heard that am American citizen went to jail in a foreign country? That's because their government never alliw that to happen. Not even for murder. Never sell your own for the white man. They will never send their own citizen to our country to be prosecuted. Never.

Andre said...

Ur bomb is enuf to *killed* all of us.

kunle said...

Truly like Fifi story.

If you dey find pity count me out.No be you dey desperate for husband?I no go pity you one bit.

Bros/Aunty, you sabi am?

People always lie out of good intentions. I've told my family even my children I'll sell them out if they every involved in drugs or assassination. Don't incriminate me by asking me to harbor them. But those are just words. Who knows what my emotions will justify when the real thing happens?

As a business person who stresses on ethical business practices I personally feel that scams are not crimes because willing buyer willing seller.

For every "scammer" that is wanted a thousand more get off scott free.

To me, lying is not a deal breaker. I would honestly prefer my husband to lie to me if he's doing anything illegal in the past or at present. I would appreciate him lying to preserve my feelings and my innocence that he is my hero. And even if evidence is staring me on the face I'll just not make a big deal.

Yes this would mean if he's lying to me in one area he can lie to be about everything and our life is just a big lie. But at the end of the day how we feel is largely determined by what we choose to believe. And all that matters is you believe in him and that he's your hero and the hero to your children. Much love.

Absolutely agree with you. I'll soon be a public figure and eventually my private affairs will become public interest, including the child we already have and my wealth obtained will be questioned.

Three years ago when I started dating the man I wondered how it will affect my career and public image. Eventually I decided that when accused I'll just say I have no such evidence and if evidence is produced I'll say, "What's love got to do with it?"

I don't even see why she should be scared. And as for assets and stuff...just make one's own money like in my case. My lifestyle and that of my children will not be affected. I've even cautioned my family when I first dated him that I discovered evidence he's a scammer but we're not alarmed.

As long as the person isn't abusive I think we should never use what wet know about someone against them.

The New life said...

Wow..Why are people talking about Dilly here? Thats weird

God would have given you the perfect marriage if he hates divorce.

if your last name isn't even real then technically you aren't married duuuuh. take a walk report him before you get arrested as an accomplice. onyinbo no go hear say you didn't know o ehen me I don talk my own.

anaon october 25th 5:31 pm u made too much sense.

I CANT BELIEVE SOME COMMENTS. "ARE YOU BETTER THAN HIM" "HAVE U NOT DONE BAD THINGS BEFORE" "DONT LET THE DEVIL RUIN YOUR MARRIAGE" ALL OF YOU THAT MADE SUCH COMMENTS ARE FOOLS!! SORRY.. TUFIA

anon 8:26 pm you are either the guy in question or a member of the deportee 419 club. someone has a fraudulent past and you say she should stay even if he is an angel he must be reported.

anon 9:28 pm exactly its not about the scam or his past its the LIES, some person said didn't she court him, na today you can court a sedial killer for years and not know in doubt watch who on earth did I marry on crime and investigation.

babe if you like follow the daft Nigerian mentality: society would look down on a divorcee, how would you cater for your child, family would disown you, he is your hubby for better or worse and all that rubbish.

if he can lie and steal he can KILL better RUN

Fati said...

Babe,
A man that can hide such a deadly truth from you can kill you if he finds out that you have his secret. My advic,pretend all is well...for the sake of your life and relocate out of the city. I dont wanna be judgemental and assume u married d guy for citizenship but if thats actually the case,perhaps dats why he lied to you because he could read the desperation.that marriage is a failed one becos its based on falsehood so tactfully and diplomatically run for ur life and carry ur pikin,biko

Hian, ur post haz blinded me frm reading other comments, you musnt comment please go back to school!

Can't be umenyiora. That's not a fake,surname and we know his family nau.
Err.... Mrs. Umenyiora, better vindicate yourself oh before LIBers go use mouth finish u. Be cautioned!

Mrs Dili Umenyiora dis sounds just like u o!ask Osy he will tell u afterall he was d one who bailed his brother countless times.

Kingsley nnadi got married?? Nawa o. My dear you should run. If not for your self for your child, this is not who you want as a role model. I may have said something different if he was good but you yourself said he was a liar. He hasn't changed run

After now,dis same man will stil open his mouth to say women can lie.....na God go punish u Oooooooo.......

Is it necessary to call names? I see common sense is not so common afterall

Are u sure you're in Miami? Please don't write such blunder next time! Ur written English totally stinks. Even my 8 year old doesn't make such errors!

sylph said...

Hahaha. Lesson to girls who only date guys who have an abroad history. You were chasing money b***** live with the consequences and stop whining.

Which stroll?now or before the marriage.you are a thief and lazy woman that is why u married him because of money.i dated one very rich guy last.his plate number jimmy ,prince jimmy and jimmy.he has 2limited edition Royce cars2 g wagon benz etc. He stars in 5 star hotels around lagos from ikoyi to vi.yet I cant trace him to his house in banana island.i dont know his kind of job.sometimes he would say aviation sometimes construction.he speaks very poor english and he wanted to marry me last.he is a very handsome and he is in his late 30s.i had to leave him .as much as I like money I wont marry a very rich man that I cant find his name on google.someone that I couldnt trace his house.so woman u saw the signs and went ahead with the mariage so stay in it

e bonto said...

Abegi, forget d jist,how can?where u sleeping?did'n u make an enquiry?don't u have people?bcos u were desperate 2 get married and d small cash d guy was lavishing on u.Pls stay married wit him.period!

Lmfao...this is fucking hillarious

Understandable? Na wa! How many more lies or secrets will he have if he cany even be honest with his wife

Do you know what marriage is? Or is the moral decadence this bad! I hope you are a teenager...whoever you are that wrote this

Its kill not killed

Chai see jealousy!

Typcal naija answer!

Pray...talk to pastor...una no dey tire?

You must be a fraudster yourself...419!!!!!

What kind of talk is this

This country is going straight to hell mehn

Sorry 4 u n ur parent, number 1 they suposed 2 find out who de guy is n u also, but u mari cos of u.s.citizen n de moni in his hand my Piece advise 4 u Z emmmh u 'Ve 2 stay in dat marrige. I wish all de best.

Hi Linda.I suggest you add like or recommend option to the comments on your blog,as they are as interesting as the article.

investigation is done before marriage not marriage before investigation....now you have to face it...by facethefact

you investigated him yet you don't know his name? even after you found that he is wanted YOU still don't know his real name??

anyways don't report him just yet, if you are married in community of property, divorce him and get half his assets and move to the US (he wont go after u there) and tip off the authorities!!! that way you wont be broke when he goes to jail

U guys are so hypocritical. Let me tell u, u can date someone for a whole decade and never really know the person no matter the background check u do. Don't people marry those with secret children? Don't ladies marry rapists? Did they not check? Kindly advise the lady and stop blaming her. And as for being born again. How does that solve her problem? Hypocrites!!!!!!

Are u mad?

Are u not dumb? Didnt u c dat she hz bn married for 3yrs, and her child is two? Is ur Maths dat bad?! Get Sense abeg!

Lmao! U b igbo? U sound like dm

Wake him up in the night and ask him to tell you the whole truth about his life in the U.S. If he goes ahead with the usual lies, then confide in members of ur family, whom I believe supported ur marrying him. But if ur family never supported ur marriage, then divorce him and move on with your life, perhaps, a better man will still come ur way.
If on the other hand he tells u the truth, then ask him what he wants you to do.

WHO EVER CALLED FIFI UMENYIORAS NAME HERE MAY GOD PUNISH YOU....WHAT RIGHT DO YOU HAVE TO JUDGE ANYONE..ANOFIA

She didn't tell u she married him for money o. Ur obviously a man with out money.
Anyway, my advice to her is to put it in the hand of God.
With him all things are possible.

Hmmmmm. Tammy Iyaye, is that you????? You wan report Ishmael Iyaye?

Wow. So not cool. Hahaha

Yes

Lmao hahahahahahhaha

How could you tell on the father of your child? Any disgrace of the father would reflect on his child for life. Haven't you heard of women defending their adulterous husbands in public? They do it for family honour and prestige, not because they are always convinced of the man's innocence. Immigrants face problems of survival which people who never lived outside Nigeria can't understand. Most of these lies and complications are 'matter of can't help.' Don't tell on him. Take it easy, one day at a time. If your child's father is public disgraced, the disgrace will follow your child for life.

U jst spoke lik an illiterate

Linda Linda Linda pls u need to publish my comment because the truth is always bitter, Fifi your the most stupid woman i have ever met and had as a sister in law,Linda look if she lykes she should twist the story I know her she's my sister in law as in my cozins wife Fifi as in ifeoma ,am surprised at her xter look all your saying is rubbish and I will make sure Okwy knows about your ordeal......guess you have found another man right .....well all I have to tell you is that start planning on going back to nnsuka or pH BC we know how u got hooked to him all BC of his mini ....you wouldn't have bin married ti o him BT we all solicited even his dad now u don't know his family nor his name. ...instead of closing your big mouth your making fuss about nothing ...... Anyways Linda let me stop for now ,may be next story /continuation will cone from me

proud sis inlaw said...

Linda pls publish this my comment for the sooooo called fooooool that posted this story .....this is scam and for the people calling my sis-inlaws name you guys are fools too this is all scam some one ,somewhere and out there is plotting against my sis in law ,to get her out of the way but it won't work because if truly she's referring to Fifi its not gonna work because I know she's happily married to her hubby and she knows wot stuff the umenyiora are made of so dughhhhhhh!!!

Hot spice said...

My dear,open your ears wide,gather money together for you and your daughter,ditch that man and report him to the necessary authorities,cos u are just living a lie with him, be wise and use ur head, ditch him nau before he runs off elsewhere wit another woman,safe yourself and ur daughter

Talk to him to report himself to the embassy if not, Government will put his name on interpol and other governemnt watchlist, which might allow him to enter other countries.

Wow seems like a lot of people know you. Well, if what you narrated is the case, then i advice you to leave that marriage or try to talk to him about your findings. On the other hand, if you married him because of the money then do what is best for you in terms of money. Young girls please do your research before you get married.

Thanks

staff said...

Is this Okwudili Umenyiora. Mr "Dilli"? HAHAHA

GLAM ME PRO said...

Why call names? Even if she's d one onukuu! Some things and especially family ish re better kept as a secret and u re here feeling funky. Am sure u re still a child, better grow up bitch!

Ada said...

Lol@fifi!! Stop it! That's what I thought too! Lol

YOU MARRIED WITH THE HOPE OF GOING TO AMERICAN ....DID YOU TELL HIM THE REAL REASON YOU MARRIED HIM? THAT'S MY OWN QUESTION

Fati said...

People are always quick to condemn other people .We do not know the full story.A bloody poor man can as well change his identity for committing murder or sumthn.courting someone for ages doesnt totally translate to knowing everything about the person.marriage is not just about been "sharp" or calculative.somtimes,we dot all our 'I's and cross all put 'T's and yet,shit happens.i

Handing him over to the auhorities doesnt erase anything.you may asw ellr emarry and enter another pne chance.my advice,let him know you know who he is. His raponse or reaction will decide what next.dont jump into hasty decisions because some morons here are blabbing dust!

@Naija babe. Brilliant!
@2nd Anonymous 7:25 PM.Foolish!!!

is that your husband in the pic..?

Who is Dilly??

Lol everyone calling Okwi Umenyiora, Ishmael iyaye, and Kingsley nnadi have me rolling. All unrepentant frauds

Only a scammer would ask this lady to stay. If it were me I would leave and then turn him in (in that order). Don't let your bad judgement affect your kids.

Yo don enter one chancce b dat.

You need to report him at the US embassy if you'll not be charged with conspiracy.

Do it fast!!

Bonavin said...

My dear you received many advice, The question is... Does he love you?? Do you love him??? (Or ws it because his American) If there is love, start afresh.. no-more-lies.. stay wif ur man, protect him and prepare for the worst.

Bonavin said...

The question is.. Does he love you? Do you love him ???(or did you marry him because his american) if there is love, Stay wif ur man..strt afresh... protect him and prepare for of the worst.. Afterall, itz for better for worse frm US

Ask am o. Wats d obsession with vacationing in d US. Pls marriage is 4 better and 4 worse. Confront him and fight his battles together. Ewu he lies abt everything now just bc say he no tellvu say he get quanta 4 USA. Many guys do oh

Petro... T said...

God bless u ma man, u've said it all

Unfortunately for you, you're already in it.
You lead by example, your actions now will determine the fate of your future and that of your kid(s)
What is he like as a husband and a father now? A lot of young Nigerian boys go abroad, give into peer pressure and end up dabbling into a lot of things they have no business with. It's unfortunate that he got caught and you have to live with the consequences.
Marriage is for better for worse. When the going was good, you happily entered, and planned a future, now that there is a small challenge, you're trying to run away.
Don't teach your children to be quitters. Even if you don't want to be the wife of a convict, your daughter will always be the child of a convict.
You better start praying, stop being a child, and start acting like a woman mature enough to hold a home and a marriage together.
For the sake of your child, start making your husband into a better person.
Pray, confront him in a matured manner and let him know you cant start a marriage based on lies. If you're in it,it's best to know what you're in.
Work out a plan... Call a lawyer and find out what his options are. If he truly is a changed and responsible man, they MAY go easy on him as long as he can prove that he's not that person again.
BUT if he's still doing the things that got him into trouble in the first place, then it means that you were hasty to marry, you're only attracted to and motivated by material things, and if you leave him, you'd still end up with someone like him
Like I said earlier, lead by example. Don't pull a runner like your husband did. Your problems won't leave you. Pray about it, get more information, talk to a lawyer and try to find a way out of this TOGETHER, for the sake of your child.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 330 of 330   Newer› Newest»